Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hawkers coming to the door

• 10-09-2015 08:26PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,750 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I've a pain in my nads dealing with these people. A sunny mild autumn evening seems to bring them out.
    No, I don't want to save money on my gas and electricity. I have reviewed my bills already and I will decide when to change them, not through a hard sell at the door. No, I don't want to give more to charity, to give you more commission. No, I don't want a new alarm system. I am happy with the one that I have. And I have researched all alternatives, and am happy with my choice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

It still not as bad as Chuggers on Westmoreland Street/College Green. Honestly I dont know why its allowed. They are always BS charities/organisations looking for money. I know you just ignore them. But "Sorry mate, do you have a minute?". Just pisses me off so much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Please please don't remind me of the Vote yes crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

newacc2015 wrote: »
    It still not as bad as Chuggers on Westmoreland Street/College Green. Honestly I dont know why its allowed. They are always BS charities/organisations looking for money. I know you just ignore them. But "Sorry mate, do you have a minute?". Just pisses me off so much

If you don't want to be stopped by chuggers just cross your eyes as you're walking towards them and do your best to look straight ahead. They will just think there is something wrong with you and leave you alone. In the unlikely event that one of them does still try and get you to talk to them, and it has happened to me one or twice, just say: 'I'm not allowed' and keep walking. Feigning a slight limp helps too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Nads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Nads = Gonads = testicles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Drives me demented too. And there is a General ELection around the corner....so the blooody politicians will be calling around to tell us about how they got the bulb in the street light fixed.
    I wish I had a licensed shot gun. Threaten the bejaysus out of anyone who stepped on my driveway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭chillin117

When I see the Chuggers I always pretend to be talking on the phone, Work's every time. (One of these day's it will ring at the wrong time !)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

I bought a sign on ebay as I was the same and sick of the same crap over and over again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

Menas wrote: »
    Drives me demented too. And there is a General ELection around the corner....so the blooody politicians will be calling around to tell us about how they got the bulb in the street light fixed.
    I wish I had a licensed shot gun. Threaten the bejaysus out of anyone who stepped on my driveway.

At least they are understanding. If you tell them you wont for anyone other than X party, they will move on. But the door to door sellers, will still try to convince you need broadband, that is twice the price and half the speed of your existing service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

Yeah, too 'Jehovah witnessy'. If somebody calls unannounced to my door, it better be because they have some actual serious news, not some fake smiling suited up goon trying to offload another fughing utility bill on me that I do not want and do not need.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Its simple.
    Hawker-I'm here about changing you to airtricity,electric Ireland,UPC,Sky,Eircom,Vodaphone etc etc.
    Ken- You're too late only signed up last week with your competitor and am locked in for 12 months. Try again next year.

I did have trouble with one guy from Airtricity who knocked the door and had a form with the address and the MPRN number already filled out. He'd opened the box on the side of the house and got it off it. I asked him for a look at it to check the details and took the form and tore it up in front of him and told him not to come near the place again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,662 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Nads = Gonads = testicles.

Not necessarily :rolleyes:

Had an FF ex-TD call to the door this evening, does that count as a hawker? I'd rather have the god botherers than that lot.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,102 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I don't understand this.

I disconnected the door bell years ago.

Those who know me will call my mobile from outside or wherever.

And NO canvassers at election time. Well they can feck off too.

Win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,279 ✭✭✭kenmc

chillin117 wrote: »
    When I see the Chuggers I always pretend to be talking on the phone, Work's every time. (One of these day's it will ring at the wrong time !)

I just tell chuggers i don't speak English and keep walking

have a sign on the door by the bell, no politicians, no collections, no religions, no sales. if someone of those ilk ring the bell, I don't even open the porch door, just point at the sign and close the hall door. I don't mind them calling when no-one is home, but I don't go round ringing their doorbell when they've just sat down to their dinner, so they can FCK off if they think it's OK to do that to me. arzeholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I don't understand this.

I disconnected the door bell years ago.

Those who know me will call my mobile from outside or wherever.

And NO canvassers at election time. Well they can feck off too.

Win!

Could they not just knock? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭lertsnim

kenmc wrote: »
    I just tell chuggers i don't speak English and keep walking

Say "I'm not interested" and if they persist "I am really not interested". If that still doesn't work a polite "**** off"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,279 ✭✭✭kenmc

lertsnim wrote: »
    Say "I'm not interested" and if they persist "I am really not interested". If that still doesn't work a polite "**** off"

why? my way works fine, as the saying goes, if it's not broken don't fix it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I don't see why people need to give an excuse or make up a yarn to get rid of these people. I find a "No Thanks" and walk on or close the door works every time.
    The annoyance people find in something so petty astounds me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Shoot them, they won't come back then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

jamesbere wrote: »
    Shoot them, they won't come back then

The back yard is full and the wood chipper, she no longer work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

galljga1 wrote: »

Burn them or get pigs, they eat anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭What are those?

generally just say im rushing for a train if im in town and if im at home i just say im 17 which rules me out of most scenarios but im 20 so its somewhat believable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,865 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

galljga1 wrote: »

that's what you pay your bin charges for, but if you like I can upgrade your account to the dead body package?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,641 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Not necessarily :rolleyes:
    Errrr, yes it is.

