Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farting in front of your significant other

• 20-09-2015 1:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭

Do you feel comfortable doing it?

How did you do it for the first time?

Did you feel embarrassed? Relieved?

Particularly interested in female responses.

I had a friend in college who went out with a girl for year/s and would spend whole days with her barely leaving each other's side. One day he confided in me that he had never heard her break wind once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

"significant other" - that's embarassing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

All the time.. It's natural and not healthy to hold it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Pull cheeks apart and let it slip out silently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I suppose you also cock your arse before the deed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

As long as they don't fart during lovemaking I'm cool with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 F412

I'm going out with the gf 3 years now and do my absolute best not to fart in front of her. Don't know why but I just don't feel comfortable doing it.

I go out of my way to fart in front of some of the lads at work and vice versa, walking up to desks etc just to fart yet I feel very uncomfortable even sneaking out a silent one in front of the gf.

What about visiting friends, relations and you feel one coming so you clinch your arse to disarm it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Where does it go if held in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I had a pizza the night before my birthday not knowing that my wife had booked me in for a Swedish massage the next day. Pizza gives me terrible bloating and gas. For the hour of the massage, I've never clenched so hard.

Anyway, no I try not to fart in front of my wife and if I do I try to make it as quiet as possible, she doesn't like it or think it's anyway funny so no point in upsetting the apple cart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

hairyslug wrote: »
    I had a pizza the night before my birthday not knowing that my wife had booked me in for a Swedish massage the next day. Pizza gives me terrible bloating and gas. For the hour of the massage, I've never clenched so hard.

Anyway, no I try not to fart in front of my wife and if I do I try to make it as quiet as possible, she doesn't like it or think it's anyway funny so no point in upsetting the apple cart

Tart.

kneemos wrote: »

It still comes out, clinching muffles it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Red King

Fart in bed then trap her under the duvet. Its called the Hot Pocket. She will love it OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭Sergei Malatov

I thought that was a Dutch Oven?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

It recirculates and comes out through your mouth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Female. I do fart in front of him but wouldn't do it with relish or anything. Just when it slips out. I'd try not to. Don't get embarrassed about it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

It happens.I would try and avoid it if I can but sometimes these things happen.
    The boyfriend dosen't mind but I'd be fierce mortified if it was to happen early on.

I'm far worse when it happens when I'm working out, trying to engage every single muscle I have in an attempt to stop it!!

I used to think this, but if you hold them in, they just tend to dissipate inside you. It's not anymore healthy to let it out really. I actually learned this from the fiancé. In his house growing up, it was a huge no no to not make any effort to hold it in.

Some people say women's farts smell worse? Is this true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

No. My wife's farts smell of roses, as do my eldest son's. Myself & my younger son's - that's a different story altogether.

It sort of just dissipates? Hard to describe but it just seem to break up or get reabsorbed into your poo or something.

:pac::pac::pac::pac:

Completely negating the relaxing aspect of the massage too.

Yeah, there was some study done on it. Men fart more, but women's smell worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Whipped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,606 ✭✭✭✭blade1

As long as they don't fart during lovemaking I'm cool with it

What about fanny farts?
    Do you get up and walk out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I fart in front of him. It's only air. They only smell of you need to make a no 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

blade1 wrote: »
    What about fanny farts?
    Do you get up and walk out?

That's different, long as it's not coming from her ass it's all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

I've known my bf most of my life so there hasn't been much either of us don't feel comfortable doing in front of each other.

Have a friend who been dating a guy nearly 9 years and she was crying down the phone at christmas cos she had farted in front of him.

The first thing I always think about when I look at a girl who has a really sexy ass - particularly when they are wearing leggings - is "farts come out of that".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,606 ✭✭✭✭blade1

The first thing I always think about when I look at a girl who has a really sexy ass - particularly when they are wearing leggings - is "farts come out of that".

Pardon the pun but you are looking at things arseways!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

You mustn't be that confident or think much of each other if you can't even fart in front of each other.

If you're truly being yourself, why would hold something in that could actually give you cramps or trapped wind?

Everyone farts and I hate princess-type girls who go out of their way to avoid doing it in front of their partners. Men know you fart/sh*te and belch...you're not special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Old music hall joke: "Sir, how dare you fart in front of my wife?" "Oh, I'm awfully sorry, I didn't realise it was her turn" (Applause and general hilarity ensues)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Reminds me of the time I was visiting a close friend and his new lady. She struck me as a woman who wouldn't appreciate the more base side of humanity. So I had to hold in gas for the entire evening. I was never as happy to see a session finish up and by that stage, I had really painful cramps with all the trapped wind. By the time I finally got it out, I must have blew for about 30 seconds and it sounded like a cross between a dirt bike and a banshee. I had before nor since, experienced such relief.

Anyway the reason why I mentioned it sounded like a Banshee was. The next morning down at breakfast, herself asked me did I believe in a spirit world and stuff like that. When I inquired as to what perked her interest, she said she heard this terrible wail when when was in the en-suite and the wail seemed to last forever. She seemed really freaked out by it. Yes, the unearthly wail she heard was from the massive fart I made in the adjoining main bathroom. And my momentary sense of embarrassment, was quickly suppressed by feelings of immense pride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

A lot of clenching goes on in the office as any bloke in the gents can testify to. There you are in the cubicle when a colleague walks in and the first thing you hear is the distress in his tones followed by a long airy fart and an 'awwwwww'.

As for farting in front of your partner I think it's ok after a good chunk of time together.