Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish-American woman becomes latest Bride Of Christ.

• 20-08-2015 1:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭

Surely by not using one of her God given gifts (orgasm) this fruit cake has clearly got some deep probs between her ears and hips.
    I thought that, to forego something - like giving up sweets, drink etc for the love of a deity or reparation for others - one had to like what one was forgoing ...... if you get my drift.

Now, seemingly this paragon of virtue has never had much activity between the navel and knees ....... so how would she know if she liked it or not?

She definitely has a mad look in her eyes ...... nothing that a good seeing to wouldn't sort out.

Does anyone else think that this is strange/neurotic behaviour?

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Irish-American-teacher-becomes-a-bride-of-Christ-PHOTOS.html?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If she is happy and not hurting anybody leave her at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

What's the difference between being married to Christ and being a nun?

When nuns take their final vows it's almost the same thing, bar the white dress. They lie prostrate on the ground, wear a wedding ring to symbolise union with Christ, etc.

I'm pretty sure I've heard a nun say she is married to Christ.

At the end of the day, it's a big commitment to make, handing over your future and your body, so not to be sneered at IMO. It's strange alright, but harmless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

If that's the life she wants to live then let her live it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I dont understand why she would do this but not become a nun. Each to their own though...no skin off my nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

She'll be on Ashley Madison once they strengthen their security protocols, watch this space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

razorblunt wrote: »
    She'll be on Ashley Madison once they strengthen their security protocols, watch this space.

Philistine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

No mention of a prenup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

I just watched the video and she talks about God calling her. I agree with the saying:

If you talk to God, you're praying but if God talks to you, you're schizophrenic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

She's hawt.... what a waste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

conorh91 wrote: »
    What's the difference between being married to Christ and being a nun?

When nuns take their final vows it's almost the same thing, bar the white dress. They lie prostrate on the ground, wear a wedding ring to symbolise union with Christ, etc.

I'm pretty sure I've heard a nun say she is married to Christ.

At the end of the day, it's a big commitment to make, handing over your future and your body, so not to be sneered at IMO. It's strange alright, but harmless.

She doesn't join an Order, so doesn't have to take a vow of poverty and obedience. She's also not obligated to participate in Church works but I imagine she volunteers to do so anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Her local candle shop are said to be delighted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

I'm Outraged :mad:
    This is Offensive :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Cormac... wrote: »
    I'm Outraged :mad:
    This is Offensive :mad:

I agree. We don't need any more looders portraying the Irish as potato-headed buffoons. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

So uhm, how does consecration work in this case?

I'm imagining an Exorcist like scene with the crucifix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,807 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

No mention of a prenup?

She could potentially get half of Jesus's stuff if it doesn't work out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

So uhm, how does consecration work in this case?

I'm imagining an Exorcist like scene with the crucifix

Dunno. I had just assumed it was a Lambda probe, much like the NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Surely by not using one of her God given gifts (orgasm) this fruit cake has clearly got some deep probs between her ears and hips.
    --

She definitely has a mad look in her eyes ...... nothing that a good seeing to wouldn't sort out.

Does anyone else think that this is strange/neurotic behaviour?

Ugh, your ideas are about as medieval as hers are, but at least hers aren't actually affecting anyone else.

It's a similar sort of decision as those who become nuns take, only they have a much more structured system, which might not appeal to everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Probably doesnt want to be a nun as that would involve joining an order and stuff. This way she is still free to live her life as she wants.

Bit odd but harmless, especially when you compare it to what some of them are up to over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I see no harm and think this is just another snipe at people's beliefs. To each their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Her local candle shop are said to be delighted

Cheap and pointless. Not everybody in this life thinks like that. More power to her if it gives her life some meaning and causes no hurt to anybody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭vanderlyle

No mention of a prenup?
    She could potentially get half of Jesus's stuff if it doesn't work out.

And on its 18th birthday, Jesus will find out the kid was angel Gabriel's, not his :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Her life, her choice.

But has anyone told Jesus yet? Surely he has a say in this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

No mention of a prenup?

A pre-nup for her or for Jesus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Bottom line... Is she Irish or American?

Because I think we should let them have her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

She wants to waste part of the one life she has, let her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 tempotaschen

I just watched the video and she talks about God calling her. I agree with the saying:

If you talk to God, you're praying but if God talks to you, you're schizophrenic.

Mysterious ways!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

JC's a polygamist :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

How does the auld virginity bit work in the case of the second coming? Does jebus get to hop aboard, or does non-consummation give grounds for him to seek annulment from his da/himself/his ghost?

Also, there are several hundred of them scattered around the world. Even if only a fraction agree to abandon their vow, the Santa-esque tearing around the globe on an intercontinental Wedding night bootiecall marathon would knacker the poor guy. He'd be moving in mysterious ways the next morning, all right! Red raw. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I think it's sad that she's missing out on one of the best parts of being human. And for what? The magic man in the sky?

That said, she's not hurting anyone. I just feel sad for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Nodin wrote: »
    She wants to waste part of the one life she has, let her.

The joke will be on you when you're partying like fúck in hell!

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

All nuns are brides of Christ. They make the same declarations this woman did of chastity and obedience and lie on a floor to do it. The consider themselves married to god and wear a silver wedding ring.

