Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lowest Calorie Alcoholic Drink

• 08-09-2015 11:05am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 102 ✭✭

Heya :)

Just wondering what the lowest calorie alcohol drink is?

I eat healthily all week, avoid alcohol completely. then come friday and saturday, I'd probably drink close to 30 pints of beer.

Fast forward to the following week and I don't know whether I'm imaging it but it feels like my tummy has expanded a few inches and my shirts all of a sudden feel tighter.

Is it the beer, in my head, or something else?

Seriously want to change my drink either way (pints of heineken/coors)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

30 Pints!!.

Man. Its either a wind up or serious if serious you should attempt to cut down,even test yourself for 2 weeks or stretch it to a month.

But 30 pints of anything it doesnt matter if its Coors Light. Its not going to help you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭RHJ

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 102 ✭✭My Darling Clementine

listermint wrote: »
    30 Pints!!.

Man. Its either a wind up or serious if serious you should attempt to cut down,even test yourself for 2 weeks or stretch it to a month.

But 30 pints of anything it doesnt matter if its Coors Light. Its not going to help you.

Yup :(

A good 8 or 9 after work friday

Probably an all day sesh saturday, a few hours kip and and another 10 or so saturday night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Yup :(

A good 8 or 9 after work friday

Probably an all day sesh saturday, a few hours kip and and another 10 or so saturday night

Feck. No weekend then? What's the point of working Monday to Friday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,834 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Seriously, 30 pints a week !
    Your calorie intake is the least if your problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Vodka and slimline tonic. 63 calories. But only in moderation ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Prefect_1998

martini extra dry and soda water

50ml = 48kcals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭The_Mask

Coors light is one of the lowest calorie beers if I recall correctly. Vodka also one of the lowest calorie spirits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭The_Mask

Stick to the pints...of vodka

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

best thing you could do is try to sort out your drug addiction

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Heineken has a good bit more calories than Coors Light. As suggested, spirits and slimline tonic would probably be the lowest calories. I'll also advise you go see a doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

Stonewell Dry Cider is 17 calories per 100ml - 85 calories per large bottle. I don't know how they manage to make it so low-cal, but it's delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭whippet

30 pints of Heineken would give you approx 7000 calories, over two days that is an additional 3500 calories on top of what ever you are eating on those days - i'd hazard a guess that there is a good chance your diet would be just as bad as your beer intake over the weekend so maybe another 3500 calories per day over the weekend .. giving you a gut busting 14000 calories on friday and saturday .... sunday is another story altogether.

So if you are being as good as it gets on Monday - Friday lunchtime eating approx 2500 calories per day - maintaining your bodyweight - the weekends will pack on the pounds (rinse and repeat over a year or two and soon you'll have a decent sized gut to parade around)

obviously calories aside .. the sugar contents alone of 30 pints of beer is huge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

A pint of Heiniken is roughly 240 calories, which is very high, especially if you're drinking 30 pints a week!

Switch to a bottle of Corrs Light, which is about 100. Try not to drink anywhere close to 30 and you'll be substantially cutting back on calories and more importantly doing your physical and mental health a huge favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

You can't get around the fact that the alcohol itself is highly calorific and that playing around what's mixed with it will be a fruitless exercise in the long run. Ever light up a sambuca ?

I'm gonna stay off it for a full month and see what difference it makes :) Day 5 now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Tip - Have a plan to do something else when you would normally be in the pub. Sitting at home is no good when you're feeling bored.

Catch a match \ movie \ trip away etc.

Also 30 pints * €5 = €150 to spend on something else.

ch750536 wrote: »
    Tip - Have a plan to do something else when you would normally be in the pub. Sitting at home is no good when you're feeling bored.

Catch a match \ movie \ trip away etc.

Also 30 pints * €5 = €150 to spend on something else.

Well I'm apartment hunting at the moment so that will take up some time and a few trips to the cinema are in order :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Unsweetened spirits have the lowest calorie per unit alcohol.

Many online values are incorrect, recipes and % differ worldwide, as do measurements.

