Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kirkland Vs. Canelo -

• 24-01-2015 11:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭

Its done for May 2nd !!

Kirkland puts manners on him - at a guess : Kirkland @ 3/1 to win this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Diddley Squat

Its not a joke -

Kirkland makes Canelo pay in the second half.
    He comes with bad intentions

Now wheres Megadodge ..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Its not a joke -

Kirkland makes Canelo pay in the second half.
    He comes with bad intentions

Now wheres Megadodge ..........

Have you changed your name again?

It's not that hard to maintain the same username you know, or are you just afraid your crazy prediction will be so out of kilter you're just going to use this name for the duration of the buildup and then head for the hills after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

pac_man wrote: »
    What's the joke with Kirkland? He's just a bulldozer. It will be entertaining but would much rather see Canelo and Cotto.

I disagree. Kirkland can offer a lot. At least he is a solid and heavy handed LMW/MW, not like Cotoo, a blown up WW. I know Kirkland is listed as a LMW, but I wonder what he weighed for most of his fights? Kirkland comes to kill. He will give his all, and he can bang a bit too. Much rather Canelo-Kirkland than Canelo beating up on Cotto....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

The first 4 or 5 rounds should be a war... if Canelo gets through them he'll win handy enough I reckon.

pac_man wrote: »
    Kirkland is one-dimensional, slow and will not have fought for 18 months by the time the fight occurs. Cotto appears to be a different beast since that Trout beating and definitely offers alot more than Kirkland.

What has Cotto done since his loss to Trout? I have seen nothing special. He hasn't the physicality or power IMO to be too much of a threat to Canelo. He may make it difficult, as he is a lovely boxer, but if Canelo senses early that Cotto cannot hurt him I think he will break Cotto down.

Kirkland offers power and volume, at least for the first few rds, should he get that far. He is a far more dangerous assignment. Canelo is no real speedster, and can be tagged relatively easily. His chin son far has proven good, but Kirkland will test it with a different type of power.

Kirkland brings pugilism to antoher level come May 2nd

Megadodge - changed my name when a mate pointed out what a 'Dogger' is ......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Canelo by middle to late TKO.

Sound about right. I am still intrigued to see if Kirkland brings real volume and heat to this match, and if so, can Canelo take the power? It will be his biggest test as regards power and volume and pressure.

Kirkland brings pugilism to antoher level come May 2nd

Megadodge - changed my name when a mate pointed out what a 'Dogger' is ......

Why did you change it before that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

Take it to PM lads - though Diddly Squat you don't have to justify anything anyway. Usernames are personal and when changed, are often done so for a reason, old names should NOT be dragged up unless the user themselves does so.

Cork_girl wrote: »
    Take it to PM lads - though Diddly Squat you don't have to justify anything anyway. Usernames are personal and when changed, are often done so for a reason, old names should NOT be dragged up unless the user themselves does so.

Here, relax, there is zero animosity here. We go back a long way (on boards) and I'm just slagging him. It all started when our opinions differed on Canelo and Kirkland a good few years ago. There was even a mention of some form of boards-style wager at one stage, but it was all in very good spirits... and it still is, so....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

megadodge wrote: »
    Here, relax, there is zero animosity here. We go back a long way (on boards) and I'm just slagging him. It all started when our opinions differed on Canelo and Kirkland a good few years ago. There was even a mention of some form of boards-style wager at one stage, but it was all in very good spirits... and it still is, so....

Grand.

megadodge wrote: »
    Why did you change it before that?

I changed computers at one stage , forgot my login another , boards got hacked and couldnt return, just wanted a clean slate another time ..... I don't keep friends or anything so it dosent bother me too much

I have actually posted here since the very beginning when this board was created

Former identities include Bernard Hopkins, Odd-Job, Benizir Bhutto, Raise the blinds, honest ron ... to name a few

Anyway will certainly have a wager -
    If you are happy to , we could operate an honesty policy where the loser donates a fixed sum to a charity of his choice.
    For me - got to give it to an animal shelter !

On the other side, I will be betting on this for my own gain, but will expect lenghty odds on Kirkland to win. The media will focus on Canelo as the 'a-side' fighter and concentrate on the promotion of his side of the fight.

Mosley has already softened up Canelo .......so
    Kirkland takes over from round 3, he hunts him down and beats him up.
    Kirkland takes him out in the 9th/10th round through attrition.

It's not too late to change your mind and get onto the Kirkland bandwagon :)

just tellin' you all now ......

I changed computers at one stage , forgot my login another , boards got hacked and couldnt return, just wanted a clean slate another time ..... I don't keep friends or anything so it dosent bother me too much

I have actually posted here since the very beginning when this board was created

Former identities include Bernard Hopkins, Odd-Job, Benizir Bhutto, Raise the blinds, honest ron ... to name a few

Anyway will certainly have a wager -
    If you are happy to , we could operate an honesty policy where the loser donates a fixed sum to a charity of his choice.
    For me - got to give it to an animal shelter !

On the other side, I will be betting on this for my own gain, but will expect lenghty odds on Kirkland to win. The media will focus on Canelo as the 'a-side' fighter and concentrate on the promotion of his side of the fight.

Mosley has already softened up Canelo .......so
    Kirkland takes over from round 3, he hunts him down and beats him up.
    Kirkland takes him out in the 9th/10th round through attrition.

