Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parent and Child Spaces

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Cienciano wrote: »
    You mean disabled people? They're already provided for with disabled bays.

No, as I said earlier it's very difficult to get a disabled badge. You don't get them because you're a bit infirm or doddery on your feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,788 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

I know you'd still get some thoughtless people using them who don't need them, but they'd be available for old people who struggle to get out of a car or for people who have to put awkward or large parcels in and out of the car and other shoppers who might occasionally need an extra wide space.

Thoughtless people like yourself, as you've admitted to using them? The P&C spots are there for a reason and any time I see someone on their own or a young couple rocking up to the door and parking in these spaces I just think 'what an ignorant dick'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭doulikeit

At local aldi few months ago with my 18month daughter and 4 yr old son, friday evening quite busy I see parent and child spot lovely. Parked up putting my daughter in the buggy when car pulls up beside me. "Are you serious", a bit taken back I said whats your problem,"mudder an baybee spot ye dope", its parent and baby I explained, at this point her fella leans over "its mudder and baybee dickhead" I explained that the picture was of a mother but it wasnt gender based a parent is a parent " ah here let him have it de fcuking ejit" they pulled away I thanked them and continued my evening abit taken back

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

That drives me absolutely mad. They don't have a wheel chair, so why do they have a disability badge.

Not all disabilities warrant the use of a wheelchair. If anything, someone in a wheelchair, certainly a mechanised scooter, can travel further and with more ease than somebody on crutches, or needing a cane or someone who suffered from shortness of breath after a substantial walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

doulikeit wrote: »
    At local aldi few months ago with my 18month daughter and 4 yr old son, friday evening quite busy I see parent and child spot lovely. Parked up putting my daughter in the buggy when car pulls up beside me. "Are you serious", a bit taken back I said whats your problem,"mudder an baybee spot ye dope", its parent and baby I explained, at this point her fella leans over "its mudder and baybee dickhead" I explained that the picture was of a mother but it wasnt gender based a parent is a parent " ah here let him have it de fcuking ejit" they pulled away I thanked them and continued my evening abit taken back

Wow, that is a facepalm moment.

Fair play to you for your patience!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭PearlJ

It's a big bug bear of mine too I have to admit. That and when people park in the set down area. It's almost impossible to put a baby in or out of a car in a normal parking spot. There is a supermarket near me that also has parking allocated to senior citizens and they defend them with their lives, but also have no problem taking the parking allocated for the disabled and expectant mothers.

Hence I always get road rage when I do the shopping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭as_mo_bhosca

We've an obesity crisis in the country. Put the spaces as far from the door as possible. Make the fat little feckers walk and get some exercise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Can't believe the amount of people confusing a cynical marketing ploy by supermarkets with a supposed basic human right.

Disabled bays: Required by law.
    P&C spaces: Pretty painted lines on tarmac with no legal basis.

Shops provide (often grudgingly) the disabled bays as required by planning regulations - often at a further distance to the door than P&C spots.

On the other hand P&C spaces are there to entice a demographic with much higher spending potential than either the disabled or the elderly. It helps that young families tend to shop a lot quicker than the two aforementioned groups (i.e. need to rush off to swimming practice, piano lessons for their little precious, etc.). Kids often push parents into making unnecessary purchases. It also helps promote supermarket brand recognition in young minds.

Parents with young kids or toddlers don't have any urgent "need" for these spots over most of the elderly. They get them by virtue of being more valuable customers. Hence I don't get overly upset at people using them incorrectly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

As I said earlier, you don't need a wheelchair to be disabled and not able to walk very far. They're not 'wheelchair' spaces, they're 'disabled' spaces and are available to people with breathing problems, hip problems, parents with badly autistic children amongst others.

They should change the decal then in them it's a person in a wheelchair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

As a parent, if people parked properly in the regular spaces it would not be a problem. However I can't be the only parent to return to my car with my baby in their car seat to find some plonker in a little 1.1 litre hatchback parked diagonally across their space with their boot right alongside the door of the isofix side of my car.

It's not just as simple as shoving the baby in their car seat through the other door of your car if it's blocked by your toddlers car seat. A right head scratcher if you're on your own with a couple little tired/hungry/squirmy & grumpy kids.

