Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deal or No deal

• 01-05-2015 3:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

Watching this for first time in years

Wtf is noel edmonds on about?

Surely its just picking fooking box's..he makes out there is some game plan or that confidence is involved

Wtf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

And the contestants are all best friends...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

It's easy to win. Turn up, open a few boxes, make deal. Win.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 369 ✭✭walkingshadow

Could never watch that show- was always blinded by Noel's shirts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

I fcuking hate that show. The contestants and main player especially are knobs.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

That show loves the smell of its own farts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Thats exactly what it is. Its a tv show about people opening boxes.

It takes one hell of a good presenter to make it into an exciting show and he manages it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Takes 2 mins to do, drag the arse out of it for 45 mins :rolleyes:

Love when this happens tho:

"I'll go for Maggie, no.11, she's my good luck charm!"
    "You're such a wonderful person John and a great friend (she knows him 2 days :rolleyes:), hope it's a blue, we're all rooting for you, nobody deserves it more than you!!"
    *opens box and it's 250,000*

Always brings a smile to my face :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

"I want to leave box 7, 11 and 20 til last Noel. That's young Ciara, James and Kevin's age"

Oh yeah because the person who sorts the boxes actually knows this and adds some magic fairy dust to the box.

The show is cringey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Specialun wrote: »

He's on about £3 million a year, apparently.

Back in 2006, Jon Ronson went behind the scenes and wrote a great article about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Reoil wrote: »
    And the contestants are all best friends...

It would be way more interesting if they just told each other to faack off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

5starpool wrote: »

My farts are even more awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Frankie said it best..

He also said "If I wanted to watch people open empty boxes all day, I'd head around to Kerry Katonas house on Christmas morning"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Cant stand the sight of Noel Edmonds. Watch the show before it instead. Countdown. Test yourself on words and numbers all the while admiring the 2 female assistants Rachel Riley and Susie Dent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

It is just a program of people clapping the fact someone opens a box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

They do a "best of" from time to time I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Cant stand the sight of Noel Edmonds. Watch the show before it instead. Countdown. Test yourself on words and numbers all the while admiring the 2 female assistants Rachel Riley and Susie Dent.

I wouldn't mind opening Rachel's box...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I've never watched it but from the couple of glances I've given it while channel hopping it seems REALLY BORING.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

After the show all the contestants ride like rabbits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Stillhouette

Specialun wrote: »

Noel an dhis dream factory where all the contestants hold hands to release a positive vibe and other such nonsense. I like to see their faces drop when the big numbers are picked. Headcases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Great show, here's a collection of my favourite moments.

RayM wrote: »
    He's on about £3 million a year, apparently.

Back in 2006, Jon Ronson went behind the scenes and wrote a great article about it.

Lol. He skewered the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,577 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

It's a show for stupid people in between jeremy kyle and Geordie shore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

5starpool wrote: »

Some people think their **** don't stink.

I know better than that, I know it stinks, it stinks good, real good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

A creepy guy takes pretend phonecalls and offers young ladies money for them to open their box while a shiny, happy crowd hold hands in a circle and cheer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Saralee4

Actually there could be a tactic to playing that game but I've never seen anyone do it.

It's about probability.

If you picked box 1 and it's red, the probability is that box 2 is blue. But if box 2 is red, then the probability of box 3 being blue is higher. If you played it in line like this, you would have a better idea on your last boxes what colours each one were.

something like that. I forget how to do statistics but there is definitely a possible game plan you could have however I would say that contestants are told not to pick boxes in a specific order like 1 through to 20!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

A creepy guy takes pretend phonecalls and offers young ladies money for them to open their box while a shiny, happy crowd hold hands in a circle and cheer.

that's pretty sexist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

kfallon wrote: »
    Takes 2 mins to do, drag the arse out of it for 45 mins :rolleyes:

Love when this happens tho:

"I'll go for Maggie, no.11, she's my good luck charm!"
    "You're such a wonderful person John and a great friend (she knows him 2 days :rolleyes:), hope it's a blue, we're all rooting for you, nobody deserves it more than you!!"
    *opens box and it's 250,000*

Always brings a smile to my face :D
    Ye bad bastard:D

I laugh at the exact same thing

Saralee4 wrote: »
    Actually there could be a tactic to playing that game but I've never seen anyone do it.

It's about probability.

If you picked box 1 and it's red, the probability is that box 2 is blue. But if box 2 is red, then the probability of box 3 being blue is higher. If you played it in line like this, you would have a better idea on your last boxes what colours each one were.

something like that. I forget how to do statistics but there is definitely a possible game plan you could have however I would say that contestants are told not to pick boxes in a specific order like 1 through to 20!

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I haven't watched it in years. Does it still look as cheap as ever? I remember seeing the American version and it looked so different to the British one. It had glamorous models holding up suitcases and a set that looked like it cost millions. The British one looked like it was filmed in a barn, had Noel Edmonds, some cardboard boxes and a phone attached to a rope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I can't stand it.
    I can't believe it's been on 10 years already.

When it was new, I did like it, but back then the contestants weren't that ar*ey and the player actually remained in their seat for the duration of the show.

The last time I watched it, the player was walking all around the studio like they owned it, claiming box number 11 held the aura of their dead granny or something, and Noel's harping on about being able to swap a certain box in exchange for a Fray Bentos pie, or some such codswallop.

