Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Benfica fan battered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

That one cop went rogue and should be severly disciplined. Its on camera now so f**k him. Animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

not exactly Rodney King in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

Way way over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

FalconGirl wrote: »
    That one cop went rogue and should be severly disciplined. Its on camera now so f**k him. Animal.

Disciplined. As in, thrown out on his arse and charged with assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I didn't see any battering in that clip... Maybe my definition of battering differs from the OP though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Is there a version with the benny hill music ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Probably met the police on Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Uriel. wrote: »
    I didn't see any battering in that clip... Maybe my definition of battering differs from the OP though...

Punching an elderly man twice in the face and hitting a man on the ground whose already being restrained not enough for you.
    Or would you like them to get tazered. Or perhaps shot.
    Would that do it for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭mg1982

Morale of the story. Don't mess with the Portuguese police.

Punching an elderly man twice in the face and hitting a man on the ground whose already being restrained not enough for you.

Shoved....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Am I missing something here, because all I see is cops restraining people?

Maybe a bit heavy handed in doing so but nobody looked to be getting 'battered'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Football fans treated like animals by the police i am truly shocked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I don't believe he was punched twice. And hitting a man once.... Neither, to me would constitute a battering to be honest... Assault... Sure but not a battering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Some of the responses here are just porto the problem, to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭mg1982

anncoates wrote: »
    Some of the responses here are just porto the problem, you be honest.

I'm more of a sporting fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

This is how many f*cks I give....3. 3 f*cks. Which on the Minty F*ck scale is quite a lot. I'm deeply concerned about this. Genuinely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Hagar7

FalconGirl wrote: »
    Hopefully sacked and fined too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭shroom007

Mint Aero wrote: »
    This is how many f*cks I give....3. 3 f*cks. Which on the Minty F*ck scale is quite a lot. I'm deeply concerned about this. Genuinely.

Ars*hole

Jeez,ye canny be serious.
    :(

That context makes it even more shocking.
    It's crazy over there,Benfica have great fans and fans of my own club Celtic have told me there's never been any problems when they've been there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,696 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Reports of him spitting at a policeman.

If that's true, no sympathy for him. Feel sorry for his child though, that image will stick with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Paul.k.b.90

Shoved....

Actually the cop that hits the man on the ground with his baton clearly punches the elderly man (twice) while the other cop next to him ushers him away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

NIMAN wrote: »

If that's true, no sympathy for him. Feel sorry for his child though, that image will stick with him.

I read somewhere else that another witness said he never spat at police.Either way they also assaulted his father(a pensioner) and restrained his kids while they battered him.Disgusting carry on.

The best they can do is hold their hands up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Reminds me of the many garda brutality iw protesters videos much ado about nothing

NIMAN wrote: »

If he spat, he deserved to be clobbered.

But that's a big if. Not sure there is any suggestion of it from the video, and if a witness is saying he didn't, the policeman needs to do a lot of explaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

The police were greasing up their batons.

If he spat, he deserved to be clobbered.

But that's a big if. Not sure there is any suggestion of it from the video, and if a witness is saying he didn't, the policeman needs to do a lot of explaining.
    I think it's hard to really weigh up from a video. If the father provoked it he really was plain crazy to do so while in charge of a child and in full view of that child. I can't understand that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

I was at a Rover v Shels game years ago at Tolka Pk. Walking up Drumcondra to get 11 bus and a couple of young teenage fans were walking on the road choc a bloc with traffic. Admittedly they were being a little bit too boisterous but out of nowhere a Garda basically attacked them with his baton. No warning just battering them with a manic look on his face. It was crazy. He ended up having to be restrained by a group of elderly Rovers and Shels fans and eventually relented.

Cops behave very strangely around football fans all over the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

I've seen a breast of chicken more "battered" than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Policeman caught on video now claims man spat at him, very dubious story from the cop. Even if the cop story is true, it does not justify wading in to attack a family

I think if someone spits at a cop, he should expect a few cracked ribs and anyone who steps in can expect a thump too.

But again that is to suggest there is some truth to the spitting allegation, which is not apparent from the video.

I think if someone spits at a cop, he should expect a few cracked ribs and anyone who steps in can expect a thump too.

