Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015 - 1000 mile challenge

• 31-12-2014 11:13am
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭

On the off chance that there are some over eager antipodeans wanting to log their miles already, and because I don't plan on setting this up tomorrow morning for you guys as I'll have two races and a hangover to deal with then ... here is the 2015 sparkly new spreadsheet.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0ApYKSUtVQ4OodExNdmRwRGpDb0JZMi1vcjVRN2JuWkE#gid=0

Same as last year we are using Google Docs again, just click on the link above and enter your boardsie name in column A and then how far your total miles are for the year in column C, or if you count in kilometres enter that in column D. If you want you can also enter you age/ gender category in column B. Your ranking amongst the boardsies is shown on the Positions sheet.

Do not edit any other columns, except for the completion date when you have done your 1000miles. People who had access to the locked sheet last year should already be setup with access to the same sheet again, anyone that wants access to that then you'll need to PM me your Google email address so that I can enable access.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭axe2grind

Top of the board ;)

Had to do a really late run to get the 1,000 miles done for 2014 and continued for more than another hour to make a good start to 2015.

Formula are a bit screwed up. I suspect 2014 needs to be replaced with 2015.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

Second place so far :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭OldBloke

Im in 4th Place for the first time ever!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

axe2grind wrote: »
    Formula are a bit screwed up. I suspect 2014 needs to be replaced with 2015.
    Thanks for spotting that, should be sorted now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭CR 7

Started the year off with a nice windy 10k.:D I'll be keeping my total updated more regularly this year anyway.

robinph wrote: »
    Thanks for spotting that, should be sorted now.
    Still need to change column M :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ray lanigan

cant remember how I log my name and miles on this,dont want to be the one to wipe the page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

cant remember how I log my name and miles on this,dont want to be the one to wipe the page

You follow the link to the google docs and then you put your name in the "name" column (A) and your miles into the "miles" column (C). Seriously, that's it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Still need to change column M :)

Thanks again, fixed that column now.

This will obviously change very quickly, but just noticed how much difference every bit of a mile will make. There are four of us currently on 6 miles, with that probably varying between having entered 6 and 6.9 miles, but the estimated completion date for each of us varies by nearly a month just due to that fraction of a mile difference between our current totals and about 100 miles difference predicted for the end of the year.

As certain supermarkets may say "Every little helps". :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

I have just realised how hard this going to be :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ray lanigan

I have just realised how hard this going to be :eek:
    When I first started running it took everything I had to run my first 3 miles and I got sick at my front door,2 days later I ran the same route and didn't get sick,On may the 2nd I will run my first 100 mile ultra.
    Stick at it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

When I first started running it took everything I had to run my first 3 miles and I got sick at my front door,2 days later I ran the same route and didn't get sick,On may the 2nd I will run my first 100 mile ultra.
    Stick at it:)
    Just as well it dosent finish at ur front door

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

Sorted and on the leaderboard. Some people hitting the ground running, as usual. As it were.

Just a thought
    Any interest here in logging elevation gain? I include hills in much of my running so am keen on this aspect. Though perhaps garmins etc are not accurate enough to be tabulating the results?
    Could add columns to current spreadsheet or create new one, though I haven't mentioned any of this to robinph!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Just a thought
    Any interest here in logging elevation gain? I include hills in much of my running so am keen on this aspect. Though perhaps garmins etc are not accurate enough to be tabulating the results?
    Could add columns to current spreadsheet or create new one, though I haven't mentioned any of this to robinph!!

If you're really interested in this, join the boards club on strava. Elevation is listed in the leaderboard there.

Oh! I like this. I'm a bit behind but I've two marathons planned so I should be able to complete the challenge :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I'm in.

Can you count other forms of exercise besides running e.g. a game of soccer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Sure let's throw running for the bus in there also :D

Best we stick with the running miles since it is you know, a running forum.

jebuz wrote: »
    Sure let's throw running for the bus in there also :D

Best we stick with the running miles since it is you know, a running forum.

Sky track footballer mileage ;)
    I have soccer tonight and I wont be able to walk tomorrow so I was chancing it.

If you're really interested in this, join the boards club on strava. Elevation is listed in the leaderboard there.
    Thanks for this, had thought strava was only cycling. I'll have a look during the next week

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Ok I'm in. Someone has to come last ;)

Can anyone jump in on this (that is, can I)?!

I don't really post here much, but I do browse a bit. The chances of me getting in 1,000 miles is probably very unlikely, but I reckon if I stick my name down, I'd be more likely to try..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Can anyone jump in on this (that is, can I)?!

I don't really post here much, but I do browse a bit. The chances of me getting in 1,000 miles is probably very unlikely, but I reckon if I stick my name down, I'd be more likely to try..