I have a real dislike of chuggers and it really pisses me off that my favoured charity are using chuggers as an income source. Chuggers are getting money from people who don't have the wherewithal or confidence just to say 'No' and I think that it is abominable when the charity in question is supposed to be protecting the weak and vulnerable from exploitation.

I also don't see the point in playing games such as pretending to be on the phone, or foreign, or deaf or whatever. Simply look 'em straight in the eye and say very clearly "No". If they persist then repeat even louder "No". They will walk away.

I take a grim satisfaction as I pass by the regular chuggers on my daily commute when they recognise me and turn away. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

The door to door one are annoying I just say no thanks, what I don't like are the can I do your gutter, clean your pavement ones. I have caught two of them checking the side passage way of our house and it makes me slightly nervous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Fookin hate chuggers... they try to make you feel like a piece of **** when you turn them down at the door!

These days, whenever I do make the mistake of opening the door to them, I usually just try to shout something like "get a real job" at them and shut the door before they've had a chance to read me their script! lol

Fookin cnuts!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Last year I had a lad knock on the front door, didnt answer as I knew he was selling something I didnt want. He proceeded to knock and knock so I went and answered it, "Im from Prepay power, yadda yadda yadda" so I told him I was due to move out so had no interest in the product. He kept at me telling how I could bring the meter with me when I move and all, I told him I was moving home but still this guy wouldnt just p!ss off so I signed up, second he was gone from my door I rang up the company and told them I didnt want to sign up and the twat wouldnt accept no for an answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

I'm in the camp of just not answering the door. I have yet to have opened the door to someone who wasnt looking for something.

It's at times like that that I wish I had a castle or a country manor with a half mile driveway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭BlimpyBoy

jonny24ie wrote: »
    Last year I had a lad knock on the front door, didnt answer as I knew he was selling something I didnt want. He proceeded to knock and knock so I went and answered it, "Im from Prepay power, yadda yadda yadda" so I told him I was due to move out so had no interest in the product. He kept at me telling how I could bring the meter with me when I move and all, I told him I was moving home but still this guy wouldnt just p!ss off so I signed up, second he was gone from my door I rang up the company and told them I didnt want to sign up and the twat wouldnt accept no for an answer.

Why?

Next time just close the door in his face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

I absolutely hate chuggers and collectors in Tesco. They always seem to have them at the door and they hold up people trying to get out after the long queues, causing another queue at the exit door....

One Amnesty International "character" even asked me whats my problem? When I tried to get out the door fast.

YOU are my problem you self righteous $$$$$..........

At my door I tell everyone I do not deal with unsolicited callers as I have been advised by my psychiatrist not to.

That usually gets rid of them very fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

ken wrote: »
    Its simple.
    Hawker-I'm here about changing you to airtricity,electric Ireland,UPC,Sky,Eircom,Vodaphone etc etc.
    Ken- You're too late only signed up last week with your competitor and am locked in for 12 months. Try again next year.

Why are you complicating things? Open door, see chugger, close door again. Why is there need to be polite and respond in any fashion to one of these scumbags?

Same with the chuggers on the street, let them natter away with their spiel as you walk past, there is nothing in law that says you have to respond to it in any way. Personally I like to look them in the eye as I walk past just so they can see my contempt, but I certainly don't feel the need to say a ****ing word to them in response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Why are you complicating things? Open door, see chugger, close door again. Why is there need to be polite and respond in any fashion to one of these scumbags?

Same with the chuggers on the street, let them natter away with their spiel as you walk past, there is nothing in law that says you have to respond to it in any way. Personally I like to look them in the eye as I walk past just so they can see my contempt, but I certainly don't feel the need to say a ****ing word to them in response.

"Scumbags"? Tad harsh, did your spouse invite a chugger in and ride them while you were out one day or something?

RWCNT wrote: »
    "Scumbags"? Tad harsh, did your spouse invite a chugger in and ride them while you were out one day or something?

Scumbag is not a harsh term for them at all.

Ah, it is though. They're doing a job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Ally Dick wrote: »
    I've a pain in my nads dealing with these people. A sunny mild autumn evening seems to bring them out.
    newacc2015 wrote: »
    It still not as bad as Chuggers on Westmoreland Street/College Green.
    A simple but assertive FÚCK OFF works for me :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Just get rid of your doorbell, most people probably do not need one in this day & age. I have had none for over 10 years and do not miss it one bit.

When I am minding other people houses I still get the annoyance and am so used to not having one it seems just seems odd why you would want one, and can see no reason I would ever want one back. Some have given possible reasons but I had an argument against every single one I heard. I could understand that some might have their own reasons to have one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

If they look like they're from Airtricity, Vodafone or whatever, I just don't bother answering the door. I don't care if it seems rude - it's not as rude as calling unannounced at someone's house to try and rope them into an 18-month contract.

