Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 (*EVERYONE READ MOD POST in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,005 ✭✭✭✭8-10

I'm interested to see if the leaking of the team before games continues with Klopp there or if it's finally put to bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,130 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Gotta laugh at his dismissal of the 'Transfer commitee' , scout Bebe personally did he ? The era of managers being that hands on ended in the early 90's when teams started looking abroad at the Zola's rather then at Nottingham Forrest for the Roy Keane's. Of course there are no brainer manager directed signings but the vast majority are punts suggested by a 'committee' after being directed to find a pacy winger by the manager.

Liverpool's transfer committee is just an unfortunately public and dysfunctional(at least under Rodger's) example of what goes on behind closed doors at any modern club.

Yeah, like the structure of it makes perfect sense.

Manager says the type of player he wants, likely giving an example. Scouts etc all go off and find the best options they can, return to manager for his approval. He runs the rule over them and says the order of preference. Club tries to buy them in that order, getting the highest priority they can within budget.

The fact that it was a disaster under Rodgers looks more like terrible communication and implementation of the system, rather than the system itself.

For us it looked more like the "committee" had a certain amount allocated towards the managers immediate requirements, and a certain amount allocated towards buying players in random positions, with a view to long term profit. That element of it has to stop - for senior players at least, only guys who are viewed as adding something to the first team squad should be considered. For the long term profit game, stick to 15/16/17 year olds.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

8-10 wrote: »
    I'm interested to see if the leaking of the team before games continues with Klopp there or if it's finally put to bed

Don't think the leaking of team info was an internal thing, I think it was more of an issue of fans getting access to Melwood training pitches by standing on wheelie bins and looking over walls. Apparently the issue is being rectified now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Why does anyone care what Fergie thinks?

In fairness, that came across as complete banter!

Also, he makes some good points, especailly regardingthe transfer committee and lack of trust in a manager.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Why does anyone care what Fergie thinks?

Because he knows a thing or two about winning. Perhaps even more than your average poster on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

LiamoSail wrote: »
    Because he knows a thing or two about winning. Perhaps even more than your average poster on here

And he absolutely has LFC's best interests at hearts, he's a great lad that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,870 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

corwill wrote: »
    And he absolutely has LFC's best interests at hearts, he's a great lad that way.

Exactly, and that's why it's good to hear him say that he's worried that LFC has appointed Klopp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Who cares what Ferguson thinks, he hates us and we hate him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭sword1

murpho999 wrote: »
    Exactly, and that's why it's good to hear him say that he's worried that LFC has appointed Klopp.
    Yes and he tells every reporter exactly what he genuinely thinks, stinks of mind games if he was still managing, more likely just a way to get some press, he misses all the attention

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭JohnDaniels

8-10 wrote: »

I seen someone on rawk say they are putting a screen around Melwood to stop this information leaking from people watching training sessions and making educated guesses which is apparently where much of that information came from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

Every time I look at one of his interviews, it just reminds me of this fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

way too much talk of Ferguson.

It will be interesting to see if both Sturridge & Ings start Saturday or most likely just one of them. Ings is in good form & Firmino is still injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Yeah, he hates Liverpool, we hate him. Sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

MD1990 wrote: »
    way too much talk of Ferguson.

Unless its Hannah

http://art-in-focus.ru/uploads/posts/2014-09/1411271503_hannah_ferguson.jpg

Edited to protect Lucky Lloyd's employment prospects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,680 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Yeah, like the structure of it makes perfect sense.

Manager says the type of player he wants, likely giving an example. Scouts etc all go off and find the best options they can, return to manager for his approval. He runs the rule over them and says the order of preference. Club tries to buy them in that order, getting the highest priority they can within budget.

The fact that it was a disaster under Rodgers looks more like terrible communication and implementation of the system, rather than the system itself.

For us it looked more like the "committee" had a certain amount allocated towards the managers immediate requirements, and a certain amount allocated towards buying players in random positions, with a view to long term profit. That element of it has to stop - for senior players at least, only guys who are viewed as adding something to the first team squad should be considered. For the long term profit game, stick to 15/16/17 year olds.

Spot on i think , and i think it works well in american sports where player can come in for one specfic play that takes s few seconds , then be taken in/out as required .
    Even in a more fluid game like soccer it can be a sucessful and lucrative policy if implemented right and not at the expense of first team options . Given the amount of competitions and the amount of money any club in the pl can spend makes it very lucrative and a good business plan .
    Just proper contraints and direction with the manager / coaches giving imput would work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Well, she can knock me off my perch any day

With all the DVD viewing Klopp is putting himself through (and some of the games will surely test his endurance) I hope someone will stick a couple of games like Liverpool 5-1 Arsenal and Liverpool 3 - 2 Man City in the pile as they show what the side can do if well set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,794 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Lads...the NSFW pics need to be in spoilers. I don't like reporting posts!

Not safe for work? I was watching Secretary last night - that's not safe for work! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

With all the DVD viewing Klopp is putting himself through (and some of the games will surely test his endurance) I hope someone will stick a couple of games like Liverpool 5-1 Arsenal and Liverpool 3 - 2 Man City in the pile as they show what the side can do if well set up.

And Being Liverpool Season One. He can finally sort the conundrum. Did Sterling say "steady"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

He'd only want to watch the first half of the City game tbh if he wants to be impressed! Second half we got our arses handed to us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Unless its Hannah

http://art-in-focus.ru/uploads/posts/2014-09/1411271503_hannah_ferguson.jpg

Major camel toe going on there

You could use that as a snooker rest if she was laying on her back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭brevity

x43r0 wrote: »

You could use that as a snooker rest if she was laying on her back

Pot the pink ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,794 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Cheers boss. Don't get me wrong - I'd love to oogle the picture (and may very well do after work!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭kop77

so.... team for Saturday?

..........................Ming......................

..............Skrtel...............Sakho.........
    ....Clyne.................................Moreno

...................Can.......Lucas................

.........Milner.....................Lallana.......
    .....................Coutinho......................

..................Sturridge........................

maybe swap Can for Milner?

kop77 wrote: »
    so.... team for Saturday?

..........................Ming......................

..............Skrtel...............Sakho.........
    ....Clyne.................................Moreno

...................Can.......Lucas................

.........Milner.....................Lallana.......
    .....................Coutinho......................

..................Sturridge........................

maybe swap Can for Milner?

Has to be 4-4-2 diamond for me.

.................Minging
    Clyne---Skrtel--Sakho--Moreno
    Lucas
    Can
    Milner
    Coutinho
    Sturridge----Ings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

The one team Rodgers seemed to have the upper hand on, Spurs, and its Klopp first game.

Queue those feckers ruining our weekend now.

Still, I am very excite.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,891 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Knex. wrote: »
    The one team Rodgers seemed to have the upper hand on, Spurs, and its Klopp first game.

Queue those feckers ruining our weekend now.

Still, I am very excite.

Well we've beaten them the last 5 times we've played them in the league with a combined score of 18-4, so they owe us one now. Hopefully they won't give it to us this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,657 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

5starpool wrote: »
    Well we've beaten them the last 5 times we've played them in the league with a combined score of 18-4, so they owe us one now. Hopefully they won't give it to us this weekend.

And we use to struggle there, right? Raging I've to work Saturday, think I might ring in dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

For saturday I would go 4-3-3. I would give Origi a start as Lallana is doing well last few weeks but takes up similar positions to Coutinho.

Mignolet--
    Clyne---Skrtel---Sakho---Moreno
    Milner----Lucas----
    Coutinho
    Sturridge---Ings
    Origi