Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running in the Real World

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

Really well done, so happy for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Well done Anna - great running. When I saw on the tracking that your pace slipped a bit between halfway & 30k I feared a tough finish for you but you stormed home :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Well done Anna! Great run today, enjoy the celebrations:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭racheljev

Congratulations Anna! Brilliant time, delighted for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Anna, I hope you're celebrating as hard as you ran today :) A massive well done, absolutely delighted for you, you're some machine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Delighted to see you reaped the rewards today. Well done! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Thanks everyone, absolutely thrilled... And chuffed to think people were actually tracking me :)

Ok have to SLEEP now, but so many stairs to navigate :eek:

Report to follow eventually.

Deadly buzz :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Super running Anna very well deserved :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

So happy for you Anna. Talk about laying the demons to rest in style. You drove that rollercoaster up and up. That happy face when you looked back over your shoulder at Mile 22 said it all. Well done!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Well done again Anna, it was nice to see you afterwards in such good form!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Excellent :D Well done Anna. You killed it!

And another success story from the Meno plan. Take a bow sir :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Well done again on yesterday's run Anna.

I've been reading back on your log today, and thought I'd remind you of some of your own training musings before you ran such a big pb of 4:08 yesterday :)
    annapr wrote: »
    At the end of this one, I was ready to forget DCM this year, it was too depressing to contemplate this pain every weekend between now and October.
    but 4:15 seems enough of a stretch for me at the moment
    Nothing is certain!! during the LSR on sunday I decided no way I was even doing the marathon.
    Where does this leave the marathon training?

I was getting very annoyed about missing yet another midweek session, more enforced rest days, starting to think maybe I should give up on DCM altogether.

Can't wait to see what time you're capable of when you have some belief in yourself :rolleyes:

DCM 2015 Race Report: 4:08:30; 9:29/mi;

What a day, I’m still on a complete high… except when I stand up and try to walk, when I’m creaking around in need of a zimmer frame. Apologies in advance that this is going to be a long and boring race report… long because I want to capture it all for myself and boring because I have no heroics to report at all. I just might have enjoyed the race yesterday more than any race I’ve ever done.

Before the race

My strategy was to go out with the 2:10 pacers (c.9:30/mi; 5:55/km) and try to hang on with them for as long as I could. But after last year’s sufferfest, I also wanted to enjoy the day and soak up some of the atmosphere, most of which I was oblivious to last year.

I slept pretty well, woke up early to the sound of gale force winds outside (or so it seemed). Wind and rain, my natural habitat :).

Had the usual porridge/fruit/seeds/nuts breakfast, water with zero tab and coffee. Murph left early for his pacing gig and I called a taxi at 8 (the joys of living near the city centre). The taxi driver told me all the way in about how he used to run marathons but had to stop because of heart problems… eh, very encouraging.

Arrived in good time, dropped the bag quickly and wandered around to wave 2 start. Toilet queues were fine, but I still had almost an hour to start time. Passed D on his way to his pacing gig and wished each other luck. Hung out on Baggot St, kept a hoodie and old leggings on, and sheltered a bit from the light drizzle, close to the 4:10 pacers. It felt like a very long wait, but better than rushing and feeling stressed I suppose. Amused myself by watching an Asian guy with a selfie stick, who seemed to be filming himself doing his warmup stretches.

Lined up to get ready to go, chatted to a girl from Carlow, who was doing her first marathon and wearing about 6 layers of clothes… it amazes me how people over dress for running, it was a mild morning yesterday. I had a t-shirt and Nike running shorts, which as aquinn points out, show my tan line gap :). I travelled very light this year, no gels, carried nothing but my running cap and sunglasses (ever the optimist).

First 10k
    Eventually we set off, and top of mind was don’t go off too fast. Meno had said at the expo that people overdo it in the first half, so I kept those words in mind. Just keep the 4:10 balloons in sight, don’t waste any energy weaving or worrying about pace. The city centre is a bit of a blur, but I got a nice shout out from HelenAnne somewhere around Patrick St (I think?).

I was looking out for my first family member of the day on Manor St, delighted to see my sis-in-law and husband there, annoyed a runner behind me by slowing a little to high five them… sorry, I said, but I have to take my high fives where I can!

