Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DUMB, SELF INDULGENT, UNEDUCATED BUNCH OF SHEEP

• 04-05-2015 10:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭

Now you maybe wondering about the title, it is in fact a an excerpt from a an article written by a very pissed off Dutch person living in Ireland.It did make me a little bit angry,

He just makes big generalisations about Irish people and the government.I think he's a self conceited arsehole who should start at home before he goes on criticising Ireland without half a brain.I'm posting this to boards because I think all Irish people should see this.

http://buncranatogether.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

So foreigner does like living in Ireland. Guess what?? You don't have to be here so fcuk off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Page not found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Bad link

Just clicked the news tab and there it is. http://buncranatogether.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

That one gardai sounds like a show tv3 would do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Falcon L

He has a point though. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭qwerty1991

I found the story here..... from a quick glance at it, the author appears to be giving out about the Irish taking so much sh1t and cuts from our government without really protesting much... he does go about it in a very derogatory way and basically insulting all the Irish people.... I think on purpose to get us angry, not at him, but at the Government.

That is what I am getting from it anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Falcon L wrote: »
    He has a point though. :(

To be honest I did find myself agreeing with him on sumpoints, but the rest is just empty rhetoric. Saying how we are dumb****s and sheeple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

From the link.
    I am amazed that you have different names for parties who are basically the same, giving you the same choices to destroy yourself and you, dumb ****s, believe it every time.  You believe it is all going to be better with  this or that party  in power. Can't you see their promises are false and they have shafted you every time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I dont get it... was he living in Buncrana?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I like sheep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

I liked it. It's probably more of a Donegal rant (the anti- Englishness is not really replicated as much elsewhere) and he is right about our U.S. obsession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭ankaragucu

He's right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Shows we haven't got a monopoly on freemanesque idiots anyway.

And yet he chose to live here and not all those countries that do it better...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

We'll see what's so great about the Netherlands after the seas rise another few meters :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

This person is not dutch. Its an irish person on the wind up!

It is someone who hates the government blah blah, why arent you protesting more??? Send "them" to jail, haha.

But wait, there is more:

Why do we not speak our own language?

The germans are currently taking over.

why do you follow english football teams? And sing rebel songs?

You are racist begrudgers.

Why are you not out on the streets having a go at them, (them = governement)

The garda are dogs on a leach.

Denis o brien and big corporations.

Deranged96 wrote: »
    We'll see what's so great about the Netherlands after the seas rise another few meters :P

They are already below sea level in many places. In fact they reclaimed the land.

Fudge You wrote: »

It is someone who hates the government blah blah, why arent you protesting more??? Send "them" to jail, haha.

But wait, there is more:

I'd say he is either Irish or has been living here a long time. Certainly a leftie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Tell me!!!! Is he right?
    Anyways Voice of Ireland is on later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

The author of the article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

osarusan wrote: »
    I like sheep.

I like cake.

We should get together and make sheep cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Deranged96 wrote: »

You're gonna get flooded with abuse for that remark..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

think all Irish people should see this.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

Buncrana has broken him.

Remember, Buncrana is for day trips, not a lifetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Wouldn't be surprised, the title says dutch but the URL says Danish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Bullsh!t artists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

He's right, but Holland is no better. When did you hear of mass protests or strikes there? He fails to see it's the EU doing this, not Irish politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

You'd read dafter without leaving the confines of this very site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I liked it. It's probably more of a Donegal rant (the anti- Englishness is not really replicated as much elsewhere) and he is right about our U.S. obsession.

True but Inishowen while in donegal isn't very typical of donegal. It's a large area but very small and community based. The people aren't receptive to change or outsiders yet many of them actually believe they live in Northern Ireland and can drive NI registered cars without consequence. The area seems to have a very high rate of road fatalities which suggests they don't adhere to rules or laws and that has been my general opinion from visiting the area countless times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

But wait, there is more:

I wonder what his boards account is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jay-me

Meh, can't say I disagree with the afore mentioned points. At least in parts! But that good old ah shure attitude prevails and on I go munching my grass! Bahh! The thing is for many people here life isn't so bad whichever way you look at it.. Good education decent job plenty of monies to be had if you're in the right sector! So long as my life remains unnaffected by the rest of the sh1t that goes on I don't care and if I do I will emigrate!

