Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many teeth do you have?

• 17-05-2015 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭

I had all mine up to 3 years ago. After a bad fall I lost 3 front teeth. After a lot of time, pain and money, I got implants, and I now have all my teeth again.

29 real, and 3 false.

How many teeth do you have? 126 votes

0% 0 votes
    23% 30 votes
    8% 11 votes
    11% 14 votes
    6% 8 votes
    19% 24 votes
    7% 9 votes
    7% 10 votes
    20 - 25
    3% 4 votes
    15 - 20
    10% 13 votes
    10 - 15
    1% 2 votes
    9 or less
    0% 1 vote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

I have all my own teeth ...spent a lot on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Have them all, never even had so much as a toothache in my life!

However I did have a dream last week that 2 just fell out of my mouth, weird!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Fell in a shower and hit my head off a toilet bowl a few years ago, four front teeth broke in pieces, one of the back ones cracked beyond repair. Implants in now and I'm smiling like Julia Roberts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Dave0301

kfallon wrote: »
    Have them all, never even had so much as a toothache in my life!

However I did have a dream last week that 2 just fell out of my mouth, weird!

Apparently that dreaming about teeth falling out is an anxiety thing.

Or probably just a dream!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I have all my normal teeth, 1 wisdom tooth on top and 2 bottom wisdom teeth that I have to have removed as there's no room for them to come up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Dave0301 wrote: »
    Apparently that dreaming about teeth falling out is an anxiety thing.

Or probably just a dream!

Really? Oh dear, I'm now anxious about my anxiety!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

I just checked...I've loads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭jeepers101

32, although they probably consist more of fillings than teeth at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I had 4 teeth removed for braces when I was a teenager and my wisdom teeth are impacted and unerupted so I only have 24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    I had all mine up to 3 years ago. After a bad fall I lost 3 front teeth. After a lot of time, pain and money, I got implants, and I now have all my teeth again.

29 real, and 3 false.

:/ couldn't they not be put back in? Pretty sure if you had of went to A&E they could've saved them.

http://www.aae.org/patients/symptoms/knocked-out-teeth.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

I have all my normal teeth, 1 wisdom tooth on top and 2 bottom wisdom teeth that I have to have removed as there's no room for them to come up
    I had to have all of my wisdom teeth removed. No room.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Eh...28 and a half. I have half a wisdom tooth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

All there, 2 wisdom teeth on the bottom as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

I had to have all of my wisdom teeth removed. No room.

I read somewhere that in a couple of hundred years us humans will have evolved further and will not develop wisdom teeth as teenager.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I just counted mine seems I've 36

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Fell in a shower and hit my head off a toilet bowl a few years ago, four front teeth broke in pieces, one of the back ones cracked beyond repair. Implants in now and I'm smiling like Julia Roberts.

Were they separate incidents or do you have a toilet bowl in the shower? :eek:

I have roughly 28. I just counted them with my tongue. I've had 2 taken out near the back over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Stheno wrote: »

I'd say you could count again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Just the one. God knows what I'll do if I lose ol' Chopper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Have pretty bad teeth(24 left), just got 3 wisdom teeth removed a few weeks ago. Have 'eye' teeth that stick out so a bit like Dracula. Those need straightened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

28 and one partially erupted lower wisdom tooth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I lost a tooth following a very bad-tempered minor hurling game between our club and the ill-bred thugs who lined out for Athenry back in 1998. Our manager was a doctor, and the tooth was placed back in its socket on the sideline. I kept the tooth and we won the game.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    I'd say you could count again.

25 no idea how I miscounted so badly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I've 27. I'd my 4 wisdom teeth removed about 11 years ago. It didn't hurt too much but I still hate my dentist check ups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

I got 8 teeth removed before I got my braces as a teenager so now I have 24. Just didn't have room for them all.

I counted them 3 times and got 3 different numbers so I'll go with 26. One of them is fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Mad_Dave

28 - I had all 4 wisdom teeth removed a few years back.
    Just a single filling as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Missing one. Dentist thought it was a baby tooth that was stuck so he removed it to leave space for the grown up tooth to come down.

The grown up tooth never arrived :( so I'm missing a tooth.

Rest are all my own work. No wisdomous teeth yet I don't think, and at 29 I doubt they'll come. If I'm not wise now it ain't gonna happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

28 - I had 4 teeth removed before I had my braces fitted.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

25 no idea how I miscounted so badly

It's easy to mistake a molar for two different teeth if you're counting without looking at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

30. One of them is a (i think) partially erupted wisdom tooth. 2 of them at the back slightly chipped, and 3 or 4 filled.

Had 2 or 3 removed as a teen due to over crowding, and could currently do with having 2 or 3 filled. But hate the dentist, and only been about 2 or 3 times in about 16 years. Both times to get the 2 chipped ones filed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

dmc17 wrote: »
    Were they separate incidents or do you have a toilet bowl in the shower? :eek:
    It was one of them European style open plan yokes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

ARRRRRGHHHH!! I have recurring nightmares about this.

I've 27 and one implant. Had two pulled out for braces years ago as there was overcrowding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

All my fronts so the smile is grand.

Backs are full of fillings. One needs root canal, feck that.

Have a crown that is wobbly, yikes. Money money money....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

All of them.

Had 4 wisdom teeth out a couple of years ago.

Mostly in decent condition, but I apparently grind them at night, so one on the top right side is damaged at the base/gum.

Still have all 28 normal teeth. Haven't got "wisdom" or freakteeth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

sullivlo wrote: »
    No wisdomous teeth yet I don't think, and at 29 I doubt they'll come. If I'm not wise now it ain't gonna happen.
    You might not have any. A friend of mine had dental X-rays done a few years ago and apparently her wisdom teeth just aren't there. Seemingly not that uncommon.

I have 26 teeth. I had four removed before I got braces due to overcrowding, and then I had both wisdom teeth on the left hand side removed as they were impacted and really sore. It feels a bit gross to say I only have 26 teeth, though. Don't know why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Just the one. God knows what I'll do if I lose ol' Chopper.
    what part of Tipperary are you from? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,055 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

You must be the only person alive with 3 rows of teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

25. I had 4 out for braces and 3 wisdom teeth pulled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭wattlebird

24. Had to get 4 healthy premolars out due to ridiculous overcrowding before getting braces, and then had all 4 wisdom teeth out the other year. None of them had even erupted properly but were starting to cause problems.

My teeth and smile look fine, but I still feel traumatised and have regular nightmares about teeth falling out/being loose :eek: :'(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I had two top teeth taken out when I was teenager to make space for my other teeth to straighten out with braces. I have two wisdom teeth on the bottom but none on the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I don't need no teef!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

29...two out when I was younger to make room for my wisdom teeth. Dunno where the other missng one went to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭lickme

Nothing better than getting a gummy job of an ould one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭scrimshanker

31. Had 32 until a couple of weeks ago but had to have one wisdom tooth out because it was cutting through the gum below it (ouch!!!!). No fillings,just generally happy teeth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Nim wrote: »
    Eh...28 and a half. I have half a wisdom tooth.

You're not half wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Thanks, Sellafield :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

24 Just last week a piece broke off one of my front teeth. Dont think it can be saved.

Putting off going to dentist, not my favourite person

Maybe next week