Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Birr game fair

• 18-08-2015 11:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭

Just wondering about shooting in the clays at birr fair, how much is the entry fee and is it just turn up on the day? Have been a few years now but never brought the gun but was thinking of havin a pop this year myself and a couple of lads headin up with me, the standard looked fairly high there last year but it's just the bit of craic for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Thinking if going down myself and wondered about bringing your own gun but didn't know if it's allowed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭marty555

Does anyone know the cost of entry ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

You use your own gun at it. Normally it is about 20 quid to do the 50 bird sporter and 5 or so to do down the line. Bring your own shells also as I don't know if there are ones for sale on the day. If any person wants to know anything about it contact seamus on 0872664191

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

You use your own gun at it. Normally it is about 20 quid to do the 50 bird sporter and 5 or so to do down the line. Bring your own shells also as I don't know if there are ones for sale on the day. If any person wants to know anything about it contact seamus on 0872664191

They were selling slabs of Eley shells there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

anyone know of any hunting shops thatll be there? think outdoorsports wil be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

Any 1 there today? Was atkinson brothers selling there? They normally have traps and bird feeders and that at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭nigelm485

went today less and less stalls every year really disappointed. 15 quid to get in. just wasn't a buzz around or anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭denismac

50 bird entry was €25 for 1 card or €60 for 3 entries. There was slabs of cartridges there for €60 or €6 a box. Not a huge crowd there generally. A few nice stands there but a far cry from the big UK fairs. Prices were ok though compared to the UK.

An awful like lot of ****e there. Good bargains if youre xxl up or 38 inch waist up.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Seems to be the same waste of time it's been the last few years. Glad i didn't go.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭hathcock

Cass wrote: »
    Seems to be the same waste of time it's been the last few years. Glad i didn't go.

I would have had a similar opinion up to today,I was surprised to see such a big crowd,and unless I'm mistaken there seemed to be more stalls and a better atmosphere than in recent years.I attended the CLA this year,and the Midland for the last two years,of course there is no comparison bearing in mind the size of the English events,but it's all us country sports people have left here in Ireland,and it deserves our support,if it goes we'll have nothing to showcase our support for our way of life.my tuppence worth.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Firstly there is no way i'm paying an entrance fee to "the land owner". Long story and i'll bite my tongue on explaining more as i'd like to keep my house.

Secondly, the game fair both down here and up in Antrim (same crowd) was a day long or even two day event. I personally loved the Antrim one. It was hge and had vendors from the UK among others. I understand things have quietened down due to the downturn in the economy but it's gone from a fieldsports and game fair to arts and craft, entertainment (mainly for kids) and reenactment fair. A terrible let down.

I've spoken to a good few dealers both here and in the north that used to go to the fair and they said that with the downturn in the economy it was difficult to make it pay to go, but for some that decision was made for them with the exorbitant price of a stall over the day or weekend.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

hathcock wrote: »
    I would have had a similar opinion up to today,I was surprised to see such a big crowd,and unless I'm mistaken there seemed to be more stalls and a better atmosphere than in recent years.I attended the CLA this year,and the Midland for the last two years,of course there is no comparison bearing in mind the size of the English events,but it's all us country sports people have left here in Ireland,and it deserves our support,if it goes we'll have nothing to showcase our support for our way of life.my tuppence worth.

I taught there was more stalls. Top but a lot of ****e on those too. Bought some stuff but didn't see great clothes.
    Herself was happy with her Michael koors knockoff handbag tho! Got northwest leather boots off the travellers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭fabwing

I was there on Saturday and Sunday 30 euro, there should be an wrist band system in place due to the fact that the volunteers can pocket the cash and a wrist band system would account for all the moneys.very few quality shooting stalls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Springwell

Had a nice day out running the spaniels on Saturday - had a quick look around the stalls, less than at Shane's Castle but still a bit of everyone. Picked up a .22 cleaning kit for €8 which I felt was cheap enough. I've been to the CLA and other many uk fairs too - yes they are busier but it's a much bigger crowd there and more a "lifestyle" thing for many rather than a real sport!

If anyone doesn't know there's a short survey at the end of the programme (also online if you didn't keep the paper copy). Fill it in and you'll get a fiver off tickets next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

i was their seemed alright but wasnt their to long had to go to cork and pick up two german pups and a springer on the way home.weather was good thats a plus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭garrettod

Cass wrote: »
    .... it's gone from a fieldsports and game fair to arts and craft, entertainment (mainly for kids) and reenactment fair. A terrible let down..

