If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

GvidoR wrote: »
    If it's not much over the limit, you can change filters, oil, put in the fuel additive and it should pass. Hopefully you wont have to, although it's good to have fresh oil and filters. :)

Oil is less than 1k old, I'm just reading into nothing until I see the results anyway :)

I usually sort the emissions with a very spirited drive to the test center ;)

My spirited drive will be from Roscrea to Westport so it should be well warm etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I usually sort the emissions with a very spirited drive to the test center ;)

That didn't work on my Bora #1, although it may be possible it wasn't spirited enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

YbFocus wrote: »
    My spirited drive will be from Roscrea to Westport so it should be well warm etc!

Grand! The first time I went there last week I got the oil temp to 110 degrees,, gona try beat that monday haha
    That didn't work on my Bora #1, although it may be possible it wasn't spirited enough.

Needs more spirits :pac:

Exactly, if the cat is gone or a sensor is toast then no driving will fix it!
    I have two of everything on my setup :)

bmw-3-series-e36-clutch-replacement-diy_1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I'm thinking about doing this, does it cost anything?

Nope, tis free, they'll sort you if you're stuck too. I need to be insured on the 20th, called them the 18th, had an appointment 19th, insured on the 20th.

Theyre giving me quotes of around 1200 for the 525 as a 21 year old with 3 years no claims and 3 years licence.

Nope, tis free, they'll sort you if you're stuck too. I need to be insured on the 20th, called them the 18th, had an appointment 19th, insured on the 20th.

Theyre giving me quotes of around 1200 for the 525 as a 21 year old with 3 years no claims and 3 years licence.

Good stuff, will call them tomorrow and see what happens. Hoping for a quote of around €700 or is that too optimistic?

2 years no claims / 2 years licence / paid €950 last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Good stuff, will call them tomorrow and see what happens. Hoping for a quote of around €700 or is that too optimistic?

2 years no claims / 2 years licence / paid €950 last year.

I was 20, 2 years named driving, which they count as full, 2 year licence with a recorded accident and got a quote of 950 for the Yaris, I'd say you'll be alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

So I got the motor in and it works... kinda. Works fine on a continuous sweep, but on the intermittent sweep, they park halfway on the window. I've tried adjusting the arms and linkages, but it keeps going back to the way it was? Bad motor?

There is a relay in the glovebox. The part number is 1552133. Link for identification http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ford-1552133-Wiper-Relay/dp/B00ABK553Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Hal1 wrote:
    There is a relay in the glovebox. The part number is 1552133. Link for identification

Ya, I spotted that earlier, went to look for it and it's there, but there's a metal plate covering half of it? Would the relay sort the stopping mid wipe out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

It's another one of these 'known' ford problems :rolleys:. I'm not sure if it was a recall on it due to them admitting it was there fault.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

So I'm finally comfy driving the Honda haven't had my weirdo issue now for a week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Hal1 wrote:
    It's another one of these 'known' ford problems :rolleys:. I'm not sure if it was a recall on it due to them admitting it was there fault.

Ford... problems... never! Looking forward to hearing the proper engine noise, once I get this alternator bearing fixed! Add that to fixing my noisy wiper motor, hopefully I'll have some quiet driving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

What's in Terenure?

There's a GTI NI meet/show in Co. Down with a car limbo and BBQ on Sunday.

castlewellen does not compare to terenure massive classic car show.. usually the static highlight of the summer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

If anyone knows of any MK3 Golf, Vento or MK2 Punto (Gold) for breaking, please let me know. :)

Or a cheap whole car that's heading for the scrappers that I could get for a low price.

There is a gold punto in the scrapyard in the Heath in Portlaoise (not whelans, the other one up the road) I was in there yesterday (by mistake)
    Body looked intact.

In the last 2 months I have changed.
    Clutch and flywheel.
    2 lower control arms,
    2 rear drop links,
    2 upper control arms,
    Timing belt and water pump.
    Service.
    I won't tell you the cost of all this as I'm afraid to add it up.......
    But can anyone lend me a tenner:p

Next is front pads and discs, they are nearly fooked (see I do use my brakes :pac:)
    And shortly I will need tyres.
    It never bloody ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Fair play, I've just replaced the discs, pads and upper control arm on mine.

