Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random things you've witnessed

• 05-05-2015 7:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭

This morning I was looking through timehop on my facebook and was reminded of a completely bizzare incident on my way to work one morning.

This cat ran straight across the road in front of my car, and running after it was this big absolutely massive rat.

Got me wondering though. What's the oddest thing you've ever seen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

I've… seen things you people wouldn't believe… Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched c-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those… moments… will be lost in time, like [small cough] tears… in… rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Random sampling.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

I saw a dog with three eyes. Two in front and one in the back. At leadt I think it was an aye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

I see paper unicorns in my dreams and nothing else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I once seen a politician answer the very question they'd been asked, just out straight. Couldn't believe my eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Seen a horse sexually assault a Garda.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Seen a horse sexually assault a Garda.
    Its not assault if the other person consents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Saw a pretty big pigeon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Saw a man park a car up in a car park in omni, get out, walk away and 2 minutes later a different man walked up from the oposite direction and get in the car and drive off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I saw a magpie with a smaller bird held under it's claws and it was pecking it to death.

Mother nature is one twisted bitch sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I found half a rat in my garden once. The back half...

A rat's arse!!

Also saw a guy stopped on the motorway having a piss under an overpass without a care in the world this morning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Also saw a guy stopped on the motorway having a piss under an overpass without a care in the world this morning...

Operation Free Flow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

In Bangladesh I saw a youngfella of about 15 galloping down the side of a dual carriageway in Dhaka on the back of a massive elephant. He managed to stop it at one stage, took a few minutes to get off and then took a massive sh*te on the side of the road in front of thousands of passing cars.

I thought he was a bit of a legend myself.

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Operation Free Flow

Saw a young fellow throw himself into a river once. Pretty shocking. Near a psych hospital, jumped out of the back of a car stopped at a bridge and just hopped over the wall of a bridge, presume it was his parents collecting him. In fairness, the reaction was amazing, people diving in, Garda cars pulling up within minutes, net strung across a bridge lower down. Was back in the day so never knew if he made it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭ballinasloex

We live in easte and when I was younger 13 r 14, a car speeded into the neighbours garden,they ran up for the back wall into our back garden and over the wall in our garden into a field .. I always remember the passenger fella say to me "shh ya didn't see noting" the car was robbed... few weeks later the neighbours moved they wore terrified :L...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Walking to work one day last summer through a park. Two swans in a lake turned to face me, staring at me as if I was eavesdropping on their conversation. They then launched themselves across the lake heading in my direction.

When they got to about 10 feet, I bolted, leaving a comical dust outline behind me, I was moving so quick!

Once saw a man dressed as a clown directing traffic around a crash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I've seen a queer looking beast. it's as big as four cats, and it's got a retractable leg so as it can leap up at you better, it lights up at night, and it's got four ears. Two of them are for listening and the other two are kind of back-up ears, and it's claws are as big as cups and for some reason it's got a tremendous fear of stamps. it's got magnets on it's tail so's if you're made out of metal it can attach itself to you, and instead of a mouth it's got four arses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

a fella come down a foot path on a horse in knocknahenny. tearing across a zebra crossing where an on coming car could not stop.horse and man went flying.horse got up and continued to run. man was unable to get up!the car was in bits aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

hairyslug wrote: »
    Saw a man park a car up in a car park in omni, get out, walk away and 2 minutes later a different man walked up from the oposite direction and get in the car and drive off

Id hazard a guess and say the two gentlemen you observed were conducting a drugs transaction or somesuch,a fairly common occurrence in shopping centre car parks across the city,omni being no exception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

I saw a horse fly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

FTA69 wrote: »
    In Bangladesh I saw a youngfella of about 15 galloping down the side of a dual carriageway in Dhaka on the back of a massive elephant. He managed to stop it at one stage, took a few minutes to get off and then took a massive sh*te on the side of the road in front of thousands of passing cars.

I thought he was a bit of a legend myself.

The elephant or the young fella?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Saw a bloke doing a striptease for a hen party in the pub before. The stripper had his back turned towards another fella carrying an armload of pints. I heard the pint carrier say "excuse me... Here.... Lemme past before you start" but the stripper ignored him, winking at the hen party.

Next thing the bloke dropped the pints on the floor and swung a punch at the stripper. One almost naked man and one clothed one, drenched in beer, trading thumps whilst surrounded by screaming hens all shouting at them to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Suas11 wrote: »

The young lad. Not a bother on him. Then back up on the elephant and off he went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭nokiatom

was out fishing once when I seen this hugh fin passing by....nearly 3 feet out of the water. it was a killer whale (orca). after recovering from shock I got out the camera and got one shot of him in the distance!

Suas11 wrote: »

They'd have had to treat it as a new roundabout if it had been the elephant! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

Saw a bloke doing a striptease for a hen party in the pub before. The stripper had his back turned towards another fella carrying an armload of pints. I heard the pint carrier say "excuse me... Here.... Lemme past before you start" but the stripper ignored him, winking at the hen party.

Next thing the bloke dropped the pints on the floor and swung a punch at the stripper. One almost naked man and one clothed one, drenched in beer, trading thumps whilst surrounded by screaming hens all shouting at them to stop.