I lost fat while still drinking 30+ pints a week. I find alcohol has very little effect on my weight, I see the same with heavy drinking friends too.

http://www.nytimes.com/1992/02/04/health/why-the-body-may-waste-the-calories-from-alcohol.html
    weight gain was negligible in alcoholics who were given 2,000 calories of alcohol daily on top of the 2,500 calories from foods they consumed to maintain their weight. But when the same number of additional calories were fed as chocolate, a steady weight gain resulted.

Cutting out bread and bread-like products had a huge impact, and lifting weights.

rubadub wrote: »

Many online values are incorrect, recipes and % differ worldwide, as do measurements.

I lost fat while still drinking 30+ pints a week. I find alcohol has very little effect on my weight, I see the same with heavy drinking friends too.

http://www.nytimes.com/1992/02/04/health/why-the-body-may-waste-the-calories-from-alcohol.html

Cutting out bread and bread-like products had a huge impact, and lifting weights.

Here's the thing though - I havent had bread or pasta AT ALL in nearly a month, work out an hour every day without fail, am 6'2 and weigh 13 stone and generally am in good shape - it's just when I hit the pints of beer im completely bloated in the tummy area the following week until about Thursday or Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

So you are eating healthy Monday - Friday and then drinking a weeks worth of calories at the weekend. Weight gain and calories will be the least of your problems, you are not helping your liver!
    Would you not take up a hobby or something to fill your Saturdays and Sundays? e.g cycling/ hillwalking / surfing or something so that you are not spending all day in the pub.

Is say it's the trips to the fast food places after your all day session, because there's no way the salad gets cracked out after ten pints on a Sunday!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

:confused: what's the point in trying to eat healthily while drinking 30+ pints a week - you'll be dead of liver failure long before you see the long term benefits of the healthy eating. Might as well smoke 40 fags a day while your at it.

loyatemu wrote: »
    :confused: what's the point in trying to eat healthily while drinking 30+ pints a week - you'll be dead of liver failure long before you see the long term benefits of the healthy eating. Might as well smoke 40 fags a day while your at it.

Would you recommend giving up exercise too? sure why not 60 smokes. What is your limit on pints per week before giving up all hope? 20?

If you're concerned about your health, the first thing you should do is cut down on the booze. Spending the week eating salads and then going out and spending literally the entire weekend in the pub is just nuts.

Are you going to state your limit on pints before giving up all hope?

To me, nuts is someone who does like to drink a lot as his possible sole vice and just shrugging, and saying "sure feck it, I enjoy this vice I might as well completely binge drink, smoke and eat nothing but junk and become a complete fat lazy slob"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Here's the thing though - I havent had bread or pasta AT ALL in nearly a month, work out an hour every day without fail, am 6'2 and weigh 13 stone and generally am in good shape - it's just when I hit the pints of beer im completely bloated in the tummy area the following week until about Thursday or Friday

When you are drinking 30 pints, I assume you are eating crappy salty food?

naughtb4 wrote: »
    When you are drinking 30 pints, I assume you are eating crappy salty food?

Couldn't be further from the truth - fruit and coffee for breakfast, light lunch of cracker and yoghurt most days and fish/chicken for dinner with some veg.

Zero fast food and I never had a taste for confectionary so no crisps or chocolate.

Even on hangover days I dont break the rule by ordering take away - id still have my usual fruit, 5 litres of water and normal dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Couldn't be further from the truth - fruit and coffee for breakfast, light lunch of cracker and yoghurt most days and fish/chicken for dinner with some veg.

Zero fast food and I never had a taste for confectionary so no crisps or chocolate.

Even on hangover days I dont break the rule by ordering take away - id still have my usual fruit, 5 litres of water and normal dinner

You have a cracker and a yoghurt while downing 15 pints? Fair play :D

I meant more on the saturday while out etc.

naughtb4 wrote: »
    You have a cracker and a yoghurt while downing 15 pints? Fair play :D

I meant more on the saturday while out etc.

