Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is it all about.

• 08-07-2015 5:03pm

I don't want this to be a feminist thing just in general I would like to know.

The other day a group of young lads your usual bored teenagers passed me as I was out walking, one of them made a comment at me and his mates giggled, now usually I ignore stuff like that but this time I came right back at them and they shut up. What I want to know what is this urge to shout at/ comment at women all about? In the situation I was in I would say it was a bit of bravado and bigging himself up in front of his mates.

Anyone like to enlighten me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

I knew a fr Clint Power. Maybe she's having a go at him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Maybe you have nice boobs and they wanted to tellyou..you should have said thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭comewatmay

You'll be jealous and giving out in a few years when your old and wrinkly that they're not shouting at you!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

Just kids being annoying. I get giggles going past young girls too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Alfie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

mariaalice wrote: »
    I don't want this to be a feminist thing....

Well you've failed there :pac:

comewatmay wrote: »
    You'll be jealous and giving out in a few years when your old and wrinkly that they're not shouting at you!!

I am old an a bit wrinkly I am a middle aged woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

To be funny in front of their friends so they'll like them. Or because they fancied you and that made them nervous and this was the result of that discomfort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

The other day a group of young lads your usual bored teenagers passed me as I was out walking, one of them made a comment at me and his mates giggled, now usually I ignore stuff like that but this time I came right back at them and they shut up. What I want to know what is this urge to shout at/ comment at women all about? In the situation I was in I would say it was a bit of bravado and bigging himself up in front of his mates.

Answered your own question there OP really :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Ethel

Maria, at that age it's all about what gets them noticed amongst their peers. So regardless of whether it was something deemed to be a nasty or nice comment, it's all about them. Simple as that.

Guys want to show off and look big in front of their mates. In girls, sadly it's bitchy comments that would get thrown at you. It's a sad state of affairs, but it's all about them more than the person they are shouting at. Ignore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Better to do it upfront instead of anonymous from behind proxy servers in a few years time, I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Do you really wanna know?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Ladies shouldn't walk around public without a man to defend their honour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Young lads do that kind of shyte all the time. It's how they demonstrate their newly-found and incredible sense of agency in the world. The call at women. With men it's pointless funny little challenges, such as crossing the road really slowly so you have to stop. They only do it when they have an audience. On there own they won't even meet your eye.

They only do it because they're very very unsure of themselves. It's kinda comical. The best response is to cultivate a look that lets them know it's kinda comical, and that they're not worth taking seriously just yet.

Annoying if you let it be. Essentially harmless. And an opportunity to make them feel really self-conscious. Hormones. Who'd have 'em...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I think as you say it's bravado and also boredom. There's no rhyme or reason to it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I'm sorry it happened to you- is juvenile as fnck

You've answered it yourself really
    A certain percentage of people are stupid enough to do this as teenagers
    A certain perecentage of these teenagers don't get their recommended dose of "cop on" and continue to do it into their adulthood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Thought this was going to be one of those "what's the meaning of life" threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The one I really struggle to understand is the (uniquely Dublin if I'm not mistaken?) roaring of "What are yewwwwwwwww lookin' a'?!" at random passers-by, who may or may not have even been looking in the general direction of the person who shouted it.
    There's a gang of kids in an estate near my college who are infamous for it... Some people find it intimidating, others just ridiculous, but what's the whole deal with it to begin with?

The one I really struggle to understand is the (uniquely Dublin if I'm not mistaken?) roaring of "What are yewwwwwwwww lookin' a'?!" at random passers-by, who may or may not have even been looking in the general direction of the person who shouted it.
    There's a gang of kids in an estate near my college who are infamous for it... Some people find it intimidating, others just ridiculous, but what's the whole deal with it to begin with?

I'll bet you weren't even looking in their direction until they caught your attention by asking you what are you looking at? :pac:

Jesus that's as old as the hills that one, along with "If I hadn't called you back, where would you be now?" :D

(not limited to Dublin either, but countrywide, if not international even!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

..one of them made a comment at me and his mates giggled.

What was the nature of the comment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Never bothered with the shouting, much rather throw the Hungry eyes ''You'd get it'' style!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

i can't be the only one wondering what he said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Not particularly feminist, just one of those things.

The ones I find really annoying are those gits that shout abuse/chat up lines from moving cars. It's so amazingly cowardly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Samaris wrote: »
    The ones I find really annoying are those gits that shout abuse/chat up lines from moving cars. It's so amazingly cowardly.

Not saying you're claiming they don't but, while young males are the major culprits, girls do this too. I've (male) had it a few times. I was able to laugh it off but I do appreciate if it were a more regular occurrence (as it undeniable is for most women) and/or if I was more sensitive (as most women are, in my experience) it might eventually get to me.