Not the most random thing I've ever seen but this reminded me of a friend's 21st years ago. The girlos hired out a male stripper to come to the party for the laugh. When he got down to business he was only wearing a pair of tiny white briefs with a massive sh!t-stain on the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I once seen a politician answer the very question they'd been asked, just out straight. Couldn't believe my eyes.
    Let me guess the answer "a pint of Bass please Joe." ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I don't know how random this is, but I'd never seen anything like it before. I was walking home from the shop, and a black car pulled up across the road. Two men in suits got out and proceeded to take out a trolley and slide a body in a body bag onto it. You could properly see the shape of the person inside the bag. I've seen this before on a hospital ward when someone is being wheeled to the morgue , but not on the street. It left me wondering where was the coffin? There's probably a logical explanation for it but it was so weird. The car wasn't even a hearse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭shroom007

saw a bloke dressed as a bear on the tube going to work on day,he had a laptop and was reading a newspaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

Found a housemate in college hanging from the attic of our house when I was 19. Landlord evicted us the day after, gave some bullshít reason, so it was an illegal eviction.. contacted PRTB, mediation was held to get money back and clain expenses of the eviction. Mediator asked me explain how we broke our contracte and were evicted.. I told him what happened (he didn't know).. he went to town on your man calling him a disgrace etc etc. Lets just say I won.

There is some utter scum in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭dandyelevan

Saw a well dressed guy in Athlone Town Shopping Center car-park open the boot of his car an pee into it.
    In the middle of the day!

As he drove away, a stream of wee wee dribbled from the bottom of the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

OMG SOOOOO RANDOM!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Saw a well dressed guy in Athlone Town Shopping Center car-park open the boot of his car an pee into it.
    In the middle of the day!

As he drove away, a stream of wee wee dribbled from the bottom of the car.

That was "Piss in Boots":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

FTA69 wrote: »
    In Bangladesh I saw a youngfella of about 15 galloping down the side of a dual carriageway in Dhaka on the back of a massive elephant. He managed to stop it at one stage, took a few minutes to get off and then took a massive sh*te on the side of the road in front of thousands of passing cars...

jimgoose likes this. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Aglomerado wrote: »
    I found half a rat in my garden once. The back half...

A rat's arse!!

Could you give it to me?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Accidentally drove into St.Michael's House in Inchicore one Sunday about 7AM and saw a 10 year old boy whipping a dead swan's corpse with a large window-wiper from a van or lorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

One day when I was a teenager sitting in the car with my mum driving from Bridgend into Derry. Looked into the field to my left and there was an elephant in it. On a long tether, munching away. Of course there was a circus setting up another mile down the road, but it was a funny "wait - is that a...?!" kind of moment.

Also saw a hipster walking down Capel street eating beans and toast off a blue china plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

I had a cow give birth to a dead calf here a while back. Normal in every way except It had 2 heads , one facing forward as normal and a second looking backwards. Joined just behind the ears. Weird and shocking at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

The Cool wrote: »
    Also saw a hipster walking down Capel street eating beans and toast off a blue china plate.
    The sights you see when you haven't got a gun eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The Cool wrote: »
    ...Also saw a hipster walking down Capel street eating beans and toast off a blue china plate.

How very ironic in a post-modern sort of way. Or should that be modern in a post-ironic sort of way?? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Well I seen a horse fly
    I seen a dragon fly
    I seen a house fly

I seen all that too
    I seen a peanut stand
    And heard a rubber band
    I seen a needle that winked its eye

But I've been, done, seen about everything
    When I see a elephant fly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I saw a rather flamobyant dominican parade going past a laundrette I was in , which was in a relatively quite suburb on a Sunday afternoon. Certainly a surprise to me at the time.

Oh and a man walking a cat on a leash. As you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Two Korean lads dressed as cowboys riding horses along a busy street in Daegu shouting abuse at passers-by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭TheOtherBloke

A bearded man taking a ****e on a public footpath in the town center.. Got a tissue out of his pocket and placed it gently over the log. Got up and walked off without a care in the world :pac:.

Btw some of the stories here :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Was in Prague on a school tour when I was 16 back in the 90s.

Walking along some side street semi-lost with some friends and we passed by the end of a perpendicular lane.

There were three or four swanky new Mercedes' parked outside this nondescript doorway. So I paused for a second to check them out. Only to have about half a dozen James Bond baddie style hired goons appear from the doorway (black leather jackets, meatheads, looked like they'd seen/done bad things).

One of them told us in his best broken English in no uncertain terms to put our heads down and keep walking. Needless to say we promptly shat ourselves and got out of there.

By far the dodgiest thing I've ever seen, wouldn't have been surprised if one of the car boots had a body in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

I was walking along the seafront in Brighton one stormy afternoon a few years ago when I met an oompa-loompa (green hair, orange skin, white dungarees...the whole bit!) walking the other direction trying to light a cigarette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Driving home from work with my best mate in the middle of rush hour traffic past Holles St hospital- we're forced to pull in when a Garda escort screeches to a halt outside the hospital and literally right next to us. Gardai and nurses flock to the car being escorted and try to help a very pregnant lady out. Poor thing was obviously in agony, and she'd pulled up her top (probably too hot) so with every contraction we could see everything.

They got her into the hospital eventually, and we drove off in stunned silence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

About 20 years ago, saw a guy on a bike clip the side of a Mercedes stopped at traffic lights and then took a dive Ronaldo would be proud of. A very obvious attempt to claim some compo. However, the driver, a large man in his late 60's, got out and proceeded to beat the sh!t of the cyclist, throw his bike over to the side of the street, got into his car and drove off.