Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now Ye're Talking - To A Merchant Navy Officer

• Registered Users Posts: 959 ✭✭✭Conchir

What was your class like in college? Were the majority straight out of the Leaving Cert, or would you get many people with undergrad degrees etc?

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭I'm A Merchant Navy Officer AMA

Agent J wrote: »
    Very interesting thread.

What is the longest you've been at sea? ie Longest single journey
    And the most important question... What's the internet connection like on ship? ;)

Longest time at sea? Nine months. Would never do it again.

Internet is a little better than dial up. Satellite internet is very expensive so the ship owner will provide the bear minimum. I actually don't mind as I only use it for email. I download loads of movies a and series onto a hard drive before I join.

Conchir wrote: »
    What was your class like in college? Were the majority straight out of the Leaving Cert, or would you get many people with undergrad degrees etc?

Most would have been straight out of leaving cert but there were plenty of older guys too. The college used to run a higher cert course so you didn't need a leaving cert but I believe that's now gone. I would recommend anyone thinking of becoming an electrician to look into becoming an electro technical engineer on a cruise ship. It's a great job with almost 100% employment out of college and a good salary.

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

Do ye have weapons on board in case of piracy attacks?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

Longest time at sea? Nine months. Would never do it again.

Internet is a little better than dial up. Satellite internet is very expensive so the ship owner will provide the bear minimum. I actually don't mind as I only use it for email. I download loads of movies a and series onto a hard drive before I join.

Thanks. Very interesting reading your replies.
    Wow 9 months.

I'm trying to get an idea of how long it takes to get around by sea. How long would it take to get from say Ireland/UK to North America? What is the longest journey you've done and how long did it take?

Do ye have weapons on board in case of piracy attacks?

It's more preventing them getting on. We cover the entire perimeter of the ship with razor wire(terrible job), rig charged fire hoses and lock the doors. Near Somalia we would go in convoy with other merchant ships and naval vessels. We have a citadel (panic room) where we'd all hide if pirates got on-board. Some companies employ armed guards and I have sailed with these before. I actually don't like this as they are very often ex mercenaries and can be really rough characters. It's really about piracy avoidance than an offensive attack. I'm a civilian and if a pirates get on-board I will not fight back. Take the cargo by all means, just not my life.

Agent J wrote: »
    Thanks. Very interesting reading your replies.
    Wow 9 months.

I'm trying to get an idea of how long it takes to get around by sea. How long would it take to get from say Ireland/UK to North America? What is the longest journey you've done and how long did it take?

On my type of ship Ireland to New York is about nine days. The Pacific takes about a month to cross. San Fran to Shanghai would have been my furthest, 28-30 days.

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭rosie16

This is a trivial question but I've noticed you've mentioned paint a few times. What's with all the paint on board? :p

• Registered Users Posts: 7,059 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Fascinating topic.

It was something I daydreamed about as a teen but never looked into the practicalities of it and it drifted out of mind.

For someone with a strong wanderlust, is it recommended? I mean is there enough down time to get a feel for new places?

Do you work with a multinational crew? If so, do different cultures ever cause problems?

Thanks for the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,470 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

What's the biggest ship you've crewed?
    rosie16 wrote: »
    This is a trivial question but I've noticed you've mentioned paint a few times. What's with all the paint on board? :p

Big ships are like bigbridges aren't they, as soon as you finish it you start again at the other end :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Thanks for taking the time to do this, I'm enjoying the thread a lot.

Its facinating to me because its a path not taken. I was all signed up to go and then failed the BOT Lantern Test.

No huge regrets but you always wonder what might have been.

Good Luck ;)

rosie16 wrote: »

Well a ship is made of steel and it's in one of the harshest environments. Rust is the enemy and paint is used to stop it. Salt water, flexing in heavy weather and large changes in temperatures all play havoc with the paint. 90% of the deck crew's maintenance would be chipping off rust and painting.

Looky Man wrote: »
    Ever come across any stowaways on board?

Personally no. I have friends who have though. Stowaways are a real pain. Trying to explain to immigration why you have a guy with no passport or spoken english and convincing them to take him. Normally a stowaway will spend months onboard because no port will accept them. I was once told by a captain to tell immigration he's an asylum seeker and then their obliged to take him. I heard a nice story of a young boy found on a Russian ship and after a few months of not being allowed to get rid of him the captain became very close with the boy. The captain was a wealthy man and with enough money in russia documents can be made. He took the boy back to Russia and adopted him.

Fascinating topic.

It was something I daydreamed about as a teen but never looked into the practicalities of it and it drifted out of mind.

For someone with a strong wanderlust, is it recommended? I mean is there enough down time to get a feel for new places?

Do you work with a multinational crew? If so, do different cultures ever cause problems?

Thanks for the thread.

Yeah it's often sold to young people as a great way to see the world and it can be. I've been to places I'd never have gone to if I hadn't gone to sea. The smaller ships are better as they go right into the city's. Whereas bigger ships might just go to a terminal in the middle of nowhere. If you work on a cruise ship you'll se plenty of beautiful places but miss out on the more obscure areas. I mainly try to get a feel of a place and then plan my travelling when I'm on holidays. The time off gives you plenty of opportunities to travel.

Yeah the officers are European and the ratings are filipino or Indian. I don't want to bad mouth an entire nationality but I find Indians hard to work with. The cast system causes so much in fighting onboard. Russian and ukranian officers caused a bit of a hassle on my last ship.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,653 ✭✭✭Corvo

What experiences have you had with other crew members? Have you ever had run in due to your position authority and how do you handle it?

