Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF wants to "Reclaim the Streets"

• 02-04-2015 9:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭

Apparently they want to set up a special Garda unit to deal with junkies, drugs, antisocial scumbags and the like and generally do to Dublin what was done with Limerick, by all accounts.

Can't support this idea enough to be honest. We were just away for a few days and driving through Dublin today it struck me how untidy the place was, even leaving aside the drug use in broad daylight and other issues. We need to seriously crack down on this at least in busy areas at first.

Link
    Fianna Fáil has said a special Garda unit should “reclaim the streets” from people intent on public disorder and antisocial behaviour in Dublin city centre.

The party’s justice spokesman Niall Collins has brought forward a bill to establish a new unit charged with improving safety and tackling petty crime. He described it as a constructive proposal to help clean up the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Maybe... just maybe... the current Gardai could just do their job. That'd be helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I have to agree. I rarely go into Dublin. I had to go in yesterday with my wife and boy to pick up their pass ports.

It struck me how scummy Dublin is. Loads if druggies, homeless, beggars and general tracksuit attired scum bags all over the place. And I ever only saw four cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Yeah..employ another special force to do the job of the orignal force

Seems great idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

Reclaim the feckin Banks...then reclaim the streets..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

The Gardai have been used to police water meter installations. This been an appalling failure. Trust and respect, gone, eroded.

That is fundamental. So lads, they have a bigger problem here than a few batons and water cannons will resolve now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,434 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

sdanseo wrote: »
    Apparently they want to set up a special Garda unit to deal with junkies, drugs, antisocial scumbags and the like and generally do to Dublin what was done with Limerick, by all accounts.

Can't support this idea enough to be honest. We were just away for a few days and driving through Dublin today it struck me how untidy the place was, even leaving aside the drug use in broad daylight and other issues. We need to seriously crack down on this at least in busy areas at first.

Link

Begs the question - what has been done with Limerick?

As far as I'm aware, it's no different than Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

After what happened before, I find it hard to believe FF even still exists, let alone take them seriously

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

If we didn't have to spend so much money investigating this rotten shower of bastards in Fianna fail and there mates, there would be a lot more guards to chase down the junkies and fellows Robbin cars!

Fianna fail can **** off, wasn't there justice spokesman the same fellow that was writing to judges to get convicted drug dealers let off last year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

There are more than enough laws to deal with this issue....its enforcement is the issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Ff did more damage to this country than a bunch of junkies ever did.

They can **** right off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Look how they cleaned up new York.

It's possible with a bit of forward thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,852 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

They had something similar to that in NY but it got shut down after they shot 'ol dirty bastard.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Street_Crimes_Unit

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

JustTheOne wrote: »

Exactly.

Now if Don Bertie ahern just handed himself in, that would be a great start from Fianna fail. Show they really mean business!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Fianna Fail should be barred from speaking. Then the party should be outlawed, like the catholic cult

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 969 ✭✭✭JacquesDeLad

If they lock-up these rent-a-mob thugs who attach themselves to water protests it would free up a lot of Gardai for dealing everyday crime, instead of having to protect public servants and people working on behalf of the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The Fianna Fail Crime Family should have been made a proscribed organisation after they destroyed the country

they will never come back and the 19% who vote for them in polls will be dead in 20 years time

fcuk them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Yes.. lets push all the seedy behavior into alleys where nobody will walk and we can all quickly forget about it so we don't have to face it ourselves.

Laws against loitering are laws against doing nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Take their free travel passes off them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

myshirt wrote: »
    The Gardai have been used to police water meter installations. This been an appalling failure. Trust and respect, gone, eroded.

That is fundamental. So lads, they have a bigger problem here than a few batons and water cannons will resolve now.

Unfortunately the Gardaí have lost all respect in a lot of communities over the water fiasco and they continue to do so.

Anyway on the OP I just laugh when FF suggest anything as they are the ones who destroyed the lives of countless people in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

Like Limerick?

Sure they tackled the drug dealers that were so out of control they had no other option but apart from that the gangs in Limerick are very much still in operation with a whole new generation waiting in the wings to take control.

And Willie O'Dea, the former Minister for Defence, was in cabinet for years while crime, poverty and social neglect spiralled out of control with the likes of Moyross and South Hill left to fester into ghettos like something out of a war zone.

Meanwhile anti-social behaviour is completely out of control in Limerick amongst gangs of teenagers. There is a whole thread about it here.

Willie O'Dea has a clinic right on the edge of one of the worst areas in Limerick for anti-social behaviour and he has done sweet FA about it, didn't want to know and walked past businesses and houses who were being terrorised on a daily basis without so much as stopping to ask people what was going on.

**** Fianna Fail, a party of traitors to the state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

I'd have to agree, I drive around various parts of the city on a daily basis,you do see some goings on.much worse the last while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Reclaim the feckin Banks...then reclaim the streets..