So are burglars, many would like to see chugging and door to door sales made illegal. I could pay you to go around town making loud screeching noises and farting, knowingly annoying the fuck out of people and all perfectly legal and "just doing a job". Only a complete cunt would take up such a job, knowing fine well how socially unacceptable it is, and yes I would rather them be on the dole than taken advantage of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

rubadub wrote: »
    I could pay you to go around town making loud screeching noises and farting, knowingly annoying the fuck out of people and all perfectly legal and "just doing a job"

CV sent

Butthurt chugger detected.

rubadub wrote: »
    So are burglars, many would like to see chugging and door to door sales made illegal. I could pay you to go around town making loud screeching noises and farting, knowingly annoying the fuck out of people and all perfectly legal and "just doing a job". Only a complete cunt would take up such a job, knowing fine well how socially unacceptable it is, and yes I would rather them be on the dole than taken advantage of.

Only a complete cùnt or someone who simply needs the money and has no other way of getting it. I wouldn't lecture you for being rude to them, its part of the gig. However, comparing them to burglars? Id say you, and many of the people posting, need to get a grip.

Not a chugger, buckety, although I do work for a large charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I'd never lower myself to being rude to them - which is why I don't answer the door. Quite often, the only way to get rid of them is by being rude, whether that involves telling them to fuck off or slamming the door in their face. I don't really think they deserve either.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I had a guy knock on my door one day from Concern I think. I immediately told him that I already donated to X, Y & Z charities. He was cool about it and ended up having a natter to him for a while.
    It turns out he was genuinely passionate about what he was doing and was never trying to force anyone to donate, just to spread awareness and tell people if they wanted to donate, how to go about it and where the funds go.

Compared to the guys who are into thier sales speech as the door starts to open....sometimes I don't get to see their faces as I'm saying No and closing the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Only a complete cùnt or someone who simply needs the money and has no other way of getting it. I wouldn't lecture you for being rude to them, its part of the gig. However, comparing them to burglars? Id say you, and many of the people posting, need to get a grip.

Not a chugger, buckety, although I do work for a large charity.

A large, prosperous and wealthy multi-national charitable organisation? ;)

Only a complete cùnt or someone who simply needs the money and has no other way of getting it. I wouldn't lecture you for being rude to them, its part of the gig. However, comparing them to burglars?.
    The burglary comment was taking the piss, but many think this job should similarly be illegal. My other theoretical job was legal, and though I was also taking the piss I am now wondering if someone took it up would you similarly have no issue, since it could be "someone who simply needs the money and has no other way of getting it"

-so would you have an issue if someone took that theoretical job?

People say there is no need to be rude, the last thing I would want to do is encourage them. If an uninvited dog comes into my garden and shits I am not going to calmly go out and whisper "please leave" in a pleasant tone. If you have an issue let these cunts know. The last thing you want is them telling others that its a grand job and encouraging others to take it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

I did have trouble with one guy from Airtricity who knocked the door and had a form with the address and the MPRN number already filled out. He'd opened the box on the side of the house and got it off it. I asked him for a look at it to check the details and took the form and tore it up in front of him and told him not to come near the place again.

This doesn't make any sense, the outside box does not contain your MPRN number - he would already have it surely from ESB database....

That information is most likely shared with Airtricity anyway - similar to if you switch from Eircom to a different provider - they need your UAN.... (I think they call it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,465 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I did have trouble with one guy from Airtricity who knocked the door and had a form with the address and the MPRN number already filled out. He'd opened the box on the side of the house and got it off it.

Sorry he what? :eek:

In my mind, interfering with my stuff is as bad as spitting at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭What are those?

dont know if this counts ..but kids packing your groceries at the till and expecting you to dish out money,i can pack my bags myself thank you very much!well thats what i think anyway i usually let them do it and contribute to their association with a smile on my face but im not one bit happy about it...you hear me!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

I do remember a few weeks back, bloody hilarious one.

A young lad from an Alarm company was trying to sell me their system, but didn't know anything about how it worked, so got the manager to call back with him.

Manager told me about it, but to be fair didn't know the full in's and out's of it either. I said I might be interested, but wanted to ask people about it first.
    Guy said they would call back tomorrow.

They came back, same young lad who seemed to know less, I had a few more questions. Knew nothing of how the system would work with my existing systems or did they need to pull the sensors off the door.

Young lad proceeds to ring manager from 5 feet away from me, tells managers that I had more questions. Managers says very loudly on phone" FúCk sake, who the fúCk does that nob think he is, just buy the bloody system"

Young lad calls back to door, and looks surprised when I tell him I just heard manager and to please remove himself from my house. Still try's to sell the system!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭StonyIron

lertsnim wrote: »

Just get one of those Monty Burns "The Hounds" buttons installed.