Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is being unemployed the most soul destroying thing ever

• 10-03-2015 5:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

So im now on week three on my first time ever unemployed. I decided to track everything with a diary to hopefully keep sane or just because ive fook all else to do,

To put it into context im 29. Hold a college degree and have years in IT sales/business de elopment a sector which is tough and shown by the media as the sector to be in

So ive applied for 11 jobs

2- opened for sh!tes and giggles as internal rep had be offered job already
    1- sorry you dont fell the criteria
    The rest with zero contact..

One giant company (it green, its a fruit,great for tarts) i applied for 2 roles and i was recommended internally,both times i mailed the recruiters and both lacked the respect to reply

Yesterday i visited the dole who gave megrief as my redundant pack was on non headed paper..i had to go back to old company and get headed paper

ROFL

I know After hours isnt the correct forum for this its the highest volume forum on here

So AH tell me yer experiences...cheer me up

How do you fill the day as im going off my nut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I've hated every job I've ever had, so being unemployed no biggie for me, recent research concluded that being stuck in a job you hate is worse for your mental health than being unemployed.

Learn a language or a musical instrument to fill the day, something of far more intrinsic value that being sat in an office with networkers, cowards and creeps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Wanting to be paid is the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

dd972 wrote: »
    I've hated every job I've ever had, so being unemployed no biggie for me, recent research concluded that being stuck in a job you hate is worse for your mental health than being unemployed.

Jeez i dunno about that

At times i hated my old job but i loved my team...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Specialun wrote: »
    Is being unemployed the most soul destroying thing ever

I'd say being raped or the loss of a child probably pips it tbh..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

So im now on week three on my first time ever unemployed. I decided to track everything with a diary to hopefully keep sane or just because ive fook all else to do,

To put it into context im 29. Hold a college degree and have years in IT sales/business de elopment a sector which is tough and shown by the media as the sector to be in

One giant company (it green, its a fruit,great for tarts) i applied for 2 roles and i was recommended internally,both times i mailed the recruiters and both lacked the respect to reply

Yesterday i visited the dole who gave megrief as my redundant pack was on non headed paper..i had to go back to old company and get headed paper

ROFL

I know After hours isnt the correct forum for this its the highest volume forum on here

Give the money back so and then we'll see how miserable you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

mikom wrote: »

F**king hell like, you can't say anything here nowadays without white knighting... but THIS.... jeez Mikom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭MrWalsh

Was made redundant after 14 years in a job. The team was like a family. The redundancy payment allowed me take some time out.

Best 2 years of my life EVER. Back working a couple of years now and I just feel like Im on a treadmill. My priorities totally changed during the 2 years off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,446 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Only if you don't hate being unemployed.

Learn a language or a musical instrument to fill the day, something of far more intrinsic value that being sat in an office with networkers, cowards and creeps.

Ahh, clearly you're not a fan of being employed, cuts into your leisure time.

OP would you think about using your skills to do volunteer work? You'll be able to keep your social welfare benefits while also keeping your skills sharp and meeting people who could well lead to you gaining employment again.

Fook me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

I've been unemployed a couple of times in my life and I think it's ****in' great... for about a week. After that it's boring. Thankfully I haven't been unemployed in about 3 years. Just keep trying OP. You'll get there eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Honestly retail is the most soul destroying thing ever. Its like Ground hog the film. But at least Ground hog days in the film. In real life you still do the same tasks everyday, still deal with the same ****ty customers and deal with managers with a superiority complex.I did 1 week of retail in TY as work experience. It gave me the motivation to go to college. Literally everyone told me to go to college in that job. So I did to make sure I dont have to work retail for the rest of my life

I worked retail last year(kinda full-time/part-time in college) and honestly everyday I slowly lost the will to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Public amenities and very cost effective amenities that require payment yet kill a lot of time for your buck would be the way to go. Visit a second hand book shop, then the library, then a cafe for tea, then lidl, then fas (or whatever it is now) etc.. Spend no more than 10 euros and accept no less than 4 hours out of the house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Nope it's fvcking awesome. What a gorgeous March day it was today. Sun blazing away in that gentle little playful "just in case you forgot lads, summer's on the way" way that it has, the delightful little scamp. 188 quid in the back burner. And as the droves March endlessly into drab grey buildings to coup themselves away and clickity clack away as that demonic blue-white screen light scorches their soul away through their blood shot eyeballs, everyday is a summer holiday for us. Up at 10 to pop down to the phoenix Park to hand feed some cute little deer.