My wallet is in shock...,...well I also took a holiday, paid insurance and tax and I'm now trying to rent an apartment in Dublin so there are several other reasons my wallet is reeling

GvidoR, pred is talking about martin byrne car dismantlers.
    Another walk in and work away place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Asmooh

I'm planning to make some noise :P new 2.5 exhaust system for my MX5, and Koni kit 40mm lower :)
    Only need a bumper sticker with "Speedbump Be Patient I'm Lowered"

jdm_speed_bump_lowered.jpg

http://www.stickybusiness.ie/shop/be-patient-i-m-lowered-speedbump-sticker.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

pred racer wrote: »
    In the last 2 months I have changed.
    Clutch and flywheel.
    2 lower control arms,
    2 rear drop links,
    2 upper control arms,
    Timing belt and water pump.
    Service.
    I won't tell you the cost of all this as I'm afraid to add it up.......
    But can anyone lend me a tenner:p

Next is front pads and discs, they are nearly fooked (see I do use my brakes :pac:)
    And shortly I will need tyres.
    It never bloody ends.

That 159'has been a good car to you though in general right?

Pity all these things have to come at once!!

There is a gold punto in the scrapyard in the Heath in Portlaoise (not whelans, the other one up the road) I was in there yesterday (by mistake)
    Body looked intact.

Nice. I'm heading to the Kilcock place on Monday, and there isn't one there, I'll probably go down there so. Thanks :)
    GvidoR, pred is talking about martin byrne car dismantlers.
    Another walk in and work away place!

Awesome, good to know there's another one of those walk-in yards.

Asmooh wrote: »
    I'm planning to make some noise :P new 2.5 exhaust system for my MX5, and Koni kit 40mm lower :)
    Only need a bumper sticker with "Speedbump Be Patient I'm Lowered"

jdm_speed_bump_lowered.jpg

http://www.stickybusiness.ie/shop/be-patient-i-m-lowered-speedbump-sticker.html

You'd look like an idiot with one of those stickers on a car lowered 40mm.
    Actually you'd look an idiot with one of them regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Asmooh

You'd look like an idiot with one of those stickers on a car lowered 40mm.
    Actually you'd look an idiot with one of them regardless.
    You know the car is already low without lowering at all..

166man wrote: »
    That 159'has been a good car to you though in general right?

Pity all these things have to come at once!!

It's been a fantastic car to stick me driving it this long, over 3 yrs now!
    It's never let me down.
    Apart from the clutch (first one at 260k) the rest of it is just routine for a car with this mileage, but yeah it all happened at once.
    Now though, the clutch works, there are no rattles, it's going like a train.
    Heading to Kilkenny shortly, it's vw/Audi harassing time :D my favourite sport!

Nice. I'm heading to the Kilcock place on Monday, and there isn't one there, I'll probably go down there so. Thanks :)

Awesome, good to know there's another one of those walk-in yards.

Just be careful, yer man would say mass.
    And there are normally no returns!

Just be careful, yer man would say mass.
    And there are normally no returns!

Say mass? What do you mean?

I don't expect returns from a breaker yard anyway. Besides, there's nothing unexpected that can happen with body parts... mechanical/electrical parts could be a bit of a gamble though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

25 is the age for classic insurance:)

Kindly asked for a classic policy quote. "Sorry, you need to be 30"

Well, what a load of horse sh*t. Its like being 17 again :(

I'll just have to ask round more...

Heres to hoping my 406 passes its test on Thursday. It better, theres new bloody everything in it!

You need to be 30+ to insure a classic car? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

You need to be 30+ to insure a classic car? :eek:

It's bizarre but understandable considering I'm asking a quote on the Jag, but annoying nonetheless. Either the E34 or C220 isn't a problem at my age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Try Carole Nash. Sure, pickles is 24 and has a policy with them.