Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anti-gentrification protest - Cereal Killer Cafe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I like the fact the mob have actual flaming torches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Why did they post a picture of the couple taking a selfie? :confused::confused::D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

left wing activists in being massive ***** shocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

The Daily Mail. It must be accurate and true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Targeting a small business isn't protesting gentrification ; it's being a prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Now they drive you from the cities,
    to make way for all the Yuppies,
    Decimate the inner cities, move them out, bring in the wealthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

While any normal human would find it hard to resist the urge to attack a café run by beards selling overpriced children's cereal, it's not like they can be blamed for the general process of gentrification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I've been spending the occasional week back in our office in Dublin over the past few months. I baulked when I heard that the apartment being provided to me was in Ringsend. When I first moved to Dublin 16 years ago, Ringsend wasn't a place you'd even consider when looking for an area to live in.

With some trepidation I headed over to see it. All change. The problem now is an over-proliferation of silly beards and pubs charging €6 for deeply ordinary beer masquerading as craft.

Fadó Fadó.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

They're working class lads? yeah and bono is from ballymun

I suppose thats the thing when you benefit from developing a profile as the symbol of all that is gentrified in london. Sooner or later the mob will want a word

I'm all for anti hipster anger...but not for anarchists with messages about the Jews taking over, or crime and damaging property. They should be beaten with bamboo rods on the soles of their feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Typical Brits, turn on their own. Think of all the small cereal cafes that were driven out of business by this MNC muscling in on their turf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

****ing anarchists :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

"The 'F*** Parade' organisers claimed the demonstration was designed to protest against unaffordable housing in east London. "

Maybe there are waiting for a multi national like ford to come along and provide jobs and housing like in Dagenham, hiw did that work out...................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

I suppose by keeping the place a ****hole it will keep prices low. On the downside you you live in a ****hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Class War are still a 'thing', f*cking hell, is it 1984?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Dante

Was nearby when it happened, it was basically just a bunch of oddballs who watched a bit too much This Is England doing the usual anti-establishment malarkey. The sooner these freaks are squeezed out of London the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

Our communities are being ripped apart - by Russian oligarchs, Saudi Sheiks, Israeli scumbag property developers, Texan oil-money twats and our own home-grown Eton toffs. Local authorities are coining it in, in a short sighted race for cash by "regenerating" social housing.

Blatant racism and xenophobia-welcome to far left politics, 2015. The same as the far right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Every time I see these people protest I think of Rik from the Young Ones....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

trendy cafe that sells £4.50 bowls of cereal
    £4.50 bowls of cereal
    £4.50

Attack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

If the far left don't like something they do the only thing they know. Violent protest. It's always the same. No reasoning with those types of people. Only thing missing was Paul Murphy at the head of the march.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

osarusan wrote: »
    Attack!

If they can get idiots to pay £4.50 for a bowl of Coco Pops, they deserve a pat on the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Ellie2008

If the far left don't like something they do the only thing they know. Violent protest. It's always the same. No reasoning with those types of people. Only thing missing was Paul Murphy at the head of the march.

Tbh I barely know who Paul Murphy is & have never heard him speak but he does appear to inspire some level of hatred on here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Bambi wrote: »
    They're working class lads? yeah and bono is from ballymun

I suppose thats the thing when you benefit from developing a profile as the symbol of all that is gentrified in london. Sooner or later the mob will want a word

The mob can **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The pictures speak for themselves

I like the fact the mob have actual flaming torches.

I actually thought that was good too! Very reminiscent of witch hunts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭starling

A few quotes from that article would have saved me having to go to the DM's website, I resent giving them clicks

starling wrote: »
    A few quotes from that article would have saved me having to go to the DM's website, I resent giving them clicks

Sorry on my phone!

starling wrote: »

Makes no difference, mail online receives over ten million views per day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-london-34373485

Heres a link to a website that isnt dailymail or joe.ie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Ellie2008 wrote: »
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3250896/Cereal-offender-Hipster-hating-mob-attacks-novelty-cafe-anti-gentrification-protests-turn-violent.html

What do people make of this - on the one hand I'm like angry mob = bad, on the other I'm like they have a point. All of my friends who live in London work in the City & always speak about gentrification as a great thing, talking about places that are now "really cool" where they d like to live but I have never, & I doubt they have ever given much thought to the previous residents.

Until this event I was completely unaware of the link between breakfast cereal and gentrification. I am now shorn of my ignorance and see the world with new eyes. Tomorrow morning I will burn the box containing the Weetabix and strike a blow for freedom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Bunch of idiots, doubt any of them have lived in the area for more than the last 15 years.
    The anti-gentrification thing is a bit stupid in London, its not like the inhabitants of most of the places actually have long roots in the areas people will complain about somewhere like Brixton becoming gentrified and the character changing but its just another change, if the area had its original type of inhabitants it would be white working class but nobody mourns the loss of those communities.