Then into the city centre for a spot of archery. Archery no less! Sure why not, have the time to learn and always wanted to. All the time in the world. Pop in for a quick pint of some pineapple ale in a nice little beer garden with a good book, just chillin like. Stopping to have a bit of a laugh with the other free people in between chapters.

Pop in for a little bet on Cheltenham. Just a small one mind, fiver each way double. Free tea and sausage sandwiches? Don't mind if I do. Thank you mister bookmaker. Boom! Two second places. That'll do nicely.

Then a spot of people watching down on grafton Street. And take in some busking. Some of these guys are actually pretty good. Must be from all the time they have to practice from being on the dole I guess?

And it's only 5:20. Tuesdays are awesome!

strobe wrote: »
    Nope it's fvcking awesome. What a gorgeous March day it was today. Sun blazing away in that gentle little playful "just in case you forgot lads, summer's on the way" way that it has, the delightful little scamp. 188 quid in the back burner. And as the droves March endlessly into drab grey buildings to coup themselves away and clickity clack away as that demonic blue-white screen light scorches their soul away through their blood shot eyeballs, everyday is a summer holiday for us. Up at 10 to pop down to the phoenix Park to hand feed some cute little deer.

Then into the city centre for a spot of archery. Archery no less! Sure why not, have the time to learn and always wanted to. All the time in the world. Pop in for a quick pint of some pineapple ale in a nice little beer garden with a good book, just chillin like. Stopping to have a bit of a laugh with the other free people in between chapters.

Pop in for a little bet on Cheltenham. Just a small one mind, fiver each way double. Free tea and sausage sandwiches? Don't mind if I do. Thank you mister bookmaker. Boom! Two second places. That'll do nicely.

Then a spot of people watching down on grafton Street. And take in some busking. Some of these guys are actually pretty good. Must be from all the time they have to practice from being on the dole I guess?

That does sound awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭blackbird 49

My husband was made redundant in October 2011, it was hard for him after been in the same job since he left school, 29 yrs in total. For the first year he didn't do much ie look for work but the depression started to sink in, he started drinking every night even drinking wine that had been in the garage for ages could of been out of date he never noticed, I tried to get him interested in things I go jogging/walking buthe had no interest and he put on a bit of weight, in January 2013 he started a ce scheme and while it was not his cup of tea it got him out of bed in the morning, at the end of Nov 2013 he got offered a job he had applied for and started that in December 2013 he's now in that job over a year and loves it, I have to admit the depression still comes and goes with him but as he says himself it did effect him badly being unemployed as he felt worthless, my advise is to keep busy take up a hobby something to get you out of the bed and while you may not get replies back keep applying for jobs, ( it's one thing social welfare will keep asking you) or try and get on one of the courses social welfare have also. Sorry for the long post. Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

hfallada wrote: »
    Honestly retail is the most soul destroying thing ever. Its like Ground hog the film. But at least Ground hog days in the film. In real life you still do the same tasks everyday, still deal with the same ****ty customers and deal with managers with a superiority complex.I did 1 week of retail in TY as work experience. It gave me the motivation to go to college. Literally everyone told me to go to college in that job. So I did to make sure I dont have to work retail for the rest of my life

I worked retail last year(kinda full-time/part-time in college) and honestly everyday I slowly lost the will to live.

I worked a a summer in retail when I was 16, the money was above the adult minimum wage (just before the crash in 2008, summer 2007), but nothing ever made me want to go to college as much, 4 months felt like an era of mankind, but then others had worked for 20+years and many had say college wasn't for them and had been there but dropped out. I was always good at school but college was just a thing that i felt I was supposed to do, having worked there, I then knew I had to do

The funny thing is that was a different time in attitudes, people who had gotten their degress would be embarassed to work retail, because they couldn't become the job their degree specified , accountant, engineer what have you.

In the mid 2000's, The whole expectation and aspirational part of the future just getting brighter and brighter for no reason is something I really miss in a way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

It is only soul destroying if you determine your worth as a human being by subjugation to an employer.

When I was unemployed, the dole took care of the bills until I found a new job. I did not sit at home all day watching TV. I hiked in the Dublin Mountains, taught myself to paint watercolours, explored parts of Dublin I had never been too.

Realise your worth is greater than being a wage slave. A job is only a means to get money, it is all bull**** apart form that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    It is only soul destroying if you determine your worth as a human being by subjugation to an employer.

When I was unemployed, the dole took care of the bills until I found a new job. I did not sit at home all day watching TV. I hiked in the Dublin Mountains, taught myself to paint watercolours, explored parts of Dublin I had never been too.

Realise your worth is bigger than being a wage slave. A job is only a means to get money, it is all bull**** apart form that.

