Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minions creator on why there are no female minions

• 18-07-2015 7:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭

So Minions can't produce sexually apparently. We don't know why, it's not very realistic but anyway the creator has a curious reason as to why there are no female minions.

This is on the BBC
    Minions are all male because their creator believed they were too stupid to be female.

I don't think he would get a way with saying that the other way around against women.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CJ3Pd9jVEAAnsVO.png

So why is it ok to say that about boys/men? Gender equality anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

So why is it ok to say that about boys/men?

It's not ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

So Minions can't produce sexually apparently. We don't know why, it's not very realistic but anyway the creator has a curious reason as to why there are no female minions.

This is on the BBC

I don't think he would get a way with saying that the other way around against women.

He's not saying it about men/women, boys/girls.

He's saying it about minions. A made up species in a cartoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

What are minions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

NIMAN wrote: »
    What are minions?

Them little yellow yokes from the kids films.

http://i.stack.imgur.com/8sNfT.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Cause girls are made of sugar and spice and all things nice.

Do you have any idea what boys are made from? Do ya?

It's not good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Tony Beetroot

Minions aren't real op, ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Caitlyn Jenner likes this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

It wouldnt be just let go like that and you know full well.

What about little black fictional cartoon characters that are too stupid to be white? All good too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Frigating

I haven't seen the films, but it doesn't see like there's that much masculine about them. Apart from the names (Dave, etc.) they could all be of no gender. Is anyone checking inside their overalls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

cloud493 wrote: »
    Them little yellow yokes from the kids films.

http://i.stack.imgur.com/8sNfT.jpg

Lovely little things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

What about little black fictional cartoon characters that are too stupid to be white? All good too?

Honestly, I think it's a good thing men don't really care all that much about stuff like this. It's not a big deal and most of us don't care. Instead of getting people to be offended by more things, more things should be seen as silliness that doesn't necessitate thinking too much about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Who is Caitlyn Jenner?

They were crows.

Get over yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

The OP in question being offended/making a big deal out of a non issue big surprise :rolleyes:

They were crows.

Get over yourself.

The early 1940's is your counter? really?

We're talking about now. Where everything is offensive. Except to men apparently. Personally , I'm an everything goes person, but denying that there would be stories in the news and whinging if women were being called stupid en mass is either naive or deliberate argumentative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Honestly, I think it's a good thing men don't really care all that much about stuff like this.

What do you think the reaction would be if he said minions were female because males are not "dumb and stupid" enough?

Could you imagine what would come upon him from every feminist and feminist grouping going!?

The early 1940's is your counter? really?

I've no idea what you're on about tbh. Op (and yourself)on a faux outrage campaign about sexual equality, based on a fcukin cartoon about yellow aliens?

He's not implying human females are dumb, he's saying the minions(fictional species) are dumb.

Excuse me while I don't give a shiny turd.

I've no idea what you're on about tbh. .

Surely its not that hard to figure out? Tv shows/films/people in general got away with a lot more in past generations. If they made Dumbo today do you reckon they'd have the crows in it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

An oul lad that used to live beside me had the perfect retort for these type of made up problems

'Isn't it great that we never went to war?'

He's not implying human females are dumb, he's saying the minions(fictional species) are dumb.

Nope , he implied males are dumb. Thats the point, he wouldn't have said the same about females because thered be backlash.

What do you think the reaction would be if he said minions were female because males are not "dumb and stupid" enough?

Could you imagine what would come upon him from every feminist and feminist grouping going!?

That's what I'm saying though, just because there'd be uproar from that doesn't mean there should be simply for the sake of keeping it equal. There's a lot of things people shouldn't get so worked up over (ads, marketing ploys), so why add to them just because other people don't like certain things.

Take blackface/whiteface. I don't think one is bad and the other isn't due to their history. One is bad if done in a certain way (full on gollywog type stuff, I mean, whereas Tropic Thunder's Robert Downey Jr. character for example seems fine to me) because it upsets certain people, whereas the other doesn't apart from those who want to point out the double standard. It's nothing to do with power dynamics, just that one thing upsets people and the other doesn't. No big deal.

Surely its not that hard to figure out? Tv shows/films/people in general got away with a lot more in past generations. If they made Dumbo today do you reckon they'd have the crows in it?

Or this ad (with just about every black stereotype going!)

That's what I'm saying though, just because there'd be uproar

I'm not outraged and don't think it's a big deal. I'm just curious why it is ok going one direction and not ok going the other.

