Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gta taking over my relationship!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭eamonnq

pharmaton wrote: »
    Have an emotional affair with somebody who posts post 62 on this thread!!!

FYP :D

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭TheBrinch

Scratch the disc

You are the worst kind of person

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Do you have a computer? Does he like football? buy him football manager problem solved......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

i think people are being way too harsh on the op's husband,

i mean the poor guy wants to spend a night gaming and is getting all this grief for it? it'd be much worse if he spent the equivalent time in the pub, or out with friends....

i say stop arguing with him over the ps4 and grab yourself a hobby of your own, (like leaving him babysit while you go to the pub, or out with friends, or something....)

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭CantonasCollar

Do you have a computer? Does he like football? buy him football manager problem solved......

That would free up the TV, assuming he doesn't hook the pc up to the TV for a wide screen monitor. Unfortunately, football manager is a whole other level of addiction compared to GTA V

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

That would free up the TV, assuming he doesn't hook the pc up to the TV for a wide screen monitor. Unfortunately, football manager is a whole other level of addiction compared to GTA V

Shhhh don't ruin the surprise!

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭Uncle Ruckus

I used to be "addicted" to video games-when I was about ten. After that they just became a favoured pastime. I don't understand how it's possible for an adult to be addicted to video games.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Well, if he's hogging the TV then that's not really fair to the OP. He'd be bitching if she was hogging the TV on soaps and girly dramas all evenings like........eurgh..........Grey's Anatomy. If he wants to play the console so much and for a few hours at a time then he should just buy another TV for himself. Makes life easier for the both of them.

I've the HTPC hooked up to the TV that I use for gaming but I make sure not to hog the TV on herself. I'm a night owl and she's usually passed out around 10 / 11pm so I get more than enough time.

She has her own woman cave in a spare room with another TV running a Raspberry Pi and her music instruments / laptop so she likes chilling out there or meditating.

AH Answer: Have him killed and claim the TV for yourself. Anyone asks questions then have them killed too, no witnesses.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

I used to be "addicted" to video games-when I was about ten. After that they just became a favoured pastime. I don't understand how it's possible for an adult to be addicted to video games.

What about alcohol, drugs, sex, pornography, fitness, cigarettes, tv soaps, gambling, sweets, etc....

Adults can get addicted to anything, just depends on the adult.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I don't understand how it's possible for an adult to be addicted to gambling or alcohol either, but sh*t apparently happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

Block the PS from the router so it can't connect to the net. Or get the IP address of the PS and flood it with pings non stop from another PC that might slow it down ping <ip address> -t -l 1025 -w 50 When he's out micro wave the disk or the PS or both, you may need to buy a new micro wave after that.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,252 ✭✭✭✭endacl

GMCED wrote: »
    Ok folks on a moan here, my husband recently got ps4 and plays gta... I don't get a look in a the the TV anymore, all our latest arguments are over the ps, it's really starting to piss me off!!

Your husband? The grownup?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭Beefy78

endacl wrote: »
    Your husband? The grownup?

The average gamer is 35 years old, in a relationship, plays for 2.5hrs a night five nights a week and frequently argues with his/her partner about the hobby. Sounds like the OP's husband is pretty normal.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/news/10159917/Average-video-game-fan-is-35-years-old.html

• Registered Users Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Beefy78 wrote: »
    The average gamer is 35 years old, in a relationship, plays for 2.5hrs a night five nights a week and frequently argues with his/her partner about the hobby. Sounds like the OP's husband is pretty normal.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/news/10159917/Average-video-game-fan-is-35-years-old.html

Don't mind them, they post the same rubbish every thread whenever they get a chance, i'd say it's tiresome, but now... now I just feel pity for the level of narrow mindedness.

Pretty representative of the demographic, perhaps? 'Normal' might be stretching it a bit though. In my immediate group of +/- 35yo's, I honestly can't think of a single individual who owns a console, let alone plays it five nights a week.

Most of my mates do. They're all fully-functioning human beings with jobs, kids, mortgages, etc, too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

GMCED wrote: »
    Always loved his games, but I'm hoping this new ps4 is just a phase, spends all his spare time on it! I never had a problem with it before!