Now you maybe wondering about the title, it is in fact a an excerpt from a an article written by a very pissed off Dutch person living in Ireland.It did make me a little bit angry,

He just makes big generalisations about Irish people and the government.I think he's a self conceited arsehole who should start at home before he goes on criticising Ireland without half a brain.I'm posting this to boards because I think all Irish people should see this.

This is his boards account btw! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

To be honest it's true. One of our self made billionaires massed his fortune via bribery as opposed to capitalistic principles. We have a long line of leaders who also were glorified robbers and yet many hold these up to be the norm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

In fairness he's dead fcuking right,people are numbified and dumbified by capitalism here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

His essential downloads page is a Freeman On The Land starter kit anyways: http://buncranatogether.com/new-page/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

I know I was supposed to be outraged by some random strangers opinion... But instead I'll add to it.

When you want to fcuk over the Irish people. You don't take them on they can fight. No, You sit back relax and wait, they will fight each other. The tactic of many English general.

The recent stand up to the government is proof of that. The people themselves that were also being screwed over, turning a blind eye to the obvious corruption ,instead taking it upon themselves to create some deformed logic of how it makes sense to accept it,while slowly eroding any will to not take it any more.

In some countries white coller criminals and corrupt politicians go to jail. Here we have Treads about how mean it is that the poor fellas get heckled in the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Jan Laco

circadian wrote: »
    Buncrana has broken him.

Remember, Buncrana is for day trips, not a lifetime.

He lives in Blarney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Makes a lot of sense. The abusiveness of the text is whats kinda puts a damper on some good points. I do think the abuse is to get your heckles up and then make the point "this is what the government thinks of you". Another point to make is that in the Netherlands, their society and infrastructure works. Going from that to our bull**** would piss you off. The fact that there's so much vitriol in the post must mean he likes the place. Subtext: Ireland, great place but get your **** together......?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

I know I was supposed to be outraged by some random strangers opinion... But instead I'll add to it.

When you want to fcuk over the Irish people. You don't take them on they can fight. No, You sit back relax and wait, they will fight each other. The tactic of many English general.

The recent stand up to the government is proof of that. The people themselves that were also being screwed over, turning a blind eye to the obvious corruption ,instead taking it upon themselves to create some deformed logic of how it makes sense to accept it,while slowly eroding any will to not take it any more.

In some countries white coller criminals and corrupt politicians go to jail. Here we have Treads about how mean it is that the poor fellas get heckled in the street.

Or else the appeal to peoples patriotic/nationalistic side usually in a speech like this:

" were all going to have to tighten our belts for a while but we know the Irish people as a nation call pull through this and come out stronger than ever"

Ie: johnny taxpayer is going to have to foot the bill for our gambling debts

Its amazing the way people fall for this,I've seen this trotted out on boards numerous times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

If the Dutch were running Ireland it would be the market garden of Europe. If the Irish were running the Netherlands it would be under water.

The only anti Englishness in Donegal comes from the three men and a dog loony groups like the one running that site and on-the-run blow-ins, don't tar us with your naive, widely off target brush. That Dutch fella ain't living here anyway, if he did he would get his eyes opened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

If you want to meet a dutch racist ask any dutch person about the arabs in their country

The only anti Englishness in Donegal comes from the three men and a dog loony groups like the one running that site and on-the-run blow-ins, don't tar us with your naive, widely off target brush. That Dutch fella ain't living here anyway, if he did he would get his eyes opened.

So over half the population of Donegal so? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭deandean

Great bunch of lads, the Dutch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

The Dutch - nice.

They lost their way when Van der Valk finished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

The Dutch - nice.

They lost their way when Van der Valk finished.

Nice is in France :confused:

jay-me wrote: »
    So over half the population of Donegal so? :pac:

Depends on the sterling rate. ;)

Just like the many's a visitor from the south of the country who floundered in choppy waters thinking they were on safe ground to sing rebel songs in Donegal pubs, making assumptions can get you a shock! It's different up here folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Wasn't there an American hipster idiot that did this not so long ago aswell? She was traumatised with the coffee and wifi and lost her **** on a blog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

...I'm guessing you mean opened up with a box?