Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hats.

• 03-03-2015 11:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 20,411 ✭✭✭✭

Always thought hats were cool looking.Sadly the general consensus seems to be the opposite.
    What you think?

Hats cool,no cool. 60 votes

Yes cool.
    0% 0 votes
    No cool.
    100% 60 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Hats off to your poll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

Depends on the hat. Trilby, maybe. Woolly yoke with knitted pony-tails either side..not so much.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 57 ✭✭Mr. Remote Control

Depends. If it's sunny, rainy or cold - then grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Wooly hats keep me ceann warm in winter, couldn't give a fúck if they are considered 'cool' or not, they are practical.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I like wearing a hat in winter, got a cool one with headphones in at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Are you a hat OP?

I looks good in hats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Wide Load

Depends on the hat. Trilby, maybe. Woolly yoke with knitted pony-tails either side..not so much.

Surely a trilby is the worst hat of the bunch? Neckbeard starters pack stuff.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Are you a hat OP?

You're a hat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Cool guys who wear a hat -

Hitler
    Brush Shields
    The Edge
    Micheal Healy Ray

Yep! It's cool allright.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,478 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

kneemos wrote: »
    Always thought hats were cool looking.Sadly the general consensus seems to be the opposite.
    What you think?

Stop with the pretence, we all know you're bald and we always have.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Wool cap is ideal for the recent weather.

You're a hat

You wish! No wait.....that's not right, Heh :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

Wide Load wrote: »

Dunno. I never wear hats. I thought they were for bald people to hide under tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Wide Load wrote: »
    Tastefully paired with a meme t-shirt.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭Corvo

Hats aren't cool you say?

Then what about jamiroquai? Hmm?

*slams gavel*

Case dismissed!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 57 ✭✭Mr. Remote Control

Cool guys who wear a hat -

Hitler
    Brush Shields
    The Edge
    Micheal Healy Ray

Yep! It's cool allright.

Just for balance.

Santa Claus
    Bob Marley
    Uhhhm. Uhmmm.

OK, so there's just Santa Claus and Bob Marley. But still, that's not bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Dunno. I never wear hats. I thought they were for bald people to hide under tbh.
    nullzero wrote: »
    Stop with the pretence, we all know you're bald and we always have.

Somewhat conversely Im pretty sure Im so thin on top these days because of excessive hat wearing in the past

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

OP is Garland Greene (explanation comes at 3:47)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

They're grand if they serve a practical purpose or are just thrown on to cover up bedhead.

I sat behind a guy on a bus one time, a young guy wearing a flat cap tilted at a jaunty angle. Two hours repressing the urge to rabbit-punch.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Cats in hats are cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,478 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

biko wrote: »
    Cats in hats are cool.

How about humans who aren't from the 70's?

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

You're a hat

Asshat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I wear a hat constantly, summer and winter, night and day.

• Registered Users Posts: 674 ✭✭✭GotTheTshirt

got a cool one with headphones in at the moment.

Ah here, no such thing.

Larianne wrote: »
    Asshat?

Stay out of this you! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

What is it with neckbeards and pubic hair faced hipsters wearing hats indoors?

Frank Sinatra would never have wandered into his local craft beer pub without taking his hat off first.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Hats on women, yes

Hats on old men, yes

Hats on men under 50, No. Just stop it. Stop what you're doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

What is it with neckbeards and pubic hair faced hipsters wearing hats indoors?

Frank Sinatra would never have wandered into his local craft beer pub without taking his hat off first.

Humphrey Bogart likewise. These men understood hat etiquette.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Humphrey Bogart likewise. These men understood hat etiquette.

My father has taken to wearing a flat cap when going to the races or attending a hurling match. I must admit to not being a fan as it makes him look rather old and parochial. I say nothing though. What I have noticed is that he automatically removes it when he goes indoors. It's a practical item of head wear for him, not some jaded fashion statement that expresses nothing only unoriginality.