Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OMG HELP!

• 02-09-2015 8:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭

Oh lads
    Hangover from hell and Im sitting at my desk. Please help! :eek::confused::confused::confused:

Eggs, cheese, water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

You dont have a cheeky brandy bottle in your desk??

Amateur

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I'm sending my love down the well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Step 1: Create time machine
    Step 2: Go back in time to when your past self was going to bed
    Step 3: Make your past self take a dioralyte before bed
    Step 4: Realise the time machine no longer works and your present self is stuck in time with your past self

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Dovies wrote: »
    Oh lads
    Hangover from hell and Im sitting at my desk. Please help! :eek::confused::confused::confused:

If you have made it to the desk, its only a baby hangover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Do they know you're hungover? Can you puke all over yourself and blame it on bird flu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Hell does not exist therefore your hangover is a mere figment. Huzzah!

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Suffer, it's good for ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

nip to the jacks for a fiddle with yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

You work on a Wednesday? Loser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭biketard

How about a nice greasy pork sandwich served in a dirty ashtray?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

That'll teach ya to go on the p!ss on a tuesday night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

Go to the bathroom and take off your shirt to see how much sweat has built up in your shirt collar. Then put back on your shirt and let yourself sweat more into your bacteria laiden starchy shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Have water and thats it! OMG how am I going to make it to 12! Going home time ! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,904 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Up your protein intake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Better to have a hangover in work time than your own time. Dying and getting paid for it.

#thuglife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tell them you need to go home because your granny passed away unexpectedly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Oh lads

Pray to God

Please God cure my hangover and I promise I will never drink again, ever ,please.

And also please forgive me in advance for lying in saying I will never drink again.

biko wrote: »

Can't do that - they all know my granny! Thing is when I sober up I will be even worse. God damn you NZ wine!

How much wine did you have?

xabi wrote: »
    How much wine did you have?

In between the eating and the talking - 2 bottles!

In before someone calls you a lightweight, lightweight.

Helpful reply - Get food and Water into you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

I always think ice cream is your best bet, at least then if you have to get sick it will taste nice :)

what were you doing out on a tuesday night anyway ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

I think the OP is what's wrong with Ireland.

It's bloody Wednesday, why on earth are you hungover in work today? Thank God it's Tuesday, was that your motto last night?

Meanwhile you're sitting there being completely unproductive and getting paid for it, and now you're on boards proving you are doing nothing.

Grow up and sort yourself out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

If you can get it, tomato juice is one of the best ways to get rid of a hangover.

kjl wrote: »

It's bloody Wednesday, why on earth are you hungover in work today? Thank God it's Tuesday, was that your motto last night?

Ah get off your high horse, nothing wrong with a few drinks on a Tuesday, anyway life would be a lot more pleasant if people were more relaxed.

Greed is what's wrong with this country and every other country the world over, I'd love to see half the country go into work hungover today and do a rubbish job just to cost these fcukers some money!
    Meanwhile you're sitting there being completely unproductive and getting paid for it, and now you're on boards proving you are doing nothing.

The irony of this statement, so are you :)

Jaysus, from the man who had to give up drink cause he used to drink too much!
    I used to go there at least twice a week, IE£1.50 / €2 a drink was nuts. I actually drank so much back then that I stopped drinking in 2002 and have been sober since.

Theres plenty of things wrong with Ireland. Some lad with a hangover is the least of them

Girl! :rolleyes::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

But what if she is the Irishwoman with the keys to our nuclear arsenal, ready to launch a strike? And her now dying, she might fire it at the wrong nation!!!

Did you think of that did you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

How come you're off at 12, I'm jealous, I want a job like that.

Ah Jesus leave it out , the lady is dying and your going on about productivity ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

Jaysus there is an over reaction and a half.

A girl with a hangover on a weekday is what is wrong with the whole country? Eh could be worse I guess. At least everything else is grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

OP drink lots of caffeine. Caffeine blocks adenosine uptake in your brain and will help lessen your headache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

raw eggs and vinegar

Boscoirl wrote: »
    raw eggs and vinegar

GOOD LORD, are you trying to kill the man!!!

To be printed out and kept on your mirror I myself stick to number 13 and it feels great

