Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assault on Paul Deaton

• 17-04-2015 6:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0417/694704-dublin-assault/

This is an awful and upsetting story. I think I have had the tv on too much today and it keeps popping up, must change off that rte rolling news channel.

Anything that we can do? I sent an email to JCB's Irish distributor ( http://ecijcb.ie/ ) to ask if they could give him a site tour. I don't know the man or his family.

I know that means I've done the sum total of **** all, but it's all my brain could think of.

P.S Diggers are cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Heard that story today too and words fail...it's high time some of these sick ****ers were apprehended, put through the courts and made an example of.

Great idea about the JCB visit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Grays Sports Almanac

Poor guy. Really felt sorry for him.

I hope those scumbags are caught. Or better yet, same happens to them x10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Putin

If I had my way, I'd send the scum to the Lubyanka or the Gulags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Poor guy.

Similar kinda situation took place in Cork only a few weeks ago: http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0402/691766-autism/

Horrible fuqs. :(

People have responded with great kindness in both cases though. Most people are good - I hate this hipster, misanthropic "People are cuntts" stuff. Most people aren't, that's why we're appalled by stories like these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

That is a brilliant idea, fair play OP. Id be happy to contribute to a whip around for this guy if one comes into existence...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

What I wish we could do is get a load of those JCB's dig a huge pit out in the middle of nowhere and fill that pit with all those scumbags and let them fed off each other like rats in a barrel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Read about this last night, one of my mates was posting about it on Facebook, i think he knows the lads sister.

What a bunch of lowlifes tbh, that poor lads world seems to be a harmless and happy one.

No need for scumbags like that to take it away from him. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

This poor man has been on my mind all day. Such a horrible horrible to happen to him.
    Years ago people were appalled at the Jamie Bolger case and the fact that one culprit could cajole the other into participating in horrific crime but I have real fears when I hear three fúcking ba$tards do something like this and not one of them would have the conscience to say "no hold on this is wrong."
    Slaphappy culture gone out of control and escalating rapidly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Find them and put their names and faces on the front of the Herald and let the good people of Dublin deal with them

fcuking cowards:mad:

Im sure the lads at JCB will give him a tour and all the merchandise he can carry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

Could boards.ie organise a formal collection for this chap? might be able to salvage something positive from this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Great idea OP will contact jcb as well and hopefully they can do something nice for him.
    Fair play to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Absolutely disgusting behaviour from those 3 pricks!

Great idea OP, let us know if you get a reply or maybe we could all send an email asking them to give him a tour, peer pressure and all that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

listening to his sister being interviewed this morning.all he likes doing and i mean all he likes doing is watching his dvds ,taking rides on the bus into town and looking at diggers and jcbs.thats it.what ****ing harm does that do to anyone!?
    and along come these B A S T A R D S and they do this.and now he is afraid to go anywhere and nervous all the time.

i hope they find you and i hope you get yours you evil little mother****ers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Scumbag cowards.

It's both heartbreaking and disgusting that we have these low life living among us.

Will gladly contribute to any fund that is set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'd usually be against the idea of it, but when I hear about stories like this or ones of assaults on the elderly or animal abuse I wonder if they'd be so prevalent if mandatory national service / conscription existed here. More and more youngsters have no respect for society, themselves or others these days.. and it only seems to be getting worse.

The threat of being caught is no deterrent obviously. Might be better to nip it in the bud before it ever rears its head. Not saying we'd be living in a utopia just because of conscription but I'd be willing to bet there'd be less instances of vandalism and mindless attacks like this if more young people had a sense of civic pride instilled in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Sorry to hear about this. The story is far from unique as someone above said but I always kidded myself that "we" were better than that.

