Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bloated salaries at 2fm

• 03-07-2015 10:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 26

Larry Gogan gets 55k per year for 4 hours at the weekend while Dave Fanning gets 88k per year also for 4 hours at the weekend.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Sports Bra wrote: »
    Larry Gogan gets 55k per year for 4 hours at the weekend while Dave Fanning gets 88k per year also for 4 hours at the weekend.

At least they are professional broadcasters.

If Lottie Ryan is getting paid a tenner a year, its a tenner a year too much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

If Ray Darcy is worth hundreds of thousands a year, Dave Fanning is worth 88k. Your examples of RTÉ waste are not the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

those wages are very reasonable. after all these are top broadcasters on a national station. nothing to see here

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,622 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Why concentrate on 2FM? Marian Finucane gets way more than those two lads and she also does 4 hours at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

George Hamilton used to get close to €200k per year for commentating on football.

Being flown around the world by RTE, put up in the best hotels by RTE, free meals and expenses all on RTE, as well as entry to the worlds best sporting events.

I think he has the best job in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Sports Bra

coylemj wrote: »
    Why concentrate on 2FM? Marian Finucane gets way more than those two lads and she also does 4 hours at the weekend.

2fm is a loss making radio station since 2009 but RTE Radio 1 is making strong profits. The Marian Finucane show is one of the most listened to radio programs on irish radio so the host earns her wages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Sports Bra

those wages are very reasonable. after all these are top broadcasters on a national station. nothing to see here

Both those broadcasters were axed from weekday radio due to poor ratings and now have even worse ratings at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

they are modest salaries given that they have given their lives to being freelance with RTE for many many years, especially in the case of Larry Gogan.
    I just hope Larry wasn't on equivilent of that modest salary when he was doing 5 days per week and the chart show at the weekends for nearly 20 years..that was 17 hrs on the air each week.

where have these pay figures come from? I thought only the top ones were published?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

Modest salaries for 4 hours? God give me strength.

2fm is a loss making radio station since 2009 but RTE Radio 1 is making strong profits. The Marian Finucane show is one of the most listened to radio programs on irish radio so the host earns her wages.
    doesn't change the fact that 2fm being a national station loss making or not will mean those who work on it being payed higher wages then those on regional or local radio. anyone who works earns their wage.
    Both those broadcasters were axed from weekday radio due to poor ratings and now have even worse ratings at the weekend.
    they were moved to weekends yes, they are still top broadcasters though who if they were allowed the freedom to show us all what they can do once again may bring in the ratings. 2fm also needs to decide who it is targeting. infact it should target the older audience that the others don't target.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Modest salaries for 4 hours? God give me strength.
    for a national station, yes they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Very poor argument there.

Gone into numerous threads and posts ago.

Too tired to start it all up again.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

NIMAN wrote: »
    George Hamilton used to get close to €200k per year for commentating on football.

Being flown around the world by RTE, put up in the best hotels by RTE, free meals and expenses all on RTE, as well as entry to the worlds best sporting events.

I think he has the best job in the world.

Except he isn't always :D. I think it was USA 94, he was going on about how hot it was here and a beautiful day here, the atmosphere here and then the viewers lost the picture but oddly enough the commentary too. Turns out he was in Montrose watching on tv like the rest of us.

Baffling how Gogan is on 55k, he has to be the most popular media personality in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 DaveWalsh2020

Newstalk presenters seem way better than the 2fm presenters. I stopped listening to 2fm when I heard the salaries. I have heard snippets of the bunch in the morning s and colm Hayes buddy.
    I think it's really really bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Maysa07

Sorry but your wrong there :). 2FM are on the up according to the last two JNLR figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,180 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Maysa07 wrote: »
    Sorry but your wrong there :). 2FM are on the up according to the last two JNLR figures.

JNLR figures have nothing (direct) to do with finances. So no, he's not wrong - you are. 2FM is still losing money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Murt10

The Marian Finucane show is one of the most listened to radio programs on irish radio so the host earns her wages.

Not necessarily. Offer her 1/2 what she is being (over) paid at the moment and I suspect she would take it rather than jumping ship to Newstalks or Today FM.

Pat Kenny did change stations and I understand that his ratings are much worse than Newstalk were hoping for. Not enough people moved the dial. RTE still has a multiple of the listenership than the Pat Kenny show has and both stations are competing at the same time, for the same audience. He even hinted that he might rejoin RTE, but was told there was no chance of that.

Neither Newstalk nor Today FM are going to offer her anything near 1/2 her current wages of E400,000 pa for 4 hours work a week and, very lengthy holidays to boot. Uncle Dennis wouldn't stand for that. (about the only time I agree with him)

Then again, if RTE were to play hardball with her inflated salary, she might just retire altogether. I assume that she is well past retirement age, and with the colossal salary she has been drawing for the past 40 years, she's hardly likely to retire in poverty.