So at least with the parent spaces if your neighbor parks haphazardly it doesn't affect you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

You don't get a disabled permit simply because you're old and a bit decrepit. That's why a bit of courtesy should be extended to elderly people and spaces by the door shouldn't be reserved for the sole use of parents with children.

The thing about people so old that they struggle to walk back and forth to the shop from the carpark is that generally they are retired. When you are retired you can go to the supermarket at 11 am on Tuesday when there is no one in the car park. Parent and Child space are there simply because taking a child or children in and out of a busy car park can be difficult especially on the way back when you are trying to carry bags of shopping with you. Yes the extra space is also very handy when taking the car seat out with the baby inside.

Not sure why you have an issue with something that is so fundamentally obvious. Your argument sounds basically like "old people might need to be close to the shop too so parents shouldn't have a monopoly on spaces close to the shop". Luckily other people have a bit more sense than you so we dont have P&C spaces at the back of a car park just because some parents with children might not need to use them.

I'm saying the logic of needing a space beside the door for safety reasons doesn't really make sense unless one parent is trying to steer two or more toddlers across the car park. If that's their purpose then a parent with one toddler in the car, for instance, shouldn't be using them either.

What difference does it make whether or not I have children myself? Are parents the only people entitled to comment on this issue or have a valid view on it?

I would comment more on the kids running amok in a car park obviously the parents have not taught them the dangers of cars. If your kids are running wild around the car park I don't think being closer to the door will really help that much.

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Can't believe the amount of people confusing a cynical marketing ploy by supermarkets with a supposed basic human right.

Disabled bays: Required by law.
    P&C spaces: Pretty painted lines on tarmac with no legal basis.

Shops provide (often grudgingly) the disabled bays as required by planning regulations - often at a further distance to the door than P&C spots.

On the other hand P&C spaces are there to entice a demographic with much higher spending potential than either the disabled or the elderly. It helps that young families tend to shop a lot quicker than the two aforementioned groups (i.e. need to rush off to swimming practice, piano lessons for their little precious, etc.). Kids often push parents into making unnecessary purchases. It also helps promote supermarket brand recognition in young minds.

Parents with young kids or toddlers don't have any urgent "need" for these spots over most of the elderly. They get them by virtue of being more valuable customers. Hence I don't get overly upset at people using them incorrectly.

Lol a cynical marketing ploy. Jesus we have P&C parking space conspriacies now :rolleyes: Nearly every single supermarket has P&C spaces because it makes sense to provide facilities to your customers that they need.. you know like changing areas. Young children and babies need some consideration just like the elderly and disabled people. Not sure why the parent haters on here have such a problem with anything family related... you were a child once you know! If it isnt baby on board signs its something stupid like P&C spaces that get the young singles wound up

I would comment more on the kids running amok in a car park obviously the parents have not taught them the dangers of cars. If your kids are running wild around the car park I don't think being closer to the door will really help that much.

So you think a 20 month old child who doesnt really understand language very well can just be told not to run around? Not very experienced in these matters so you dont have a clue what you are talking about. Young kids can run around well before they can take instructions. Thats why kids are still transported in buggies or strollers even when they are able to walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

You don't get a disabled permit simply because you're old and a bit decrepit. That's why a bit of courtesy should be extended to elderly people and spaces by the door shouldn't be reserved for the sole use of parents with children.
    If I'm only a bit decrepit, I don't need a disabled permit, and I can walk through the car park.

If I reach a state of decrepitude where I have a real mobility problem, I can qualify for a disabled permit.

In the meantime, I'll keep to the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭MrWalsh

Not only are the disabled and parent/child spaces ignored by all in my local LIDL, but people actually park on the pedestrian walk way, the yellow boxed area by the front door, and on one memorable occasion, blocking one entire section of the carpark by just dumping the car in the middle of the "road".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭snoopy12

Uriel. wrote: »
    I don't have any kids and I don't have experience of taking kids in and out of car seats etc, but there are a so many car parks around the place which seem to have very narrow parking spaces that I would not be at all surprised if this was a genuine problem for parents or carers of small children.

It is tbh. While it's being labeled a marketing ploy it is so good for parents. However, several times I've needed them when's been pouring rain and you see (what I presume to be) a hailnhearty person using them. Infuriating!!!
    I would have no issue with a person with a disability (obvious or not) or a pregnant woman using them.