One of the 4:10 balloons burst with a loud bang on the North Circular to the amusement of the crowd and the pacer gamely waved the remains of it the rest of the way.

Delighted to get into the Park, one chunk done. Took a bottle of water at the first station and carried it with me. Laughed at the ‘Rhino’ outside the zoo.

Chesterfield avenue provided a little more space for running, but I needed to go to the toilet… maybe I hydrated too much! Hopped into a toilet and worried that I might never see the 4:10 guys again. Caught back up with them quickly and without too much effort.

Got a great shout out from BG, fresh from her international XC triumph, near the visitor centre. Started to pull away a bit from the pacers here, but consciously slowed myself down… save yourself for later! The pace felt really comfortable and I remembered that last year at this point I was already starting to boil and struggle.

Someone commented, ‘there’s no wind’ and one of the pacers laughed and said that’s because it’s at your back!

Out the Castleknock Gate, crowded again… we passed a tall African man, in some sort of traditional dress, he looked like a Masai warrior… and he was running in BARE FEET :eek: We all gave him kudos going past.

We hit 10k in 59 mins, all good.

Average pace to 10k: 9:32/mi

10k-halfway
    Round by Myo’s, this is the highest point on the course, I told a woman next to me, she was very happy to hear that, ‘when is the downhill?’, she gasped. Just ahead, I reassured her.

Took water at the water station here… and much to my annoyance a runner behind me pushed me firmly in the back at the water station… I had slowed to get the water, but not stopped so he was way out of order. I gave him an earful (although I wasn’t sure who did it, so the earful was just directed back), DON’T PUSH ME! and maybe even an expletive. I was annoyed about this for about a km, then decided to let the bad temper go… don’t let it spoil the downhill. Much later on (maybe 19 miles), I heard a similar altercation, with a runner saying angrily ‘it’s only a race FFS’ and wondered if it was to the same a**hole who had pushed me. Pity because overall it's such a good humoured crowd.

Back into the autumnal glory of the Park, I love that stretch down to Chapelizod. The pacers were casually chatting about ultra’s… '50k is nothing really…' :cool: I had hardly looked at my watch at all, but checked it when we passed the 9 mile mark on the upper glen road, we were bang on pace, maybe 30 seconds ahead.

Took my first lucozade sport at Chapelizod. Laboured a bit up the hill to Inchicore, but still with the pacers. The support in Kilmainham was fantastic, a nice energy boost. Seemed like no time until we crossed the canal and headed up Crumlin Road, last year’s graveyard. I cheered myself going through the halfway gantry. Through halfway in 2:03:57, my third best half marathon :)

Average pace from 10k-Halfway: 9:24/mi

Halfway-30K
    I thought about last year, when my legs just stopped working here and marvelled at how great I felt by comparison. I also noted that nobody was walking yet, whereas last year it was like the living dead along here.

I knew my brother would be out with the boys on Kimmage Rd, so wanted to make sure I stuck with the pacers at least until then. There were people out in their PJ’s in their front garden, cheering the runners. 'They got up specially,' one of the pacers quipped.

We were past the hospital in no time and turning left, delighted at how short it felt. Now where exactly is Kimmage Rd…? I was scanning ahead, looking for the boys… eventually got to them around the 16-mile mark, with their little home-made signs and jellies to hand out (that took some self restraint). Stopped to give them each a hug… they looked a bit bemused by it all… but it was lovely to see them. Pacers got away from me here, but i figured it was worth it.

It was starting to feel a bit tougher now, but still manageable. I just kept repeating my mantra over and over and that helped. Took a gel at the next water station and walked to swallow it, saying yuck, hate these things. Figured it might help and wouldn’t hurt.

The wand waving worked really well for me… I checked myself a few times… any pain? no. so just keep going. Also, Meno had said on Saturday at the expo that he thought I would be well able for 4:10 and that kept me going too. I can do this.

Next target was to get through Terenure and into the leafy ‘burbs… where spectators were calling out, you’re amazing goys:).