1. Go one for one. It’s no secret that drinking water can help deflect a pounding AM headache. (Pretty much the opposite of a good morning.) Tissues around the brain are mostly made of water, and dehydration will shrink these tissues, creating pressure in the head. Alcohol can lead to dehydration, so make sure to continuously drink water throughout the night[1]. Try matching each alcoholic drink with one glass of water to avoid any next-day pain[2].
    2. Chow down. Just because beer has calories doesn’t mean it counts as dinner. Drinking on an empty stomach will allow alcohol to absorb faster, so try getting in a good meal with lots of healthy carbs before breaking out the bottle. Alcohol also increases acid secretion in the stomach, which can make us feel nauseous, and food can act as a buffer to the acid. Some research even shows a stomach full of food may help keep blood alcohol content at a lower level.
    3. Keep it light. Darker drinks like red wine or rum contain congeners (substances produced during fermentation), which may contribute to hangovers[3]. Skip the whiskey in favor of vodka or a glass of white wine.
    4. Stay classy. More expensive liquors tend to contain less filler congeners (a cause for headaches, as described above). So pass on the well liquors and take it up a notch with some top-shelf booze.
    5. Take a multivitamin. Drinking depletes nutrients in the body, including vitamin B12 and folate. Try popping a multivitamin to replenish what’s lost from a night of drinking.
    6. Skip the bubbles. Opt out of champagne or other alcohol that’s mixed with carbonated beverages. The bubbles may cause alcohol to be absorbed more quickly. (Hence that New Year’s Day hangover.)
    7. Snack on Pickles. The thought of ‘em might turn your stomach the day after partying, but snacking on a few pickles could help out a dehydrated body. Pickles contain vinegar, water — and sodium, an electrolyte that we lose after excessive drinking. Some people really do knock back a few shots of pickle juice to help a hangover, but we’ll leave this one up to you.
    8. Grab some potassium. When dehydrated, we lose not only water, but electrolytes, too. Gain ‘em back by snacking on potassium-rich foods like bananas or spinach ((Potassium. AHFS Consumer Medication Information. Last reviewed: September 1, 2010.)).
    9. Scramble eggs. Eggs contain taurine, which has been shown to reverse liver damage caused by a night of heavy boozing[4]. Scramble them up with lots of veggies for added antioxidant power!
    10. Sip ginger tea. Hangovers can sometimes come with a side of upset stomach. To settle that tummy, brew a warm mug of ginger tea. Ginger has been shown to help combat nausea[5].
    11. Refuel at the breakfast table. Alcohol will lead to a drop in blood sugar, so boost it back up with a glass of OJ in the morning[6]!
    12. Get some fresh air. Oxygen increases the rate that alcohol toxins are broken down, so bundle up and get outdoors. A little exercise never hurt anyone — and it may even release some endorphins to boost a post-hangover mood.
    13. Play D.D. We’re sorry to say that the only sure-fire way to avoid a hangover is to skip the booze altogether[7]. So if waking up to a pounding headache doesn’t sound fun, play designated driver for the night (even if not actually driving).

“Until lions have their historians - tales of the hunt shall always glorify the hunter.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

biko wrote: »

I've killed off 5 grannies and 3 Grandads already. Really living on the edge, wonder will they call my bluff?

You sound like great craic.

Not the best myself this morning, currently trying to talk myself out of sneaking out for a quick drop of something for the cure....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Moanyhole

Listen mate..

Its not the first time and it wont be your last.

We have all been there before. You can get through this.

Stay away from Coffee tea... Get lots of water into you.

Ham roll and can of coke for lunch.

Count down the hours... You'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Nothing worse then a hangover at work, my sympathies OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Drinkin on a Tuesday night?
    You ok hun? Xx

Having lots of water and currently one of the girls has a bottle of lucozade in the freezer for me! :)

http://www.bbc.com/news/health-34072712

Seems drinking water isn't much help ... :(
    Instead, a study concluded, the only way to prevent a hangover is to drink less alcohol.

- No sh1t Sherlock !!!

xabi wrote: »
    Jaysus, from the man who had to give up drink cause he used to drink too much!

Yeah, 13 years ago, when I was 22. I didn't have to work the next day.

Look I don't mean to take it out on the OP, but the Irish are categorically lazy and heading out boozing on a Tuesday is not helping. I work for a multinational but don't work in the Irish office, but the odd time I need to contact the office for administrative reasons. Trying to get through to someone on a Friday is basically impossible. This is because the HR team like to head out on a Thursday night and get plastered then completely ignore all emails and calls the next day.

I know I don't drink, but I have nothing against someone who wants to have a drink. But time and a place.

The irony of this statement, so are you :)

Not in work today

Yeah, 13 years ago, when I was 22. I didn't have to work the next day.

Look I don't mean to take it out on the OP, but the Irish are categorically lazy and heading out boozing on a Tuesday is not helping. I work for a multinational but don't work in the Irish office, but the odd time I need to contact the office for administrative reasons. Trying to get through to someone on a Friday is basically impossible. This is because the HR team like to head out on a Thursday night and get plastered then completely ignore all emails and calls the next day.

I know I don't drink, but I have nothing against someone who wants to have a drink. But time and a place.

Good points, but Irish are "categorically lazy" ?

Not in work today

I knew well you'd say that, it's basically the only thing you could have said in response.

As for "the Irish are categorically lazy", that itself is an extremely lazy sweeping statement. I've worked with people from other countries over the years and found that geography has nothing to do with their work ethic. Some Irish people were great workers, some were hopeless, exact same for the foreigners.