I've never passed sexual remarks to random, passing women; not out of some noble feminist ideal but because it is simply bad manners.

What he said was Hi ya sexy, doesn't sound much, but I was on my own and am a middle age woman and there were 4 or 5 of them and they are teenagers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Kids are on holidays. They have more free time to be, do and say stupid things that have no substance or ulterior motive.

people here are over-analyzing the event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Those young lads are horrid cheeky too. 13 years old shouting all sorts of obscenities. I just tell them I'm going to ring Santa on them if they aren't good. Then walk on before they can reply

Strangely enough when I was a teenager and had long summer holidays hanging around with my friends, I never felt the urge to shout at people passing by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

What he said was Hi ya sexy, doesn't sound much, but I was on my own and am a middle age woman and there were 4 or 5 of them and they are teenagers.

Hmmm. Teenage boys notice you and call you sexy. You maintain you are middle aged and wrinkly. Someone is wrong here. I doubt it's the young lads!

Although it could have been a very sarcastic young lad..........

Agricola wrote: »
    Hmmm. Teenage boys notice you and call you sexy. You maintain you are middle aged and wrinkly. Someone is wrong here. I doubt it's the young lads!

Although it could have been a very sarcastic young lad..........

I don't think you get this, he was attempting to big himself up/ excessing his power a bit by shouting at a lone woman, they would not do it if I was with my husband. what I was asking why the need to big yourself up in front of you mates what about a more appropriate way of feeling big about yourself not one that involves shouting at women.

The one I really struggle to understand is the (uniquely Dublin if I'm not mistaken?) roaring of "What are yewwwwwwwww lookin' a'?!" at random passers-by

Just reply , "your aul wan".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Strangely enough when I was a teenager and had long summer holidays hanging around with my friends, I never felt the urge to shout at people passing by.
    Nor I. I guess we're just better people than them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Cormac... wrote: »
    Well you've failed there :pac:
    She has? It need not have anything to do with feminism.

Never did it to women as far as I remember, but I did similarly dumb things like it in my early teens, or at least silently went along with it. Nor nasty things, just clownish stuff like your OP. It's a mixture of peer pressure, insecurity, imbecility and bravado: to wit, just being a teenage boy.

Most of them will be mortified about it even by the end of their teens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I don't think you get this, he was attempting to big himself up/ excessing his power a bit by shouting at a lone woman, they would not do it if I was with my husband. what I was asking why the need to big yourself up in front of you mates what about a more appropriate way of feeling big about yourself not one that involves shouting at women.

I doubt they think that deeply about it. While walking home one evening two young lads were walking towards me and one of them stuck his finger into my face as I passed, shouting "here smell my finger". I don't think they mean to be intimidating, they're just bold little sh1ts with too much time on their hands

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

The hokey pokey is what is it all about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I remember once some young fella came up to me in a shop and said "Here you hey, my friend over there fancies you" and I looked him dead in the eye and said "Really? That's great, I fancy him too!". Got the equivalent of a blue screen in a facial expression. Probably should have thought that through a bit more though, they were about 12 :eek:

To be honest, young kids doing it is one thing. I don't particularly get bothered by it and I've no problem making an absolute show of them in the hopes they'll think twice the next time. Grown fcuking men on the other hand, that's seriously pathetic behaviour and some of them really do seem to get some kind of kick out of genuinely intimidating lone women, which is a weird way of "showing off"

Samaris wrote: »
    Not particularly feminist, just one of those things.

I'm not proud of it, but I can't help the thought of this happening to them one day :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

DeadHand wrote: »
    Not saying you're claiming they don't but, while young males are the major culprits, girls do this too. I've (male) had it a few times. I was able to laugh it off but I do appreciate if it were a more regular occurrence (as it undeniable is for most women) and/or if I was more sensitive (as most women are, in my experience) it might eventually get to me.

I've never passed sexual remarks to random, passing women; not out of some noble feminist ideal but because it is simply bad manners.

You have a good point. Boys probably don't do it to men, and girls don't do it much to women, so we'd only really notice the brats of the opposite sex yelling, since they don't tend to dare do it when the person isn't totally alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

I'm a man and i've often walked past a group of kids and they have shouted something. Its like they have a form of group tourette's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

I really don't like when people dismiss this as "just teenagers". I've had remarks about my appearance (and not nice ones) from people of all ages. Vast majority are from males. It's not acceptable. There are grown men who should know better. But I also believe these teenagers should know better. They are not 2. The understand exactly what they are saying and doing.