No one is "ourtraged" (I don't think)

I'm not outraged and don't think it's a big deal. I'm just curious why it is ok going one direction and not ok going the other.

That's fair enough, sorry for assuming so! I see people that do get outraged and just assumed that's what this was getting at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

The person who created the minions said this, that's one person. Afaik no one has ever said anything about males being stupid when the original 2 movies came out. I would take what he says with a pinch of salt, its not worth getting angry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

He said it because he knows that men wouldn't get their knickers in a knot.

I'm outraged at all the cleaning fluid ads featuring women cleaning toilets and mopping floors. If it was only men doing it, there'd be uproar.

See? You can feel persecuted about almost anything, if you're really desperate enough to find offence in everything.

Its' a flippin' cartoon ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

Did you even read the quote?

Or this ad (with just about every black stereotype going!)

Italians have also been depicted as criminal pigeons in Animaniacs.

Candie wrote: »
    I'm outraged at all the cleaning fluid ads featuring women cleaning toilets and mopping floors.

Ha, I never actually thought of that.

I think yer man Barry Scot broke the mould on that though!

He got to shout though, the women are silent cleaning machines :).

I think what he means is that the minions are stupid creatures and so they'd have to be male, as females aren't portrayed as being stupid in animation, as it would look odd, given that it's not the norm.

He got to shout though, the women are silent cleaning machines :).

Yeah and he has one filthy bathroom judging by those ads;)

Don't forget Mr Muscle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

The minions aren't really stupid though. The main ones Dave and Stuart are a bit thick but the rest of them are pretty smart scientist types. I haven't seen the latest film though to judge it. You might as well complain that all the bad guys in the last two films were male so is that implying all men are villians?

Yeah and he has one filthy bathroom judging by those ads;)

State of his taps. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

This is on the BBC

Because no men/boys give a shít.

psinno wrote: »
    Did you even read the quote?

Yep.

Minions are a made up species. They're not man/woman or boy or girl, they're a cartoon.

Stop trying to look for something to pretend to be annoyed about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I'm outraged at all the cleaning fluid ads featuring women cleaning toilets and mopping floors. If it was only men doing it, there'd be uproar.

Sure what about that guy from Big Brother years ago that was promoting bathroom cleaner instead of pissing in the shower?

Yep.

If Joss Whedon said the reason there were no female Avengers was "Seeing how strong and powerful they often are,I just couldn't imagine Avengers being girls" would you consider that a comment about Avengers,girls or both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

OP's a Muppet and he's worrying about minions.

Stop trying to look for something to pretend to be annoyed about.

I can't speak for that poster but who says anyone is annoyed?

Maybe you would be better advised not to pretend to be annoyed about others you think are annoyed but actually aren't?

See? You can feel persecuted about almost anything, if you're really desperate enough to find offence in everything.

Its' a flippin' cartoon ffs.

Yes, but the women in those ads aren't portrayed as being dumb. Women and just in them as in the main, the products they are selling are purchased by women. When those ads do have men in them, invariably it will be suggested that the chap couldn't tie his own shoelaces if it wasn't for his having his intelligent OH around to help show him how.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Maybe you would be better advised not to pretend to be annoyed about others you think are annoyed but actually aren't?

Yeah!

That's bitch talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Ridiculous statement in fairness. Too stupid to be female isn't Okay.

psinno wrote: »
    If Joss Whedon the reason there were no female Avengers was "Seeing how strong and powerful they often are,I just couldn't imagine Avengers being girls" would you consider that a comment about Avengers,girls or both?
    Who?

Maybe you'd be better not starting threads about creatures in a cartoon, and whether or not said creatures creator may be sexist?

Who?

Maybe you'd be better not starting threads about creatures in a cartoon, and whether or not said creatures creator may be sexist?

Maybe you should mind your own business then and stop looking and contributing to the threads?

This is After Hours which is for random, sometimes silly, stuff like this. No one is forcing you to read the thread (or maybe they are - I don't know).

Who?

Clearly that was the most important part. I take it you have no familiarity with the top grossing film of 2012 either. I don't think answering the question really depends on being familiar with Joss Whedon or the Avengers tbh.

Maybe you should mind your own business then and stop looking and contributing to the threads?

This is After Hours which is for random, sometimes silly, stuff like this. No one is forcing you to read the thread (or maybe they are - I don't know).

If you want people to take Your threads seriously, maybe you should stop starting threats r about fecking minions, and whether or not their creator thinks their dumb?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I'm annoyed. :mad:

Could be worse. At least I'm not green....