Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird housemate

• 11-07-2015 7:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭

So he hasn't done a shred of cleaning in a whole year, not even emptied the
    dishwasher or bin.
    So I refused to do it this week, several days later, the dishwasher was still full of cleaned dishes and the bin is still overflowing and has flies buzzing around it.

It would be easy to give out to him, but he never leaves his room.
    So how do I get him evicted?

Have you had any difficult housemates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

dishwasher or bin.
    So I refused to do it this week, several days later, the dishwasher was still full of cleaned dishes and the bin is still overflowing and has flies buzzing around it.

Kill him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

How do you expect him to empty the dishwasher if he never leaves his room?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

If he never leaves his room then whose mess is in the kitchen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Mechanical Clocktail

You haven't said if you've talked to him about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Cody montana

frag420 wrote: »
    How do you expect him to empty the dishwasher if he never leaves his room?

He comes in, eats on his own and puts his plates in the dishwasher.

I've seen him 2 times in the last 3 months.
    I've just had enough this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Trudiha

Maybe someone else has killed him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 SmilesInMass

It's called playing hard to get OP. Flirting 101.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Kill him

It's definitely a solution.
    I'll consider it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Fire is your friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I've seen him 2 times in the last 3 months.
    I've just had enough this week.

Sooooooo.....

You pretty much have the whole place for half the rent, plus the cleaning you'd have to do anyway?

Score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Burn down the estate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 127 ✭✭Buzz Meeks

What are your housemates views on the matter.
    Because they'd be a bit more relevant than ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Trudiha

Maybe the floor in his room is so dirty he's stuck to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

What age is the housemate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭tritium

Put notes on everything telling him he has to clean up his own **** and do his share of bin emptying etc. If he doesn't, leave the bin outside his bedroom door

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Who switched on the dishwasher this week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Jan Laco

Why wait a full year without complaining to him about it? A landlord is not going to evict him just because he doesn't clean up, as long as the rent is paid.
    I don't think stopping your cleaning and living with flies around the place is the right way to go and is a bit childish.
    Either have a word with him or get the landlord to have a word or move out yourself.

There is actually 3 of us in the house, 2 of us do our share.
    We chatted about it recently and we agree words need to be said.

He's a fu@king weirdo in general.

tritium wrote: »
    Put notes on everything telling him he has to clean up his own **** and do his share of bin emptying etc. If he doesn't, leave the bin outside his bedroom door

Great idea, I'll do that tomorrow.

Who switched on the dishwasher this week?

Probably him, thing is he took clean dishes out of the dishwasher and then washed them in the sink when finished, and left the rest inside.
    So I did the same. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

tritium wrote: »
    Put notes on everything telling him he has to clean up his own **** and do his share of bin emptying etc

Nobody respects a note-leaver.

Knock on his door and tell him face-to-face to grow the **** up or ship the **** out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's definitely a solution.
    I'll consider it.

Please don't, he's not worth 15-20 years of your life. The best thing to do would be to knock on his bedroom door and request a sitdown in the kitchen where you can air your grievances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

years back, a housemate decided to buy a pet snake which he kept in a glass case in the living room. He fed it mice which he kept in the freezer. He never asked anyone, just arrived back with it one day.. his other friends who were also lodgers in the house could see nothing wrong with this, and thought it was 'cool'... I was gone in 3 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Tom Green

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Overheal wrote: »
    If he never leaves his room then whose mess is in the kitchen?

Hah, reminds me of a story my friend had, he was living with some people who never cleaned up or did the dishes, etc. So he got pissed off, bought his own dishes, cutlery and utensils and kept them in his room, washing them up right after use and bringing them back to his room again. The housemates got super annoyed with him, because all their crap was getting piled up and up, and he wasn't washing it up for them.

Links234 wrote: »
    Hah, reminds me of a story my friend had, he was living with some people who never cleaned up or did the dishes, etc. So he got pissed off, bought his own dishes, cutlery and utensils and kept them in his room, washing them up right after use and bringing them back to his room again. The housemates got super annoyed with him, because all their crap was getting piled up and up, and he wasn't washing it up for them.

Then what happened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

dishwasher or bin.

He sounds like a dirty, unhygienic fecker, but in my experience far from unusual or weird.

If you can't bring yourself to kill him, torch his room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Yes, lived with the most ignorant bastard for a summer while in university.

He was the most unpleasant ****er you can imagine - as soon he came into the living room, people would slowly gravitate to the kitchen, or anywhere away from him.

Eventually it was up to me, as the 'mature' one, to tell him he had to leave, which he did, In fairness, he'd had plenty of experience at responding to that bit of news.

A moment that sticks in the memory is when he was drunk, vomited a bit into his pint, and kept on drinking it afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Some people just can't guess, or take hints: some people have to be TOLD, in very plain English. This is one of those situations.