Thats exactly why I won't waste the petrol making the trip. I want to go to a fair offering a large variety of shooting, hunting, fishing stands etc. I've zero interest in traveling to Birr to buy cheese, feed a goat or get my face painted etc.

It's a real shame, as hatcoch is correct in the context that we should be trying to support anything linked to our sporting interests but really, I think it's time we put pen to paper (ah, alright then juust fire off a quick email or post it on Albert's facebook page :D) and ask the organisers exactly why they are not geting more stands of interest, perhaps tell them why you are not going and that you would attend, if they would organise something of genuine interest etc.

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭retro d

Ya €15 is way too much , that reanactment stuff is absolute scutter now it's grand for the kids but it's very central your listening to it as your walking around it's very loud and annoying ,the clay shooting was great to watch , ya not much in the stalls I thought and there's no room in them , bought a few bits , a wolly camohat , some trigger locks, and a pair of duck dri leggings does anyone have experience with them there very light they be fine for wet grass fields over the wellies i hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Stonehall9

retro d wrote: »
    Ya €15 is way too much , that reanactment stuff is absolute scutter now it's grand for the kids but it's very central your listening to it as your walking around it's very loud and annoying ,the clay shooting was great to watch , ya not much in the stalls I thought and there's no room in them , bought a few bits , a wolly camohat , some trigger locks, and a pair of duck dri leggings does anyone have experience with them there very light they be fine for wet grass fields over the wellies i hope

I went specially for the duck dri leggings, best I ever wore , I had sent them an email to make sure she kept me a pair! ! You won't be dissappear.
    Does anyone know the name of the company who seemed to have the biggest tent there with clothing.a real sharp English fella , they were wearing blue polo shirts, they were set up on the corner facing the main ring. I forgot a jacket I was suppose to get and can't think of their name for the life of me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭bulleyes

Stonehall9 wrote: »
    Does anyone know the name of the company who seemed to have the biggest tent there with clothing.a real sharp English fella , they were wearing blue polo shirts, they were set up on the corner facing the main ring.

Edinburgh clothing company. Got a couple of bits off them myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭mike2015

Anybody know the name of the first stand directly across from where the spaniel test was taken place.Had a hunter flag outside it

bulleyes wrote: »
    Edinburgh clothing company. Got a couple of bits off them myself.

Checked them out there but their website is poor compared to the stock they had on show in birr? Could it be a different company mabey? They had lots of percussion stuff but the jacket they had I can't even find on the net😯

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭retro d

Thanks for the feedback Stonehall9 looking forward to trying them out , is there a coating on them because on the website for them you can machine wash them so I'm thinking it's the material is like gore tex or similar , Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

fabwing wrote: »
    I was there on Saturday and Sunday 30 euro, there should be an wrist band system in place due to the fact that the volunteers can pocket the cash and a wrist band system would account for all the moneys.very few quality shooting stalls.
    nigelm485 wrote: »
    went today less and less stalls every year really disappointed. 15 quid to get in. just wasn't a buzz around or anything

if your insured with countryside alliance they have buy one get one free every year on the tickets good bargain

i dont think its a bad day out..
    we are a small island nation and it costs the big companies to much money to come here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 deerhunter 25-06

hi guys ive been goin to the midlands game fair for the last 12 years its a great show to see and buy the best of gear thats around.it has got fairly expensive over the last few years.entrance fees hotels ferry and food gone mad.i went to the birr fair for the last 6 years and it has not really improved much in those years.i cant make the midlands this year due to a wedding but i will save up for next year,its worth a trip for anyone that hasnt been there and wants to see the best of gear and shooting equipment around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭MrTom1

i didnt like it very much, no great bargins at all and food was very bad

Anybody know the name of the stand beside Edinburgh clothing there the weekend

Stonehall9 wrote: »
    Anybody know the name of the stand beside Edinburgh clothing there the weekend

where was it located

i forgot to mention i got a pigeon rotor for 50 euro which i thought was a bargain

daithi55 wrote: »
    where was it located

i forgot to mention i got a pigeon rotor for 50 euro which i thought was a bargain

It was facing the main arena, it was beside Charlie keenans ,

cant remember the name of it bud
    its the same people in each location every year so maybe there are images or a video of last years one and you can see the company in it

https://vimeo.com/78679990
    https://vimeo.com/66374322