Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

White millionaire playing cop accidentally kills black suspect in taser gun mix up

• 13-04-2015 10:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭

Tulsa County Deputy Robert Bates, 73 is a police reservist and also a millionaire insurance executive is a "pay to play cop" who was involved in the pursuit of a black suspect named Eric Harris.

A police video shows Harris fleeing on foot before he is cornered by police vehicles and cops wrestle him to the ground. There is then a gunshot and Harris screams that he has been shot.

Bates obviously realizing he has mixed up his gun with his taser apologies for his boo boo.

A cop kneels on Harris' head while others hold him down and when Harris claims he can't breath as a police officer says sympathetically "F*ck your breath."

Harris, a drug dealer and weapons supplier, later died.

Bates was initially exonerated by police who claimed it was "excusable" and Mr. Bates did not commit a crime but following public outrage he was charged with second degree manslaughter.

Bates donated generously to the Tulsa police department and campaigned for chairman of the Tulsa County Sheriff Stanley Glanz's election campaign in 2012.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/northamerica/usa/11531766/White-septuagenarian-pay-to-play-cop-shoots-dead-unarmed-black-suspect.html

The incident has exposed a litany of incompetence, apparent political corruption, white privilege, the ridiculous gun culture, police brutality and racism in the Tulsa police and once again raises the issue of dysfunctional law enforcement in the United States.

Harris was no angel and many would say Bates deserves a medal for taking him out - albeit unintentionally - but this incident is the latest in litany of shocking incidents that lay bare outrageous behavior by U.S. law enforcement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭stunmer

Wait, you can pay to be a cop in the US now?

Wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DavidRamsay99

stunmer wrote: »
    Wait, you can pay to be a cop in the US now?

Wow

Action star Steven Seagal starred in a reality show called Steven Seagal: Lawman which showed him working as a reserve deputy sheriff in Louisiana and Arizona.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steven_Seagal:_Lawman

Seagal claimed to be certified by California Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) commission but there is no record and besides Louisiana doesn't need it if Seagal was partnered with an accredited officer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

"Harris, a drug dealer and weapons supplier, later died."

Checks, fails to find even one feck given....moves on....

Checks, fails to find even one feck....moves on....

OK forget it was a black dude for a second.

Suppose some drunk young hot white blonde college cheerleader is being arrested and this rich old fart who bought his badge so he can make a wish shoots her instead of tasing her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭Value Hunter

I always view these threads as being created purely to satisfy the anti-america bias of some posters.

Never see any threads on South African police killings.

http://www.economist.com/node/21526932

What is peoples fixation with the U.S?

Its pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,642 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

*snip*

The incident has exposed a litany of incompetence, apparent political corruption, white privilege, the ridiculous gun culture, police brutality and racism in the Tulsa police and once again raises the issue of dysfunctional law enforcement in the United States.

Harris was no angel and many would say Bates deserves a medal for taking him out - albeit unintentionally - but this incident is the latest in litany of shocking incidents that lay bare outrageous behavior by U.S. law enforcement.

How exactly is it racist to accidentally shoot somebody?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

Suppose some drunk young hot white blonde college cheerleader is being arrested and this rich old fart who bought his badge so he can make a wish shoots her instead of tasing her?

They just get the hot drunk ones to perform a field sobriety test, ask them to bend over a lot and capture it on the dash cam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Completely ignore what actually happened for a made up story?

How exactly is it racist to accidentally shoot somebody?

If the suspect who was killed was a sweet hot young blonde girl would the police have initially called it excusable?

He's old. Old people mix stuff up all the time. An old Gard down the road went to breathylyse me there last week and knocked out two of my front teeth with his asp. Sh1t happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

He never said anything about the guy being black. Why are you making it about that ? He has little sympathy for a drug dealing weapon smuggler . hyperbole about white cheerleaders is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Good riddance to bad rubbish.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Checks, fails to find even one feck given....moves on....

You may not give a "feck" that someone was killed.....do you give a "feck" that someone paid to hunt a human?

It's a little unnerving that you feel this way (and it doesn't make you tough).

He never said anything about the guy being black. Why are you making it about that ? He has little sympathy for a drug dealing weapon smuggler . hyperbole about white cheerleaders is irrelevant.

I'm also slightly lolling that a bad-ass Gangster got capped by an old white fart who used to sell insurance tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Egginacup wrote: »
    You may not give a "feck" that someone was killed.....do you give a "feck" that someone paid to hunt a human?

