If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Slang words you never use but often hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Nable!

I see people writing it on Facebook instead of not able

"Nable for them fools"

Yeah chap, can't stand those people anal.

ANAL. No nothing to do with your arse. A contraction of "and all"! For ****'s sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Selfie.

Christ, I hate that word and the whole selfie "culture".

Happy Out. Happy out where?

People who do that 'much?' thing. Jealous much? Angry much. Die in a fire much...Much...MUCH!!!

Anyone who uses the terms Feelz, Bants, Chillax, Totes, Kiddo, Rosemantic, Yiz or Ye, or is ever Happy Out.

Disrespect is in direct proportion to their age, the older you are the more ashamed you should be, and the less likely that you're worth listening to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

I feel a little sick everytime I hear the word selfie.

ALso can someone please explain 'bae' to me, I just don't get it. :(:(

UpCork wrote: »
    I feel a little sick everytime I hear the word selfie.

ALso can someone please explain 'bae' to me, I just don't get it. :(:(

Shorthand for babe/baby and allegedly also stands for before anyone else.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Shorthand for babe/baby and allegedly also stands for before anyone else.

But, why?

Aren't babe and baby already short enough words?

:confused::confused:

UpCork wrote: »
    But, why?

Aren't babe and baby already short enough words?

:confused::confused:

The second part I posted is the reason it's that. Stands for before anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭chanelfreak

I've heard some people saying lately 'im going to get my hair did on saturday/random day/blah blah' - i want to KILL them every goddamn time I hear it. It SEVERELY angers me.

On the other hand, nable...I like it. Im NABLE for these fkers with their hair-dids!

Omackeral wrote: »
    The second part I posted is the reason it's that. Stands for before anyone else.

I feel old when I see bae written down. It just sounds such a yucky word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Amused going through this thread. Some words I'll be sitting there thinking "huh, I use that one" (fag) or "ok, I use that one ironically" (amazeballs) and "Yuck, hate that one" (baaaaaaeeee)

X-mas and Chrimbo I hate. Sheesh, if the very name of the holiday upsets you that much, why even bother celebrating it? "boi" pronounced "baaaaaaaaaaaai" is very annoying. Maybe sometimes it's "bae", I dunno.

"And she goes, and then he goes and then I goes like well" VERB ANOTHER VERB PLEASE. Preferably one that makes sense. Having said that, up above, I did have to think to not write "I was sitting there going", so it's rather catchy.

Samaris wrote: »
    Amused going through this thread. Some words I'll be sitting there thinking "huh, I use that one" (fag) or "ok, I use that one ironically" (amazeballs) and "Yuck, hate that one" (baaaaaaeeee)

X-mas and Chrimbo I hate. Sheesh, if the very name of the holiday upsets you that much, why even bother celebrating it? "boi" pronounced "baaaaaaaaaaaai" is very annoying. Maybe sometimes it's "bae", I dunno.

"And she goes, and then he goes and then I goes like well" VERB ANOTHER VERB PLEASE. Preferably one that makes sense. Having said that, up above, I did have to think to not write "I was sitting there going", so it's rather catchy.

'...And he turned around and said X, so I turned around and said Y, then his mother turned around and said XY and Z!' There's lots of turning around in some peoples stories.

And the 'like' ers.. 'I was like, what is she saying, then she was like, I don't know what you mean, like'

Goers, likers, and turn arounders. They all need a bit of a ticking off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭NOS3

Ked. Instead of kid. "How's it going kid?" Is just as bad. No need to make it worse. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

Well horsebox hows she cuttin hai - Greetings my familiar, how do I find you at present?

My brother nearly got a slap for addressing the girlfriend of a friend of mine as horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

galljga1 wrote: »
    My brother nearly got a slap for addressing the girlfriend of a friend of mine as horse.

haha! But truthfully she does look like a horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭MarkY91

I'll be there at 8 bells, chief.

Feck off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

MarkY91 wrote: »
    I'll be there at 8 bells, chief.

Feck off!!

A few friends guilty of a few of those. Kiddo, chief, horse etc, where do they get it from, Tallafornia, the hills? I just no, that one who use it would watch quite a bit of TV, I would cringe at.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,427 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

The '8 bells' gang probably have no idea what times that actually means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

Field = Mad
    Maj = Smokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

spurious wrote: »
    The '8 bells' gang probably have no idea what times that actually means.

what does it mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Hesh's Umpire

Paddy's Day. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Sprogs. Don't know why but I hate it being used.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Peeps.

F*ck off with that.

totes.

f*ck off with that too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Orwight "mate"

don't f*ckin' mate me you c*nt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

I use lots of these words but genuinely only as a pisstake to the missus to wind her up( bantz in particular really gets her going!), or to mates for a laugh, I wouldn't use them to anyone who didn't know me for fear of coming across as a d1ckhead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Orwight "mate"

srrym8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Endaaaagh

Choon :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Bants.

Fcuk off!

Even worse if they're "cheeky".
    takola wrote: »
    Sadly it is, at least in Limerick. I remember savage being used up in Sligeach when I was a child too. Ugh.

I used savage growing up in Galway -- don't think i've said it recently but I don't mind it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Orwight "mate"

And it's equally annoying close cousin "my son".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,275 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Ive said this before on another thread but if you put O at the end of any word your a ****!.

Girlo masso........ :mad: