Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do You Draw Your Blinds?

• 19-06-2015 12:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

I normally do, but now for this few weeks in the summer I leave them open, nothing better than looking out the window and seeing the faraway glow of the setting or rising sun. And in an hour and a half or so, the dawn chorus will start, love this time of year. So AH, are your curtains open or closed?

*obligatory Backwards Man thread reference song*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

More importantly, does the carpet match them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭LadyFenghuang

My bedroom blinds are closed.

Mint Sauce wrote: »

No I am a bleach me up scotty up kind of girl!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    I'm all laminate or tiles, apart from the odd rug or mat. The good room is maple though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's a hard world to get a break in, all the good things have been taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

I do indeed, I don't want the neighbours gawking at my nudey activity

Like the neighbours would even look at ya!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I only have curtains in the sitting room. I close them at 10pm cos that's when the cat goes to bed :D (seriously)
    I generally live in the kitchen. No blinds. It does get a bit creepy in the winter but in summer, it's lovely. I keep promising myself that I'll go to bed before the dawn chorus...maybe next year :)

It's a hard world to get a break in, all the good things have been taken.

Yeah but think of all the good things not yet made!

Chucken wrote: »
    I only have curtains in the sitting room. I close them at 10pm cos that's when the cat goes to bed :D (seriously)
    I generally live in the kitchen. No blinds. It does get a bit creepy in the winter but in summer, it's lovely. I keep promising myself that I'll go to bed before the dawn chorus...maybe next year :)
    You're a bit like meself, the thought of anybody looking in at our lumpy wrinkly bits is nothing more than wishful thinking!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I'm not allowed sharp implements so I use crayons.

Like the neighbours would even look at ya!:rolleyes:

They'd have the binoculars out :pac:

The view from windows at sunset at this time of year can be spectacular though. Peach Pinks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

The view from windows at sunset at this time of year can be spectacular though. Peach Pinks!

Amazing aren't they?

You can see through them and everything!

I bought 2 blinds for the kitchen once....this just reminded me to see if I still had them. Yep, there they are, under the stairs in the boxes they came in :D

catallus wrote: »
    Amazing aren't they?

You can see through them and everything!

It's really moving to see. Like an amazing piece of art. Pink Peach beautiful skies. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

Not until we're going to the leaba.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I've always loved looking out my window at the moon. It always makes me feel all wild and happy inside:)

Especially on a full moon! :-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I prefer to paint them actually.

Hehehe.

Oh no, my joke was taken :(

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I leave the windows, blinds and curtains open pretty much all day when I'm home but I close them all at sunset.

Not too worried about privacy, the blinds are those venetian yokes so you can leave them open to let the light in and still not have people looking in.

Nim wrote: »
    I leave the windows, blinds and curtains open pretty much all day when I'm home but I close them all at sunset.

Not too worried about privacy, the blinds are those venetian yokes so you can leave them open to let the light in and still not have people looking in.

Venetian blinds are a curse. You ever watch old black and white films? The baddies are always filmed in the shade of venetian blinds to show they are ambiguous, conflicted, and . . er. . baddies. The goodies are always in full view of the sun, to show they are . . goodies.

If I were you I'd dump them blinds right now this minute, you're no Robert Mitchum my boy, no siree Bob!

I leave the blinds in the kitchen down but keep the window open if it's warm. My neighbour can see right in on me and I don't fancy parading around while I prepare my outstanding cuisine and crack open cans of cheap cider.

eternal wrote: »
    I leave the blinds in the kitchen down but keep the window open if it's warm. My neighbour can see right in on me and I don't fancy parading around while I prepare my outstanding cuisine and crack open cans of cheap cider.

You little tease

These cupless bras ain't gonna see themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

Leave them open. Hope the kids next door aren't out playing and look up to my upstairs bedroom. Not that I'm always naked. But the other day I was coming out of the shower and I couldn't care less about the curtains. I couldn't see the kids out the window so I think it works the same. They can't see me.

That won't be tolerated in AM-ER-ICA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Sitting in bed now...windows and curtains open. Will be the same in December, I love me air.

Venetian blinds are a curse. You ever watch old black and white films? The baddies are always filmed in the shade of venetian blinds to show they are ambiguous, conflicted, and . . er. . baddies. The goodies are always in full view of the sun, to show they are . . goodies.

If I were you I'd dump them blinds right now this minute, you're no Robert Mitchum my boy, no siree Bob!

Cleaning venetian blinds? Holymotheragodno!! :eek:

Oh I leave the door open all day when I'm cooking. Might help the neighbour that's very proud that she doesn't cook. She also doesn't own a cat :mad:

Cheap cans of cider? *Cheers* :D

These cupless bras ain't gonna see themselves.

need pics :pac:

The silhouette of my boobage entices no man.

That won't be tolerated in AM-ER-ICA.

I wasn't flashing them. I was changing clothes. Just with curtains open.

Sitting in bed now...windows and curtains open. Will be the same in December, I love me air.
    Your back man, your back!

Lie down for Christ's sake!:)

The silhouette of my boobage entices no man.

Im sure it would entice the randy men of AH's :pac:

Well no. I have tried and there were no willing participants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Always closed, until before sunset. I like the dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Your back man, your back!

Lie down for Christ's sake!:)

I meant lyng really, if I was sitting up people could see me through the window!

Where did you get cleaning blinds from my critique of 40s and 50s film noir?:pac:

I wash my (vertical) blinds every few months though!

Well no. I have tried and there were no willing participants.

But they haven't seen your boobs yet so you can't blame them

I'm the same. Window wide open. And in the nip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

My ex's mam used to open all the blinds/curtains before she went to bed. Even tho she was always up around 9am, she had it in her head that the whole parish would be talking about her laying in bed if the blinds were still down after 8am. She doesn't do it anymore tho.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Easy :)

But they haven't seen your boobs yet so you can't blame them

How do you know ;)

Where did you get cleaning blinds from my critique of 40s and 50s film noir?:pac:

I wash my (vertical) blinds every few months though!
    Nim wrote: »

There's a pair of ye in it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Always leave them open,unless I want to try and sleep a little later then I close up the lot.

Never open the curtains in the living room day or night due to lack of a tv licence. Have a blind and curtains in the bedroom which I generally close when I'm in the room but leave open when I'm not, couldn't imagine going to sleep at night with them open, the light in the morning would wake me up far too early, I don't like a bright bedroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

They're open during the summer/bright nights.

I actually prefer having the curtains open. I always imagine someone is hiding behind them if they're closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Noxin

Yes, unless it's raining out. Then I leave them open so I can see all the suckers getting soaked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I much prefer the curtains and blinds closed. Have both in the bedroom for extra snugness and darkness.
    Horses for courses I suppose!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭TomBtheGoat

The blinds come then in my house when it's dark. Or depending on the room, if the sun is glaring up the TV/PC screen.