Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the largest animal you can moraly kill without retribution

• 03-06-2015 10:06am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 68 ✭✭Brancott

Following on from the meat eating thread the question above popped into my mind.

We all kill insects daily & nobody bats an eyelid.
    Neither does anyone object to the killing of rats & mice, they're accepted as vermin & we make traps to facilitate their death.
    If I however attempted to kill a hamster or gerbil most people would be repulsed, cuddly pets it seems are not execution fodder.
    I can however catch a 20lb salmon & knock it over the head or were I a farmer then a badger would be acceptable prey.
    I realise that if I worked in an abattoir I could kill numerous half ton cows on a daily basis but that's too specialised for this discussion, I couldn't just walk into a field & shot one in the head with a crossbow & think nobody would raise an objection.

So, I can act out my bloodlust on a big fish & expect no comeback from most reasonable members of society.

Now I fully expect the "All god's creatures are sacred" wagon to come rolling in but I invite you to peddle that bullsh*t somewhere else.

If I pay to go shoot a giraffe in Africa should it be anyone's business ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

What an arbitrary question.

I don't think it's size that's a factor for a lot of people, rather sentience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Crossbow is illegal in ireland.

I shoot, i fish and i hunt on horseback. I find nothing wrong with hunting once it is in a pest control basis or once you are going to eat it. I think endangered animals should definitely be protected. Wild boar or deer would be the biggest id go for if given the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It's the pretty ones.
    Kill all the Warthogs you like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

This like the South Park

"It's coming right at us approach"

Or like killing a cow for food is fine but killing an endangered Rhino for its horn to give you a super penis is wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭William F

You have to kill it for a reason. The moral objection arises when you do it for the sake of killing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Gumbi wrote: »

Saipanne wrote: »

Why are you copying Gumbis sentiences?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

I really want a certain poster from the other thread to post here!

mathie wrote: »

Bizzare approach indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

• Crossbow is illegal in ireland.

I shoot, i fish and i hunt on horseback. I find nothing wrong with hunting once it is in a pest control basis or once you are going to eat it. I think endangered animals should definitely be protected. Wild boar or deer would be the biggest id go for if given the chance.

Well put especially this.
    I too hunt however I can't stand lads who just shoot during the hunting season for no good reason...as in the "shoot everything that moves".

Then you ask the question "Well what are you going to do with that duck?"...
    Answer = "Ah sure I will just chuck it in the bin".

If you're going to shoot the duck then gut it, pluck it and put it in the oven.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 369 ✭✭walkingshadow

Human.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I don't think it's size that's a factor for a lot of people, rather sentience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Saipanne wrote: »

I don't think it's size that's a factor for a lot of people, rather sentience

Keep your head down so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

Maybe they're talking to themselves...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

William F wrote: »
    You have to kill it for a reason. The moral objection arises when you do it for the sake of killing.

Its always wrong to gratuitously kill for no reason

I would object to someone just squishing ants for fun

I don't think it's morally right to take pleasure in the killing of any animal.

There is a massive massive gray area when it comes to what are justifiable reasons to kill an animal. We have all kinds of 'pest' animals that are harmless to us, but we kill because we don't like to have them around us. These are debatable on a case by case basis whether we should be expected to tolerate wildlife around us (eg, should you be able to disturb nesting birds because they are sh1tting on your car, probably not, should we kill sea eagles because they might hypothetically kill lifestock? definitely not)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Depends on the situation. If its an old school matter or survival or safety you gotta do what you gotta do. If its just for the craic then there really isn't any animal you should be doing that to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I don't think it's a sizeable arbitrary question

• Akrasia wrote: »

Its always wrong to gratuitously kill for no reason

I would object to someone just squishing ants for fun

I don't think it's morally right to take pleasure in the killing of any animal.