Wasn't she one of the the golden circle of people in the know, (herself and Louis Copeland among others) who bought apartments from Irish Life, a state owned company at the time, in a sweetheart deal, at a knockdown price. No public auction or anything like that, just a done deal by the time the public got to hear about it

God only knows what she has accumulated since then.

I stopped listening to 2fm when I heard the salaries.

let me get this straight. you stopped listening, not because you don't like what is provided, but because of how much the broadcasters get payed? really?

Murt10 wrote: »
    Not necessarily. Offer her 1/2 what she is being (over) paid at the moment and I suspect she would take it rather than jumping ship to Newstalks or Today FM.

Pat Kenny did change stations and I understand that his ratings are much worse than Newstalk were hoping for. Not enough people moved the dial. RTE still has a multiple of the listenership than the Pat Kenny show has and both stations are competing at the same time, for the same audience. He even hinted that he might rejoin RTE, but was told there was no chance of that.

Neither Newstalk nor Today FM are going to offer her anything near 1/2 her current wages of E400,000 pa for 4 hours work a week and, very lengthy holidays to boot. Uncle Dennis wouldn't stand for that. (about the only time I agree with him)

Then again, if RTE were to play hardball with her inflated salary, she might just retire altogether. I assume that she is well past retirement age, and with the colossal salary she has been drawing for the past 40 years, she's hardly likely to retire in poverty.

Wasn't she one of the the golden circle of people in the know, (herself and Louis Copeland among others) who bought apartments from Irish Life, a state owned company at the time, in a sweetheart deal, at a knockdown price. No public auction or anything like that, just a done deal by the time the public got to hear about it

she isn't over payed. the wage she gets is at the mid part of the scale on the wages those broadcasting on a national station get payed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭qweerty

she isn't over payed. the wage she gets is at the mid part of the scale on the wages those broadcasting on a national station get payed

What do you mean? In Ireland? Internationally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

She is way overpaid, anyone with any sense can see that.

There are 52 weeks in the year x2 = 104, subtract around when 24 shows she is not there.

= 80 shows which based on €400k pa is €5000 per show= €10k for the week.

Not worth that in my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭total former

What a bitter, nasty, pointless post.

She is way overpaid, anyone with any sense can see that.

There are 52 weeks in the year x2 = 104, subtract around when 24 shows she is not there.

= 80 shows which based on €400k pa is €5000 per show= €10k for the week.

Not worth that in my opinion
    she is not over payed. obviously she is worth it otherwise she wouldn't be getting it or be on the station

Complete logical fallacy here.

Your logic here suggests that nobody is ever overpaid for any job they do, ever, anywhere surely by virtue of them being paid.

If you can't see that, you don't understand what you're saying.

L1011 wrote: »
    Complete logical fallacy here.

Your logic here suggests that nobody is ever overpaid for any job they do, ever, anywhere surely by virtue of them being paid.

If you can't see that, you don't understand what you're saying.
    nonsense. i know exactly what i'm saying. i wouldn't be saying it if i didn't. either way in terms of the fact RTE'S stations are national broadcasters, the wages are the type of wage 1 will get for broadcasting on the state broadcaster. they get it for good reason

Why, in detail please, should broadcasters on the state broadcaster be paid multiples of those on other national broadcasters for the same or less hours work?

It's not about hours of work though. That's like asking why Leo Messi gets paid more than Glenn Whelan, you need different measures of value.

Marian Finucane brings in a colossal audience for RTE.

It's not about hours of work though. That's like asking why Leo Messi gets paid more than Glenn Whelan, you need different measures of value.

Marian Finucane brings in a colossal audience for RTE.

The slot and format have the audience. Her frequent absences show she is easily replaceable as presenter.

"Marian Finucane brings in a colossal audience for RTE" is like saying the person who voiced the speaking clock is responsible for the calls to the service. In reality, of course, people want the service and would continue to call regardless of the voice, provided it was intelligible. Finucane has a two-hour slot (longest non-sporting weekend slot), at a time when people are most likely to be travelling in their cars, has a varied format (lifestyle, current affairs, sport, profile interviews, newspaper reviews, etc) and features more prominent guests than arguably any other programme. No doubt she is responsible for some of her audience, but I would guess that the Marian Factor accounts for no more than 10-15%.

The slot and format have the audience. Her frequent absences show she is easily replaceable as presenter.

But by that logic, 2fm wouldn't have lost any listeners when Tubridy replaced Ryan, and Pat Kenny would have the same audience now as he had at RTE.

She's enormously popular, I'm not sure why that's a contentious point.

