Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,908 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

ED E wrote: »
    Missed this before, that would be amazing tomasrojo as I've learned from CW that the distributor for them in IE has shut up shop. I'll throw a few quid to the SSF to make up for your generosity :)

I'm off out right now. PM me and we'll arrange a pick up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,278 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Beasty wrote: »
    Right, so - the plan is evolving

Thinking about putting on one of these goldsprint events at my workplace. Just need to get someone senior enough (probably me) to sign it all off and agree the company will fund the Cervelo prize bike.
    How are you going to get the bikes up to the top?

Mordor.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Sure a 36x28 will be grand for that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

CramCycle wrote: »
    I done a similar competition in my old job last year, where you won some random gift. You got two attempts to cover the most distance in one minute. A young lad beat my first attempt by 20 metres. I beat him by 2metres on my second attempt but could not walk for the rest of the day. So worth it for the tub of whey powder I never intend using.

Damn, for a moment I read that as "white powder" and eyebrows hit the ceiling.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Enjoy your new bike Cram! We expect a winning update... #spintowin

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,000 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

nee wrote: »
    Enjoy your new bike Cram! We expect a winning update... #spintowin
    Got a call from the creche, I spun to get there (I can be pretty damn fast with motivation apparently), so no bike for me. I do wonder if I had taken the time to change into my cycling shoes would I have been quicker overall and two, apparently my really nice work trousers do not like cycling.
    On a side note, people in creches are terrible for exaggerating symptoms. He is a bit tired and a tiny bit pale should not be related to you as, he is very pale and lethargic, he keeps falling asleep and we cannot wake him up now, I keep checking in on him to make sure he is still breathing.
    Sweet christ, I arrive to see him tired but sitting up and chatting to his friends. Thankfully my adrenaline instead of common sense kicked in, because if I had taken what they said on board I would have screamed for an ambulance.
    Going to get a pic of the bike that I can show at his 21st and say, my love for you cost me this bike.

What happened to the bike?

I've uploaded a couple of GPX files so I can see how they work on the Here app on my phone.

(I made the routes in http://brouter.de/brouter-web/ and downloaded them, then emailed them to myself, opened the email on the phone and told it to add the route to Here We Go.)

But how do I invoke them from Here?

Chuchote wrote: »
    What happened to the bike?

Some young person has it now, I am acting on the basis that I would have won it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Some young person has it now, I am acting on the basis that I would have won it.

Correct procedure!

Oooh, that bike! The putative bike! Ah well: toddler/bike, hmmm; bike/toddler, hmmm… you made the right choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,908 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Oooh, that bike! The putative bike! Ah well: toddler/bike, hmmm; bike/toddler, hmmm… you made the right choice.

?u=http%3A%2F%2Fcdn.abclocal.go.com%2Fcontent%2Fwabc%2Fimages%2Fcms%2F1378960_1280x720.jpg&f=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Quick help. I know nothing about hybrid/MTB wheels and a work colleague has brough in his tyre/wheel measurements for a new tube he needs, as I know about bikes and all that stuff. He's given me "37-622" and "28 x 1 3/8". What tube do I need on CRC? Links please.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Normal 700c tube will do just fine, just make sure it's suited for larger (37mm) tyres and has the right valve type (schrader/presta/Dunlop)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Yup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,385 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Weepsie wrote: »
    I read about it the other day. In reality I think it's more to do with the cars being for sale, the fact that they're in a cycle lane is coincidental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,094 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Weepsie wrote: »
    I read about it the other day. In reality I think it's more to do with the cars being for sale, the fact that they're in a cycle lane is coincidental.
    There are cars permanently parked in the cycle track on the R132 at Fosterstown in Swords (outside the breakers yard) for years now. One time I asked a couple of Gardai who happened to be in the vicinity about it and the reply I got was that the scrapyard owner put them there as he wanted them towed away so the Gardai weren't going to give in to him!

(I also realise that there is a long time legal dispute going on there).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,385 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I never realised there was motive behind it, I just thought the owner was inconsiderate.

The owner has a grievance dating back to the road widening about 15/20 years ago. In protest he leaves vehicles on what he believes was/is his property to highlight his case. The Gardai don't wish to 'take the bait' as such as his dispute is with FCC.

There are cars permanently parked in the cycle track on the R132 at Fosterstown in Swords (outside the breakers yard) for years now. One time I asked a couple of Gardai who happened to be in the vicinity about it and the reply I got was that the scrapyard owner put them there as he wanted them towed away so the Gardai weren't going to give in to him!

(I also realise that there is a long time legal dispute going on there).

This seems odd. Surely they'd have scrap value that the Gardaí could claim, not to mention the normal fine for leaving an untaxed car on the road, etc?

I'd say it's a can of worms that the Gardai don't wish to open (re-open). Some of the vehicles don't have reg plates so it would be difficult to establish ownership. Scrap value would be negligible and it would cost the state more to tow away/store vehicles that aren't going to be claimed.

I have vague recollections of this story, whereby everyone knows he put them there but since there is no documentation, he just denies it or he claims when it is brought up that they are not his. Something along the lines of really stupid sh1t where by he should have been done for littering but so far they have not proven he is the one to have littered.

I'd say it's a can of worms that the Gardai don't wish to open (re-open). Some of the vehicles don't have reg plates so it would be difficult to establish ownership. Scrap value would be negligible and it would cost the state more to tow away/store vehicles that aren't going to be claimed.

How much does it cost to tow away a car and bring it to the pound, and what's the law on this - how long before a towed car is sold or scrapped if it's not claimed?

(When I scrapped my car, Leo's of Arklow came to Dublin and drove it away and paid me scrap value according to its weight, which was 3 tons.)

Went through the whole length of Dunsink Lane this morning. Jaysus, I never had such overwhelming I-just-want-to-get-the-feck-out-of-here feeling in my cycling career. The dodgiest of the dodgy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Alek wrote: »
    Went through the whole length of Dunsink Lane this morning. Jaysus, I never had such overwhelming I-just-want-to-get-the-feck-out-of-here feeling in my cycling career. The dodgiest of the dodgy...

I cycled it not too long ago. Didn't think it was bad.

River Road is nice.

The "fun" part starts further on, past the blockade...