I knew Firedance was going to be at mile 20.5 and Dubgal at mile 22 and that I was likely to see LauraAC3 before Milltown. I was back with the pacers again, getting slapped by the balloons every so often and listening to their banter with wonder woman (i think), one of them asked if he could have her tutu, but she declined. They were eyeing some girl ahead and saying that they would take it in turns to run up and chat her up, a girl in the pacer group laughed and said, leave that carry on until you’ve gotten us across the line. All good natured and a bit of a distraction.

Spotted Laura somewhere on Dartry/Milltown road I think… it was like a formula 1 changeover, she ran beside me… do you need water, do you want a gel, jellies? how are you feeling? you’re looking great… I took a swig of water and a gel from her (she’d bought them specially so I didn’t want to let her down, and it was very welcome at that point) and I chuckled at her enthusiasm… I swear to God, I think every encounter like that keeps you going for another mile…

Then started looking out for Firedance, passed mile 20, not far now (and also great to get past mile 20, still feeling good). I was craving an orange… but no sign of FD anywhere, oh well. She didn’t see me either, but she swears she was there! :)

Went through 30k in 2:57… Average pace from half to 30k 9:38/mi… my slowest part of the course, as Bulmers pointed out above. (I didn’t know this at the time)

30k-Finish
    My brain was starting to tell me to slow down, maybe even walk, it doesn’t matter if you don’t do 4:10… I decided I would walk through the water stations and that helped. I knew DG was going to be at mile 22 and there was no way in hell I was going to be walking passing her… I was determined I would be SMILING (even if it was a fixed manic grimace). Even when I slowed a bit, I realised I wasn’t having much difficulty catching the pacers again.

There was DG, and I was smiling :). She gave me great encouragement, you’re looking really strong… her willpower propelled me up heartbreak hill… delighted to see the Gooch at the bottom too… ran up Roebuck to the top, then yaaaay, Fosters Avenue… that was the wall crossed, no fear of not making it from here.

The pacers got away from me on the dual carriageway, and again my brain was trying to convince me to walk… just walk to the flyover, just walk to the next lamppost… I’ll admit I did take one or two short walk breaks, but got myself going again without too much bother. By the time we got to Nutley Avenue I was back with the pacers, and I even started to get ahead of them here, not deliberately, I was just feeling strong, and I knew my daughters would be ahead in Ballsbridge.

On Merrion Rd, I stopped to walk again briefly and the pacers caught up with me… one of them said, don’t stop now, you’ve been with us all day… I started running again, I was just waiting for yiz to catch up, I told him.

I passed one of the St Anne’s parkrun directors, who should have been well ahead of me but was walking… I gave him some encouragement… he told me later that he was cramping so had to do run/walk. It’s only half a parkrun to go, I thought, hope he makes it.

I really wish people wouldn’t dump water bottles on the course… I stepped on one somewhere in walkinstown, squirting the poor woman to my right. And again near the RDS, jolted my ankle and could have been a disaster. When it’s so crowded, you can’t see obstacles to avoid them.

Laura popped up here again, running with me again for a bit, roaring encouragement. Then, there were the girls and friends with hugs and a boost for the last mile. I passed the 2k sign (so more than a mile) and thought I can do 2k, that’s nothing, I can keep going. The pacers were behind me somewhere at this stage and I was hoping to keep it that way. The final stretch was just brilliant, the noise and support and seeing the finish line in the distance, picked it up to finish and I think I remembered to smile!

Stopped my watch at 4:08:36… official chip time 4:08:30.

Average pace from 30k-Finish: 9:25/mi

Splits (yes, in miles)
    9:43, 9:04, 9:31, 9:18, 9:56*, 8:59, 9:38, 9:02, 9:11, 9:27, 9:26, 9:18, 9:16, 9:24, 9:25, 9:31, 9:42, 9:39, 9:24, 9:23, 10:03*, 9:18, 8:57, 9:31, 9:19 (8:45)

*two slowest miles were on the biggest elevation gain, 55ft and 52ft

The Aftermath
    As soon as I crossed the finish line, I could hardly walk, so I happily hobbled around Merrion Sq, very, very slowly. I met Marthastew and Joe (4:00 hour pacers) near the bag drop, they were as positive and enthusiastic as ever, even after 4 hours of encouraging people.

