Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Freejin

keep going wrote: »
    One my better ideas last year was to run a 1/2pipe to the crush which is adjacent to cow calvin area from the milking parlour vacumn line, bought an old bucket plant and it makes it quick and easy to milk a sup for calf.that said anything born after 3 is left to morning

Did the same here last year, gift of a setup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

keep going wrote: »
    One my better ideas last year was to run a 1/2pipe to the crush which is adjacent to cow calvin area from the milking parlour vacumn line, bought an old bucket plant and it makes it quick and easy to milk a sup for calf.that said anything born after 3 is left to morning

Good idea:). We have an old pipeline machine on an out farm, I could yoke it in calving shed #project

Doing a few figures here.

We're on target to do 480 kgms per cow on 130 less kgms of meal ie 700 kg nuts.

Last year it was 440 on 830 km

Happy with that. Busy day reading animals that we've sold and are being collected this afternoon.

I love doing permits for passengers;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Happy with that. Busy day reading animals that we've sold and are being collected this afternoon.

Was at the same here yesterday.
    405 kgs sold per cow to end of September and 650 kgs fed to date.
    Will end up around around 500 kgs supplied from 800 kgs fee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

480 for all cows, including the passengers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Some going GG/Frazz. Will be 430kgMS here, from roughly 800kg nuts also. Too many passagers, too long a CI with carryovers etc, and not wanting to start a HO v xbred debate again ha, but for a farm like here, the HOs not really doing the job and I could do with most cows having some fraction of JE in moving forward.

480 for all cows, including the passengers?

Yes, that's milk sold calculated on max number milked, not average numbers. So that's every adult over 2 yo, calved, lame empty etc. No point fooling ourselves iykwim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Will do 520/30 by year end on less than 1.2 tonne meal with 33% heifers in herd .happy with that but def feel I could of fed 100/150 kg less meal on average .first year on fty from the off .max feed set at 8 kg and base at 4 for all early and mid season .this will drop by a kg at both ends next year maby more depending on growth .still though whole herd still milking ,no silage ,in great knick and doing 1.6 kg solids on just 3 kg nuts .first cows dried off 01/12 whole herd dry 20/12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Just out of curiosity, what kind of ms/kgs/ha milking platform and whole farm with ye be at with those figures?

986 on milk block
    721 on whole farm if we supply 500/cow.
    Stocked at just less than 2 on milk block will at 2.5 on milk block next yr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Hmmm my cost control tells me 870kgMS/ha but agrinet 1000 ha. I may look into it and see which is right! 1400 is a reasonable target moving forward on the block here, but I'll need a lot more outside land for silage/youngstock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭stanflt

I had 14 heifers from 19 calving
    I know have 15 heifers from 30 calving
    4 left to calve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

stanflt wrote: »
    4 left to calve

At least the majority came early, will be a nice batch together.

This year 1940 kg Ms sold on mp hectares

860 whole farm with a replacement and bull ratio of 1:1 ie for every Milker there is a replacement heifer or young bull

20 acres of wheat also this year

Milked out wrote: »
    At least the majority came early, will be a nice batch together.

7 lwr Bulls in a row

Lovely pen of calves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

7 lwr Bulls in a row

Lovely pen of calves

Any with Ai potential??

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Any with Ai potential??

They will all be tested bar 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Will hit 730 kgs ms/ ha over all farm including rented and calf / heifer ground this year. Supplied more last year but less meal this year and July knocked us back a bit. Will hopefully increase that by at least 100 kg next year if not more

860 whole farm with a replacement and bull ratio of 1:1 ie for every Milker there is a replacement heifer or young bull

Why are you so stocked so low overall?
    If I can stock here to 3.5 it ll be 1800kgsms sold /ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭visatorro

did you always grow wheat?
    wholecrop into the pit I presume?
    are you cutting down on maize?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

They will all be tested bar 1
    Jaysus, what did that poor lad do to ya?:D

Why are you so stocked so low overall?
    If I can stock here to 3.5 it ll be 1800kgsms sold /ha

Not stock that low gg around 2.4lu ha this year which includes the wheat- 30 acres is wet ground and 37 acres which is rented off a horse gallop got no fert this year but will be used to out winter so in calf heifers

Do you realistically believe you could stock whole farm to 3.5- what about deficits in growth and nitrates directive

visatorro wrote: »
    did you always grow wheat?
    wholecrop into the pit I presume?
    are you cutting down on maize?

Wheat was grown as didn't need the grass or silage- sold off combine for 155ton and yielded 5.1 ton real figures

Less maize only 15 acres this year and it's enough tbh- more and more spring calving cows and no need for it

Not stock that low gg around 2.4lu ha this year which includes the wheat- 30 acres is wet ground and 37 acres which is rented off a horse gallop got no fert this year but will be used to out winter so in calf heifers

Do you realistically believe you could stock whole farm to 3.5- what about deficits in growth and nitrates directive
    Sorry didn't type it right.
    Milk block to 3.5 whole farm 2.7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,763 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

4 left to calve

15 friesian heifers out of 35 calvings. One is twin to a bull and 8 of those were Angus calves

1600/ha on milk block
    1000/ha whole farm

1600/ha on milk block
    1000/ha whole farm

Any contract rearing going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

scanned the cows today 43 out of 45 cows in calf , ten heifers on out farm cant be scanned till brought home , but by looking at them i reckon they are all incalf also . so 2 culls out of 55 aint bad .....

Any contract rearing going on

No. Stock sales keeps things legal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

1600/ha on milk block
    1000/ha whole farm

That is good going , fair play must get the old calculater out but I reckon around 1100 on the milk block