Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All things Nando's

• 31-08-2015 10:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭

Starting a thread about Nandos. Do you like it or not like it. Do you think it's overrated or overpriced? What's your favourite dish to get from Nandos?

Mine is chicken butterfly with garlic bread and peri chips!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭EoinAFC

Overrated, the price for what you get is ridiculous. It's got a following and therefore people will say it's amazing but it is just chicken with a hot sauce put on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Overrated and extremely expensive. It's just chicken and chips but 3x the price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

She used to bake nice bread and the house used to be spotless whenever we visited. Loved a smoke and those glacier mints.

Those were a few of the things Nan does...or used to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Went a few times. Last time, I got a double chicken wrap with a crappy little salad for €15.90. Haven't gone back since, rip off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Heard loads about it. Never been.

What do they do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Never had it. I had a look in, saw the price and walked out again.

Was that was cheeky enough for ye?.

Naos wrote: »
    Went a few times. Last time, I got a double chicken wrap with a crappy little salad for €15.90. Haven't gone back since, rip off.

A wrap and salad for 15 quid?!? :eek:

I've only ever had it in England so can't comment on the price in euro. The fact that you purchase most items singularly is a shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Isn't it just perri perri chicken at 4 times the cost?

It's just chicken with a choice of perri perri sauce. Different types of chicken obviously only redeeming factor is the 20% off for students that they offer in my local one (Derry)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Nermal

you know when you go down town with the lads and you all realize you’re hank marvin’ so you say “lads let’s go Maccers” but your mate Smithy a.k.a. The Bantersaurus Rex has some mula left on his nandos gift card and he’s like “mate let’s a have a cheeky nandos on me” and you go “Smithy my son you’re an absolute ledge” so you go have an extra cheeky nandos with a side order of Top Quality Banter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Honestly, I think Nando's is pretty damn tasty, the wild herb sauce is positively gorgeous. My girlfriend is a huge fan. But it is about twice as expensive as it needs to be, it's pretty extortionate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Fair play to the boy, 'e's a 24 carot diamond geezer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Melisandre121

I used to work in Nandos :) My personal favourite is a 1/4 chicken with peri chips and creamy mash. Amazing.

I agree it is a little overpriced, but what I would say is that the chicken is grade A Irish meat. And everything is grilled (apart from the chips of course..) so it is a much healthier option than say, KFC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Never eat in a place that ends in a vowel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Only been twice and loved it both times. I hate the "cheeky nandos" ****e but the restaurant itself has a nice theme inside and lovely food.

How much is an average nando's? considering KFC costs roughly 8 euro

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 647 ✭✭✭RichardCeann

Decent scran. Expensive for what you get but it is a nice treat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Tompatrick

EoinAFC wrote: »

20 snots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Around 15 - 20 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,234 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

It is what it is. If I'm out and about somewhere with few options then I'd much rather Nando's than Burger King or McDonald's or the like. But it is ridiculously overpriced. They should wear masks and a stripey jumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I like Nandos. We usually get whatever chicken we want each and share two sides. I feel much more ripped off in Eddie Rockets. The Nandos loyalty card is pretty decent.

I highly recommend perinaise for anyone who hasn't yet had it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Overpriced. You're paying restaurant prices for what is essentially fast food. KFC or Hillbilly's is much better value.

It's not fast food, it takes about 15-20 minutes to make.

Grilled chicken burger, chips and bottomless soft drinks = about 15.50

It's what I got both times I was there. I agree that other things are so expensive on the menu though

How is a fresh chicken fillet grilled considered fast food? Bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

belongs to a lad named nando

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

It's too expensive but the chicken is very good, and the piri piri as hot as you can take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭spiderman1885

knock off the bottomless soft drink and get a water, 15 becomes closer to 12.

And if you really wanted you could still just take the soft drink.

#VeryCheekyIndeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

First time I tried Nandos I thought it was overrated but it's really grown on me, I love the butterfly chicken and selection of sauces although I agree that's it's a bit pricey. But then again I use so much sauce and go for that many refills that I basically get my money's worth :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Thing about Nando's is they have no competition.
    Everywhere else selling chicken serves deep fried crap covered in horrible mass produced batter.
    At least you can actually see them taking the chicken from the fridge and flame grilling it.
    Their sides are nice also.

Cracked Chicken on Dame St is nicer but more expensive again.

There's a buffet on Moore St that do nice chicken for anyone on a budget though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

MarkY91 wrote: »
    How is a fresh chicken fillet grilled considered fast food? Bizarre.

Well, they just throw it on a grill for ten or so minutes. There's not a great deal of technique involved in it.

