Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ISIS sympathizer arrested in dublin but then released

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/garda-antiterror-unit-arrest-islamic-state-suspect-in-dublin-31381972.html

It appears an ISIS sympathizer released without charge last monday. I am just saying that just the fact he was going to join ISIS via turkey should be more then enough to charge him with terrorist offences.

The fact that he was released without charge presumably means they didn't have enough to prove that he was travelling to join IS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Jesus. Anybody that listened to the testemony of teenage yazidi women held as sex slaves to be violently gang raped nightly by IS soldiers in last nights C4 documentary should be furious.
    Personally I'd have told the turks, 'never heard of the guy, you can keep him'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I wonder where he was Radicalised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Is he irish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

He probably got some mad notions in Zaytoons after a few too many pints in the Turks Head. There's something sinister about those two establishments being beside each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    The fact that he was released without charge presumably means they didn't have enough to prove that he was travelling to join IS.
    If they're not sure that they can charge him with any specific crime, the DPP makes a decision about whether or not a prosecution is going to proceed.

You can't charge someone and detain them unless you have something to charge them with. Even then you can't detain them unless you can show a court that they're a danger to themselves, the public, or they're likely to abscond.

There's a good chance this guy's passport has been seized and he's required to sign on every day. So he's not going anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

seamus wrote: »

There's a good chance this guy's passport has been seized and he's required to sign on every day. So he's not going anywhere.

Yep, from the article:

"He was brought to a city centre garda station for questioning about the eastern European passport which he had been travelling with, and which has now been seized."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Not surprising really. Aprox 80 countries have supplied ISIS fighters so at least a few has to come from Ireland..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Maybe they just got their wires crossed given the amount of lads with stupid beards and idiotic head wear in Dublin at the moment?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

Probably CNBC, Fox or Sky News.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

When I read they released him I thought to my self they will probably do more good long term if they get something by keeping him under survellence - hopefully thats whet they're up to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

If he hasn't broken the law, they have no grounds to arrest & charge him...

They can however, detain him to 'help with inquiries'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I would hazard a guess there are already quite a few here as we have plenty of other imported criminals most unknown as there are no proper checks done.

Ireland and the UK are way too soft and only a matter of time till something happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    If he hasn't broken the law, they have no grounds to arrest & charge him...

They can however, detain him to 'help with inquiries'.

Having seen that documentary last night about the women and girls, it suddenly occurs to me that much important research needs to be done into the kind of injuries falling down those stairs in old Garda stations can cause. Entirely voluntary, of course. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

eamonnq wrote: »
    Yep, from the article:

"He was brought to a city centre garda station for questioning about the eastern European passport which he had been travelling with, and which has now been seized."

I hope it's legitimate and the only one he is in possession of.

Well if it is deport him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...after we find out about the stairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

That's what we should do .

But you can expect the following why and he hasn't done anything wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

The Gardai have an Anti-Terror Squad ! ! !

Is this just the public order unit with different US style badges or stickers to distinguish them as anti terror police?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

foggy_lad wrote: »

Is this just the public order unit with different US style badges or stickers to distinguish them as anti terror police?

I wonder which country was the first to name one of it's police units the anti-terror squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

biko wrote: »
    Not surprising really. Aprox 80 countries have supplied ISIS fighters so at least a few has to come from Ireland..

At least 40 Irish have joined ISIS, which is 40 too many in my opinion. And at least 3 have been killed in fighting.

http://www.thejournal.ie/irish-people-islamic-state-2192482-Jul2015/

At least 40 Irish have joined ISIS, which is 40 too many in my opinion. And at least 3 have been killed in fighting.

Sure when they come back they will have got all that infidel killing out of their systems. Sure they would probably even vote on SSM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Public_Enema

conorhal wrote: »
    Personally I'd have told the turks, 'never heard of the guy, you can keep him'.

And the Turks would happily turn a blind eye and let him train in comfort. Turkey certainly isn't an enemy of Daesh and they would rather destroy the Kurds than destroy Daesh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

And the Turks would happily turn a blind eye and let him train in comfort. Turkey certainly isn't an enemy of Daesh and they would rather destroy the Kurds than destroy Daesh.
    For anyone wondering what Daesh is - it's another name for the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria.

In 2014, Foreign Minister Laurent Fabius said: “This is a terrorist group and not a state. I do not recommend using the term Islamic State because it blurs the lines between Islam, Muslims and Islamists. The Arabs call it ‘Daesh’ and I will be calling them the ‘Daesh cutthroats’.”

British Ministers could start calling Isis 'Daesh' to prevent propaganda effect, Michael Fallon says
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/british-ministers-could-start-calling-isis-daesh-to-prevent-propaganda-effect-michael-fallon-says-10389316.html
    The term 'Daesh' is based on an Arabic acronym of their name, and has pejorative meaning in Arabic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

probably as well manned and funded as the fraud squad

And don't forget the Turks have been opening the border for ISIS to conduct attacks against the Kurds in Kobane. Allowing Turkey into the EU will be the greatest geo-political disaster of the last 100 years.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/middleeast/syria/11697764/Isil-reenters-key-Syria-border-town-of-Kobane-live.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

A guy I know from college is Kurdish and left college to fight ISIS and protect his family. I hope he decimates them.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Yup

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special_Detective_Unit

biko wrote: »
    For anyone wondering what Daesh is - it's another name for the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria.

