If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Wanker watch: Warning signs that someone is a tosser

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭rucksack

malkmoose wrote: »
    An English work colleague loves correcting the grammar of others in work, they are french, spanish, italian, hungarian etc. So non native speakers. Not only does he correct their already brilliant english but he has a big oxford english dictionary that he produces when he is correcting them
    is that the guy that emailed into lyric fm once when there was some dispute about grammar? He said it was his hobby or similar words. By English do you mean he is in England or from England? Or is he in Cork somewhere? I think the radio guy was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

but in any case the Costa is Naff.

Perhaps, but it's about 25 degrees hotter than Dublin at the moment :pac:

professore wrote: »
    Any Irish person who ....
    Says "High Street" instead of "Main Street"
    Says "The Garda" when they mean "The Gardaí". Which f**king Garda ???
    Says "Euros" instead of "Euro"

All correct except the highlighted one. A garda = individual garda. Garda = the shortform for the collective noun, An Garda Síochána. The gardaí = The police officers. Correct. The Gardaí = the Police officers. Incorrect. A proper noun (the Garda) v. a common noun (the garda)

It makes no sense to refer to the force as "the Gardaí", despite the number of inevitably undereducated journalists who persist in doing so (especially the RTÉ crime correspondent). The Irish Times is alone in getting the distinction between Garda (the force), garda (a police officer) and gardaí (police officers) correct - for example. Personally, I think "An Garda" as the short form for the force is preferable to 'The Garda' but 'The Garda' is far more preferable than 'The Gardaí'.

Hint: Does it say "Gardaí" on this car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭g6fdyotp5nj2l7

Fellas who wear cowboy hats that aren't cowboys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Referring to airports exclusively by their three letter code, rather than where they're located.

That doesn't make you smart, go fuccccccccck yourself

Using the term 'pax' if you are not in the travel industry also makes you sound like a gom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭uch

Fellas who wear cowboy hats that aren't cowboys

Fella's who wear Hats

21/25

uch wrote: »
    Fella's who wear Hats

Ha ha yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

rucksack wrote: »
    you never heard of grease monkey =mechanic?

I have now that you mention it. Is that more American?
    All correct except the highlighted one.

'Euros' is also incorrect when speaking about currency.

Pac1Man wrote: »

'Euros' is also incorrect when speaking about currency.

There's a big debate about that. However, here's the EU's official list of the singular and plural version of the word in 11 EU languages:

Spelling of the words "Euro" and "Cent" in official Community languages as used in Community legislative acts

With the following note after the English entry for the official plural of Euro: 'This [plural] spelling [of Euro] without an “s” may be seen as departing from usual English practice for currencies.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

All correct except the highlighted one. A garda = individual garda. Garda = the shortform for the collective noun, An Garda Síochána. The gardaí = The police officers. Correct. The Gardaí = the Police officers. Incorrect. A proper noun (the Garda) v. a common noun (the garda)

It makes no sense to refer to the force as "the Gardaí", despite the number of inevitably undereducated journalists who persist in doing so (especially the RTÉ crime correspondent). The Irish Times is alone in getting the distinction between Garda (the force), garda (a police officer) and gardaí (police officers) correct - for example. Personally, I think "An Garda" as the short form for the force is preferable to 'The Garda' but 'The Garda' is far more preferable than 'The Gardaí'.

Hint: Does it say "Gardaí" on this car?

As you quite rightly say An Garda, is way better than The Garda, which I would venture to opine is totally wrong.

uch wrote: »
    Fella's who wear Hats
    nothing wrong with hats, more classy than scangers in tracksuits or the metros with their 'shaving kits'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,178 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

nothing wrong with hats, more classy than scangers in tracksuits or the metros with their 'shaving kits'

I wouldn't be so sure...*cough*Trilbies*cough*fedoras*cough*

cough *ignorance* cough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

As long as they observe hat etiquette. There's nothing more uncouth than a man wearing his hat in doors.

Says you not everyone that wears tracksuits is a scanger as you referred to them. A lot more damage done in this country by fellas in suits than tracksuits.
    A hat doesn't make someone classy if you're a gob****e and you put on a hat you're just a gob****e with a hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,445 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Anyone who comes on a Radio Show and says "Thank you for having me on"

Total arseholes.

Bizarre.

Says you not everyone that wears tracksuits is a scanger as you referred to them. A lot more damage done in this country by fellas in suits than tracksuits.
    A hat doesn't make someone classy if you're a gob****e and you put on a hat you're just a gob****e with a hat
    and a tracksuit wont make you classy either. And i never said hats made gob***** classy i said hats were classy.look at old movies people knew how to dress then

Pac1Man wrote: »
    grease monkey more american? i heard it in irish context.wasn't there blocky too for a blocklayer?

As long as they observe hat etiquette. There's nothing more uncouth than a man wearing his hat in doors.
    i know someone who wears it in bed. So he says never been in his bedroom....Apparently it is important to learn how to tip ones hat. i don't know, I never wore one but that is what my bed hat wearing friend says. i do agree they look classy though

and a tracksuit wont make you classy either. And i never said hats made gob***** classy i said hats were classy.
    Who said a tracksuit makes you classy. I'd prefer to see a fella in a tracksuit than an idiot going around pretending to be something he's not in a hat.

and i would prefer to see someone look smart in a hat than in a tracksuit. How do you know the guy with the hat is an idiot pretending to be something he is not.?? You do not know that. Maybe the guy in the tracksuit is an idiot. How do you know what hat guy is.Sounds like envy or bitterness. You know what everyone is?? Congrats

Believe me I know lad

no you don't know everyone who has a hat:rolleyes: They don't care much what you think anyway. You are not important in their world. put on the old tracksuit

no you don't know everyone who has a hat:rolleyes:

I'm not talking bout everyone with a hat lad I have a particular boyo in mind. So I'll take this opportunity to apologise to all the other hat wearers. Ha ha lol

no you don't know everyone who has a hat:rolleyes: They don't care much what you think anyway. You are not important in their world. put on the old tracksuit

maybe I'll get a hat and pretend I'm important lad what do ya reckon

I'm not talking bout everyone with a hat lad I have a particular boyo in mind. So I'll take this opportunity to apologise to all the other hat wearers. Ha ha lol
    OK like FF and FG we reach an agreement I apologise to all the other tracksuit wearers besides the one i have in mind:):)

Mine is a pint of plain:)

maybe I'll get a hat and pretend I'm important lad what do ya reckon
    yep i will get a tracksuit and pretend to be a scanger:)

Aye a good idea must head for a couple to get the long weekend started. I'll have that pint for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

Lads who wear a trilby, call it a fedora and then wear it with anything but a suit.

Kev W wrote: »
    Lads who wear a trilby, call it a fedora and then wear it.

This would've sufficed Kev.