Nonsensical.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Bertie the the lying fkucer who played us all for fools for so long and nearly got away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Fianna Fail should be barred from speaking. Then the party should be outlawed, like the catholic cult

Yes, that would work. :rolleyes:

Let's ban things we don't like.

The Fianna Fail Crime Family should have been made a proscribed organisation after they destroyed the country

they will never come back and the 19% who vote for them in polls will be dead in 20 years time

fcuk them

I'm from the FF gene pool and would have been a member of the Ógra in Trinity when I was there. I won't be voting for FF in this election as I think they need another term on the opposition benches, but to suggest they will disappear is the type of thinking that comes about from those who have a Che Guevara t-shirt and pie-in-the-sky notions about the ability of radical socialism to benefit a great little social democracy like Ireland.

FF still has a fine party structure and many fine young people moving through the ranks. Our challenge is to let the real working class know that their best interests are served through a strong FF party. There are challenges in taking back the large rump of middle-class voters who would be soft FF voters, but now find themselves starting to think that FG are the party that best represent them.

You can have your big ideas about SF, a pay for nothing and expect everything culture, and raising the fist. It's a pipedream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Redmen Rafalution

It's amazing that they have only just thought of this now. Did it not occur to them to do this when they had 10+ years in government?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Bertie the the lying fkucer who played us all for fools for so long and nearly got away with it.

No not us all just the gullible ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I swear on me tash its daycent hash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

I'm from the FF gene pool and would have been a member of the Ógra in Trinity when I was there. I won't be voting for FF in this election as I think they need another term on the opposition benches, but to suggest they will disappear is the type of thinking that comes about from those who have a Che Guevara t-shirt and pie-in-the-sky notions about the ability of radical socialism to benefit a great little social democracy like Ireland.

FF still has a fine party structure and many fine young people moving through the ranks. Our challenge is to let the real working class know that their best interests are served through a strong FF party. There are challenges in taking back the large rump of middle-class voters who would be soft FF voters, but now find themselves starting to think that FG are the party that best represent them.

You can have your big ideas about SF, a pay for nothing and expect everything culture, and raising the fist. It's a pipedream.

What a load of bollocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Redmen Rafalution

JustTheOne wrote: »

How, by introducing abortion?

It's possible that legalising abortion contributed to NYC's crime drop, as well as the famous 'zero tolerance' approach.

Your living in imagination land with that waffle, FF a party of sleeveens, crooks and populist opportunists and thats all they ever will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Typo in thread title?
    Should it be "FF want to reclaim their seats"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭towelly

C'mere, you'd want to sort out your Ogra heads, because one of the more senior ones used to be a member of SF, and often likes or favourites SF reps posts on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,407 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I'm in the city on a daily basis and I just can not understand how they can not get a grip on the drug problem in prominent areas.

Of course all the meth clinics in such a small area don't help. Every day addicts from all over Leinster are piling in to a relatively small but important part of the city center and that's asking for trouble. If it were up to me i'd have them all removed to an abandoned industrial estate some where in the outskirts like they do in proper, well run cities.

Dublin city center has actually been vandalised by Dublin city council through stupid planning.

More like ban things that have never done any good for the country and have collectively done more damage than the brits ever did

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    What a load of bollocks

You'll have to explain in rather more detail. FF aren't suddenly going to disappear off the Irish political landscape. They still have a strong party structure, are far more transfer friendly than Labour, and infinitely more transfer friendly than SF. They also have a large vote base who would traditionally have voted for FF for family reasons, and who don't tend to forget that after less than a generation.

There's realpolitik; the utter fantasies of the far left, and the bipolar machinations of SF supporters. FG will be the majority partner in the next government. Who they decide to sleep beside has still to be decided by the undecided.

I'm from the FF gene pool and would have been a member of the Ógra in Trinity when I was there. I won't be voting for FF in this election as I think they need another term on the opposition benches

Sorry to hear that :p

Seriously though, I think they're likely to get back into government this time round, in coalition with FG I think in order to stave off any challenge from SF and the independents.

Spoken like a true politician - you got the working class and the middle class all in one, which sounds great, but you'll really be more dependent on your old reliable - the upper class.

Niall Collins is the same - couldn't get out of Limerick fast enough to rub shoulders with the top knobs for the party jobs in Dublin. He'll never be one of them though, but because he's young and naive, he's useful... for now.

A pipe dream is Padraig Flynn when questioned on how he manages to maintain two properties at opposite ends of the country -

"You should try it some time"

And as it turned out, people DID try it under FF government (or should that be FE, for False Economy), and failed, because it was a pipe dream, no different than the pipe dream espoused by Niall Collins in first of all implying that he has somehow single-handedly cleaned up the streets of Limerick (he hasn't), and implying that FF could do the same in Dublin (they won't).

All this was, is more political posturing and a shot across FG's bow ahead of the General Election.