But by that logic, 2fm wouldn't have lost any listeners when Tubridy replaced Ryan, and Pat Kenny would have the same audience now as he had at RTE.

No, your argument requires that.

What a bitter, nasty, pointless post.

Angry and bitter at having to pay a licence fee of E160 pa for station that is paying their fatcat staff far far in excess of what they are worth.

That's E3 odd a week to keep these "stars" in the lifestyle that they have become accustomed to.

They are earning many multiples of what people like me are earning for a full 40 hour week. It's like a reverse charity. Take money off the poor to give to the super rich. I'd feel even more annoyed if I was trying to survive on social welfare of E188 per week and had to pay the E3 odd every week out of this.

I'm dying to see what happens when Kenny's contract is up for renewal with Newstalk. He didn't bring in the listeners he promised, so he will certainly be facing a (hopefully) huge wage drop. I can see him putting out more feelers and trying to ingratiate himself with his former employers and get back to the type of money he feels he is worth (LOL)

And doesn't he need every cent he can get. After being hit with the legal costs for trying to steal his neighbors land in Dalkey, claiming squatters rights. The neighbor who had initially granted him, access to the land as a favour, and he repays that kindness by trying to steal it.

I'm glad I don't live anywhere near him.

And while I'm at it, I remember Gerry Ryan looking for a pay increase which we later found out was so that he could settle his massive cocaine bill with his dealer. Having said that, I'm told that the audience for his programme has fallen off a cliff since he died.

Back on topic, if 2FM is losing money then it's time that they all had a wage cut until the losses stop. I havn't listened to 2fm in years and wouldn't even know how to tune it in.

They were slow coming to the market, the pirate stations beat them to it. They are now unneeded overpaid dinosaurs trying to justify their existence. The local stations are what people are listening to

Time that station was closed down

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 The Big Kahuna4

OP where did you get these figures? Ive never read them anywhere in print before.

Did you apply for them via the Freedom Of Information Act?

No, it wouldn't, you've got your logic backwards there. It would have required that O'Rourke would have retained the bulk of the audience - and he did.

Gerry Ryan's show was hugely, vastly personality based - more so than any other on RTE at all. Finucanes is not.

Angry and bitter at having to pay a licence fee of E160 pa for station that is paying their fatcat staff far far in excess of what they are worth.

That's E3 odd a week to keep these "stars" in the lifestyle that they have become accustomed to.

They are earning many multiples of what people like me are earning for a full 40 hour week. It's like a reverse charity. Take money off the poor to give to the super rich. I'd feel even more annoyed if I was trying to survive on social welfare of E188 per week and had to pay the E3 odd every week out of this.

I'm dying to see what happens when Kenny's contract is up for renewal with Newstalk. He didn't bring in the listeners he promised, so he will certainly be facing a (hopefully) huge wage drop. I can see him putting out more feelers and trying to ingratiate himself with his former employers and get back to the type of money he feels he is worth (LOL)

And doesn't he need every cent he can get. After being hit with the legal costs for trying to steal his neighbors land in Dalkey, claiming squatters rights. The neighbor who had initially granted him, access to the land as a favour, and he repays that kindness by trying to steal it.

I'm glad I don't live anywhere near him.

And while I'm at it, I remember Gerry Ryan looking for a pay increase which we later found out was so that he could settle his massive cocaine bill with his dealer. Having said that, I'm told that the audience for his programme has fallen off a cliff since he died.

Back on topic, if 2FM is losing money then it's time that they all had a wage cut until the losses stop. I havn't listened to 2fm in years and wouldn't even know how to tune it in.

They were slow coming to the market, the pirate stations beat them to it. They are now unneeded overpaid dinosaurs trying to justify their existence. The local stations are what people are listening to

Time that station was closed down
    more bitter old rabel rabel. you would still be paying the same whatever the staff were payed. its not time 2fm was closed at all. it just needs good management with the freedom for that management to make decisians. national broadcasters will get a larger wage then those on regional and local radio. its the same in every country. get over it

its not time 2fm was closed at all. it just needs good management with the freedom for that management to make decisians. national broadcasters will get a larger wage then those on regional and local radio. its the same in every country. get over it

I have no problem with national broadcasters getting higher salaries than those presenting on local or regional stations. They have much bigger audiences (or at least they should have). Today FM and Newstalk are national stations, but their salaries are nowhere near those paid by RTE, with the exception of Kenny, and we will see (well we probably won't - commercially sensitive and all that guff) when his contract comes up for renewal, that he is going to have to take a massive pay cut, unless he can worm his way back to the Mother Ship, before that happens.

I do object to is 2FM being kept alive on a subsidy from the taxpayer - ME. I resent being forced to pay for it and not getting anything out of it. It's a flop. It is a commercial station that is being heavily subsidised and it's still losing money.