I picked up my bag and tried to get my head around how to get some dry gear out of it, when it was now raining quite heavily. Eventually I went into a toilet and sat there to recover for about 15 minutes… changed my shoes, put on tracksuit bottom and the new shirt, sprayed some deodorant (obviously not enough because someone sprayed me again later) and emerged to go and find McGrattans. :D

My calves were really sore and I could barely walk, but apart from that all good, and absolutely delighted with the run and with the result. I just couldn’t believe that I did it in under 4:10. :D a 35-minute PB :D

Post-race refreshments
    Delighted to catch up with so many people in McGrattan’s, too many to mention for fear of leaving someone out… lots of great performances and happy novices and cheerleaders looking disconcertingly properly dressed and made up :). Lovely to see Dubgal’s efforts recognised and appreciated too.

And a highlight was meeting Eliud Too and James his coach… what a humble and lovely person. So disappointed he didn’t retain his crown yesterday, but hopefully he’ll be back next year. And also saying hello to Krusty, fresh from his brilliant run in Frankfurt, again so modest and encouraging of lesser runners like me!

Reflections today

As always, the race was really well organised… I could have done with some fruit at the end, or anything but the sawdusty bar that was in the bag, but that’s a minor complaint. The marshals were cheerful…. and the crowds… just wow. Chapelizod, Kilmainham, all the way to Crumlin, Terenure, Milltown, Roebuck rd… when I was willing myself to stop, the energy and encouragement kept me going.

What was different for me compared to last year?
    • The weather was much better… Perfect running weather for me… light drizzle to keep me cool, hardly noticed the wind… perfect!
    • I had way more miles under my belt… from the base building of the Clearlier plan to the sessions in the Meno plan.
    • Even when I slowed at times, I was able to pick it back up again and maintain the pace overall — this is very different, and I think that resilience comes from building endurance in tough sessions and long runs
    • I knew the course and was able to break it into chunks for myself… just get to the next place a few miles on and take it from there… at no point did the distance intimidate me.
    • I’ve learned a lot about managing my own internal demons… the ones telling me to stop running!
    • I had my existential crises earlier in the training, instead of during the race :o

I still have sore calves and a whopping black blood blister on one toe, looks like DCM 2015 might claim a toenail. I didn’t notice it when I was running but it’s sore today.

FD said to me in McGrattan’s yesterday… how do you feel now? Great, I said. Wrong, she said, you should be feeling bloody fantastic!!! And I still am :D:D

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    So happy for you Anna. Talk about laying the demons to rest in style. You drove that rollercoaster up and up. That happy face when you looked back over your shoulder at Mile 22 said it all. Well done!!

Thanks for all the coaching along the way, DG... you helped me up that hill!
    nop98 wrote: »
    Well done again Anna, it was nice to see you afterwards in such good form!

Thanks Nop... and I still owe you a drink!! :o
    Excellent :D Well done Anna. You killed it!

And another success story from the Meno plan. Take a bow sir :D

Thanks CM, and yes, full credit to Meno, it's a very good plan... I've already had some requests to share it, meno should be looking for royalties.
    yaboya1 wrote: »
    Well done again on yesterday's run Anna.

I've been reading back on your log today, and thought I'd remind you of some of your own training musings before you ran such a big pb of 4:08 yesterday :)

Can't wait to see what time you're capable of when you have some belief in yourself :rolleyes:

haha, thanks P... sorry you didn't get to see me looking so well on the course ;). I posted my report before reading your comments... thanks for the reminder of some of the darker days of training. I think believing in myself made all the difference yesterday... and the fact that I knew other knowledgeable people (D, Meno, even aquinn ;)) thought I was well capable of it too.

If I'd actually completed the plan, I wouldn't have been far off 4 hours, but coulda woulda shoulda... :P

Think i'm going to retire from marathon running on a high now! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Sub 9 min mile at mile 24!!! You're some woman Anna!
    Excellent report befitting of an excellent race.
    Sub 4 no bother to ya, and some, for the next one.
    Massive congrats!!!!

Ososlo wrote: »
    Sub 9 min mile at mile 24!!! You're some woman Anna!
    Excellent report befitting of an excellent race.
    Sub 4 no bother to ya, and some, for the next one.
    Massive congrats!!!!