I went out with a gaming addict. It wasn't nice. I eventually just gave up nagging at him, concentrated on my own hobbies and eventually broke up.

He didn't realise he was addicted to gaming until I ended the relationship.

EDIT: Gaming is grand but not when it takes over your whole life. My ex would spend 5 to 6 hours a day (after work) gaming and the whole weekend. He didn't have time for hobbies, friends or me because of work like, not because of gaming. :rolleyes: He's cut back a lot now and actually meets up with his friends and has hobbies apart from gaming.

I went out with a gaming addict. It wasn't nice. I eventually just gave up nagging at him, concentrated on my own hobbies and eventually broke up.

He didn't realise he was addicted to gaming until I ended the relationship.

How often would you say he played?

Most of my mates do. They're all fully-functioning human beings with jobs, kids, mortgages, etc, too.

I wouldn't dispute they're fully functioning. I just find it odd that the only people to ever quote that 35 yo is the average age of the gamer who plays for two hours a night kinda stuff, are 35yo gamers who play for two hours a night. Or, to put it another way, they are the only demographic to whom that fact is conversationally significant.

Cormac... wrote: »

Just edited my post there!! A LOT!

He admits now that he had a problem and used it as an escape.

I wouldn't dispute they're fully functioning. I just find it odd that the only people to ever quote that 35 yo is the average age of the gamer who plays for two hours a night kinda stuff, are 35yo gamers who play for two hours a night. Or, to put it another way, they are the only demographic to whom that fact is conversationally significant.

I'm not sure why you'd find that odd. Makes perfect sense to me.

Is the point not that if there are a lot of people in their teens playing video games and yet the average age is 35 then it follows that a significant proportion of people older than their teens are playing these games too. Even if your mates are too kool for skool this has to be more than a demographic thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭travis1976

I love Gta, I really do, but I wouldn't expect my wife to sit there looking at me playing it. I play after she's gone off to sleep, or save it up for the weekend, when herself might be out of a night.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Well the 35 year old gamer thing shouldn't be odd at all, these are people who grew up with gaming that was huge in the early/mid 90's so if they enjoyed gaming then it wouldn't be a surprise that they still do today, especially with the popularity of multiplayer these days.

But hogging the TV from the person you're living with is taking the piss, though.

Just for the record, I don't having anything against gaming as long as it is done in moderation. I used to love Crash Bandicoot and I recently replayed Pokemon leaf green, great game. There is nothing wrong with it, loads of adults play games. The average age of a gamer being 35 doesn't surprise me.

I would have been worried if my ex had been glued to the telly for the same amount of time he had spent gaming. Just wanted to clarify that.

travis1976 wrote: »
    I love Gta, I really do, but I wouldn't expect my wife to sit there looking at me playing it. I play after she's gone off to sleep, or save it up for the weekend, when herself might be out of a night.

Yeah it is pretty selfish behaviour. I'd be more concerned about the selfishness as opposed to the object of that selfishness, if that makes sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭Joeface

OP I feel the only real and true solution is You must convey that GTA is having a real world affect

Next time your are traveling with your OH and ye stop at traffic lights and a nicer car than yours pulls up beside ye , calmly turn to your OH and say " I will be right back " , Swiftly get out , Drag the driver out of the other car and beat them senseless while calmly but Happily asking your OH "am I doing it right".

I do not approve of this but to me its the only option.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

travis1976 wrote: »

Same deal. I bought a PS4 the day it came out and have hardly touched it. She loves TV and film and I'd rather let her at it - that's something we can do together at least. I usually just stick it on for an hour or two when I have the place to myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭beyondbelief67

How old are your children op ? If old enough maybe get them a children's game to play so he has to spend some time with you and you can talk ?
    And maybe he will feel to bad to try and kick them of it ?
    Failing that play station and hammer do not go well together but it worked for me ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

Cormac... wrote: »

Someone is worried there gaming to much, me thinks.........

wes wrote: »
    Someone is worried there gaming to much, me thinks.........

Haha, maybe :pac:

*Breaks down sobbing uncontrollably*

It's all true :(
    I have a problem!