If people stop listening to the other commercial radio stations, they lose money and close down, which is as it should be.

I can honestly say that I don't know anyone in the 15-30 age group who listens to 2FM. These are tech savvy people and are all now listening to music that they have downloaded themselves.

They are not interested in what some boring old fart from 2FM has to say and they would prefer to listen to songs that they choose, rather than listening to what the DJ thinks they should be listening to.

The world has moved on. Get over it yourself.

I have no problem with national broadcasters getting higher salaries than those presenting on local or regional stations. They have much bigger audiences (or at least they should have). Today FM and Newstalk are national stations, but their salaries are nowhere near those paid by RTE, with the exception of Kenny, and we will see (well we probably won't - commercially sensitive and all that guff) when his contract comes up for renewal, that he is going to have to take a massive pay cut, unless he can worm his way back to the Mother Ship, before that happens.

I do object to is 2FM being kept alive on a subsidy from the taxpayer - ME. I resent being forced to pay for it and not getting anything out of it. It's a flop. It is a commercial station that is being heavily subsidised and it's still losing money.

If people stop listening to the other commercial radio stations, they lose money and close down, which is as it should be.

I can honestly say that I don't know anyone in the 15-30 age group who listens to 2FM. These are tech savvy people and are all now listening to music that they have downloaded themselves.

They are not interested in what some boring old fart from 2FM has to say and they would prefer to listen to songs that they choose, rather than listening to what the DJ thinks they should be listening to.

The world has moved on. Get over it yourself.
    i have nothing to get over.

for a national station, yes they are

Sorry, they most definitely are not worth this. This is Ireland, not the US. What is their listenership exactly?

4 hours a week and on 55k. Total madness. They aren't brain surgeons, not even remotely close. This puts them on 264e an hour.

You seem very defensive about this. Are you in the industry or know them? Just curious.

Sorry, they most definitely are not worth this. This is Ireland, not the US. What is their listenership exactly?

4 hours a week and on 55k. Total madness. They aren't brain surgeons, not even remotely close. This puts them on 264e an hour.

You seem very defensive about this. Are you in the industry or know them? Just curious.
    55k and up is a reasonable rate for a national broadcaster. i have nothing to do with the industry, something that one doesn't need to have to realize why one gets the wage they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Can we stop with the "€X for 4 hours!?!" nonsense?

Hours On Air Per Week =/= Hours of Work Per Week

No doubt they are overpaid, but equating the two makes people seem very silly indeed.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Can we stop with the "€X for 4 hours!?!" nonsense?

Hours On Air Per Week =/= Hours of Work Per Week

No doubt they are overpaid, but equating the two makes people seem very silly indeed.

It isn't silly at all. You think they do all their research themselves?

55k and up is a reasonable rate for a national broadcaster. i have nothing to do with the industry, something that one doesn't need to have to realize why one gets the wage they do.

One does not. I agree. Still ludicrous.

no, its the going rate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

no, its the going rate

Its the going rate based on what?
    Not by what other nationals are paying here.

It isn't silly at all. You think they do all their research themselves?

With the possible exception of Marion Finucane, I believe a lot do a fair chunk themselves, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

With the possible exception of Marion Finucane, I believe a lot do a fair chunk themselves, yes.

She has a minimum of two research staff who are mentioned at the tail end of each show.
    Wanna know the kicker.............. they are paid by RTE via the licence fee....... seperate from Marian's wage.
    The researchers work for RTE, not Marian Finucane.
    Wages on top of mega bucks wages.

Can I ask how you know this?

Are you suggesting that they go into the radio station during the week and put in hours outside of the weekend air time that they are paid to be there?

Can I ask how you know this?

Are you suggesting that they go into the radio station during the week and put in hours outside of the weekend air time that they are paid to be there?

I don't know it, but I feel it's pretty reasonable to assume they do other work for the station, such as VO work and production. Not to mention shows like Dave Fannings would require a fair bit of prep work in terms of setting up and preparing for interviews, prerecording stuff if necessary, editing packages to go out on air, etc, etc. There would also be production meetings to attend and the like.

It's wholly possible they do none of this, but I'm choosing to believe people like Dave Fanning do this stuff because they come across as having a genuine love for radio.

And I think people by and large compare air time to hours worked too often. They're not the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Enjoy Heroin Responsibly

They were slow coming to the market, the pirate stations beat them to it.

To be fair to RTE (and normally Id be the last to defend them) RTE were forced to wait for over two years to get ministerial approval to set up Radio 2/2FM and had to wait several more years for ministerial approval to broadcast for 24 hours.

Patently ludicrous but that's the way things worked (or didn't) back then

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 The Big Kahuna4

Id still like to know where the OP got these figures from. The whole thread is based on them and it should be closed if he/she cant answer that question.