If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

No gays allowed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

reprise wrote: »
    From that:

So you do believe in the right to discriminate. So long as it's straight people taking the hit.

Makey uppy much?

That's not even close to what the poster said :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Rothmans

aaronc182 wrote: »
    probably been covered already but do people get this worked up when they see ads on daft or rent.ie that say females only or no males,

there's no difference to me! just go somewhere else!

I've genuinely never ever seen a landlord specifying what gender he wants to rent to (or sexual orientation for that matter) and I've used daft quite a lot over the years. With shared property, of course you'll see it all the time, but that's entirely different as you'll actually be moving into someone else's home instead of renting from a landlord who is obviously letting as a business and subject to the same equality legislation as any other business man or woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

floggg wrote: »
    One would be pretty stupid to assume all gay people act they way they are portrayed in promotional shots for one website.

It would be akin to assuming all Americans are scantily clad drunks based on a spring break photo, or that McDonald's food actually looks fresh and tasty based on a Big Mac ad.

I really wouldn't have thought we would need to explain to you that all gay people aren't a like, and that advertising shots aren't real.

Also, they are renting a small villa to a couple or small group of people, not inviting an entire gay bar to stay for a week.

Sorry for being 'pretty stupid'. It's totally ****ing disgusting though, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭HardenendMan

Haven't read the whole thread so forgive me if the point has already been made...

If I owned a property I would find it off putting to have two lads riding the bum holes off each other!

Two ladies in a 69 position however...I'd install some hidden cameras!!

Am I bigoted or homophobic? Umm don't think so. I have a gay brother who I don't treat differently. But I shiver at the thought of two blokes being intimate. Sorry if that is offensive but I can't help it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭reprise

Haven't read the whole thread so forgive me if the point has already been made...

If I owned a property I would find it off putting to have two lads riding the bum holes off each other!

Am I bigoted or homophobic? Umm don't think so. I have a gay brother who I don't treat differently. But I shiver at the thought of two blokes being intimate. Sorry if that is offensive but I can't help it!

I think I can safely say your point has not been made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Would you refuse to let your brother and his partner stay in your house?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

I think I can safely say your point has not been made.

Humm ok I will try again.

Think of something that makes you shiver. As in you can't fathom the appeal and if you seen it you would feel a bit sick. Then ask yourself if you would let that into your property.

Again I will say - it may be offensive to describe two gay men's private life in such a way...but it is a horrible thought for me. Lesbos FTW!

Would you refuse to let your brother and his partner stay in your house?

Of course. And I'd tell him why. He would laugh - not the easily offended type!

And would you refuse a straight brother on the basis he might have sex?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,941 ✭✭✭20Cent

A lot of people feel creeped out when having one in their home, meeting them or even thinking about them. homophobes I mean of course.

20Cent wrote: »
    A lot of people feel creeped out when having one in their home, meeting them or even thinking about them. homophobes I mean of course.

You think he has an irrational fear of his brother? :confused:

Yes he clearly does. He also thinks a lot about bumming.

Shuddering at the thought of two guys having anal sex is homophobia?

And would you refuse a straight brother on the basis he might have sex?

Eh no...as I said it is two guys having sex that makes me shiver.

I replied in context of the thread. I don't think a lot about bumming. But sure go ahead and imply that I am a closet gay in order to make my feelings invalid.

I already said I have a gay brother. I spend more time with him that any other man on this earth. He just can't ride men in my property. Simple rule really. My house, my rules. He doesn't get offended, and I don't think would appreciate people being offended on his behalf.

No but discriminating against someone because of their sexuality is.

This is it. Some people (liberal) can't accept that gay sex won't sit right with some people. I don't treat homosexuals any different day to day...yet I would be considered a bigot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,971 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

This is it. Some people (liberal) can't accept that gay sex won't sit right with some people. I don't treat homosexuals any different day to day...yet I would be considered a bigot.
    Those damn liberals.

No but discriminating against someone because of their sexuality is.

You've heard HardenendMan,

Is he a homophobe?

I replied in context of the thread. I don't think a lot about bumming. But sure go ahead and imply that I am a closet gay in order to make my feelings invalid.

I already said I have a gay brother. I spend more time with him that any other man on this earth. He just can't ride men in my property. Simple rule really. My house, my rules. He doesn't get offended, and I don't think would appreciate people being offended on his behalf.

Not offended couldn't care less just weird u think about gay sex so much if it offends you. Here's a tip mind your own business at let others do what they want.

So you do treat your brother differently then.

Terry Pratchet

I don't treat homosexuals any different

Actually no. You just claimed you do.

Terry Pratchet

Not offended couldn't care less just weird u think about gay sex so much if it offends you. Here's a tip mind your own business at let others do what they want.

Eh...do what they want in my property? So I should allow drugs, paedos, rapes etc in my property too yeah? Great reasoning there.
    So you do treat your brother differently then.

In a way. I would also treat him differently if he wanted to do something else in my gaff that I would find repulsive. I don't think I need to list 100 examples.

Whats your point or should I even bother asking.

So do you Joey. So do you.

Whats your point or should I even bother asking.

He claimed he doesnt treat his brother differently. Thats not true. I have no other point.

Terry Pratchet

He claimed he doesnt treat his brother differently. Thats not true. I have no other point.

I treat him well, you will just have to trust me on that. I love him to bits.

I don't treat him differently because of his sexuality. But I do tell him "jaysus man how do you kiss another man ya mad yolk". He laughs and says he finds kissing women equally unnatural.

Does this make us both bad people??

I treat him well, you will just have to trust me on that. I love him to bits.

I don't treat him differently because of his sexuality. But I do tell him "jaysus man how do you kiss another man ya mad yolk". He laughs and says he finds kissing women equally unnatural.

Does this make us both bad people??

Why do you keep saying you dont treat him differently because of his sexuality when you clearly do? Saying it repeatedly doesnt make it true.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Dandy Dandridge

The owners are probably afraid that gay people could possible leave bodily fluids around where some other unlucky person staying there afterwards could possibly get aids from. A reasonable fear imo.

Why do you keep saying you dont treat him differently because of his sexuality when you clearly do? Saying it repeatedly doesnt make it true.

Different to who? His parents, his boss? I should hope he does.

Different to a straight person. He just said if his brother was straight he wouldnt treat him like that.

Terry Pratchet