Yes there is. The chicken is fresh and never frozen. It's prepared in the kitchen, basted, cooked and then transferred to the grills where the grillers blast it over the head for 10 mins or so for the flame grilled taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Very overpriced and boring. People complain about Eddie Rockets but it's better value with more variety.

I like Nandos. We usually get whatever chicken we want each and share two sides. I feel much more ripped off in Eddie Rockets. The Nandos loyalty card is pretty decent.

God no, Eddie Rockets is much better value.

It's not fast food, it takes about 15-20 minutes to make.

And the end result doesn't reflect that, you just end up wondering why fast food took so long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Cracked Chicken on Dame St is nicer but more expensive again.

Do you mean Crackbird? 'Cos they are indeed nice. Their soy chicken was very nice indeed. And the habenero sauce was proper hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Links234 wrote: »
    Do you mean Crackbird? 'Cos they are indeed nice. Their soy chicken was very nice indeed. And the habenero sauce was proper hot.

That's the one.

Cracked Chicken :p In my defense, I've had a drink.

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Grilled chicken burger, chips and bottomless soft drinks = about 15.50

It's what I got both times I was there. I agree that other things are so expensive on the menu though
    Bottomless soft drinks aren't a draw for me personally, there's only so much I can drink.

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Bottomless soft drinks aren't a draw for me personally, there's only so much I can drink.

They know that too,the bottomless soft drink will generally only be filled twice. Such a gimmick

Exactly!

Well fast food to me doesn't just mean the time it takes to make. It's completely different from mcdonalds or KFC etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

I've never been and i don't think i ever will. Not for any particular reason but if i'm out and i'm going to buy quick and easy food i'll probably go for a chipper. Tis all the same unhealthy muck really. I've been to eddie rockets a few times and its ok. Quite expensive to feed a family of five, which is something all you childless whippersnappers dont understand!
    So saying nandos is great is as much of a fashion statement as anything else.
    In my humble opinion.

Stop the press! I think i've been once. It was generic and the kids had pizza which had a massive thick base which was mostly gas. Not impressed really. I forget what i had. Says it all really.
    Now if you want real good food i could talk all night about a certain lodge by a brooke in the wicklow mountains! Or a hotel in renvyle. Thats real food. Nandos me a r s e!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

Yes there is. The chicken is fresh and never frozen. It's prepared in the kitchen, basted, cooked and then transferred to the grills where the grillers blast it over the head for 10 mins or so for the flame grilled taste.

Say that in a sexy Joanna Lumley voice and you would get a job doing the TV ads for them.

Never been and wouldn't at those prices.

Sounds like overpriced hipster fodder to me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭jimbis

Only been once, it was busy and I was clueless to the whole set up of the place.
    Do I sit down and wait for a waiter?
    Do I order and wait for my food?
    Do I sit down and is it brought to me?

It was a long time ago so I can't actually remember what the food was like, I know I ended up with loads of sauce bottles on my table though :D

shedweller wrote: »
    I've never been and i don't think i ever will. Not for any particular reason but if i'm out and i'm going to buy quick and easy food i'll probably go for a chipper. Tis all the same unhealthy muck really. I've been to eddie rockets a few times and its ok. Quite expensive to feed a family of five, which is something all you childless whippersnappers dont understand!
    So saying nandos is great is as much of a fashion statement as anything else.
    In my humble opinion.

Stop the press! I think i've been once. It was generic and the kids had pizza which had a massive thick base which was mostly gas. Not impressed really. I forget what i had. Says it all really.
    Now if you want real good food i could talk all night about a certain lodge by a brooke in the wicklow mountains! Or a hotel in renvyle. Thats real food. Nandos me a r s e!

Feeding a family is something that isn't brought up too often, any takeaway or fast food is expensive with a family. You are looking the bones of 40-50 euro.

I agree it is a little overpriced, but what I would say is that the chicken is grade A Irish meat

Grade A irish chicken meat? Or Grade A Irish horse/dog/mink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I went on a Nados phase a couple of years ago.
    Generally butterfly chicken, garlic bread And sweetcorn. It might be a bit more expensive than KFC but it's a lot better quality and the chicken generally tasted like chicken. I like the refillable soft drinks as well.

My thing about it is that it costs around 15 euros a pop. People say "But it's better than a chipper!". Yeah, it is, but you can get much nicer meals for the same price in so many restaurants! Head over to Bison Bar or whatever your citie's equivalent is and you're in flavour country. Get a Boojum for less than a tenner. Many nicer restaurants will do nicer chicken dishes for 15 euros or less if chicken is what you're after.