It's not too late to change your mind and get onto the Kirkland bandwagon :)

just tellin' you all now ......

Really? Don't recall Mosley doing any damage.

I'm still surprised someone like you who, like myself, bets regularly (and successfully) on boxing fancies Kirkland so strongly.

While I believe Kirkland is dangerous and definitely more of a threat than Angulo, similar to el Pero, I see his style as the sort of one that will make Canelo look good - as distinct from Lara.

I predicted beforehand on here that Angulo would be easily beaten because for me it was a forgone conclusion. While I think this a tougher proposition, I am now predicting that if Canelo is his usual patient self Kirkland will last til c. round 8-9, but if he lets rip on the onrushing Yank, it could end in 4-6 rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 TheDalioLama

Has anyone seen a betting line on this?

I can't find one online. Strongly fancy Canelo in this one- in a nutshell he'll have too much opportunity to land on Kirkland and has the power to do damage. Anything better than 1/4 on Canelo is enticing but I'm not optimistic given his popularity & Kirkland's layoff.

No lines out as of yet , but I priced it myself along the same lines as you suggested.

Canelo 1/4 or 2/7 : Kirkland 3/1 or 7/2

Maybe 1/4 or so that it does not go the 12 rounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

Kirkland currently weighs 200lbs and has dropped Ann Wolfe as his trainer. Replaced her with a complete unknown.

This looks like it will be a non-event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Kirkland hasn't a hope.

How can you tell what Kirkland weighs - anyway he got 3 months to trim - if my maths hasn't let me down

Canelo gets it first - then Kirkland moves up to smash triple g

You heard it here first :)

How can you tell what Kirkland weighs - anyway he got 3 months to trim - if my maths hasn't let me down

Canelo gets it first - then Kirkland moves up to smash triple g

You heard it here first :)

Dan Rafael was told by one of Kirkland's team that he's close to 200lbs. Kirkland that is. For Dan 200lbs is a fond and distant memory.

No lines out as of yet , but I priced it myself along the same lines as you suggested.

Canelo 1/4 or 2/7 : Kirkland 3/1 or 7/2

Maybe 1/4 or so that it does not go the 12 rounds

The odds are out - Canelo 1/6 - Kirkland 4/1

Even better than I imagined - could do with a few bob right now too !

Joshua Clottey is on the undercard ...................... thought he vanished off the face of the earth.

He did, and then he resurfaced and demolished the great Anthony Mundine last year. He looked great actually. I think he just stopped giving a shit after the cheque for the Pacquiao fight cleared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭DylanAFC

After the disappointment of last night this can't come soon enough.

Should be a great scrap as long as Kirkland can hold up his end of the fight... I expect a Canelo TKO around round 8-10. Looking forward to seeing him again. He'll be very motivated to put on a show after not getting his May 2nd slot

The Ishida fight has forever left major question marks hanging over Kirkland. If he's in shape and gets into the fight it could be fantastic, but I think Canelo will stop him if he's not up to speed.

I also heard Kirkland was dramatically over weight when the fight was announced...he must be under a bit of strain to cut the weight.

Yeah he was, but this is how he looks now. 163.8 in this picture.

hqdefault.jpg

Henno30 wrote: »
    Yeah he was, but this is how he looks now. 163.8 in this picture.

hqdefault.jpg

Is that Kirkland? Doesn't really look like him but the hat and the side profile of his face isn't helping...if that is him then he's looking to be in great shape, fair play. Canelo looking much more at home at this weight

From his instagram page - https://instagram.com/p/12KPfqxm1K/

Kirklands ready to go -

Now this is the fight worth €25

The HBO 24/7 episode is on Youtube too but when I checked earlier to watch it, it said it was unavailable to watch from your country...hopefully HBO sort that out, always like the Canelo ones and good to see a guy like Kirkland telling his story.

yeah I watched it only tonight.
    Will find a link and post it - 24/7 style

Hi - I'm Jim Lampley

Now here you go : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rgIkAtgyZqc&hd=1

Now no refunds for anybody betting on Canelo.
    Don't say I didn't told you all so come Sunday morning.

J.K comes with bad intentions - he's going to put hurt on this unusual Mexican

That 24/7 was boring. Really weak!

Really looking forward to this now. Man I hope Kirkland brings it. If he does..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

11/2 Kirkland by KO or TKO I'll have €10 on that & see how Canelo reacts when he takes a clean shot from Kirkland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭boxer.fan

Anyone hear the reason why Kirkland left Ann Wolfe? Seemed like a bit of a sore point for Kirkland in that 24/7 episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Is this usual vegas time? 4ish?

Its not unusual to be ................

I see megadodge is in hiding these days t557a82_hiding.gif

Wish I could stay up for this but gonna have to catch it sometime tomorrow or more than likely next weekend...ugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Alvarez by handy stoppage. Kirkland hasn't a bull hope, I'll eat my hat if he lasts the distance.

Is this usual vegas time? 4ish?

Never mind, have it on telly now. Not even in vegas, my bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

As impressive as your going to see by canelo. Finish was great little touch to the body and then bang upstairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭La Mer

This what i was looking for last week. what a KO from Canelo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Suryavarman

That was an absolutely brutal knockout.

I love it...

Its not unusual to be ................

I see megadodge is in hiding these days t557a82_hiding.gif

Ahem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭Underground

OP what did you make of the fight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

I'd say Kirkland is just about waking up from that now...