Why?

Why?

Because they are cops! They should be treated with a certain deference, their job is to preserve law and order and they will get extra protection from the State in doing so. It's the way things work, it applies here so for example killing a Garda remained a capital offence long after it ceased to apply to other murders, attacks on the police force in any country are usually treated much more seriously than other assaults.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

I don't believe he was punched twice. And hitting a man once.... Neither, to me would constitute a battering to be honest... Assault... Sure but not a battering

Eh, watch again. The old chap bent in to help and was clattered twice. That is patently true from the footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭kavanada

There was a bit of argy-bargy by the opposing fans in the grounds earlier.

The cop said to the dad why would you bring your young kids to a game like this and the dad responded with, 'well if the police did their job it would be safe'.

That kicked it off. Everything about that arrest was wrong. Even the knee to the back when the cop came around the back of him to handcuff him.

Because they are cops! They should be treated with a certain deference, their job is to preserve law and order and they will get extra protection from the State in doing so. It's the way things work, it applies here so for example killing a Garda remained a capital offence long after it ceased to apply to other murders, attacks on the police force in any country are usually treated much more seriously than other assaults.

So you advocate a few cracked ribs and a belting for anyone who intervenes when someone spits at a cop? Is this if the spit hits him? What is the punishment if the spit misses? What do you advocate for giving back cheek to a cop, hand gestures or pushing? Do you have a list of punishment that you advocate? Is this called punishment beatings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

kavanada wrote: »
    There was a bit of argy-bargy by the opposing fans in the grounds earlier.

The cop said to the dad why would you bring your young kids to a game like this and the dad responded with, 'well if the police did their job it would be safe'.

That kicked it off. Everything about that arrest was wrong. Even the knee to the back when the cop came around the back of him to handcuff him.

Yeah, true, atmosphere can incite irrational adrenalin rushed behavior even from those you think are well equipped to deal with this sort of thing. They appear either acting on fear from the nature of the environment in general and took it out on these vulnerable or just had a hankering to release it on same. Or else the spitting allegation is true and they reacted, albeit over reacted.

So you advocate a few cracked ribs and a belting for anyone who intervenes when someone spits at a cop? Is this if the spit hits him? What is the punishment if the spit misses? What do you advocate for giving back cheek to a cop, hand gestures or pushing? Do you have a list of punishment that you advocate?

No. No list. I don't even advocate cracked ribs, nor do I demand a certain number of cracked ribs depending on hits and misses and gestures. I wish everyone would live in peace and love and hold hands. But in the real world, anyone spitting at a cop can expect a fairly swift retribution and shouldn't be in the least bit surprised to get it. Have you tried it?

What cracking someones ribs for spitting at me? No, I would be arrested and charged with assault

No, spat at a Garda. Or say if there is a melee and everyone is getting stuck in, turn around and wade into the Garda on the basis that it's all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Portuguese police are not exactly known for keeping their calm. no surprise here.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

mg1982 wrote: »
    Morale of the story. Don't mess with the Portuguese police.

Moral of the story:

If you're a cop, don't mess with the public you are sworn to protect. Sure, act the cnut if it gets you off. Sooner or later you'll get your comeuppance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I don't see a 42 year old man spitting at an armed riot cop while surrounded by police and in the company of his two young children and elderly father...

Egginacup wrote: »
    Moral of the story:

If you're a cop, don't mess with the public you are sworn to protect. Sure, act the cnut if it gets you off. Sooner or later you'll get your comeuppance.

The Berkut pro Russian police unit in Ukraine comes to mind .
    The ones who shot and killed 130+ protesters

I don't see a 42 year old man spitting at an armed riot cop while surrounded by police and in the company of his two young children and elderly father...

Must have pretty good eyesight

That is because the cop is talking shite, but if he was telling the truth, you have some on here saying the dad deserved his cracked ribs and the 9 year old getting jumped on with the 66 year deserving a couple of thumps

People do love the hyperbole. American style legal terms used to say people were punched, 65 being elderly, Child being jumped on. Man brutally battened when barely even glanced. But I guess people believed missiles thrown at the water protests and a pensioner imprisoned so meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Absolutely nothing to see here.