You're like a tabloid headline you know that.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

I always view these threads as being created purely to satisfy the anti-america bias of some posters.

Its pathetic

How many millions have South Africa killed in the last 50 years? That's question number one.

Question number two is ... how often after they killed millions has South Africa said that they are just peace loving good-guys reluctanctly liberating millions, as they kill other millions.

You don't like being painted as a thug? Don't be one then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

While the "hunting" part is slightly hyperbolic, it is very unnerving that minimally trained people can pay to play cop, and be armed while engaging in potentially dangerous police activities.

This is compounded by the fact that a man of his age was in that position, given he was well beyond what should be the retirement age for desk cops - never mind cops engaged in street work.

Regardless of your feelings on the victims past, the fact that pandering to wealthy donors is seen as a higher priority than ensuring the integrity of the police department and the safety of the public is truly frightening.

And I don't think a victim's past can really have any bearing on the legitimacy of the killing of a man who had already been subdued and posed no danger to officers.

How many millions have South Africa killed in the last 50 years? That's question number one.

Question number two is ... how often after they killed millions has South Africa said that they are just peace loving good-guys reluctanctly liberating millions, as they kill other millions.

You don't like being painted as a thug? Don't be one then!

This is about the doddery rich old American guy mixing up his equipment. Quit dragging other stuff in. Unless you're Harris, this is comedy gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

So the fact that a 72 year old was able to pay money to play at being a cop, and killed someone, apparently doesn't bother some people. Regardless of the suspected criminal behavior, the fact that a rich old man (who I am going to go out on a limb here, would be well past retirement age for a cop going out to arrest someone) who was clearly incompetent was allowed to be involved in an arrest.

The people responsible for this farcical situation need to be lose there jobs, as there clearly incompetent.

Regardless of the accused suspected crimes, he should have had his day in court, and not have been shot by an old man who had no business being there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

The poster never mentioned race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Terrible reply. He only mentioned his crimes, not his race.

Still absolutely bullsh1t that some sham rented a badge and killed a lad. That's the real story here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

The incident has exposed a litany of

incompetence - You got that bit right.

apparent political corruption: How so?

white privilege: Again, how so? The suspect wasn't killed because he was black, he was killed because the part-time cop was incompetent. And why are people getting hung up on the fact that Bates was rich? Contributing money to local services seems pretty civic minded actually. A valid question is what tests and training did he have to pass before being allowed on the streets, a 73 year old wouldn't be allowed to be an auxiliary Guard here, let alone be given a gun.

the ridiculous gun culture: How do you make that out? The cop went for his taser, it's because of his incompetence/panic/senility that the suspect was shot.

police brutality: the treatment of the suspect after he was shot didn't seem appropriate thats for sure.

racism: Huh? How do you deduce that there was a racist element? Even the suspects own brother said at a press conference that he didn't believe it was racially motivated.
    but this incident is the latest in litany of shocking incidents that lay bare outrageous behavior by U.S. law enforcement.

It was a tragic, stupid accident but you really are over-reacting to lump it in with other incidents. What it does is to open up questions as to the fitness, training and suitability of auxiliary cops in that police department.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I've heard of "outfitters" in the USA, farms stocked with African wildlife. Rich people pay to "hunt" the wild animals.

This is something like that but with humans, or like the film "Westworld".
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Westworld

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

I'm not racist, I'm ageist.
    A 70 odd year old man should not be given a gun and allowed on the "beat'. Can he run after criminals and make an arrest? No, can he stop a disturbance without using a gun? No.
    Can he remember the way home? Probably not.
    Yet he was a part time cop?
    Madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,695 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Why are 2 colours mentioned in the title?

If this was an accident then race doesn't come into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭deandean

Sounds just like one of those pay-per-animal big game hunts in Africa. Where the young rangers trap an animal and then the rich old American with a big gun gets to make the kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

deandean wrote: »
    Sounds just like one of those pay-per-animal big game hunts in Africa. Where the young rangers trap an animal and then the rich old American with a big gun gets to make the kill.