Lol! :) The above is what I'd have Monday to Friday

I have zero appetite when drinking so I'd be just putting the beer away, then on hangover days I'd go back to my normal diet

I have zero appetite when drinking so I'd be just putting the beer away
    I find this true of a lot of heavy drinkers I know. A lot of people seem to think they will be gorging on peanuts and pub snacks or pub goujons etc. People say alcohol is "empty calories" and some might mean little nutrition but some also are thinking it supplies little or no energy. Heineken has about 1/3rd the sugar of coke per ml. If I was sick I would probably be satisfied enough just drinking lucozade all day if I could not stomach food, and would not be hungry.

Of course many do go to the chipper or kebab shop after a feed of pints, this is why I have said before they should really be called chipper bellies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I'd say 30 standard drinks a week is very normal for many people in Ireland!

Tarzana2 wrote: »

I would too, but the OP is at around 60 standard drinks.

I was thinking that too

8 or 9 pints on a friday after work is easily done.

4 or 5 saturday lunchtime/afternoon, followed by a kip and some grub was quite commonplace as far as I was concerned?

Then obviously if you're on the rip Saturday night, another skinful

Op, I've a suggestion. You're looking for a rental right now and having trouble, right? Well, you're spending about E650 a month on booze. Why not put some of that towards rent as an incentive to cut down on booze?

Sorry, wrong wording on my part. I meant, I'd say 30 pints per week or equivalent is probably pretty normal for a lot of people in this country sadly! The OP wouldn't be that unusual. :-/

Op, I've a suggestion. You're looking for a rental right now and having trouble, right? Well, you're spending about E650 a month on booze. Why not put some of that towards rent as an incentive to cut down on booze?

Well that's the plan anyways! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

My grandfather would manage that quantity through the week but then he was an alcoholic whose internal organs turned into mush. He wasn't overweight though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

OP, the long and the short of it is this: YOU HAVE A DRINKING PROBLEM!

You might not believe me or accept or you might be in denial about it but you do. Thirty pints over 2 days is mega binge drinking.

Eating well is not much good to you if you go on a horror alcohol binge for 2 days.

Mark my words, you are damaging your health. If you continue down this road long term you will have a myriad of health problems and will put yourself in an early grave. out of curiosity, what age are you?

And the calorie content of this beer or that is a trivial issue here at best. You have an addiction that you need to sort out. I'd advise you to see about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I was thinking that too

8 or 9 pints on a friday after work is easily done.

4 or 5 saturday lunchtime/afternoon, followed by a kip and some grub was quite commonplace as far as I was concerned?

It really isn't, and if you are being truthful then the fact is that you have a drinking problem.

The idea that 30 pints of beer over a night and a day is normal is pathetic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

It really isn't, and if you are being truthful then the fact is that you have a drinking problem.

The idea that 30 pints of beer over a night and a day is normal is pathetic.

+100 to this. OP, you are totally in denial. Totally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,519 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

it's just when I hit the pints of beer im completely bloated in the tummy area the following week until about Thursday or Friday

Probably because your liver has gone mental and is exploding.

Try 72 (pint of 4.3% beer is 2.4 units).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭harr

Not sure age of OP, but I know when I was in my late teens early 20s I would have had no problem getting through 30 pints over a weekend or more.
    Start drinking Saturday evening 13 or 14 pints with shorts and down to pub on Sunday to watch a match and would put away same again...and the odd time a Friday or Thursday night as well.
    I would say a lot of lads in there early 20,s would have no hassle drinking 30 pints over the course of a weekend.
    I was skinny as well and never put on weight and was eating **** as well...only gained weight when I stopped the mad sessions and settled down a bit...
    So I don't think 30 odd pints sounds over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

It would be one thing if you were drinking every night of the week, then increasing at the weekends. But if you aren't drinking Monday to Friday, what compels you to drink so much at the weekend? Surely you'd be slaughtered after the first 6 pints, if you haven't had alcohol all week?