TELL the guy. Plainly. Use plain words like Unfair, Dirty, Irresponsible. Best if both of you other housemates do this together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭130Kph

Shared a house once with 3 others including an ex-(British)army alcoholic who kept a pet rat in a cage on the landing outside his room. The rat didn’t bother me and I got on fine with your man. However one night I came back after work at 2am and turned on the tv in my room to watch a match in USA ’94.

From then on he went into passive aggressive mode big time - cycling the sound on his tv from low to max volume then back to low volume all the time - until I moved out 7 months later. His frequent 5 bottle binges of vodka probably didn’t help.

I suggest you hire a private investigator to get some dirt on him. Failing that buy him a DVD of “Eat, Pray, Love”. That should make him see the dishwasher in a new light :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

OP, don't be too hard on the guy...maybe he's got mental health problems like social anxiety or autistic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

Flies now, maggots next ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭wuzziwig

Buy in some Chianti and fava beans and away you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Ah the joy of house sharing, I've lived with a few odd balls. People that don't do a bit of house work annoy the hell out of me.

I got well ticked off with a fella before cos he didn't do a tap and left his dishes everywhere and never put anything in the bin. Told him to change his act but no joy so I collected all the dishes he used and left them outside his door.

Guess what he stepped over them and left them there, I was away for a few days and when I came back still there. At this stage there was also a smell coming from his room when you passed the door (not the dishes outside the door they were clean by me), so I called the landlord and complained about him, he called over and could definitely get a smell.

He said he couldn't enter the room so had a word with him, no joy. Two weeks go by and the smell gets worse, so got sick of it and went into his room. Didn't like doing it but was gone beyond a joke at this stage. What I saw in the room was horrible. He had dirty plates which had not seen the light of day since god no when, bottles yellow liquid which turned out to be piss and he must of s##t myself sometime because there were s##t covered clothes in the corner of the room. Disgusting stuff, recorded it and showed the landlord. Your man was kicked out two days later. Landlord had to dump the mattress and carpet, but on the plus he gave me two months free rent.

Right, I'm home, nothing was done over the weekend.
    I'm in the sitting room waiting for the arsehole to come home....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,897 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Go for it. If he hasn't learned these things by now, you telling him what's expected is the only way the fella will ever learn it.

I'm composing a song as we speak.
    I am going to embarrass him via the power of music.

What rhymes with dishwasher?

Scrubber

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

He's a fu@king weirdo in general.

I appreciate he is annoying you but posting his email here is out of order.

You sound like my wife!

Scrubber

Hey confused Achilles, that doesn't rhyme. :D

You sound like my wife!

Does your wife teach you a lesson on cleaning with a guitar and no clothes on?
    I've just decided on the last part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

Cleaning with a guitar and no clothes on.
    I've just decided on the last part.

Sounds like a good plan. :D Give your housemate a wink and say hello gorgeous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Never leaves his room?

I read a stack of threads in personal issues forum and housemates moving their wimmin or lad in and taking over the place

The guy stays in his room and never bothers you. Yeah he's not clean but Id say there is some social anxiety involved here

As housemates go you could do worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Kill him,or chances are he will kill you and hide your bodies in the dishwasher (providing you've cleaned it out)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

fryup wrote: »
    OP, don't be too hard on the guy...maybe he's got mental health problems like social anxiety or autistic
    So, what? The OP should be this guys live in servant on the off chance he has some disorder? Fcuk that. Tell him to sort himself out or you'll be on to the landlord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭17larsson

Probably him, thing is he took clean dishes out of the dishwasher and then washed them in the sink when finished, and left the rest inside.
    So I did the same. :D

So he washed the dishes he used?

Why don't you clean!

We all live here and we all share and care,
    We all live here, we clean but you just stare,
    My anger grows like the rubbish in the bin,
    Clean the house or on your bed I'll murder a hen.

It's took clunky, his laziness has ruined my sense of musical compositing as well.

17larsson wrote: »
    So he washed the dishes he used?

By putting them in the dishwasher originally and then taking them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Social Anxiety ultimately isn't a good enough reason to not pull your weight -- I say this as someone who experiences it.

In order to avoid being too confrontational (if your worried about him avoiding you), throw him a bone and maybe have a group discussion about not 'everyone' doing their share. This will avoid calling him out directly if he is sensitive but he'll still know it's about him.

Agree on a schedule together on basic chores. Maybe at first when it's his turn to do it, both of ye retreat into your rooms or go out for a wee bit. If he is socially awkward he'll use that time to get his share done.

If that fails, call his mother. :P
    Links234 wrote: »

Wow... what sort of entitled **@'s did he live with? If it were me, I'd buy a pet mouse and let it loose into the kitchen. And wait.