Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I suspect it's mostly commercial vehicles. Anyone who is paying for their own diesel must surely notice if that much is being lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Big oil slick at Heuston couple of weeks ago, opposite the station on the bend leaving town, I had some really awesome sideways action. I was in the car and got to enjoy some drifting :pac:
    Going sideways in a gutless Ford Focus was fairly hairy but I managed to hold it, had I been going faster than the 40kph I'd say I'd have struggled. I did call it in to Kilmainham Garda Station who to be fair took it fairly seriously.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

What. The. Actual. Fcuk.

http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/microchips-the-next-step-in-anti-doping-fight-argues-olympians-chief/?utm_content=bufferf6841&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer

What is wrong with people? Jesus most people want a clean sport but chipping people - and comparing it to dogs??? I'm aghast. How was he even allowed to say that outside his own crazy mind? :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,999 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Barcodes were always a good idea, why settle for athletes, lets just cover everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Hi-vis barcodes obviously...

CramCycle wrote: »
    Barcodes were always a good idea, why settle for athletes, lets just cover everyone

developers-will-resist.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,092 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Weepsie wrote: »
    Anyone notice and unusual amount of oil on the roads today. Ballymun road as far as phibsborough was completely covered in an unending oil slick

I'd hazard it's from a poorly maintained bus
    It would be diesel rather than 'oil'. No engine could survive losing that much oil.

It usually happens when the diesel tank fuel cap hasn't be secured correctly after refueling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

Yeah I’m now totally convinced there is no way to look remotely cool on a Dublin Bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,073 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Started some basic strength work as part of training for next season and I'm amazed at the lack of friendly communication in a gym.
    All headphones no chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,380 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

dahat wrote: »
    Started some basic strength work as part of training for next season and I'm amazed at the lack of friendly communication in a gym.
    All headphones no chat.
    Pfft, next you'll be expecting cyclist to greet each other when passing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

detones wrote:
    Yeah I’m now totally convinced there is no way to look remotely cool on a Dublin Bike.

See ya on top of the Kilmashogue lane

All headphones no chat.

I'm delighted no one talks to me in the gym. In, session done, home. I do be in such a sweaty, red-faced state I'm in no humour to talk to anyone!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,337 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

the people i do know who talk in the gym are rugby types who go to do weights as some sort of social thing. not my cup of tea...

Now I do love going to the gym with friends (our team have s+c sessions once a week with a PT), we all suffer together. but there's no one else there when we're there. But polite recognition at most under normal gym conditions only please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,073 ✭✭✭✭dahat

There isn't even polite recognition on offer where I go, odd folk gym people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

Polite recognition is typically all that's given or received by me. Like Nee, nobody wants to spend time talking to sweaty me during a workout, unless it's the quick "are you using that?" variety. Before workout, or after I've showered, fine, otherwise nod and let me get on with it.

(Okay, a couple of trainers may come over and chat, but they're used to dealing with hot sweaty clients)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,337 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

the reaction you want from other people in the gym is simply silent awe at your prowess, surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

the reaction you want from other people in the gym is simply silent awe at your prowess, surely?

Christ...you're not doing a Harvey Weinstein down the gym are you!

It's the only one I get :cool: :pac:

If I can avoid silent recognition all the better.

Christ...you're not doing a Harvey Weinstein down the gym are you!
    heh; i know that was intended in jest, but just in case there was any ambiguity, no, no and thrice no.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

There isn't even polite recognition on offer where I go, odd folk gym people.

I used to do a boot camp session most mornings before work. Always a bit of craic and made the session easier. Same with kettle bell classes and boxing. If you're seeing the same people day in day out over an extended period of time you'd expect some level of familiarity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Sad to see 2wheels go. Cliff and the rest of the lads were always great to deal with, but there's no way I'm trekking out to Sandymount for a service. Time to start studying the GCN maintenance videos!

Generally I have my headphones in and just want to get my training done in the gym. The only time I'd chat in the gym is if I'm training with somebody

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,999 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I like my gym, called the N11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

CramCycle wrote: »
    I like my gym, called the N11.

Yeah, but most of the other gym users there are asses.

Sitting in work thinking I'd get loads done today, phone and email will be quiet. Turns out my colleagues all had the same idea so it's been non stop jibber jabber around me and now we have an email from HR telling us we all need to leave by 10.30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Ed Sheeran hit by a car while on his bike in London & broke his arm.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/3am/celebrity-news/ed-sheeran-hit-car-london-11349727?ICID=FB_mirror_main

Tour de France 2018 presentation on Eurosport tomorrow at 10:30 for anyone interested.

if someone finds a small frame pump somewhere between glasnevin and leopardstown, could you hold on to it for me? ta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,028 ✭✭✭De Bhál