Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Fonterra announce record export volumes in December.

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/fonterra-announces-record-export-volumes-in-december/

Interestingly, they are selling increasing volumes outside GDT and for a premium over GDT prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭alps

I'm a good supporter in EBI and the information we have at hand to make our breeding decisions, but decisions an get so many knock backs with such unusual movements in values. Got the pocket notebook this morning and the scan through led to some dissapionting viewing....

Cow VML(75fertility)×LBO(66fertility)
    Yet daughter at 7€ for fertility and she has calved
    13/3/13
    1/3/14
    28/2/15
    12/2/16 due
    Yield 6815@4.71f and 4.07pr

And carrying an EBI of just 73€.....she's now our WORST COW....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

alps wrote: »
    I'm a good supporter in EBI and the information we have at hand to make our breeding decisions, but decisions an get so many knock backs with such unusual movements in values. Got the pocket notebook this morning and the scan through led to some dissapionting viewing....

13/3/13
    1/3/14
    28/2/15
    12/2/16 due

Got one lady here, she is - 30ebi, on 3spins since she calved as a heifer, blind in one eye, pure skin and bones white leggy HO breeding behind her, but last 5 lactations she's always calved early Feb, and knocked out in around the 6kl of milk. She's been on the potential culling list for many of the above reasons but I would have been mad get rid of her. She's only outa the place now after she gave birth to a hoor of a big HE last year and didn't go back incalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

alps wrote: »

13/3/13
    1/3/14
    28/2/15
    12/2/16 due

Get her genomically tested. Let us know how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Get her genomically tested. Let us know how it goes.

How much does it cost? Is it just a hair sample? Have surplus heifer calves to sell and wouldn't be interested in doing this to see who is what.

Be prepared for the reset of the Ag economy.

http://farmfutures.com/story-prepared-reset-ag-economy-0-136035

It's concentrated on the US economy but may be applicable to here also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

Fonterra announce record export volumes in December.

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/fonterra-announces-record-export-volumes-in-december/

Interestingly, they are selling increasing volumes outside GDT and for a premium over GDT prices.

ya they have been moving away from gdt platform with a while trying to return best price to farmers selling direct to business as its not sustainable model, (they are starting to copy us now, they just need to learn from us and keep their brands),

record exports is good they are finding homes for it no mountains building up and at a higher price than the gdt even better, storm caused havoc in usa, supply will be back there this year.

was reading the other day the world milk has gone over the required level/actual demand by 2%, such a small % to stimulating the change in price to re balance supply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,712 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

C0N0R wrote: »
    How much does it cost? Is it just a hair sample? Have surplus heifer calves to sell and wouldn't be interested in doing this to see who is what.

30 euro per heifer ,hair sample ,done through icbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,771 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

mahoney_j wrote: »
    30 euro per heifer ,hair sample ,done through icbf

Does it Matter what age they are?

whelan2 wrote: »
    Does it Matter what age they are?

Nope ,think there has to be no more than 6.25% of any breed other than hol Friesan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Nope ,think there has to be no more than 6.25% of any breed other than hol Friesan

That's us out so. Feck all over 90% hol here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Weanlings back out to grass today. 2 more groups to go. Will free up ground for slurry in 10 days or so. Cracking day here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Weanlings back out to grass today. 2 more groups to go. Will free up ground for slurry in 10 days or so. Cracking day here :)

Will get some of mine back out here as soon as it drys out, prob a few wks. Housed since Dec 15th on slats, and I think they've not put on a lb, some even gone back even though they're getting nearly 2kgs/head. Seems to happen here every yr when I house them. And it's not silage, as all other cattle are doing v well on no meal, and I try to give the weanlings the best silage.

We put weanlings on slatts, total phuckin disaster. We ended up moving to straw bed as they went backwards really quickly. They're the ones we got out this morning

Heifers in here 06/12 onto slats ,bAle silage and 1.5 kg of heifer rearer nut ,wormed ,fluked and liced prior to Xmas .havnt missed a beat growing well will be back on grass within 3/4 weeks .meal pulled yesterday and no more till they hit parlour in Feb 17 .cant understand why stock are going back for ye since housing

Too tight in our case. I'd say nothing more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Heifers thriving here on cow cubicles, 2 kg 16 nut and silage, wormed fluke and pour on. All cows on silage, 2 yr old 1 1/2 kgs of same nut

I think it's dry enough to let out cows, over 100 cars parked in your field today abd only had to tow one out :D:D

heifers averaged 270kgs here on Dec 1st. Will get meal for 2 more was and then out to grass mid feb. On kg atm and 70 dmd silage. Growing like weeds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Yearling heifers here on 16% nut and with dosed and pour on plus vaccinated and bedded on straw actually do better when they come in. It's a good opportunity to control any internal or external parasites.

I was talking to a few farmers today and they couldn't get over how dry some land was today. My own land is drying out today but there's still lochs of water on some of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

I think it's dry enough to let out cows, over 100 cars parked in your field today abd only had to tow one out :D:D

heifers averaged 270kgs here on Dec 1st. Will get meal for 2 more was and then out to grass mid feb. On kg atm and 70 dmd silage. Growing like weeds

A red l 200 by any chance?

td5man wrote: »
    A red l 200 by any chance?

Those bloody yokes get stuck any where. Had to pull her our with the discovery :D

Anything parked in our fields ain't leaving unless you can attach an outboard motor:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

yearling on slats here hope to move them to cubicles in coming years, heifers on cubicles in since last week of nov, no meal up until 1st jan just good quality bale silage start their training in parlor

found it a great way to train them in parlor they be jumping on each other to get in, nice to get them use to the place before the fun starts

have a good few VML heifers coming through this year were u happy with their milk?

A bit on TTIP, which is going to be big news this year.

'TTIP, the downfall of European agriculture', sounds promising:pac:

http://www.euractiv.com/sections/trade-society/ttip-downfall-european-agriculture-320851

Anyone have constructive criticism for me that might have been here today? I love praise but I love constructive criticism even more

Would have grazed the car park.

td5man wrote: »
    Would have grazed the car park.

Lol that l200 would gave got stuck on the dung pads then 😂

Maybe that's why he prefers to keep his cows inside. ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

For once calendar farming working, couldn't have picked a better day to start spreading slurry again! Finding enough area the biggest problem, let the light yearlings out, will let the bigger out tomorrow also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭billie holiday

Anyone see that article in last weeks farming indo about cost cutting ??
    I generally disagreed with most of it (stop vaccinATing stop milk recording etc)