Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Towns & Cities which share/sprawl 2 counties

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Also always loved the Four Corners in the USA. The point where Utah, Colorado, New Mexico and Arizona meet. You can be in all four states at once if you lie across it.

https://photos.travelblog.org/Photos/39811/180291/t/1335146---1.jpg

More info here

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Four_Corners

• Registered Users Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

"London" contains two cities and up to 33 boroguhs (depending on your perspective) and parts of 5 counties. However, London does not legally exist and its status as the capital of the UK is not set out in any Act of Parliament., it's simply custom.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Lisburn is split between (mostly) Antrim and Down.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,139 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Is Europe really a continent though? ;)

More of a subcontinent really within Eurasia.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Under what criteria?

It's a large mass of land. Technically Ireland is only politically part of Europe, not geographically. It doesn't really belong to any large mass of land. That's the way I'd see it anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I've heard some mad things about Ferrybank over the years, like your address is Kilkenny but once you step outside the door you're in Waterford, so you have to get your bins collected in Waterford.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

thelad95 wrote: »
    It's a large mass of land. Technically Ireland is only politically part of Europe, not geographically. It doesn't really belong to any large mass of land. That's the way I'd see it anyway.
    Eurasia is a large, distinct, mass of land, Europe isn't really. Culturally yes, but geography doesn't care about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Carrick on Suir. Majority of town - Carraig Mór - is in Tipperary. Carrick Beag is in Waterford and 1 mile outside the town is Kilkenny. Schools have kids from 3 counties and 2 provinces.

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mr Rhode Island Red

Cong: Mayo and Galway. Almost everybody I know from there, in a sad kind of way, decides to claim Galwegian status over being a full-blooded bog warrior.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,139 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Ireland is part of Europe. It sits on the same Eurasian tectonic plate and shares the same continental shelf. Geographically speaking we're 100% part of Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Stroke Politics

The eastern bank of the River Moy in Ballina Co Mayo, Ardnaree was officially part of Co Sligo for a long time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Cong: Mayo and Galway. Almost everybody I know from there, in a sad kind of way, decides to claim Galwegian status over being a full-blooded bog warrior.

country folk are so funny with stuff like this. You just don't understand, anything outside the M50 is full-blooded bog warrior.

There is no actual difference to non-bog warrior jackeens, a culchie is a culchie is a culchie.

It's especially hilarious when folk from small to middlin' towns like Galway, Cork or Kilkenny pretend to be city slickers and disparage the people who live in fields.

Yiz are all the same to us anyway. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

• Registered Users Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

the majority of kansas city (including downtown) is actually located in the state of missouri not the state of kansas

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭JamieK

country folk are so funny with stuff like this. You just don't understand, anything outside the M50 is full-blooded bog warrior.

There is no actual difference to non-bog warrior jackeens, a culchie is a culchie is a culchie.

It's especially hilarious when folk from small to middlin' towns like Galway, Cork or Kilkenny pretend to be city slickers and disparage the people who live in fields.

Yiz are all the same to us anyway. :D

Likewise ye "city slickers" can keep to yourselves.

Carrick on Suir my own town which people have mentioned really is a good example of this. Every time I train the local under 14 team you have kids in head to toe in Tipp/Bla/Cats gear. The rivalry and pride of place is alive and well here :)

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Pettigo, in both Donegal and Fermanagh.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Bundoran and Kinlough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The Galway/Mayo border is right down the middle of Shrule. Which of course meant the water scheme and sewage upgrade stopped and doesnt serve everyone
    sligojoek wrote: »
    Ballina / Killaloe

Someone should tell the Lakeside hotel what county they are in

They claim to be in Clare yet they unless they have some secret tunnel under the Shannon they are in Tipp!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Plenty of Brayheads who revel in having a Co. Dublin address (those who live at the very top end of the town).

Too bleedin righ

• Registered Users Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Isn't Carlow town mostly in Laois?

No, none of Carlow town is in Laois.

Graigcullen is on the Carlow/Laois border with parts being in carlow and parts being in Laois

• Registered Users Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

keano_afc wrote: »
    Too bleedin righ
    G'way outta dat, I'm a Wicklahman meself.

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

sligojoek wrote: »
    Ballina / Killaloe

Is always thought they were 2 towns, with Ballina being on the Tipp side and Killaloe being on the Clare. Is it messier than that?

• Registered Users Posts: 835 ✭✭✭dogcat

Part of Moneygall is in Offaly and part is in Tipperary.
    As for Bray.
    As for Clonegal.
    As for Carlow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Charleville. Actually in Cork, but has a Limerick phone code and administered by Limerick CC...

Never could get my head around that!

• Registered Users Posts: 835 ✭✭✭dogcat

Flincher wrote: »
    Is always thought they were 2 towns, with Ballina being on the Tipp side and Killaloe being on the Clare. Is it messier than that?
    Technically they are two different towns although generally people refer to the area as Ballina-Killaloe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

dogcat wrote: »
    Part of Moneygall is in Offaly and part is in Tipperary.
    As for Bray.
    As for Clonegal.
    As for Carlow.

Didn't Tipp and Offaly have a friendly dust-up over who was going to claim Obama? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,481 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Istanbul,a city divided by 2 continents,Europe and Asia.
    was Constantinople
    Istanbul
    not Constantinople
    Been a long time gone
    Constantinople
    Now it's Turkish delight on a moonlit night...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Bundoran and Kinlough?

they are too far apart Im afraid.. Bundoran is well and truly in Donegal geographically, Kinlough is in Leitrim.. and is approx 3 miles away from Bundoran.

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

Waterford Golf Club……in County Kilkenny……

Rendezvous of the rich.
    Enclave of the south east Illuminati.
    Shower of bastards ….

From a height, they mock the common folk with the silly (titanium) stick and ball game.
    Black and amber lizard people who control the shops/ banks and poison our drinking water.

F**k them all ,and their Ross O’ Carroll Kelly books...:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

byte wrote: »
    Pettigo, in both Donegal and Fermanagh.

I was thinking of this, but the northern part of Pettigo is officially called Tullyhoman and is recognized as its own town believe it or not.

Back to the OP....Toomebridge straddles Co. Antrim and Co. Derry on the river Bann.