Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airport security!

• 29-07-2015 10:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,638 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

How ridiculous is it?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

It's a really necessary evil I am afraid. From terrorists, smugglers and to people trying to enter exit a country illegally theres plenty of reasons why it's very tight and high profile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Go on the airport security

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Mostly nonsense. Taking medicine from children is garbage behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭VisibleGorilla

Completely ridiculous and a massive waste of money.

Look at the TSA in the US brought in after 9/11, millions.. probably billions wasted on it, millions of passengers completely put out and for what?

Number of terrorists attacks stopped = zero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Formosa

I find them efficient, courteous & patient in Dublin Airport and don't see an issue.

It's the moronic passengers who are clueless as to the procedures that get on my tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Its the inconsistency that bothers me - some airports - shoes off, other airports - you're grand.

Some airports - jacket off, some - no need

One rule or whats the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

TallGlass wrote: »
    It's a really necessary evil I am afraid. From terrorists, smugglers and to people trying to enter exit a country illegally theres plenty of reasons why it's very tight and high profile.

Hmm not so sure about entering the country illegally. In Dublin airport it seems a lot harder to get out of the country than in.
    At arrivals it seems all you need to do is flick an Xtra Vision card in the direction of the totally disinterested immigration officer without breaking stride.
    Try getting 105ml of aftershave out of the country and your in for a world of hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I get a concierge service in Dublin when my wife flies with the kids. Fold pram , take milk out of case, drink milk to make sure its not a bomb.
    Repack the case along with putting back on shoes and belts on the kids and herself.
    Best 39€ spent. He even looks after the bags/ kids when she goes to the loo or shop to replace the water she couldn't bring through security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

If they just opened every fecking lane instead of leaving half them closed it would be much more tolerable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Did you pack your own bag sir?
    No my girlfriend did.

CODE RED, CODE RED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

It's called Security Theater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,711 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Completely ridiculous and a massive waste of money.

Look at the TSA in the US brought in after 9/11, millions.. probably billions wasted on it, millions of passengers completely put out and for what?

Number of terrorists attacks stopped = zero.

Seriously how can you say that as terrorist attacks that were scrapped/prevented due to security don't make the headlines normally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

How ridiculous is it?

Did someone get the latex glove treatment?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I get a concierge service in Dublin when my wife flies with the kids. Fold pram , take milk out of case, drink milk to make sure its not a bomb.

I never understood this. Why are liquids more likely to be bombs than solids. And how does drinking them prove they're not dangerous? And why is this mysterious explosive liquid only dangerous in quantities of over 100ml?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭VisibleGorilla

murpho999 wrote: »
    Seriously how can you say that as terrorist attacks that were scrapped/prevented due to security don't make the headlines normally.
    If the TSA stopped any attack it would be on every media outlet world wide.

Fact is numbers stopped currently stand at zero, same as the number of attacks prevented by mass surveillance by NSA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,711 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

If the TSA stopped any attack it would be on every media outlet world wide.

Fact is numbers stopped currently stand at zero, same as the number of attacks prevented by mass surveillance by NSA.

How can you say that terrorists changed plans due to new measures.

It's fair to say there have been no major plane security issues since the Shoe bomber after 911 so clearly the measures have worked.

The idea of the security is prevention and deterrent not to catch them red handed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Formosa wrote: »
    I find them efficient, courteous & patient in Dublin Airport and don't see an issue.

It's the moronic passengers who are clueless as to the procedures that get on my tits.

I liked that George Clooney movie, Up in the air, where he is giving advice to someone who was not a frequent flyer about how to get yourself thru an airport fastest....a lot of that rang true with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,638 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Did someone get the latex glove treatment?

Just got felt up by a ugly looking old Dubliner with a smile on his face when he done inside of the pants. Dirty ****er. Such a waste of time imo.

Should be just like getting on and off a bus/train. Arrive 15 minutes before departure and just flash the passport. None of this arriving two hours before the flight crap.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Dublin between 6am and 8am is hectic. But it becomes less of a chore if you :

* arrive at least 2 hours before your flight
    * expect queues
    * make sure you only have the correct amount of liquids and ditch the "**** you it's only water/milk for the baby" attitude
    * put your jacket, mobile phone, coins, belt and shoes in the tray after your carry on bag

A security expert on the radio a few years ago now stated just how stupid the whole process is. A simple a quick scan should rule out weapons. The 100ml of liquid is utterly dumb because you can carry on multiple units anyway. He made a point of stating that if terrorists wanted to cause damage they could easily move to biological warfare which wouldn't be detected going through an airport. Example being that a terrorist could inject themselves with a virus that could take a few hours to gestate and could be spread through the air. When they do this, then we have serious problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Dr. Zaius Dr. Zaius!