Thanks A! yeah, that shocked me too :eek:

your post on the novice thread over the weekend was really helpful too by the way.

The other thing I should have added... following the pacers just made it so much easier, having those balloons to focus on... and I didn't pay any attention at all to my own watch for most of it, or fret about the pace at all, so long as the balloons were near.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

You were great but not that great that you followed 2:10 pacers!

Typo on report but a great read and still so happy for you. A really super race and it showed on you last night, you'd no bother during it which is only super.

#vproud. xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Anna, said it a tonne of times yesterday but worth saying again - really well done, you deserved it after a good solid year behind you, so delighted for you.

And jeez you didn't have to take the gel if you didn't need it, contrary to belief I wouldn't have turned into a rage machine if you hadn't taken it :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Anna, said it a tonne of times yesterday but worth saying again - really well done, you deserved it after a good solid year behind you, so delighted for you.

+1 to this :) fan bloody tastic, you worked for that amazing PB and you totally deserved it

also v. proud xx

(p.s. read Mrs Mac's report to see what you missed, you might be glad we didn't spot each other :p)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Really well done! Delighted for you! Great time & great report! It was me shouting! I was on High Street marshalling kids off the road and out of the way of stampeding runners!
    Well done to you and to Murph D!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

I just read your report with a bloody big smile on my face, it oozes happiness, positivity, confidence and enjoyment :) A massive massive well done Anna, you deserved this win so much after a fantastic year of hard sessions and serious dedication to your training :)

A great report and it shows your mental and physical toughness, I bet you smiled your way around the course :)

aquinn wrote: »
    You were great but not that great that you followed 2:10 pacers!

Typo on report but a great read and still so happy for you. A really super race and it showed on you last night, you'd no bother during it which is only super.

#vproud. xx

Jeez, can't believe I did that again, I was saying that all day yesterday too.. 2:10 :p Paula Radcliffe eat your heart out :p
    laura_ac3 wrote: »

And jeez you didn't have to take the gel if you didn't need it, contrary to belief I wouldn't have turned into a rage machine if you hadn't taken it :):)

hmm, what did you do to the guy in Crumlin who wouldn't take a jelly from you... ;)

nah, seriously, I just didn't want to hurt your feelings :p

Firedance wrote: »

(p.s. read Mrs Mac's report to see what you missed, you might be glad we didn't spot each other :p)

I did and after reading it I'm even more amazed I missed you!
    HelenAnne wrote: »
    Really well done! Delighted for you! Great time & great report! It was me shouting! I was on High Street marshalling kids off the road and out of the way of stampeding runners!
    Well done to you and to Murph D!

Thanks Helen... I knew it was you, just wasn't sure where exactly that was. Well done on the marshalling!
    Neady83 wrote: »
    I just read your report with a bloody big smile on my face, it oozes happiness, positivity, confidence and enjoyment :) A massive massive well done Anna, you deserved this win so much after a fantastic year of hard sessions and serious dedication to your training :)

A great report and it shows your mental and physical toughness, I bet you smiled your way around the course :)

ah here, didn't you see all the grouchy stuff that yaboya dug up! I'm usually very grumpy... but I did smile my way around yesterday... weird, just one of those good days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Great performance and a great report to match Anna - not a bother to you ! Congrats!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

Very well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Hi Anna, it was great meeting you yesterday. Congrats on a stunning PB! 35 minutes? And you wonder why I find it hard to celebrate 2 paltry minutes?! You'll have to aim for 3:50 next year. That's the problem with massive achievements. It creates huge expectations. :)

Wow Anna great report am so delighted for you such a great achievement ... Saw your boys along the route Murph went over to give them a hug .... We nearly followed him !!! Well done enjoy the cekebrations :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Brilliant report Anna and a performance to match. Knew when I saw you in the Park you were going to have a good one, you just looked so happy. You may have inspired me to give it a shot next year. Maybe. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Well done enjoy the cekebrations :)

Is that celebrations, but with cake ? Sounds delicious :pac::pac:

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Is that celebrations, but with cake ? Sounds delicious :pac::pac:

Ah Bungy my brain hurts as well as my legs !!! Thanks for the shout out in PP