Obviously not :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Only back from ten days in Abu Dhabi and I never heard a siren nor laid eyes on police the whole time we were there. Zero crime rate because zero tolerance for it. You steal, your hand is cut off!
    Now maybe that is a bit extreme but there has to be something done. There has to be a fear of repercussion for your crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

I'm not that emotional usually but I cried hearing about this. My littleboy is nearly two and loves watching jcbs and diggers so all I could think about was a man with his mental age getting the same enjoyment out of it and what my child would think if he was threatened like this poor man was. How these idiots could pick on someone like this man is sickening. And the threat of rape is especially vile. Who says things like that to anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Frito

Nice idea OP, I emailed them too.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0417/694704-dublin-assault/

This is an awful story and upsetting story. I think I have had the tv on too much today and it keeps popping up, must change off that rte rolling news channel.

Anything that we can do? I sent an email to JCB's Irish distributor ( http://ecijcb.ie/ ) to ask if they could give him a site tour. I don't know the man or his family.

I know that means I've done the sum total of **** all, but it's all my brain could think of.

P.S Diggers are cool.

That's so thoughtful and kind. :)

I hope they run with it and give him a day out to remember. Just to remind him there's more to people than the horrors that assaulted him.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I've worked in the field of intellectual disability for 25 years and the depths to which kids will sink to to get their kicks, in making a vulnerable adult suffer for laughs, is all too common.
    There's a lot to be said for humiliating ass hats like that in public, seeing as they think public humiliation is acceptable.

It adds another dimension of disgusting to know that the assault was filmed on phones, for posting to social media presumably, or for just reliving the experience and sharing it with other human horrors.

Its bad enough the poor guy was bullied and assaulted, it's even worse to know the humiliation is recorded and being 'enjoyed' by others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Ugh, what absolute scumbags. Imagine the complete lack of humanity you'd have to have in order to do this.

Fair play to the woman who took him to get cleaned up after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Have the animals been caught? This is outrageous. What utter scum.

OP that's a lovely idea with the JCB place. Fair play to you.

bjork wrote: »
    Have the animals been caught? This is outrageous. What utter scum.

OP that's a lovely idea with the JCB place. Fair play to you.

CCTV all over the park

only a matter of time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Thatllteachya

I go running in fairview park most evenings and never came across anything like this. Wish I had though, any excuse to knock the **** out of a summer.

CCTV all over the park

only a matter of time
    Is the CCTV public? Are the Gardai looking for help to track them?

If not, the hold up is maddening> Let's be having 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Just to let you all know, jcb Ireland have already offered the family an invite to the Dublin depot for the day and for him to sit in and get a closer look, put on a display. I'm sure they will give loads of bits an bobs too.
    Fair play to them.

deco nate wrote: »
    Just to let you all know, jcb Ireland have already offered the family an invite to the Dublin depot for the day and for him to sit in and get a closer look, put on a display. I'm sure they will give loads of bits an bobs too.
    Fair play to them.

delighted to hear this

the good shines through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Is the CCTV public? Are the Gardai looking for help to track them?

If not, the hold up is maddening> Let's be having 'em.

Eh... it was only reported on Wednesday night. What 'hold up' are you on about? I doubt having a load of internet warriors on the hunt for them is going to help Gardai do their job.

Relax the cacks!

Eh... it was only reported on Wednesday night. What 'hold up' are you on about? I doubt having a load of internet warriors on the hunt for them is going to help Gardai do their job.

Relax the cacks!

It's Friday! If there is CCTV identifying them, I'll repeat, what's the hold up? They are not fit to be at large in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

heldel00 wrote: »
    Only back from ten days in Abu Dhabi and I never heard a siren nor laid eyes on police the whole time we were there. Zero crime rate because zero tolerance for it. You steal, your hand is cut off!
    Now maybe that is a bit extreme but there has to be something done. There has to be a fear of repercussion for your crime.

This is it. They have zero fear. They took pictures/video of of it. Do you really do that if you fear being punished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

Sadly not surprised. That park has nearly zero police presence. How many serious attacks have taken place on poor people the last number of years ? some have been left dead or brain-damaged.

The place and surrounding area has some serious scumbags.