The old style convent life is dying out anyway - now nuns live in smaller groups, some in convents but they prefer to call them communities now. - the local ones to our house live in a semi-d over the road and wear regular clothes. Like a blue-rinse flatshare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

But has anyone told Jesus yet? Surely he has a say in this.

Nope. He's been dead for 2000 years now.

Hmmm, I don't think the church would recognise it as a valid marriage until it's been consummated...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 tempotaschen

I think it's sad that she's missing out on one of the best parts of being human. And for what? The magic man in the sky?

Yeah, it's so sad. She could be sucking on twenty three lollipops right now.

BMJD wrote: »
    The joke will be on you when you're partying like fúck in hell!

I bought the albums, so I'm fairly sure I've booked a seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

If she really is a virgin at 38, I think she'd most probably be continuing to miss out on one of the best parts of being human even if she hadn't thrown the sky-man into the mix.

seenitall wrote: »
    If she really is a virgin at 38, I think she'd most probably be continuing to miss out on one of the best parts of being human even if she hadn't thrown the sky-man into the mix.

There is the possibility that she has no sexual desire at all. One would hope that was the case, rather than the whole denial thing, for her sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

smash wrote: »
    Bottom line... Is she Irish or American?

Because I think we should let them have her!

White middle class American woman is her voting demo anyway, Irish American is no longer recognised by political academics. We've assimilated, hurray.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Fair play to her. Looks very hot for a 38 year old.

I love the way everyone is all for freedom of choice, until someone makes a choice they don't understand or approve of.

She's not hurting anyone, it makes her happy and she feels it gives her life depth and meaning. I have no idea how, or why it matters to her, but since I'm not her, that's of no importance.

Leave the woman alone, she doesn't deserve to be ridiculed when all she's doing is living her life the way she feels is right for her.

Candie wrote: »
    I love the way everyone is all for freedom of choice, until someone makes a choice they don't understand or approve of.

You might better take it up with posters who denied her the freedom of choice, rather than generalise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Terrible pity cause you'd slip her one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

I see no harm and think this is just another snipe at people's beliefs. To each their own.

I thought the case made by the NO side in the Same-sex Marriage Referendum was that: 'marriage is about procreation'. That's why it had to be a man and a woman . . . . . NOT Adam and Steve.

How can this woman and 'Jesus' have children? Immaculate conception?

This woman clearly has mental issues and needs help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Open your minds people!

Is the Easter Bunny still single? I might suss that out.

She's not hurting anyone, it makes her happy and she feels it gives her life depth and meaning. I have no idea how, or why it matters to her, but since I'm not her, that's of no importance.

Leave the woman alone, she doesn't deserve to be ridiculed when all she's doing is living her life the way she feels is right for her.

Is it okay then if I marry Wonder Woman? I'm pretty sure I would receive a similar response if I went through with the whole service, invited guests and went on a honeymoon.

We wouldn't take a passenger flight, we could take the invisible jet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 436 ✭✭Old Jakey

All those mocking comments...somehow I don't think they'd be quite as smug if she were a Buddhist nun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

I thought the case made by the NO side in the Same-sex Marriage Referendum was that: 'marriage is about procreation'.
    Very true - yet I'd bet some would be OK with/approve of this.

Still though, whatever misgivings I have about the church as an organisation, she wants to do this - she has hardly been forced into something that would be so unthinkable for most of her generation in the western world: chastity and extreme devotion to religion. Despite some thinking 38 is akin to being geriatric :D it's a generation that's still fairly with it and were only teenagers in the 90s.

I respect her unwavering independence, and unlike a lot of self-proclaimed catholics/Christians, she truly walks the walk.

My opinion of what she's doing in and of itself is: it's not the healthiest, and a lonely Road. It may be symptom of psychological issues but may not. She has had plenty of time to think it through and consider its ramifications for her life though, and it doesnt really matter what I think: I'm not her. And she is hurting nobody other than maybe herself (maybe) so live and let live imo.

flanzer wrote: »
    She's hawt.... what a waste

There's more photos and a video of her here (Apologies for Daily Mail link)

Personally, I think she looks a bit masculine, but that wouldn't matter when she's as mad as a bottle of crisps.

Is it okay then if I marry Wonder Woman? I'm pretty sure I would receive a similar response if I went through with the whole service, invited guests and went on a honeymoon.

We wouldn't take a passenger flight, we could take the invisible jet.

I don't understand why she's doing it either. It makes no sense to me. But it's not about me, it's about her and what she wants. If she believes it, then it doesn't matter what you, or I, or WonderWoman think about it all. She's not harming you, or me, or WonderWoman for that matter.

So I'll just let her be and not ridicule her for a choice she believes will enhance her life, because like I said, it's not about me and she's doing what she thinks is right for her. I believe we should all do what we feel is right for ourselves if no one else is hurt, and that includes making decisions I can't fathom. I just don't get the need to pour scorn on her and ridicule her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Who do you think invited all the media etc into the church? She wants the attention from it and she's getting it, good bad or indifferent.

Nobody has said she shouldn't have the choice to do what she wants to do, but people have the choice to laugh at how ridiculous it is too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

What puzzles me is why is this news? You hardly get an article each time someone decides to become a priest or a nun. And as far as I can see there is f all difference.