Thanks for taking the time to do this, I'm enjoying the thread a lot.

Its facinating to me because its a path not taken. I was all signed up to go and then failed the BOT Lantern Test.

No huge regrets but you always wonder what might have been.

Good Luck ;)

No problem. That's a shame you can glasses or laser for poor vision but colour vision is a killer.

Looky Man wrote: »
    What's the grub like? Is there much choice? Do you suffer from lack of fresh food?

It's depends on the cook But it's always a bit repetitive. We do start to run low on fruit and veg but we'll very often barter with the people in poorer countries for fresh fruit and fish. A 20ltr drum of paint or old rope will get you a lot of local produce. It can be like a farmers market onboard sometimes with all sorts of people coming to sell things. This is common everywhere outside Europe and America.

Corvo wrote: »
    What experiences have you had with other crew members? Have you ever had run in due to your position authority and how do you handle it?

You will always have problems when you live and work with the same people for months. The biggest problem is communication issues. I could think I told the lads what I want them to do and they get it arse ways and do it wrong. Filipinos will never say they dont understand to someone above them. Even just talking to each other on the radio can be hard work. We've had people sent home for fighting or getting drunk. in general a small bollicking will put someone back in line. If the crew get the job done and are working hard I'm happy enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭TripleMinor

Great thread - really enjoying reading your stories.

What do you do in your spare time while at sea?
    Do ships have decent TV and are there any gym equipment?

Use a referral link when purchasing a Tesla and get free Supercharging KMs https://www.tesla.com/en_ie/referral/stephen958732

Great thread - really enjoying reading your stories.

What do you do in your spare time while at sea?
    Do ships have decent TV and are there any gym equipment?

Mostly I read or watch movies and TV shows on my laptop. The ratings will have a few beers, sing karaoke and watch movies in the crew mess. TV is very dependant on the country we're in. The ratings are normally one nationality and hang out together in communal areas. The officers are all from various European countries so keep more to themselves. I have a managerial role so they wouldn't feel comfortable if I was there. I try to keep myself a bit distanced anyway. It's easier that way. There is a gym, table tennis table and darts board. My ships usually have a small pool. I have noticed now that we have wifi onboard that the ratings don't hang out as much as they did before. Which is a bit of a pity.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,204 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Can you speak any languages other than English?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Have you ever crashed your boat into anything?

Can you speak any languages other than English?

No.Everyone has to be able to speak english to go to sea (that's the theory anyway) I speak a little Spanish. I did Spanish and chemistry in school but didn't pay much attention because I said I'd never use them. Now I transport chemicals to south America for a living.

Have you ever crashed your boat into anything?

Luckily never. You'd be surprised how little traffic there can be. Once you get out to deep sea you might not see another ship for a week. Fishing boats are the biggest problem traffic wise. They have a relaxed view on learning the rules of the road and are difficult for the radar to pick up, so you need to be on your toes.

Think of a truck driver but on the sea.

I imagine you get a damn sight less hitchikers though :)

Whats the psychology like of it all - that length of time spent on a large tin can with a monotonous horizon - there must be a handful of common flip out types that you have a few slang names for? What kind of mental breaks are common or have you witnessed?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Weird question but is being at sea claustrophobic because you're trapped on a vessel or agoraphobic because you're literally a dot in the vast ocean? I know that's a bit of an oxymoron but can you see both sides?

Also, have you see All Is Lost starring Robert Redford (actually it just stars him). He's a man stranded in the South Indian Ocean, I think that's where it is, all by himself. It's a strange enough flick. You touched on the Captain Phillips movie. Did you enjoy it?

Ps- Look at me.... I am the Captain now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭ken76

Is there a woman in every port?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,263 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Great thread...
    When you complete your time on a ship are you pretty much off at that port which could be anywhere in the world or do they try to get you back to a port close to Ireland? Do you then have to finance your own way home or does the ship owner look after that?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

With the advent of laptops and ipads, is the porn locker still used or a thing of the past now?

What about your job security, is being a western European & highly paid officer a disadvantage still?

I imagine you get a damn sight less hitchikers though :)

Whats the psychology like of it all - that length of time spent on a large tin can with a monotonous horizon - there must be a handful of common flip out types that you have a few slang names for? What kind of mental breaks are common or have you witnessed?

I think an extremely bright person would find it too mundane. The key is to keep yourself occupied. As chief officer I have no problem doing this. There's always something breaking or equipment needs testing or inspecting. The endless paper work keeps me busy too. I can't think of any slang words but if someone is daydreaming or making a few mistakes you'll often joke that their mind has gone home and left their body behind.

We had one chief engineer who got sacked for getting hammered. We keep the alcohol and cigarettes locked up in what we call the bond store. The crew will ask the officer (or cadet unofficially) in charge of the store for their two beers. The chief exerting his authority convinced the cadet to give him a slab instead. Around midnight he call the cadet's cabin and asked for more. The cadet said no and the chief told him to go f**k himself. At 0300 we heard the chief over the p.a system saying he hates us and f**k the captain etc. We went to his cabin and found the chief langers with beer cans and an empty wine bottle or two all over his floor. He started swinging at people and we locked him in his cabin until the morning. Turns out after the cadet said no he had gone downstairs and kicked the bond store door in. He was sacked by the captain the next day after forty years with the company. That'd be the closest to a breakdown but I've certainly sailed with people who weren't all there.

I believe sucide rates are three times higher for seafarers than the world average so that is an issue.