There is a massive massive gray area when it comes to what are justifiable reasons to kill an animal. We have all kinds of 'pest' animals that are harmless to us, but we kill because we don't like to have them around us. These are debatable on a case by case basis whether we should be expected to tolerate wildlife around us (eg, should you be able to disturb nesting birds because they are sh1tting on your car, probably not, should we kill sea eagles because they might hypothetically kill lifestock? definitely not)

Pest control is somebody's job and it needs to be done.
    As does Vermin control on farms and working in an abattoir.

All legitimate reasons and part of life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Size has fcuk all to do with it. If I had a choice between killing an elephant sized rat or a rat sized elephant I'd lay off the cheese before bedtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

A bank director?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

You can kill them and eat them but you can't ride them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

an sentience. Think question. a lot that's

I it's sizeWhat a factor for don't of people, arbitrary rather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

PARlance wrote: »
    I don't think it's a sizeable arbitrary question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I only kill the ones that annoy me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

What an arbitrary arbitrary.

arbitrary.

arbitrary.

arbitrary.arbitrary.arbitrary.arb....i...trar..y..

what was the question?

Hold yer whisht lads, yous wouldn't know what arbitrary was if it bit yous on the ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

I'll arbitrary you in the face in a minute...

Good job this was a crap enough thread to start with, because its fcuking destroyed now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

What if an animal was disrespecting you? Could you kill it then?

My cat is on thin ice...

To answer the OP's question, I'm gonna go with blue whale. Hard to kill, but you won't get bigger than that! And no retribution because they're hard to find, so no one will see you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

This like the South Park

"It's coming right at us approach"

Or like killing a cow for food is fine but killing an endangered Rhino for its horn to give you a super penis is wrong?

I think the important question is what type of super powers would my penis have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I guess one of the largest beasts that humans killed back before the Pyramids were built would have been the Woolly Mammoth which was half Elephant and half dinosaur.

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    I'll arbitrary you in the face in a minute...

Tis far from arbitrary you were raised Tea 1000

Arbitrarily speaking, it's not the mass of the animal it's the sentience.

I guess one of the largest beasts that humans killed back before the Pyramids were built would have been the Woolly Mammoth which was half Elephant and half dinosaur.

I take it you're taking the proverbial.:p Wooly mammoths were the same size as an elephant, still existed when the pyramids were being built and had no dinosaur in them at all at all. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

Abattoirily speaking, all animals die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Well put especially this.
    I too hunt however I can't stand lads who just shoot during the hunting season for no good reason...as in the "shoot everything that moves".

Then you ask the question "Well what are you going to do with that duck?"...
    Answer = "Ah sure I will just chuck it in the bin".

If you're going to shoot the duck then gut it, pluck it and put it in the oven.

I like to think im a hunter gatherer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Brancott wrote: »
    We all kill insects daily

No we don't :confused:

I thinks it's nasty and pathetic when I see someone crush a spider. Why on Earth would you do that?

I've spent ten minutes before trying to shoo a fly out the window.

Tis far from arbitrary you were raised Tea 1000
    This arbitrary contest is over, give this man the trophy!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 68 ✭✭Brancott

This raises are pertinent question, would it be OK to kill a T-Rex, they can't be sentient, not with those ****ty little arms & all.

Zillah wrote: »

I thinks it's nasty and pathetic when I see someone crush a spider. Why on Earth would you do that?

My front number plate looks like really effective fly paper in the summer time!

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    This arbitrary contest is over, give this man the trophy!

Oh trophies is it? There's no arbitrary recession on your podium

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Kangaroo clubbing is quite popular in Australia, bad way to go....off your tits on mmda

Grayson wrote: »
    I think the important question is what type of super powers would my penis have?

Either super stamina, multiple orgasms or extreme jizz. Like a lottery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Zillah wrote: »

Only for it to fly into a spiders web moments later. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

Brancott wrote: »
    This raises are pertinent question, would it be OK to kill a T-Rex, they can't be sentient, not with those ****ty little arms & all.

Definitely not. just get a dog collar and take him for a run in the park.