Never had a problem with airport security. Can be a bit flustering retrieving your bag/coat/belt/handbag quickly after getting scanned though because everyone elses starts piling up if youre not quick about it.

Theres usually a looker or two in the queue to have a gawk at anyway, makes the process a little easier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

How ridiculous is it?
    Did you get safely to St Kitts in the end, Mrs O'Flynn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

What don't people just get a house with an airport like Travolta's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I've done alot of travelling in my previous job so well used to it. They're mostly fine too, I've never really had bad encounters with them, save for a few weeks back leaving Dublin when I had a rant as they were trying to take away my compressed anti-deodorant which was less than 100ml. I stopped ranting when I figured it was my expensive aftershave that was over the limit and let her bin the Nivea for men!
    I also threw protein powder into a plastic bag once in a rush to the airport, susbsequently a liquid was loose in the bag and he took out the bag of powder. There was an audible gasp from the people around ... "it's strawberry flavoured protein, just smell it" wasn't the right thing to say.

My biggest grievance is inefficient security systems/processes. In Edinburgh for example its now a big cattle mart and they make you put your bag on a tray as well as electronics, belts, jackets etc. The trays are then too big to carry in two hands and the staff get narky when you leave a tray behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

It varies from airport to airport. Dublin is a joke.

The immigration lads at the airport make me laugh - if we're relying on them to protect us, we're fecked.

I once was waved through after I presented my 7 year old son's passport. I'd dashed on ahead to get the bags and he followed with his Mam and was waved through with my passport!

I reckon most, if not all, of it is just theatre - especially when you see the 'search teams' flirting with one another and not watching the screens.

Paris (CDG) is a lot more serious and I've found they do scan you properly and assess your passport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

What don't people just get a house with an airport like Travolta's.

There were ten houses like that on sale near Termonfeckin during the boom, I think they're in NAMA now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Fairly lax here in all fairness,I boarded a plane with a lump of hash in my pocket I completely forgot about before...homeland security in the states is a total different kettle of fish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

pay for fast track and save hassle, have everything out of your clothes and your jacket off before you get to teh scanner...through in minutes. I regularly fly between 6 and 8am and only arrive max 70mins in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,638 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Heathrow is the worst imo, had to strip to me boxers there one time. Cracking bird in front of me also. Had a Huge stalk going on. Somehow managed to conceal it. Thankfully.

Can't wait until we can rock up 15 minutes before take off and board up.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Remember this from a few years ago....

Audit uncovers major lapses in security at Dublin airport

Dublin airport has been forced into a major review of its security procedures after officials carrying out an EU security audit managed to evade detection while carrying a replica bomb and knives through security checks at the airport, writes Conor Lally.

The lapses occurred during a joint security audit currently being carried out by officials from the European Civil Aviation Conference and the Department of Transport.

The audit, which began on Monday, involved officials concealing illegal items in clothing or in luggage and taking them through security checks.

A replica bomb concealed in luggage went unnoticed. In two other cases knives were concealed in one official's shoe and in the under-garments of another person carrying out the audit.

......lucky for them they didn't try to smuggle a nail clippers through!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

A friend of mine, whilst going through airport security had a set of Allen keys confiscated by security (he was going on a cycling holiday and needed them to adjust the hired bike)

‘Sorry sir you can’t bring these in your hand luggage’
    ‘It’s getting stupid now.’ He said ‘WTF are you going to do with a multi tool on a plane? Unbolt the wings? Poke the pilot in the eye with the 3mm?

Anyway, he confiscated them.

My mate then goes through security, into a newsagent in the depature lounge, and on the front of a cycling magazine in the rack taped to the front in a clear plastic bag are a free set of Allen keys with every copy! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭chanelfreak

Dublin Airport security is a joke - myself and my dad were flying back to where I live from Dublin at silly o'clock - Dad waltzes through with a bleedin stanley knife in his jacket pocket (which we'd forgotten about and thankfully discovered before he was due to fly back home!) How they didnt spot that, I do not know.