And then other players have the chance to win holidays and cars and stuff.
    Show's gone to pot.
    Take it off the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

OP I like the way you started this thread with honesty. It's not the most challenging of game shows that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Its a daytime TV show that endorses the legitimization of extreme gambling and nothing else. Its totally f**king sickening

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,375 ✭✭✭893bet

Great show, here's a collection of my favourite moments.

What was yer one offered that has the 250k and the 1p left I wonder.

She has some balls.

I bet she wishes she dealt now.

buried wrote: »
    Its a daytime TV show that endorses the legitimization of extreme gambling and nothing else. Its totally f**king sickening

There's no gambling. There's no statistics either.

The way to win the game is to open 9 to 11 boxes, until the "banker" calls and take his offer. That's money for jam. For opening boxes.

There's no gambling. There's no statistics either.

The way to win the game is to open 9 to 11 boxes, until the "banker" calls and take his offer. That's money for jam. For opening boxes.

Its totally gambling. Unless you can prove there is some unseen 'logic' how these desperate people that be on the show can win the jackpot by randomly picking various numbers on boxes?

There's no gambling because people don't put up money. And I gave a way to always win money in the post you quoted.

Basically for no skill at all you do this. Open ten boxes. Take the money. Don't care about the jackpot. You will win 10-40k.

Plenty of people play like that, although the producers no doubt try and get the ejits who think it's a game that can be played to the last box or for the jackbox.

There's no gambling because people don't put up money. And I gave a way to always win money in the post you quoted.

F**K Money, In my eyes putting up time out of your actual life and your actual existence to hopefully win some obscene amount of money for the entertainment of others is gambling. Extreme gambling.
    I don't see your way to "always win money" logic either. You'll have to explain that to me in detail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

F**K Money, In my eyes putting up time out of your actual life and your actual existence to hopefully win some obscene amount of money for the entertainment of others is gambling.

No it's preforming. Do you think the contestants were picked by accident?

LadyAthame wrote: »
    No it's preforming. Do you think the contestants were picked by accident?

Fair enough. But do you think the huge audience at home watching this TV $hit think the contestants "were picked by accident?" Look at how the set-up of the show is portrayed to the audience.

F**K Money, In my eyes putting up time out of your actual life and your actual existence to hopefully win some obscene amount of money for the entertainment of others is gambling. Extreme gambling.
    I don't see your way to "always win money" logic either. You'll have to explain that to me in detail

You've got a new definition of gambling there I see. If you want you can continue to use words as you please but nobody will understand you. I wouldn't go on TV for this myself but if there was a version of it somewhere less public I'd do it in a shot.

I've explained twice how to always make money on the show. It's not that hard to follow.

You've got a new definition of gambling there I see. If you want you can continue to use words as you please but nobody will understand you. I wouldn't go on TV for this myself but if there was a version of it somewhere if do it in a shot.

I've explained twice how to always make money on the show. It's not that hard to follow.

No you haven't. Explain in detail your logic how to win money on this tv show. Please. I'm genuinely interested.

Fair enough. But do you think the huge audience at home watching this TV $hit think the contestants "were picked by accident?" Look at how the set-up of the show is portrayed to the audience.
    And that is it's brilliance. It's a SHOW ..the money ..is in the production. It builds suspense. Any game can build suspense with the right ringmaster.

Noel Edmunds knows T.V the house party was '****'. It was very successful.

No you haven't. Explain in detail your logic how to win money on this tv show. Please. I'm genuinely interested.

Read my posts.

"Beat the banker" is what you said. Show me in detail how some eejit like me can "beat the banker". Please. If we can solve this conundrum then this tv show is ruined, so lets be having the "beat the banker" logic in detail if you know how to do it

Why are you getting so up in arms over a t.v show?

Oh. For the statistically remedial.

You can't play the "game" because there is no statistical way you can know what is in your box. So you go into the "game" always intending to deal. ( don't tell the producers because they want people to go to the end). After enough boxes are opened the banker will offer you money. Always take the money. That's how you always make money.

If there is 250k in your box at the end, you still made money, and since you couldn't have known what was in the box you shouldn't care. It makes no sense if you are pocketing 10-40k to worry that there was 250k in the box or rejoice that there was a penny. The money in your hand is what counts.

LadyAthame wrote: »
    Why are you getting so up in arms over a t.v show?

Because its a free planet and somebody here knows how to "beat the banker"

"Beat the banker" is what you said. Show me in detail how some eejit like me can "beat the banker". Please. If we can solve this conundrum then this tv show is ruined, so lets be having the "beat the banker" logic in detail if you know how to do it

I didn't say anything about beating the banker. That's the kind of nonsense the statistically innumerate pop out. I said always deal.

Oh. For the statistically remedial.

You can't play the "game" because there is no statistical way you can know what is in your box. So you go into the "game" always intending to deal. ( don't tell the producers because they want people to go to the end). After enough boxes are opened the banker will offer you money. Always take the money. That's how you always make money.

If there is 250k in your box at the end, you still made money, and since you couldn't have known what was in the box you shouldn't care. It makes no sense if you are pocketing 10-40k to worry that there was 250k in the box or rejoice that there was a penny. The money in your hand is what counts.

lol yes. This all sounds totally logical. But where can I "beat the banker", where is the foolproof plan for that setup?

Who the duck knows what you mean by "beating the banker". I've told you how to make money on the show by not trying to beat the banker, and you are the only person who has mentioned anything about "beating the banker."

You are having an illogical strawman argument with your own phrase.