Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Aboard the Bandwagon

• 25-02-2015 12:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭

2 wins from 2 in the Cricket World Cup.

Haven't a clue of cricket but it makes me happy.

Come on Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

"I was supporting Irish Cricket before it was cool" Yeah you were, and Cricket is so cool...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

I don't like cricket.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

What's a wicket?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Leg before wicket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

The fact we even have a cricket team is a defeat in itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

hynesie08 wrote: »
    I don't like cricket.....

......I love it......since we beat the Windies.

Ole Ole Ole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

lemony snicket

The fact we even have a cricket team is a defeat in itself

Take your negativity elsewhere, this is a happy thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

iDave wrote: »
    Take your negativity elsewhere, this is a happy thread.

I was joking ya clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Cricket was one of the most popular sports in the country not so long ago. I don't get why people assume that it's bandwagon jumping or whatever when people show their support during big tournaments.

That said, I don't understand the game or have much of an interest in it at all. It's good to see the team doing well though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I reckon I could count on one hand the number of players on that team actually born in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If they won the world cup pretty sure I wouldn't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,018 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Ian Botham to hit a home run for Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,473 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

thelad95 wrote: »
    I reckon I could count on one hand the number of players on that team actually born in Ireland.

All apart from one I think.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Our next game is another tough one against South Africa, starting very early/late at 3.30 Tuesday morning and will finish at roughly lunchtime.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Gits_bone

Let's all go on the piss - best fans in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I've never forgiven cricket for interrupting broadcasts of Pigeon Street when I was wee.

Strider wrote: »

Will he get done for GBH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,909 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Great way to spend an afternoon (if you're not fishing).

Ireland v West Indies, Rathmines about 1983/84. Best couple of days ever!

More beers? :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Strider wrote: »

You don't know what you're talking about.
    His foot was clearly in touch!

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

:eek: That'll be a strange looking hand you have there so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I hear it can cure insomnia

Our next game is another tough one against South Africa, starting very early/late at 3.30 Tuesday morning and will finish at roughly lunchtime.

Better put that on the calendar...don't want to miss that :pac:

Someday my child will ask me where I was when Ireland played South Africa at half three on a Tuesday morning and ended at lunchtime :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

Serious amount of inbreeding in your family then.

Hermy wrote: »
    You don't know what you're talking about.
    His foot was clearly in touch!

15-love to Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I was joking ya clown

No you weren't. What would they say in South Armagh if you started banging on about cricket?

They'd be right too. Stupid f*cking game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

#BackingGreen

Anyone not happy for a bunch of lads playing a minority sport and going to a World Cup and getting result needs to lighten the feck up!
    Up Ireland!!!

What was the highest break in the game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭wallywhittle

FTA69 wrote: »
    No you weren't. What would they say in South Armagh if you started banging on about cricket?

The Brits are long gone bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

"I was supporting Irish Cricket before it was cool"
    Still time for plenty more newcomers so.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Gits_bone wrote: »
    What was the highest break in the game?

106 UAE Missed a tricky pink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,837 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

1 south African, the rest Irish born and bred. Sure why let facts get in the way of a good dig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,897 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I was joking ya clown

Martin McGuinness is a Cricket fan I think. Although Cricket is very popular up in the North West anyway.

bilston wrote: »
    Martin McGuinness is a Cricket fan I think.
    Right, I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,485 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

at least this team actually delivers at a World Cup.

Playing a game in which millions play.

Im not a great fan, but credit where it is due.

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    1 south African, the rest Irish born and bred. Sure why let facts get in the way of a good dig.

This.I'd say with a reasonable degree of confidence that the Irish cricket team is more indigenous than either the rugby (squad more than team I suppose) or football teams.

at least this team actually delivers at a World Cup.

Delivers .....................runs.

UMgB3fg.jpg

EDIT. bah, foiled :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Should we all jump from the Rugby bandwagon to the Cricket one or do we stay with Rugby until the 6 nations are over?

Hard to devote time between the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Well it looks like Williamsborough has fluffed the biggins-end with a counter-spire fox-trump for twenty of a 154. The crowd are clapping politely and eating their cream on scones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭TommyOM

Credit where its due, cricket is the most widely played sport in the world (yes more active players than soccer) and is played by a few thousand in Ireland and yet every world cup Ireland have excelled.

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Should we all jump from the Rugby bandwagon to the Cricket one or do we stay with Rugby until the 6 nations are over?

Hard to devote time between the two.

For the novelty maybe, but the rugby team are actually pretty good! There is more glory to be had on that wagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

It's loved in Derry though

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/martin-mcguinness-dresses-up-as-bearded-cricketer-wg-grace-for-northern-ireland-childrens-hospice-fundraising-photograph-31012780.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

What would they say in South Armagh if you started banging on about cricket

"We support Liverpool and Manchester United here" perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

How many home runs did Ireland get this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

jamesbere wrote: »
    How many home runs did Ireland get this morning.

More than UAE did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I couldn't give a f*ck where it's popular. My one is from Trinidad and she won't shut up about it. Brian Lara this and wickets and overs that; it's bad enough listening to it off her without seeing it on here as well. It's honestly the most god-awful nonsense I've ever seen, fellas sitting around in the quiet watching fellas standing around in the quiet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

More Irish playing for foreign teams than there are foreign players playing for Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

In the 80s we all used to play rounders to Dexy and Midnight Runners and Men At Work music. A game which is mash up for baseball and cricket. It was quite enjoyable. Why do economically challenged areas in Dublin never have Cricket clubs. Darndale Cricket Club has a nice ring to it and I'm sure they'd love a game as much their Malahidonian neighbours.

I know they're called Dexy's Midnight Runners but I have allways called them Dexy and the Midnight Runners and I see no reason to stop doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Perfect game for drinking beer all day in the sunshine in some of the most beautiful locations around the world