It only sounds like that if you only read the hyperbolic thread title. If you actually read the facts it isn't anything like what you said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,695 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Surely a guy out on a cruise with real cops should have been carrying any weapons at all, be it tazer or real gun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Colinf1212

If the suspect who was killed was a sweet hot young blonde girl would the police have initially called it excusable?
    It would be excusable if she was a drug dealing weapons supplier, yes. Finished with your race fetishism? Go back to watching cuckold videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

Is there any evidence to back up the "pay for play" line?
    Cant find anything online saying that Reserves in Tulsa need to pay

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Him being white and wealthy was definitely relative enough to include as a headline.

If it was a poor Asian man would that have been included? A poor Indian man?

How about a poor black man? That definitely would've been included, right? "A POOR BLACK MAN shoots ANOTHER BLACK MAN!"

I love how details like this have become something that can be included in stories as almost a negative lol. And usually by people who claim they want equality. "We want equality!...except for white males. Literally everyone of them, ever has been bad so let's treat them all bad...b-but yeah, EQUALITY!...for us"

That said. This even happening is fuking stupid. What a stupid initiative to have setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

There is currently no evidence to suggest the shooter and the shootee were not in a secret gay relationship.

Is that your answer to everything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Speaking of Hyperbole......

Maybe Vlad could give the old lad a job NOT invading Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Apart from him being 70 and all the rest there is training questions here if you see most armed officers anywhere in the world even armed gardai your taser and your firearm are holstered on different places most iv seen is gun on hip taser on front of there bulletproof vest so you don't make a mistake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Its pathetic

But, but. George Bush....world bank....illuminati....

sjb25 wrote: »
    Apart from him being 70 and all the rest there is training questions here if you see most armed officers anywhere in the world even armed gardai your taser and your firearm are holstered on different places most iv seen is gun on hip taser on front of there bulletproof vest so you don't make a mistake

I'd imagine the training he got was minimal at best. Even training for regular cops can be pretty minimal. They made a series of documentary movies about it in the 1980's.

That's what I'm saying I'd say he hadn't a clue what he was doing is more so the problem not race or guns or any of that a properly trained officer would have tazed the guy arrested him and we would never have heard about it and this gobsh1t pulls a gun instead of tazer and shoots him

Oh that absolutely is the problem. The other stuff is just people with an agenda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Look at the taser used in the "horse beating" video. It's practically a hand held high vis jacket. Now look at a hand gun. Even an American couldn't mix the two. Imo, it was absolutely deliberate. That aside, why give a toss what colour he was? Why is that important when the scumbag was a drug dealer?

Huh? this is what a taser looks like http://www.berkeleyside.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/Police_issue_X26_TASER-white.jpg

It looks very much like a pistol.

Its pathetic

Because if you're not on the internet often, then your news likely comes tv, radio and newspapers. None of which care, unfortunately.

Huh? this is what a taser looks like http://www.berkeleyside.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/Police_issue_X26_TASER-white.jpg

That yellow box is impossible not to see! :eek: And it's likely only half the weight. Handguns are surprisingly heavy for their size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,222 ✭✭✭circadian

This is the first time I've ever seen feck given the Dr Evil treatment.

What gives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

So rich old lads can now pay to go on cop safari essentially?

Madness

That yellow box is impossible not to see! :eek: And it's likely only half the weight. Handguns are surprisingly heavy for their size.

i know how heavy a handgun is. and you are assuming he looked at what he had in his hand before pulling the trigger. This was a 73 year old guy probably drawing a weapon for the first time in his life. He isnt going to get the weighing scales out.

Bambi wrote: »
    So rich old lads can now pay to go on cop safari essentially?

Madness

hyperbole much?

The yellow part weight and fact that they should be holstered in different locations should stop the mistakes

In this video a member of the garda ERU shows of his gear as you can see with him his gun and tazer are at different sides of the body also different colours so should be no mistake https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=DOBLaST44oY

i know how heavy a handgun is. and you are assuming he looked at what he had in his hand before pulling the trigger. This was a 73 year old guy probably drawing a weapon for the first time in his life. He isnt going to get the weighing scales out.

The difference would be far easier to tell than would require a scales. And he was already on the ground, held by cops. Why was a taser needed? Would that not have shocked anyone in contact? Now way, this was as deliberate as anything. That old man wanted him shot, for whatever reason, but they stupidly tried to cover it up and now he's done. It's the blatant lie that's annoying me here. Moreso than the the fact you can pay to be a cop. And while black lives matter, drug dealers don't. If they rally behind this man and protest on the back of another media ****storm, I'll lose a lot of respect tbh.