Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Every accomplishment starts with a decision to try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

I'm so delighted to hear the good news! It really put a smile on my face! Looking forward to reading all the updates.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I can only echo what everyone else has said, great news.

You only appreciate things like running when it's taken away from you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Delighted with your fantastic news AM, you must be over the moon! Happy (easy) running :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Delighted for you, AM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Delighted to hear you're back running, brilliant news :)
    Keep it sensible for now though, you know yourself like :D:D

Don't give up on your kayak ambitions though :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Delighted to hear you're back running, brilliant news :)
    Keep it sensible for now though, you know yourself like :D:D

Don't give up on your kayak ambitions though :D:D

Don't worry I won't :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

So chuffed for you AM :)

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    So chuffed for you AM :)

Thanks A, and for all your support in the last few weeks, it means a lot.

Thanks for all the lovely posts too guys, yiz are the best internet strangers in the world :)

Friday 20th May
    3.1 miles @ 12:32 Lunchtime 'Wog'… had decided not to be greedy and just walk today, also forgot the HRM. Walked the first mile then sort of jogged/walked the last two as I was feeling so good, all at very slow easy pace. Lovely day.
    PM: Functional movement workout 3

Saturday 21st May
    Cabinteely parkrun volunteering, beautiful sunny day, usual good fun but the coffee shop was closed :( I had planned to do my 5K on the southside but with nowhere to change I headed straight for the gym instead. Out on the road for my jog, up the canal in the glorious sunshine and back down the Navan road to the gym. Turned out to be a smidge more than 5K oops but I kept it super easy.
    Run: 4 miles @ 12:30 avg HR 131
    Swim: was going to try Career move’s 100m reps suggestion and see how it I got on with that, got stuck in straight away with 1 x 100 fc, took a rest (1 min) then into the 2nd rep, by the time I’d finished I was banjaxed!! 2 x 100m!!!! How pathetic :p in fairness I haven’t been trying to do pool sessions at all, I’m not entirely sure I want to go down that road, I really enjoy a nice 30 min relaxing swim so why ruin that by forcing myself to push? Followed by 10 mins in the sauna, had it to myself today, lovely.

Sunday 22nd May
    2 hour Hike around Killiney Hill, Dalkey beach and Sandycove with woody in the beautiful morning sunshine. Was up early after a restless nights sleep. Sat on the beach for a while which was completely deserted and paddled in the ice cold water, lovely lovely lovely. Was too tired to think about gym/swim or run so did none of those! Had a lovely lazy relaxing evening. Tomorrow is a new week!

Monday 23rd May #chocolategate

Decided to work from home today as woody managed to eat 100g of a 200g lidl chocolate bar last night :eek: my fault in fairness I left it on the couch and then left the room, when I got back there wasn’t even a smudge left… chocolate is poisonous for dogs and he had been sick a few times during the night, so a call to the vet first thing this morning meant a trip down there and they said they’d keep him in as he needed IV fluids to flush out the toxins and if he needed anti seizure meds they could give to him on the spot. My poor baby! When I went in to collect him this eve he had to do the rounds and say goodbye to all the girls - he knows how to charm the ladiez does our Woody!! That’s it though, not another screed of chocolate will pass the threshold of my front door - I’ll have to eat it in the car before I get into the house :pac: #mostexpensivebarofchocolateever

AM: yoga (flexibility section) 30 mins.

PM: Lunctime run: 3.5 miles @ 12:27 avg hr 128, lovely lovely lovely, kept it slow and headphone less. Could have upped the pace a bit for the HR but am not in any hurry and was happy to just enjoy this.

PM: Functional movement workout 2 starting to see a little progress in these..

PM: Ramble slow easy ramble in St. Catherines Park, probably about 2.5 miles, a glorious evening indeed and was watching the rush of the Liffey where they kayaks normally are with a different eye :) Heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Our dog ate whole Easter egg, same result as woody. Vet for the day and breath
    Mints needed to get rid of smell of puking :eek:

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Our dog ate whole Easter egg, same result as woody. Vet for the day and breath
    Mints needed to get rid of smell of puking :eek:

Yes I heard that on the grapevine earlier today!! little divils :p apparently, in the opposite to humans, its the dark chocolate that's very bad for them. The bar I had was 47% coco which is slightly worse than the normal milk chocolate. I have to say, one of the (many) advantages to having a mongrel is their iron constitution!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Firedance wrote: »
    Yes I heard that on the grapevine earlier today!! little divils :p apparently, in the opposite to humans, its the dark chocolate that's very bad for them. The bar I had was 47% coco which is slightly worse than the normal milk chocolate. I have to say, one of the (many) advantages to having a mongrel is their iron constitution!!

How did we get from Woody eating chocolate to Tang's iron constitution :confused:

FBOT01 wrote: »
    How did we get from Woody eating chocolate to Tang's iron constitution :confused:

Very brave when you know he's away :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Very brave when you know he's away :D:D:D

Hope Mrs Tang gave him his Kennel Cough jabs before she left him :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

PM: Ramble slow easy ramble in St. Catherines Park, probably about 2.5 miles, a glorious evening indeed and was watching the rush of the Liffey where they kayaks normally are with a different eye :) Heaven.