A friend of mine had a small Swiss army knife in his bag that's he'd forgotten about. Security let him keep it while at the same time confiscating another friends hair gel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭Masala

smash wrote: »
    A friend of mine had a small Swiss army knife in his bag that's he'd forgotten about. Security let him keep it while at the same time confiscating another friends hair gel.

I think there is a new rules on 'Blade Lengths'.....so small pocket knives etc may now be allowed. I need someone to confirm this though.!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

How ridiculous is it?

31.7%

Masala wrote: »
    I think there is a new rules on 'Blade Lengths'.....so small pocket knives etc may now be allowed. I need someone to confirm this though.!!!

She said something about a small blade, then checked for confirmation and handed it back to him. It's daft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭chanelfreak

Masala wrote: »

See, this is what p*sses me off about airport security -' by all means, bring your blade onto the plane, as it falls within the acceptable range of size but FOR THE LOVE OF GOD leave that goddamn aerosol behind you! I dont care if you can buy another one in Boots, that is NOT getting past my watch dammit' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

A security expert on the radio a few years ago now stated just how stupid the whole process is. A simple a quick scan should rule out weapons. The 100ml of liquid is utterly dumb because you can carry on multiple units anyway. He made a point of stating that if terrorists wanted to cause damage they could easily move to biological warfare which wouldn't be detected going through an airport. Example being that a terrorist could inject themselves with a virus that could take a few hours to gestate and could be spread through the air. When they do this, then we have serious problems.

Great ideas, keep em coming.

Regards,
    Ahmed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

It's nothing to do with security any more, it's purely to maintain the profit both the airlines and airport authorities are making since the regulations were brought in.

Can you imagine what the increase in the sale of toiletries and duty free has been since you're now only allowed tiny items and limited quantities of them? Same goes for the sale of items in flight. Not to mention the decreased weight of luggage (easily 100kg of toiletries across an average flight).

Nothing to do with security; once profits increased, there was no going back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Security let him keep it while at the same time confiscating another friends hair gel.
    I had suncream once soon after the ban and copped it would be taken, they had free clear bags so I got 5 or 6 and squirted a bit into each and dumped the bottle. The woman checking asked what it was and thought it was clever, surprised she had not seen similar done before.

The lads were taking the piss out of me, then a few days later after getting roasted "ehh, any of those bags of suncream going".

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

What's the rules on razor blades now - as it changed? I like travelling with just hand luggage but never allowed to bring razors - until I noticed last time that Boots were selling Razors the other side of security

Hyzepher wrote: »
    What's the rules on razor blades now - as it changed? I like travelling with just hand luggage but never allowed to bring razors - until I noticed last time that Boots were selling Razors the other side of security

I've never had trouble with Razor blades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

IIRC, most of the more annoying security measures were put in place to encourage passengers to fly, post 9/11. Whatever sense that makes.

On the other hand, if you go by boat or if you fly by private plane, these measures are not required.

So I can only suppose that the security measures are not really about saving lives, more about some weird form of crowd control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭omega man

You should try having to go through staff screening multiple times a day, every working day. drives me to despair sometimes.

It's the inconsistencies that bother me most not the necessity for screening.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

I've never had trouble with Razor blades

They are on the list of prohibited items.

Hyzepher wrote: »
    They are on the list of prohibited items.

Walked through Dublin and Malaga airport with them just 2 weeks ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

The only issue I have with it is where in some airports the staff are extremely aggressive and rude.

The two places I find that are the US where the TSA seems to employ former prison guards or something. They can be extremely and totally unnecessarily gruff.

I have also witnessed and experienced incredibly rude treatment in France, actually at smaller airports rather than Paris CDG.

Security is a necessary evil, but flustering and frustrating passengers and being damn aggressive for no reason is probably reducing security by causing scenes for no reason and making it much easier for some terrorist to slip through while you're too busy fighting with some old granny about her bra strap (as I witnessed in the US)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Jawgap wrote: »
    ......lucky for them they didn't try to smuggle a nail clippers through!

Nail clippers and razors (normal gilette type ones) are actually allowed through the security check, or at least I've never had an issue with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Heathrow is the worst imo, had to strip to me boxers there one time. Cracking bird in front of me also. Had a Huge stalk going on. Somehow managed to conceal it. Thankfully.

Can't wait until we can rock up 15 minutes before take off and board up.

A budán from just looking at a hot girl? Were you 12?