While it was a dreadful incident the chap was, if you can call it, lucky it was not worse

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

I'd love to see a whole fleet of JCBs drive over the scum who did this, and the scum who've inflicted them upon society. What will the next generation be like? God help us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

heldel00 wrote: »

Ah come on now. Just google UAE and human rights and see how this kind of justice operates. The intellectually disabled often don't do well in the Middle East either and may not get any kind of schooling. I'm sure there's little crime in ISIL administered Iraq at the moment, I still take my chances in Ireland though.

While it was a dreadful incident the chap was, if you can call it, lucky it was not worse

We are lucky that the man who would not hurt a fly went to photograph a few JCB's wasnt killed?

what sort of place has this country turned into?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Yep jcb distributor had already been on the radio earlier today offering him a day out.
    Nice idea to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I immediately asked myself this question when I saw this on the news, If you followed these skangers into Fairview park close after this attack with a golf club or a hurley and battered one or two of them, would anyone give a sh1t?

I'd be amazed if the answer wasn't a resounding no.

There's clearly something wrong with society when autistic and special needs kids are targeted like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,629 ✭✭✭brevity

Like others I heard this on the radio today; it's such a sad and frustrating story. Made my blood boil. Those little ****s wouldn't just leave someone alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

Fair play to that chap, despite his issues he doesn't let that stop him doing what he loves to do. That in itself is an achievement and something he should be very proud of. It really does sicken me to think we have individuals living in this country that are capable of such a thing. I doubt would cause any trouble or harm to anyone, which is more than could be said for these 3 scumbags.

And I must say fair play to the op for emailing jcb, hopefully they might be able to put a smile on Paul's face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

We are lucky that the man who would not hurt a fly went to photograph a few JCB's wasnt killed?

what sort of place has this country turned into?

It has always been bad around that place, a few that come to mind

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/man-pleads-guilty-to-vicious-assault-on-italian-teenager-26069090.html

https://gayhistory.wordpress.com/2014/06/28/dublin-the-fairview-park-murders-and-the-declan-flynn-murder-case/

I immediately asked myself this question when I saw this on the news, If you followed these skangers into Fairview park close after this attack with a golf club or a hurley and battered one or two of them, would anyone give a sh1t?

There's clearly something wrong with society when autistic and special needs kids are targeted like this.

no jury in the land would convict you for giving these fcukers a hiding after doing this

This is it. They have zero fear. They took pictures/video of of it. Do you really do that if you fear being punished?

That depends on what you mean by punished. Personally, I believe that by targeting someone who may not be capable of defending themselves, they don't deserve to be treated like normal human beings in return.

You'd be in the dock and on the front of all the papers before you got home.

10 years for assault and battery/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

What if he wrote a letter of apology?

no jury in the land would convict you for giving these fcukers a hiding after doing this

These people are quite clearly sub human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Sadly I think you're spot on :(

10 years for assault and battery manslaughter/

It wouldnt be a few clatters they'd be getting. I also think youre correct in your summation.

If you are correct you then need to ask why arent they doing 10 years for assault and battery as well

so a disabled lad is tortured in a park and whacker marches in with a nine iron and sorts them out

a jury would find him guilty?

i doubt it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Lord PuppyMcSnuggle of Cuddleshire

crazygeryy wrote: »
    and now he is afraid to go anywhere and nervous all the time.
    Yeah welcome to the club. Being attacked by psychopaths is a real eye-opener. They only exist as fictional characters until you experience one first-hand. You don't sleep with the lights off after you find out the boogieman is real.
    If fear of punishment is all that's stopping them from harassing and assaulting innocent people, then there's a bigger problem. Where's the empathy? If any normal person had a licence to commit any illegal activity they wanted for a whole year - where on the list do you think beating this man would be?

I think they did it because they found it funny. And they put their own temporary amusement ahead of the life and dignity of someone they didn't know. They've taken years from his quality of life, and this happens every day to people in Dublin. It's only a news story because he has special needs, and this time we can't just write it off as "Oh he must have done something to deserve it". It's shocking to us because that doubt is gone, and the disturbing nature of these people is more visible.