Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

colm_mcm wrote: »
    €850 VRT refund (assuming full VRT was paid)

Don't be giving me ideas now.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,397 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You know it makes sense....

You know, if I had no car repairs or stupid ideas of getting a yellow sporting Punto I'd probably be considering buying it and flogging the passat.
    But then the brain wakes up and realises I'd be murdered with the fuel costs.

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭Teddington Cuddlesworth

bear1 wrote: »
    You know, if I had no car repairs or stupid ideas of getting a yellow sporting Punto I'd probably be considering buying it and flogging the passat.
    But then the brain wakes up and realises I'd be murdered with the fuel costs.

Go for it, trust me.
    I hesitated on making a decision on a car recently and when I decided I'd go for it, it was too late.
    I've been trawling the web to find a similar one and am possibly going to be paying double that the one I missed was going for.

Act first, decide later.

Also, if you go easy on the throttle 3 or 4 days a week it won't actually cost you that much more.
    Man-maths

Go for it, trust me.
    I hesitated on making a decision on a car recently and when I decided I'd go for it, it was too late.
    I've been trawling the web to find a similar one and am possibly going to be paying double that the one I missed was going for.

Act first, decide later.

Also, if you go easy on the throttle 3 or 4 days a week it won't actually cost you that much more.
    Man-maths

Man maths are always the best.
    I'll have to see cause my own yoke is getting a serious amount of work done so budget wise it's tricky.
    I'd need to sell my own one first.
    You were after a lexus or jag right?

Man maths are always the best.
    I'll have to see cause my own yoke is getting a serious amount of work done so budget wise it's tricky.
    I'd need to sell my own one first.
    You were after a lexus or jag right?

Yes the Daimler in the Luxobarge thread, very regretful I didn't follow my gut on it.
    My piece of advice is if you like it and you could possibly get the money together then go for it.
    It's better to have loved and lost than have never loved at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭vandriver

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-touareg/15118612

ZjU4ZTk4Yjk2Y2MzZTlhNjMxYWFiMmI1MDI2NWYzOWQRX4ToEBTx1nHlll0nWtQ-aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b183MTY4MzcwMXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Bought for €2k surely? NCT till (almost) September
    2 grand tax and 20 mpg!
    Any hints on how to convince the missus?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

vandriver wrote: »
    2 grand tax and 20 mpg!
    Any hints on how to convince the missus?

Act now repent later

You'll never convince her.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Can only see that been exported.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭jharr100

Can only see that been exported.

Same as the 'S-Max , export only I'd say .

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

jharr100 wrote: »
    Same as the 'S-Max , export only I'd say .

The s max would be nice.... Petrol head dad will buy...

I'm going to talk to the wife about the s max tonight when she gets home.

It's better to beg for forgiveness than to ask for permission....

I think I've used all those lives up :D

• Registered Users Posts: 19,115 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

https://goo.gl/images/ZsTWlA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

No harm in talking I suppose...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,543 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

It's even better to have no wife. :pac:

:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

It is for sale for very long time... Initially advertised at €2900, got dropped to €2400 and just recently to less than €2k.

FYI - Ford S-Max RHD-LHD conversion is not easy, the cabin wall needs to be cut. Total cost is around €2500.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Excuse the ignorance, but why are ye talking about fuel conversion?

• Registered Users Posts: 73,397 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I think someone mentioned an LPG conversion?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I think someone mentioned an LPG conversion?

Yup. Just wondering why it's mentioned in the context of this particular car

everlast75 wrote: »
    Yup. Just wondering why it's mentioned in the context of this particular car

Because majority of the car in this thread are big petrol engines... Ideal candidates for LPG conversions...

• Registered Users Posts: 28,868 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

grogi wrote: »
    Because majority of the car in this thread are big petrol engines... Ideal candidates for LPG conversions...

Why did you mention changing it from RHD to LHD?

How much driving would you have to do before you clawed back via fuel economy the 2500e spent on the conversion though?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,868 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

everlast75 wrote: »
    How much driving would you have to do before you clawed back via fuel economy the 2500e spent on the conversion though?

Who said it was 2500 to do a LPG conversion?

Quazzie wrote: »
    Who said it was 2500 to do a LPG conversion?

Sorry - thought i saw that above