Playboy wrote: »
    So you think a 20 month old child who doesnt really understand language very well can just be told not to run around? Not very experienced in these matters so you dont have a clue what you are talking about. Young kids can run around well before they can take instructions. Thats why kids are still transported in buggies or strollers even when they are able to walk.

I have 2 kids thanks. If the child is unable to communicate or look out for it's self it should be in a buggy until you are safely in side out of the way of danger. In my day people used harnesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,914 ✭✭✭lertsnim

My neighbours, mother and daughter both have wheelchair parking stickers on their cars. The mother did have an accident about 15 years ago but they have never used a wheelchair. No need for them to be taking up disabled parking.

You are clueless to what disabilities are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

They should change the decal then in them it's a person in a wheelchair.

They were floating the idea of having the sign being a wheelchair user, some chap holding an inhaler, an autistic child stimming and doing a little gif of someone walking with an invisible disability but nobody cared enough. It's quite a serious issue though because I'm forever walking through non smoking areas with people smoking cigars and pipes because the sign only shows a line through a cigarette.

lertsnim wrote: »
    You are clueless to what disabilities are.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/traffic_and_parking/disabled_persons_parking_card.html#l1f4da

They have started to tighten up on the old cards. Some still have them from dead relatives and alike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I think they have. But that might be like when you go to your grandparents house and you realise that the furniture that used to look huge is now tiny.
    Cars have got bigger ;)

Anyone notice that it's fat lazy fcukers that park as near to the shop door as possible even in the taxi space?

Playboy wrote: »
    Lol a cynical marketing ploy. Jesus we have P&C parking space conspriacies now :rolleyes: Nearly every single supermarket has P&C spaces because it makes sense to provide facilities to your customers that they need.. you know like changing areas. Young children and babies need some consideration just like the elderly and disabled people. Not sure why the parent haters on here have such a problem with anything family related... you were a child once you know! If it isnt baby on board signs its something stupid like P&C spaces that get the young singles wound up
    I never said it was a conspiracy, but it is a marketing ploy - as are most things regarding supermarket layout. The cynical part is they provide it to one group but not another (which arguably needs it more).

Funnily enough my parents never regarded the weekly shop as a necessary part of my or my siblings' childhood.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Anyone notice that it's fat lazy fcukers that park as near to the shop door as possible even in the taxi space?
    Yeah they're called taxi drivers!

Looks like I hit a nerve :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Funnily enough my parents never regarded the weekly shop as a necessary part of my or my siblings' childhood.

Lucky you. My brother and I had to go to the supermarket with my mother. The joys of being raised by a single parent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,131 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I have 2 kids thanks. If the child is unable to communicate or look out for it's self it should be in a buggy until you are safely in side out of the way of danger. In my day people used harnesses.
    It can be hard in fairness. And a buggy isn't much use if you need a trolly to get your shopping. I remember going to the shop with 2 kids, a 6 month old and a 2 year old. You cannot put them in buggy, go over to get a trolly and come back with the trolly and buggy, put them in the trolly and put the buggy back in the car!
    The P&C spaces are abused by parents too. You see parents with 6 or 7 year old kids using them! It's not rocket science who needs them, if I go to the shops with my 3 year old I wouldn't bother with them. With 2 kids I'd look for one, but tbh, they're pretty much never free so sometimes I wouldn't even bother. Kids are at an age where I can leave the kids in the car to go and get a trolly.

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

This day 7 weeks ago I became a first time mum and never did I appreciate those parking spaces as much. As someone mentioned, opening out the door to take either the car seat or just the baby out can be a nightmare. Thankfully I've only needed to use them a handful of times, if there's no parent and child spaces and it's a dry enough day I'll just park further away where there's little or no cars parked. I don't want to be bashing anyone's car doors because I'd hate if it was done to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,708 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Egginacup wrote: »
    Not all disabilities warrant the use of a wheelchair. If anything, someone in a wheelchair, certainly a mechanised scooter, can travel further and with more ease than somebody on crutches, or needing a cane or someone who suffered from shortness of breath after a substantial walk.

I explained in previous posts that I worded my post wrong.