Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farmers Threaten To Take Law Into Their Own Hands. What Can Be Done?

• 07-09-2015 12:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭

A report by Paul Williams in today's Irish Independent describes how swathes of rural Ireland are at the mercy of roving bands of burglars alleged by Williams and the farmers he interviewed as members of the travelling community. Tools, equipment, trailers, fuel and a range of other items have been stolen from properties and allegedly turn up at stalls and car boot sales.

Losing faith in the Gardaí who have little or no presence in rural localities since the closure or downgrading of rural stations, local farmers are claiming they are sleeping with shotguns and are threatening to take the law into their own hands and shoot intruders if the Gardaí won't help them.

What can be done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,040 ✭✭✭paulbok

Buy them bullets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Kill them all, let god sort them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

A report by Paul Williams in today's Irish Independent describes how swathes of rural Ireland are at the mercy of roving bands of burglars alleged by Williams and the farmers he interviewed as members of the travelling community. Tools, equipment, trailers, fuel and a range of other items have been stolen from properties and allegedly turn up at stalls and car boot sales.

Losing faith in the Gardaí who have little or no presence in rural localities since the closure or downgrading of rural station, local farmers are claiming they are sleeping with shotguns and are threatening to take the law into their own hands and shoot intruders if the Gardaí won't help them.

What can be done?

What can be done? Shoot them, twice, just to be sure...then kick them in the bollocks for good measure. It needs to be done because Gardai are non-existant in the countryside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

A report by Paul Williams in today's Irish Independent...........

You lost me after I read this bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Guns will sort this out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

What can be done?

I've got the perfect solution!!

Members of our travelling community are often discriminated against looking for employment.
    Let's employ them to act as a vigilante police force, roaming the countryside and protecting our farming folk.
    They could respond in quick time using their sulky racing methods.
    Rumour has it, these fine people are very aware of the country lands, and even know what valuable tools / machinery many of our farmers currently own.

I can't see how this could fail!
    You can all thank me later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

they should be armed to the teeth and given immunity from prosecution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Guns will sort this out.

absolutely....I mean there is no burglary or theft in the USA:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Legalise guns. Have them sold in Aldi and Lidl on specials once a month. What could possibly go wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I think it's about time somebody did something. I certainly won't lose any sleep over a few dead criminals, travellers or otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You lost me after I read this bit.

Hey, he has to keep himself seeming relevant somehow

They should dissapear them all into slurry tanks. Or bogland...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Riskymove wrote: »

No burglary or theft in the US. What planet are you living on?

*it would seem your sarcasm detector is irreparably broken*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭josephryan1989

Burglars or farmers?

And only for a Predator hunter to turn up attracted by a mini civil war to pursue and kill human prey?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

How many other farmers would end up shot 'by accident' I wonder

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Perhaps offer them training in the safe usage of guns?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Put a height barrier at the front gate to stop Transits getting in?..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,222 ✭✭✭circadian

Sniper rifles with awards for the longest headshot at the end of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Old West, eh?

The Gardai and the Farmers have cleearly downgraded their Social Contract. If Ireland wants to be "gun-free" so to speak (recreational shooting and stuff, see Sparks for info), then it is obliged to facilitate 100% Gardai Jurisdiction with reasonable effectiveness.

Unless the Gardai want to agree to crackdown and provide more relief to rural areas, they have no choice but to advise the farmers to take the defense of their land into their own hands, as it has been done for countless generations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,514 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Put a height barrier at the front gate to stop Transits getting in?..

Ideal for the tractorless farmer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Donate some of the IRA armoury to the west. The boys said they don't need them anymore so rural dwellers might as well put them to some use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭dandyelevan

whiskeyman wrote: »
    I've got the perfect solution!!

Members of our travelling community are often discriminated against looking for employment.
    Let's employ them to act as a vigilante police force, roaming the countryside and protecting our farming folk.
    They could respond in quick time using their sulky racing methods.
    Rumour has it, these fine people are very aware of the country lands, and even know what valuable tools / machinery many of our farmers currently own.

I can't see how this could fail!
    You can all thank me later

An' t'would be good for the environment too ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭dandyelevan

We could have a Traveller Police Force. The USA has the Tribal Police for Indian Reservations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Legalise guns. Have them sold in Aldi and Lidl on specials once a month. What could possibly go wrong?

The guns. after about a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Riskymove wrote: »

Not many repeat offenders. Corpses dont steal well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,907 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

All very well blaming the garda lads but rural stations are all but gone. Garda numbers barely increased and dwindling fleet vehicles covering huge areas. One guy from tipp on the radio today and was saying that the garda had 1 car covering an area of 30-40 miles.