This is all true but its easier said than done. People always want to know what you do for a living, its hard to say you're not working. People make assumptions, you can lose your sense of value. I found it really hard to adjust after my job of 11 yrs went, it was like losing my family in a way. I did volunteer work and kept busy but its a big mental adjustment especially when society only sees value in paid work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Bloody Hell, 3 people I know have already resigned after reading that !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Have to say being in a low paying job you hate is worse than the dole. With the race to the bottom in full flow under this governments watch things are set to get only worse. Used to drive trucks and the pay was okay at 15.80 an hour but guys out there doing it for 5 euro an hour now and drawing the dole. Can't say I blame them it's dog eat dog at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭oceanman

Have to say being in a low paying job you hate is worse than the dole. With the race to the bottom in full flow under this governments watch things are set to get only worse. Used to drive trucks and the pay was okay at 15.80 an hour but guys out there doing it for 5 euro an hour now and drawing the dole. Can't say I blame them it's dog eat dog at this stage.
    yep that's sadly very true...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 616 ✭✭✭duckcfc

I was unemployed for 5 years and had great time. I could do what I wanted when I wanted and them wee lie ins in winter time were great. I now work for myself and and would rather be unemployed that working for someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Starting wages have decreased significantly since start of recession and efficency management and timing technology is being implemented widespread now. Workers are being effectively worked to the bone for little pay nowadays and expected to just be grateful for having a job. I can see the toll its taking on people's mental state.

I find it quite sickening to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

lol dark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Take some yokes OP and party on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

ROFL

Come back in 2 years sunshine...

Honestly, I was on off the dole for almost 2 years. I had some temp jobs during that time and I also worked for myself cleaning chimneys and washing windows. That was bloody awesome.

What I highlighted in bold there comes across as a bit arsey. These companies are massive, with thousands of applications a day/week/month, whatever. Your CV may not have been read by somebody. It may have been entered into some software and you just didn't make the cut.

Some will also say that working is soul destroying. My job certainly is. I am only there for less than 2 years and I hate almost every day of it. They won't even fire me... the bastards. My wages are good and we have lots of perks, but that doesn't mean jack shít to be honest.

If I were in your position I would learn a language, upskill, learn a musical instrument. I would most certainly take the time to travel as much as possible on a budget. I am quitting my shít job and emigrating in about 6 months... F it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭todders

Yokes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

My husband was made redundant in October 2011, it was hard for him after been in the same job since he left school, 29 yrs in total. For the first year he didn't do much ie look for work but the depression started to sink in, he started drinking every night even drinking wine that had been in the garage for ages could of been out of date he never noticed, I tried to get him interested in things I go jogging/walking buthe had no interest and he put on a bit of weight, in January 2013 he started a ce scheme and while it was not his cup of tea it got him out of bed in the morning, at the end of Nov 2013 he got offered a job he had applied for and started that in December 2013 he's now in that job over a year and loves it, I have to admit the depression still comes and goes with him but as he says himself it did effect him badly being unemployed as he felt worthless, my advise is to keep busy take up a hobby something to get you out of the bed and while you may not get replies back keep applying for jobs, ( it's one thing social welfare will keep asking you) or try and get on one of the courses social welfare have also. Sorry for the long post. Good luck

No such a thing exists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

ROFL

Three weeks is not a long time to be unemployed at all, try and do some things that you find it difficult to get to do when working.

Also, try and identify jobs most suited to you and hold out for them, I.e. don't panic into taking the first job coming. Also, remember that there are loads of fre training out there, use the time off to identify and take some training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Soul crusher 2000 patent pending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

It's a catch 22 really, work deprives you of the freedom of time, not having work deprives you of the freedom of money. Bad work deprives you of the freedom of both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

That's not unemployed; that's a day off. Do this for 185 consecutive days and you'll be practicing archery on the deer!

Being unemployed is soul-destroying if you want to be employed. Worst time of my life, although it collided with other issues for me. It's very important to me to contribute to my family's well-being; to do that I need to be working and earning. Holidays and downtime are great and important but I need to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I would rather be unemployed than in a job I hated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

There is only so much pulling your wire that can be done, so being unemployed is really a bad thing in terms of mental health if you ask me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 louiseber

I've hated every job I've ever had, so being unemployed no biggie for me

Infuriating post. 100 years ago if you refused to work, you would have starved. The welfare state has aided the decline in Western civilisation and made us complacent. This is why countries like China and India are racing ahead of us. Think about it - if everybody had your attitude and nobody worked, who would produce the goods that you consume like food or electronics?