You'll have to explain in rather more detail. FF aren't suddenly going to disappear off the Irish political landscape. They still have a strong party structure, are far more transfer friendly than Labour, and infinitely more transfer friendly than SF. They also have a large vote base who would traditionally have voted for FF for family reasons, and who don't tend to forget that after less than a generation.

There's realpolitik; the utter fantasies of the far left, and bipolar machinations of SF supporters. FG will be the majority partner in the next government. Who they decide to sleep beside has still to be decided by the undecided.
    Rather than what is in the best interests of the country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

And this, in no small part, is a key reason why our political landscape is the farce that it is.

"But... but we're a Fianna Fail family!"

Pfft, when did anyone get into politics motivated by doing what was in the best interests of their country? :pac:

Ireland is one of the most prosperous, peaceful and egalitarian societies in the World. This came about through pragmatism, a strong civil service, and the populace not voting for the far left or the far right. Ireland went from being one of the poorest countries in Western Europe to a place where it is now experiencing levels of economic growth that has Europe talking. Austerity worked, and 90 years of successive FF and FG led governments worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,407 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Yeah but would Sinn Féin policies of effectively evicting anyone with money (because they won't stay) out of the country through theft really going to improve the lot of the country?

No.

So criticise FF but look long and hard as well at SF and it's FF only back in the 1930's. We had 50 subsequent years of mass emigration and poverty through stupid populism.

Leading is not about being populist. It is about dishing out the medicine in the best interests of the country and people even if they may think it is not in their interests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

I'm from the FF gene pool and would have been a member of the Ógra in Trinity when I was there.

That explains a lot.

FF still has a fine party structure and many fine young people moving through the ranks.

So did the Waffen SS, and they were also a shower of cvnts.

Ireland is one of the most prosperous, peaceful and egalitarian societies in the World. This came about through pragmatism, a strong civil service, and the populace not voting for the far left or the far right. Ireland went from being one of the poorest countries in Western Europe to a place where it is now experiencing levels of economic growth that has Europe talking. Austerity worked, and 90 years of successive FF and FG led governments worked.

No thanks to FF though, who, every time they got into government, simply abused their position and left it to FG to clean up their mess. Austerity wouldn't have been necessary were it not for FF and their "party time" popularity politics every time they got a chance at the helm.

At the same time though, I believe that as a party, they're no better than SF, they just happen to know the right people, whereas SF will only ever be slumming it with the plebs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

Fianna Fail and their ilk should be driven like rats across the tundra. Preferably into a bottomless chasm never to be seen or heard from again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Fianna Fail and their ilk should be driven like rats across the tundra. Preferably into a bottomless chasm never to be seen or heard from again.

Sir, I object to this comparison, I think it is very unfair to compare rats to loathsome vermin.

That explains a lot.

So did the Waffen SS, and they were also a shower of cvnts.

Yes, comparing FF to the Nazi Party is an extremely nuanced and balanced position to take. I can really see how you've thought this whole thing through.

A ship of fools being sailed by a crew of idiots onto the rocks of despair . This is the best analogy I can think of if FF were reinstated back as the ruling party in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

So instead of fixing the root causes of the social malaise that FF are in large part responsible for creating, they want to sweep it out of sight - nice.

The best service FF can do for the country is to fúck off and die as a party.

Locally, it really doesn't matter what party we vote in, in the end, because every party that is voted in will be working within the same economic restrictions, created by the Euro.
    What matters now is politics at an EU level, and getting enough EU countries electing left-leaning parties, to change the tide in EU politics - overpowering Germany's resistance to a massive EU-based spending boost - this could take more than a decade, and isn't likely to happen at all.

If we want to go down the path to contributing to that though, SF are the most likely choice there - but personally, I don't think I could vote for a party with such an ambiguous history myself. I still view them much more highly than FF though.

So instead of fixing the root causes of the social malaise that FF are in large part responsible for creating, they want to sweep it out of sight - nice.

The best service FF can do for the country is to fúck off and die as a party.

Locally, it really doesn't matter what party we vote in, in the end, because every party that is voted in will be working within the same economic restrictions, created by the Euro.
    What matters now is politics at an EU level, and getting enough EU countries electing left-leaning parties, to change the tide in EU politics - overpowering Germany's resistance to a massive EU-based spending boost - this could take more than a decade, and isn't likely to happen at all.

If we want to go down the path to contributing to that though, SF are the most likely choice there - but personally, I don't think I could vote for a party with such an ambiguous history myself. I still view them much more highly than FF though.

I won't ask you to suggest an alternative as we can all be spared that particular brand of overindulgent nonsense.

I'd ask you to visit the http://www.globalrichlist.com/ and enter your wage. See how you're positioned compared to the most of the other humans living in the world instead of having to suffer in the capitalist hellhole on the edge of Western Europe that you struggle to live in on a daily basis.

As my grandfather used to say, 'they are still talking out their bollocks in that house".