Here's a choice quote from the Guardian that neatly illustrates this bullsh-t, with added unintentional racism.
    At like 8pm, I looked to the side and I saw 60 white people, all who looked between the ages of 24 and 32, all smiling. Half of them were wearing matching red T-shirts with a slogan on it. There were two leaders at the front … and it was the scariest thing I’d ever seen in my entire life.
    http://www.theguardian.com/cities/2015/aug/19/young-londoners-inequality-utopia-roundhouse-penny-woolcock

That said Shoreditch is full of Ridiculous w@nk like cat cafe's and 8 pound smoothies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

C'mon, that nonsense is getting old. They reported a factual story with photo and video proof. I wouldn't read it myself but I'll read the article before I actually write it off as bull.

Attacking a small business is absolutely shocking!! They've nothing to do with bankers and condos.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

a café run by beards selling overpriced children's cereal,
    Would make more sense to be attacking pubs if pricing was their problem. Or many regular cafes.
    J. Marston wrote: »
    If they can get idiots to pay £4.50 for a bowl of Coco Pops, they deserve a pat on the back.
    Here is the menu, a large coco pops is £3.50, small 2.50

the US cereals are £4.50 for a large one £3 for small us ones.
    http://cerealkillercafe.co.uk/menus

It's similar to shops selling US sweets at what appear to be high prices.

Tesco here sell smallish boxes of lucky charms for 8 euro.

Tesco uk have single serve lucky charms for £1.50 http://www.tesco.com/groceries/product/details/?id=273824074

so £3 is relatively good value, as I guess it includes milk. While pubs here can buy heineken in supermarkets for 75cent and sell for 5.50. I wonder what cafe these people do approve of, and what the markups are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I have a camán handy by the bed for the inevitable street battles of the looming class war. And a bottle of whiskey.

What exactly is the problem they have with gentrification?

It drives property prices & rents up so they can no longer afford to live there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Well the rental market is insane over there and they are building an awful lot of "investment" apartments that are not affordable to the non-City workers and will be bought by overseas people who are looking for a safe place to hold their assets.
    But targeting a small business is just stupid, they provide a bit of employment and are ironically are at risk of the current markets as the site is likely worth more money to the owner turned into apartments or office space than rented out to these types of business.

If the place was a more traditional non gentrified cafe half the people would be holding up meat is murder signs.

Think I actually tried to go to one of this groups protests twas called "reclaim the beats" arrived a bit late and found out it was about 50 people so we went to the pub and ended up spending the night chatting to someone who had been at that had just taken a gram of useless ketamine (she was still conscious) so I'm not sure the crowd it attracts are the most "together" bunch of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭ps3man

£4.50 for a cereal seems a lot but these lads need to pay wages, taxes, electricity, rent, advertising, stock, insurance, make a little profit and all the other costs it takes to run a business.

I doubt the lads are driving around in Ferraris and waking up in multimillion pound apartments in Chelsea. The left has really taken on a nasty edge lately.

However when all is said and done, not much damage is done and these guys have gotten absolute an priceless amount of publicity out of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Tony The Tiger and The Honey Monster must have had the night off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Futile and unfair to attack a small business (even if the place is taking the piss selling overpriced imported cereal to gullible hipster eejits).

Seems like too easy a target. The ones they should be protesting are the big developers, overseas buyers and banks responsible for the gentrification process that sees working class people no longer able to afford to live in areas they've grown up in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Enough rioting and they'll succeed in lowering the price of living there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

That said Shoreditch is full of Ridiculous w@nk like cat cafe's and 8 pound smoothies.

Cat cafés aren't ridiculous, so long as the critters are well cared for.

I feel sorry for the two beard brothers, their property front had some truly vile graffiti sprayed on it. Hopefully they are not targeted by these brutes again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Ellie2008 wrote: »
    It drives property prices & rents up so they can no longer afford to live there.

And yet I would put a heavy wager on the majority of that same group getting up in arms about migrants moving in because "it lowers the value" of the area for if they want to sell and move into a fancier place. If neither happened, they would be complaining about the area not having attention paid to it by local government and becoming stagnant as a result.

Basically, they're looking for any excuse.

I don't know where the term gentrification came from nor when it become the cause de celebre for do-nothing protesters but I'd love to hear a coherent justification for taking a snapshot of an area's economic development at a random moment and stating, on pain of violence, "this far and no further".

can't afford to live somewhere anymore? then fkoff. welcome to the world.

it's the greatest non-issue of the past few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

I'd love to hear a coherent justification for taking a snapshot of an area's economic development at a random moment and stating, on pain of violence, "this far and no further".

can't afford to live somewhere anymore? then fkoff. welcome to the world.

But that's the level that suits me, so that's the level it should stay at...!

Unprovoked physical violence against persons or property is never okay. (Even when those persons are hipsters, and their property is a mad venture like this.)

That's not a protest; it's just criminal vandalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I am always curious about the amount of these anti-capitalists that have no problem picking up their social welfare check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

inforfun wrote: »
    I am always curious about the amount of these anti-capitalists that have no problem picking up their social welfare check.

>.> didn't take long to get the first jab in at unemployed.

You have absolutely no idea if they're employed or not. And in the context of this specific discussion, it's not really relevant.

The extremes of any political movement are much alike - and this lot were being a shower of thugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

inforfun wrote: »

Well surely even if they were welfare recipients, that would tie in with anti-capitalism?