In 2014, Foreign Minister Laurent Fabius said: “This is a terrorist group and not a state. I do not recommend using the term Islamic State because it blurs the lines between Islam, Muslims and Islamists. The Arabs call it ‘Daesh’ and I will be calling them the ‘Daesh cutthroats’.”

British Ministers could start calling Isis 'Daesh' to prevent propaganda effect, Michael Fallon says
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/british-ministers-could-start-calling-isis-daesh-to-prevent-propaganda-effect-michael-fallon-says-10389316.html
    The term 'Daesh' is based on an Arabic acronym of their name, and has pejorative meaning in Arabic.

And in a decision that will surprise no-one, the left wing BBC sympathisers and useful idiots point blank refuse to refer to IS/ISIS as Daesh. This is the same BBC that refused to call the Charlie Hebdo murderers 'terrorists'. And the same BBC that more or less appointed itself as the PR wing of the Labour party for the recent general election.

http://www.scotsman.com/news/uk/david-cameron-bbc-won-t-to-refer-to-is-as-daesh-1-3816315

Happily, the Tories will soon be gutting the BBC and clearing out the extremist leftie halfwits and apologists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Flatzie_poo

The Gardai have an Anti-Terror Squad ! !

It's really just Brenda Fricker with a wooden spoon.

It's enough to keep me on the straight and narrow anyway!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

Well look at it this way. At least 3/40 isn't a bad hit-rate and could rise. At the same time maybe 3/40 isn't high enough to deter others from following suite so hopefully more of them will follow them out there. Win win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

on what grounds.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm Clonskeagh?

on what grounds.

2 hours 3 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 1800

Just shows how weak the Gardai and government are on ISIS and other Islam extremists. If he protested the water charges or carried around a tricolour he would be batoned and in a cell in Mountjoy. But join ISIS and hes free to do as pleased.

Posters like Nodin would have this guy staying in 5 star hotel like his illegal asylum seekers friends.

And in a decision that will surprise no-one, the left wing BBC sympathisers and useful idiots point blank refuse to refer to IS/ISIS as Daesh. This is the same BBC that refused to call the Charlie Hebdo murderers 'terrorists'. And the same BBC that more or less appointed itself as the PR wing of the Labour party for the recent general election.

they didn't refuse to call them terrorists, it was an editorial decisian not to mention things all ready known. the bbc are very impartial
    Happily, the Tories will soon be gutting the BBC and clearing out the extremist leftie halfwits and apologists.

what a load of nonsense. there are no extremist leftie halfwits and apologists in the bbc. and the tories are well capible of the old extremism when they want to. lefty is a term only used by rabel rabel ranters as a derogatory term against those who they cannot bully into having their opinion. the tories only want to decimate the bbc so their little buddies who own the commercial tv and radio will end up getting the viewers and listeners because there will be no other option, because the bbc will be unable to compete and continue to cater for minorities and bring decent programs as they will be destroyed by this act of terror by extremists who wish to destroy the bbc as they want to destroy anything owned by the people

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

colossus-x wrote: »
    Well look at it this way. At least 3/40 isn't a bad hit-rate and could rise. At the same time maybe 3/40 isn't high enough to deter others from following suite so hopefully more of them will follow them out there. Win win.
    nothing is going to deter loonies from joining isis.

1800 wrote: »
    Just shows how weak the Gardai and government are on ISIS and other Islam extremists.

it doesn't, and no they aren't
    If he protested the water charges or carried around a tricolour he would be batoned and in a cell in Mountjoy. But join ISIS and hes free to do as pleased.

no he's not. there wasn't evidence or enough evidence of anything so the chap was released.
    Posters like Nodin would have this guy staying in 5 star hotel like his illegal asylum seekers friends.

complete bull. not wanting people simply thrown in jail on no evidence because doesn't mean 1 wants them to be put in supposed 5 star hotels. save that old rabel for the rabel rags comment section or talk show facebooks please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 1800

it doesn't, and no they aren't

no he's not. there wasn't evidence or enough evidence of anything so the chap was released.

complete bull. not wanting people simply thrown in jail on no evidence because doesn't mean 1 wants them to be put in supposed 5 star hotels. save that old rabel for the rabel rags comment section or talk show facebooks please

Yawn and youre as bad as Nodin, completely irrational and without reason. And about 50k posts between yous. Get a life :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

There's a garda anti-terror unit?

Yawn and youre as bad as Nodin, completely irrational and without reason. And about 50k posts between yous. Get a life

i'm very rational, and from reading nodin's posts he is definitely rational also. the amount of hysterical nonsense being spouted is laughable though

Something Junta, Irish, Not a MB member, Stopped the army killing everyone. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

i'm very rational

You recently claimed that illegal immigrants would simply swim across the Mediterrean sea if their boats were confiscated so...

No, you're not.

Well if this chap or others want to go off and join Isis fair enough load them on to a military cargo plane fly to Iraq and Syria and at 5000ft let them jump out if they survive there welcome to do what they like

Gatling wrote: »
    Well if this chap or others want to go off and join Isis fair enough load them on to a military cargo plane fly to Iraq and Syria and at 5000ft let them jump out if they survive there welcome to do what they like

Just make sure to take the passports off them.

Absolutely

DeadHand wrote: »
    You recently claimed that illegal immigrants would simply swim across the Mediterrean sea if their boats were confiscated so...

No, you're not.
    yes, i am. and yes if they are that desperate they would probably try swim. its either definitely die at the hands of isis or possibly die or may survive in the med. anyway its irrelevant

Nah one is confusing Economic migrants with actual Refugees.

no they aren't

Odd the EU must be lying then.