Believe me from talking to Garda in the Midlands recently they are as pïssed off as any of us at the spate of robberies caused by travellers.

Since they claim to be an ethnic minority preserving their culture we should add everyone of them to a DNA database. Nothing to hide so they shouldnt have any objection. Then let forensics at all the crimescenes ala CSI...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I had three dogs stolen before the home heating oil of my neighbours (whose house is close by) was stolen. I just hope the dogs weren't used as bait to blood fighting dogs.

I have security cameras now, and I have less visitors wanting to sell stuff, which is most likely stolen. I had one person come a couple of years back, he said he was before the courts and all the stuff he was selling was legit and he was selling stuff to show the court he had changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

This was on TV3 this morning.
    Dealing with Rural Crime

We meet a Galway couple who say they have been left with no option but to sleep with a nail gun to protect their property.

https://www.tv3.ie/ireland_am_video.php?locID=1.65.74&video=98581

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭tigerboon

Losing faith in the Gardaí who have little or no presence in rural localities since the closure or downgrading of rural stations, local farmers are claiming they are sleeping with shotguns and are threatening to take the law into their own hands and shoot intruders if the Gardaí won't help them.

What can be done?

Stay out of their homes. Everybody should have the right to defend their families and property

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Notavirus.exe

I was in the car driving on a road when I saw a Transit van with a traveler sitting in the driver seat on the right hand side of the road directly across from a house on the left. The next thing I saw was another traveler jumping over the garden wall with a football in his hand.

I mean, when you have to steal a FOOTBALL, come on, that's just sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

We could have a Traveller Police Force. The USA has the Tribal Police for Indian Reservations.

Only for Pavee Point would put a stop to it, you'd have the makings of one hell of a TV show there.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Since they claim to be an ethnic minority preserving their culture we should add everyone of them to a DNA database

How does that follow?

What can be done?

Keep all tools in the house. Rig a garden shed to explode when opened.

I can only describe these people as sick and dirty animals if they think that they have the right to enter someone's property and take what they want as if there was a big "Everything's Free!" sign out on the road.

:mad: :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

6 houses around here were burgled in one night recently, they even went into one house while the family were asleep and one of the kids woke up to find 2 guys in the sitting room.

Another old man was tied up and robbed twice in the same week, now he's afraid to go to sleep at night.

I don't blame the Gardai, the local stations have all been closed and by the time they get here sure the boyos are long gone.

Nally had the right attitude, give them a bit of lead see how they like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Ah hold on lads. You can't be saying that travellers are involved in a lot of rural crime. It may be true but it's not PC. You know it's been part of their culture for generations to steal heating oil and TV for the last 1000 years.

We had TV 1000 years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

I'm sure it would be possible to rent a couple of military spec drones and fly them around high risk area's doing domestic surveillance, they can work over huge areas, and very quickly identify ground movement especially at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

More Paidric Nally's needed.

Using guns is certainly not the answer to the theft of tools or trailers.

They may be able to reduce the fear of assaults. Which is a far more serious matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭316

Using guns is certainly not the answer to the theft of tools or trailers.

A 4x4 is the answer maybe?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Better to have a gun and not need it, than need one and not have it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I'd love to catch one of the b@stards and tie him up on a kitchen chair and break his jaw.

Those cnuts wouldn't think twice about doing it to an elderly woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

RTE are still showing original shows from
    Back then.

• Site Banned Posts: 65 ✭✭Trabejo

JJJJNR wrote: »
    I'm sure it would be possible to rent a couple of military spec drones and fly them around high risk area's doing domestic surveillance, they can work over huge areas, and very quickly identify ground movement especially at night.

This isn't Baghdad or Aleepo. High spec military drones for **** sake? Just have a police car drive around a high risk area to be able to rapidly respond. Putting high spec drones up in the air is possibly the stupidest idea I have heard in a long time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

More Paidric Nally's needed.

The next Garda Commissioner should be Paidric Nally:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Farmers have being saying this with years.
    Even if their was a Gardai within one Km of the house you'd still get people saying this.
    One of the biggest problems that these farmers would face in my opinion would be if they shot dead a member of these gangs. They and their family would be driven insane by the gang for the rest of their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Rural people under siege

Only Williams could come out with such crap and avoid the ridicule.

Unless you're pretty minted, you don't have the option to turn your home into Fort Knox. Doesn't matter how many Gardai there are.. they can't be everywhere at once.

You're at less risk of being a victim of crime in Ballyhaunis than you are in Balbriggan, but people would flip their **** at the idea of townies amassing and demanding guns, or threatening to take the law into their own hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Drone strikes ,
    Bring in drone strikes