Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

A frozen mink was once found in ours'...........
    Not a "ready to wear" one either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

An dtiocfaidh sibh isteach an teach tábhairne anocht? :D

TrtPbCol.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mayota

Kovu wrote: »

TrtPbCol.jpg

No, going to have some at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

TrtPbCol.jpg

N`il tada nios measa na bud ina sheasamh !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭White Clover

TrtPbCol.jpg

Shortly now!
    I haven't sampled that one before. Had a few bottles of Crean's lager with a bit of grub last weekend. Comes from dingle area too. It was very nice I have to say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

The kinsale ones are nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,432 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

oh reckons the weather forecaster is wearing silage wrap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    oh reckons the weather forecaster is wearing silage wrap

Be careful if he brings a roll of it into the bedroom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Reggie. wrote: »
    Be careful if he brings a roll of it into the bedroom

Wha....like this? :D:D

BondageTapepb_zpsd21f16da.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

The safe word is "silage" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Wouldn't like to see your search history!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,831 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Update from eldest in Aus.
    He is now working in the construction industry and got his "Safe Pass" earlier this month. I'm in fits laughing at the idea of him doing a bit of proper hard graft but proud of him for stepping outside his comfort zone.
    As a concerned Mother, I've advised him how to treat those teeny tiny little blisters that a novice gets from handling a shovel, grape, pick etc :rolleyes:
    In fairness he is still working on Fri and Sat nights in the pub/nightclub job that he got when he first arrived in Aus as he needs the money.
    Of the four friends that travelled only two are working :(

Base price wrote: »
    He is now working in the construction industry and got his "Safe Pass" earlier this month. I'm in fits laughing at the idea of him doing a bit of proper hard graft but proud of him for stepping outside his comfort zone.
    As a concerned Mother, I've advised him how to treat those teeny tiny little blisters that a novice gets from handling a shovel, grape, pick etc :rolleyes:
    In fairness he is still working on Fri and Sat nights in the pub/nightclub job that he got when he first arrived in Aus as he needs the money.
    Fair play to him for knuckling down , are the other two not working by choice or is it hard getting work out there now ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

The ultimate gate/cattle grid combination:)

http://i.imgur.com/s8ZSxRk.gifv

I was on a trawler there that the inlaws bought in October and they still aren't allowed use it to go fill there quotas because of a size difference and few other silly details .
    The fishermen are more tied up with red tape than the farmers it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Bullocks wrote: »
    I was on a trawler there that the inlaws bought in October and they still aren't allowed use it to go fill there quotas because of a size difference and few other silly details .
    The fishermen are more tied up with red tape than the farmers it seems

Ireland sacrificed the fishing industry to get more for agriculture. There's a heap of spanish trawlers fishing in irish waters. Father does a lot of continental driving. He hauled a lot of fishing towns such a dingle, killybeggs, castletownbear. He couldn't believe how many irish trawlers disappeared out of these ports and were replacedd by spanish and Portuguese trawlers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,831 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Bullocks wrote: »
    Fair play to him for knuckling down , are the other two not working by choice or is it hard getting work out there now ?
    Lazy feckers :mad:

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Ireland sacrificed the fishing industry to get more for agriculture. There's a heap of spanish trawlers fishing in irish waters. Father does a lot of continental driving. He hauled a lot of fishing towns such a dingle, killybeggs, castletownbear. He couldn't believe how many irish trawlers disappeared out of these ports and were replacedd by spanish and Portuguese trawlers

I think the Dutch got huge quota aswell

Great that they can afford to do it that way ! I know a lad that had sent 7k to his daughter a couple of years ago on her j1er! ! He was a hard worker himself and never got anything easy but he was petrified that the daughter would be staying in a rough place , or working for the wrong crowd , she even had a rent a car most of the time out there . She had him wrapped around his finger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Fair play to him. Its not the cheapest place to get urself set up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

knew a few lads like that in my time over there. there is work over there just some lads think there to good for it. anything that pays the rent is a bonus till you get your foot in the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

davidk1394 wrote: »
    With the way things are going in Agriculture, are we to be soon left with nothing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Was heading out this evening to drop in silage bales. Checked the tractor for diesel. Very low so I said I'd better fill it up when I was finished. Tractor cut out just as I was spiking the first bale. Took me a good 30 mins to get it going again. You'd want the patience of Joab sometimes.
    Of course I went bleeding it the quick way instead of the right way. Should have worked my way out along tru the filters and then the pump instead of going straight for the pump. Starter was hot and battery nearly down before she went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,432 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

These are in aldi at the moment for 2.99. Very handy around the yard. I have them in the parlour for cutting tails

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Was heading out this evening to drop in silage bales. Checked the tractor for diesel. Very low so I said I'd better fill it up when I was finished. Tractor cut out just as I was spiking the first bale. Took me a good 30 mins to get it going again. You'd want the patience of Joab sometimes.
    Of course I went bleeding it the quick way instead of the right way. Should have worked my way out along tru the filters and then the pump instead of going straight for the pump. Starter was hot and battery nearly down before she went.

The auld man had one of those days today. Was bring bales down about a mile away when on the return trip he got a punture which put paid to that. Second one in two weeks. A ewe that was sick all day decided that the most inaccessible part of the field was an ideal location to lamb and couldn't lamb him, almost on my hands and knees to get at her to pull the lamb. Happy ending though live lamb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Have three bulls for sale and sold my first one today. :D:D

Everyone was happy including the wife as this lad was earmarked for a holiday. Roll on the summer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Iam sure ye all heard what Mr Kenny said about the people that help him get elected what a prick of a thing to say.yet some gob****ez out there will still vote for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

naughto wrote: »
    Iam sure ye all heard what Mr Kenny said about the people that help him get elected what a prick of a thing to say.yet some gob****ez out there will still vote for him

What did he say? I didn't hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

What did he say? I didn't hear.

That ppl are whingers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭White Clover

naughto wrote: »

Are you not whinging now?