Brought the dog down there on Saturday for a ramble. Great place - I must bring the runners next time.

Have you never run there? it's very beautiful and I'm sure the mini AMK's would love the fairy fort (did you find it?). There's a super hill run up through the forest too.

Tuesday 25th May

Run 3.5 miles @ 11:49 avg HR 132
    Finally catching up on missed sleep although still quite tired today, brought a much improved woody for his usual 1.5 mile loop, dropped him back at the house and straight out for this in the beautiful evening sun. Pace already dropping for the same effort over the last few days, I think that's the first time I've seen 11 for pace since April :)

Functional movement workout 4
    Also had to throw in some foam rolling, funny how quickly the muscles tighten up again!!

Wednesday 25th May

Another ‘kill two birds with one stone workout’ Needed to get a broken laptop to our IT guys in Harolds Cross for repair as it was beyond even my talents, so took a Dublin Bike there with the laptop in a backpack and took the pearse street/canal route which was lovely

3 mile cycle in 20 mins - never thought to turn the watch on for this :rolleyes: would have been far more enjoyable if there weren’t 20 million sets of traffic lights, about 10 million of them red…

Run: 3.1 miles @ 10:58

Ran back to the office the same beautiful sunny route. Had forgotten my HR strap and yes this is too fast, I know that, I’ll give myself a slap on the wrist, save anyone else the bother. Here are my excuses (more than one!)

•It felt lovely
    •I got into a stride and found it hard then to slow back out of it
    •The fact that I had to say ‘excuse me’ to people walking ahead and startled them because they heard neither my footfall nor my breathing meant it wasn’t waaaaayyyy to fast
    •I was really enjoying it
    •I had to get back to the office before tomorrow :D
    •I was really enjoying it (did I use that one already?!)

A couple of things to remind myself, 1) get back to drinking lots of water, I literally stopped the day I got the diagnosis (had been religiously drinking 2 litres a day - have turned that into wine ever since :eek: ). 2) Get back into the foam rolling before bed habit.

I just got a notification on my phone under the heading ‘insights’ whatever the hec that is, the message said, you’re moving more than you typically do on a Wednesday, well done keep it up. :D:D You gotta love smartphones

Yoga & FM workout planned for this eve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Tuesday 25th May
    I just got a notification on my phone under the heading ‘insights’ whatever the hec that is, the message said, you’re moving more than you typically do on a Wednesday, well done keep it up. :D:D You gotta love smartphones .

Did it come from the Garmin Connect app? A new section appeared on Connect in April called "Insights", but mine is still blank so I don't know what it does. Apparently I never do anything worth its time. :pac:

Ah! yes it did, I never look at the GC app, its just there so I can sync my watch with bluetooth! he he there's one that says 'your least active day'

'It looks like Friday is usually your least active day of the week, lets change that today. Is it nice outside? How about a quick 10 min walk? If the weather is bad you can march up and down your stairs a few times to get your healthy activity in' :pac::pac::pac:

That's hilarious! I better make a real effort to make sure I get lots of activity in this Friday so. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

So did you enjoy that run today? I think you forgot to mention.:-)

I wonder did the makers of the insight app realise that most of us leave the phone behind when we run. It'd do nothing but give out to me.

Keep enjoying it, AM. You're storming back.

snailsong wrote: »
    So did you enjoy that run today? I think you forgot to mention.:-)

I wonder did the makers of the insight app realise that most of us leave the phone behind when we run. It'd do nothing but give out to me.

Keep enjoying it, AM. You're storming back.

Lol thanks P - it was jolly good :)

I'm not sure but I don't think you need the phone to get the info ? I've gone back to wearing my old fr15 which counts steps when not in GPS mode so everything I do, including walks I don't log here, is counted when I upload the watch. It's a good idea if it gets people more active but then folks with a Garmin are probably already hooked on exercise :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

AM ..... just catching up here and so glad to see that you are back to what you love. Keep running.

Lol thanks P - it was jolly good :)

I'm not sure but I don't think you need the phone to get the info ? I've gone back to wearing my old fr15 which counts steps when not in GPS mode so everything I do, including walks I don't log here, is counted when I upload the watch. It's a good idea if it gets people more active but then folks with a Garmin are probably already hooked on exercise :D

I'm very ignorant of this modern technology. Don't even know how to get the smilies when I post from my phone. :-)

I kinda assumed the app was kinda peeking over your shoulder using the phone's GPS for data. I suppose if you upload from your Garmin it'll use that too.

I'm very ignorant of this modern technology. Don't even know how to get the smilies when I post from my phone. :-)

Leave out the - ! So just colon and bracket :D (that's colon capital D)

:):D

It works.!!

There will be no stopping me now..

;):):(:D

I feel like I've got super powers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

It took FD months to work out to leave the noses out :)

(and myself a little bit less than that)

I feel like I've got super powers

Ha ha have created a monster :D :eek:.:p