Maybe you need to change beers - try a heavier ale or porter, you will drink slower and therefore drink less. OK, they might be higher in calories but come on, let's not lose focus here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Someone on boards once convinced me that alcohol is not bioavailable to humans as an energy source, kind of like a lump of coal. A lump of coal has a huge amount of calories but humans don't have any digestive mechanism for accessing it, so if eaten it would just pass straight through (or make you sick, but either way no energy release). No idea if it's true or not, but what you say adds weight to that theory.
    Sorry, wrong wording on my part. I meant, I'd say 30 pints per week or equivalent is probably pretty normal for a lot of people in this country sadly! The OP wouldn't be that unusual. :-/

30 pints is way off the mark. Wikipedia puts the average alcohol consumption in Ireland at 11.7 L of pure alcohol per year. There is 25ml of alcohol in a standard 5% pint of beer. That's 468 pints of beer a year, or 8.35 pints a week. The median is probably even lower than that again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,519 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Someone on boards once convinced me that alcohol is not bioavailable to humans as an energy source, kind of like a lump of coal. A lump of coal has a huge amount of calories but humans don't have any digestive mechanism for accessing it, so if eaten it would just pass straight through (or make you sick, but either way no energy release). No idea if it's true or not, but what you say adds weight to that theory.

Its not unavailable, its just not a flat conversion - 7.5k calories from alcohol doesnt equate to 7.5k calories converted into fat. Also, with taking in such large amount in such short amount of time your body cant cope and its not all converted to fat anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭disneyonfire

Alcohol binges seem to get away without any logical rationale because its seen as a social thing rather than just plain over-indulging. Besides any mention of weight loss or whatever, even just on a physical and health level, if you swapped alcohol with any other drink or food people would never think of consuming the same amount.

Like if I said to you, "I went to the pub last night and drank 6 pints of beer", most people would think that's pretty standard. But if I said "I went to the cinema last night and drank 6 pints of Fanta", you'd think what the f*ck is wrong with you.

Same as if someone you knew was looking to lose weight and said "I eat healthy all week but I have about 20 Mars bars at the weekend and I cant seem to lose any weight", what would your reaction be?

I'm not trying to sound preachy here, most of us have binged on alcohol at some stage or another and its easy to do but if you're concerned about your health or want to lose weight then in this case its not about what you drink, its about how much you drink.

loyatemu wrote: »
    Try 72 (pint of 4.3% beer is 2.4 units).
    That would be UK units. As I warned before,
    this applies to units too. Many drinks here have UK units printed on them.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_drink

Uk is 10ml pure alcohol, we are 12.7ml, so a 4.3% pint is 1.92 irish units, and you rarely get a brimming pint.
    Surely you'd be slaughtered after the first 6 pints, if you haven't had alcohol all week?
    I wondered the same. I was saying I would have had 30 odd pints and lost weight, but it was not over 2 days in a row. I do know people with high constitutions for drink, fortunately I would consider myself a bit of a "lightweight", which oddly for many has negative connotations. I never understood this, do they poke holes in their petrol tank if they think it is so "cool" to have to to use lots of fuel to get to the same place (or level of intoxication). Do they look for inefficient fridges & lightbulbs. Are they proud if they still have a headache after taking the max paracetomol allowance?
    30 pints is way off the mark. Wikipedia puts the average alcohol consumption in Ireland at 11.7 L of pure alcohol per year.
    This includes non-drinkers and anyone over 15. He never said it was an overall average but "pretty normal for a lot of people". Reading some of the posts I think people are confusing the term "normal" and thinking it means the same as "OK" or "perfectly acceptable" or "recommended"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_alcohol_consumption_per_capita

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

This includes non-drinkers and anyone over 15. He never said it was an overall average but "pretty normal for a lot of people". Reading some of the posts I think people are confusing the term "normal" and thinking it means the same as "OK" or "perfectly acceptable" or "recommended"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_alcohol_consumption_per_capita

It also includes binge drinkers and alcoholics. It's an average, it's assumed that the fringe extremes cancel each other out. In this case I'd say it's likely the mean is actually lower and binge drinkers/alcoholics push the average up (since they usually consume many times the national average, whereas none drinkers consume only 1 time less) but I have nothing other than suspicion to back that up.

Using the term "a lot of people" to refer to a very small portion of the population seems pretty disingenuous.