For me the worst thing about being unemployed is that there's nothing to look forward to. Ya don't look forward to a day to yourself. You don't look forward to a few evening drinks because you're more annoyed at your mates for letting you down the last few times. You don't have enough money for a good holiday but you're up for getting smashed for a weekend, but no-one else is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I love Tuesdays too. It's my day of doing what you do, minus the betting.

Work is overated. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Rezident

I was unemployed for a year and it was generally far more enjoyable than my last job. Long-term unemployment must be hard of course (but how many people really could not get a job after two years of putting all their energy into job-hunting?). I'd say what is much more soul-destroying is not even wanting to work.

The Irish system of paying people for not working, does not work properly. The German system of paying you for the first year or unemployment and less for the second year etc. makes far more sense. The Irish system shows a fundamental lack of understanding of human nature, it encourages and rewards idleness. No wonder there's so many skangers happily skanging around town every day, they're well-paid for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

There maybe people out there working 40 hours a week ,on a low wage
    paying rent ,
    paying tax ,
    who have less money to spend than some one on the dole .
    IT depends on your attitude and how you react to being on the dole.
    i,d say being an alcoholic or a drug addict is alot worse than being on welfare.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

ROFL

With spelling and grammar like that, I'm not surprised you haven't received many replies. What was that degree in again? And did you actually pay for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Panda_Turtle

Being unemployed for longer than two months is c**p, you feel worthless.

Then again being employed is c**p too, ridiculous deadlines and culture of long working hours in most jobs i've had, feic all free time, and then the way the economy has gone no job certainty. although if the pay was high enough it could ease the pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭oceanman

OP, three weeks is not very long to be unemployed so don't go getting too worried, you will find that as the weeks melt into months and you find your routine its gets a lot easier and you start to really appreciate the time you have on you hands and the many things you can do with that time that your job prevented you from doing. the world around you is a wonderfull place once you open your eyes to it. chill and be happy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Being unemployed for longer than two months is c**p, you feel worthless.

Then again being employed is c**p too, ridiculous deadlines and culture of long working hours in most jobs i've had, feic all free time, and then the way the economy has gone no job certainty. although if the pay was high enough it could ease the pain.

Did...did you just censor 'crap'?...

ha ha ha ha :eek:

David brent " I think there's been a rape up there" always get their attention.!! jesus, why not add being French kissed by Hannibal lector, enivited to a musical chairs party held by ISIS!!!! guess what happens if you're standing when the music stops??? ye haayyyy you're a foot shorter!!

give the guy some support, he's obviously struggling ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Panda_Turtle

Did...did you just censor 'crap'?...

no sorry i misspelt c**tish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Spent 2 and a half months unemployed in early 2009. Yeah at the time it felt pretty undignified, didn't help most of my friends were still in work. Good chance of it happening again soon and to be honest I don't think its worth feeling undignified or soul destroying. Most people are not unemployed by choice and while the alternative is better financially all your doing is helping some corrupt rat in a suit become more wealthy than you ever will so I say just take it as it comes. If you get an offer great, take it but don't feel sh1t for being out of work.

iDave wrote: »
    Spent 2 and a half months unemployed in early 2009. Yeah at the time it felt pretty undignified, didn't help most of my friends were still in work. Good chance of it happening again soon and to be honest I don't think its worth feeling undignified or soul destroying. Most people are not unemployed by choice and while the alternative is better financially all your doing is helping some corrupt rat in a suit become more wealthy than you ever will so I say just take it as it comes. If you get an offer great, take it but don't feel sh1t for being out of work.

Perfect, well said.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

It's not unemployment that is soul destroying, it's not having money coming in. I was made redundant a few years back and had te luxury of being able to afford to take around a year off and it was great. I used the time to join a gym and lose weight that I had been promising to do for years but never did. I also spent more time with my girlfriend who is a primary teacher so was home in mid afternoon.

If I had enough money to never have to work agina I'd be delighted, but sadly I don't and I've been back in ful ltime employment for the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

MrWalsh wrote: »
    Was made redundant after 14 years in a job. The team was like a family. The redundancy payment allowed me take some time out.

Best 2 years of my life EVER. Back working a couple of years now and I just feel like Im on a treadmill. My priorities totally changed during the 2 years off.

What did you do during the two years?

Genuinely interested, i'd love to use the time well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

I took voluntary redundancy just before Christmas, got a nice payoff and started the new interview process in January, at the end of Jan. I had a new job starting in mid Feb. and the two weeks off were great !!

Spend loads of time with my kid ... went to cafes and read .... played tennis ... was great.

Trick is to continue to get up early and keep busy during the day - even if "keeping busy" are leisurely activities.