Of course! You are most welcome!

Cheers. I added my name there now, and my current distance for the year.

When I want to update it, do I just delete and add the new number, yeah? It'll calculate it all itself?

Speaking of which.. Not that I'm trying to brag or anything, but.. It's only the 8th, and I've already done 5k, lads.. Ye might want to start picking up the pace.. Just for your own sakes, like. Don't want to be embarrassing anybody..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Fidge13

Just signed up and looking forward to it.

Havent been running since mid-december so started with two easy three-mile runs.

My fitness will pick up as the weeks stroll by....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

I'm in again. Every year I do this, I seem to get worse. Only managed 364km last year due to injuries. Thats 1km a day. :(

Not expecting to do the 1000 mile but if I can beat my own record of 790km in 2013, I'll be happy. Just hoping I can stay injury free this year. Good luck everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

rom wrote: »
    Somethings broken. I have 73 miles down in locked but its not updating on the positions one.

I see you as having done 73 on 'Positions' sheet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Ososlo wrote: »
    I see you as having done 73 on 'Positions' sheet.

Yeah I was reading the wrong number. I don't know the sheet that I made originally :)

I am not drunk honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 ultmc

I seem to be having trouble with adding in miles. When a choose to edit and add miles on to first column, it is not automatically updating total column as per last year. Is there something I'm doing wrong?

ultmc wrote: »
    I seem to be having trouble with adding in miles. When a choose to edit and add miles on to first column, it is not automatically updating total column as per last year. Is there something I'm doing wrong?
    There is no formula in the total column for your row.
    Can you copy the cell above (currently showing 58.50, but this is a formula generated figure) and paste it into your total cell.

If my instructions don't make sense then someone else who has access will probably to the honours :)

As axe2grind said, you need to copy the formula from the cell above into the cell for your line. It will automatically update the formula to work for your line.

I can't seem to do the copy safely on mobile at the moment so will need someone to do it from the desktop client. If not then I'll sort it during the week when I'm back in front of a pc.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,193 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Should be ok now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 ultmc

adrian522 wrote: »
    Should be ok now

Yes it's working now.
    Thanks for the advice and sorting it out.
    Makes this mornings miles more worthwhile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Redgraffle

Haven't tried this in a few years but LOVE the new format !!!

Only problem is that it will take me until July 2016 to reach 1,000 miles according to predictions :eek:

Still great motivation - 10km coming up this evening ;)

Can really see this as being one of the big motivators in getting me out running when the couch is calling !

Thats a windy day to be out there. Whatever direction I was running the wind seemed to be always blowing towards me or from the side, never from behind :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

Wind assisted miles count? :)

Do I get double for running into it? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

Do I get double for running into it? :pac:

Yes, plus 50% if it's uphill...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭vanderlyle

Keeping a log here has been good motivation so far, even though I have not had much to write about yet. Doing this can only help, I'm in. Currently, my prediction for 1000 miles is mid-November, the same week as my birthday...

Thanks robin, it's a nifty spreadsheet.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I'm in the brown for the first time today (lazy first week of New Year):)

vanderlyle wrote: »

Thanks robin, it's a nifty spreadsheet.
    I can't take the credit for most of its trickery. Rom and a few others have created most of it, I just copy and paste it each year and take the kudos. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

A little motivation here for anyone if needed :)
    Excerpt from the article:
    The majority of everyday competitive runners don’t run anywhere near as much as they could. Thirty-five miles a week? Come on. Most runners don’t run more because they simply don’t feel like running more. That’s fine. I’m not here to tell you what you should feel like doing. But if you’re open to making a change, then I am here to encourage it. Instead of a race time goal, let your next goal as a runner be to build up to running a certain number of miles in a week. If you’ve never run more than 35 miles in a week, aim for 50. If your max is 50, go for 75. Take your time and slow down as much as necessary to keep your body feeling good.
    Seems like most of us can all run a bit more if we really really want to :)

Time is my main issue. I already need to sacrifice sleep to get any running in.

I have just come to the realisation that I am not going to win this...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,902 ✭✭✭✭28064212

A little motivation here for anyone if needed
    Wonder what they define as a "competitive runner"? ~57km sounds like a pretty low average weekly total when a weekly long run could easily be half of that.

Side-note: $139.99 for the original report? Belongs in the rant thread

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

Woo hoo 100 km done! :)

..looks up table to raylanigan and Krusty_Clown...

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Woo hoo 100 km done! :)

..looks up table to raylanigan and Krusty_Clown...

:o
    Yes, but you're happy. We're just tired. :)

parkrun as a warmup, followed by a further 19 mile run home this morning takes me to 204 miles for the month which has to be by far my best ever mileage. Hopefully can keep this level of running going for this year without reverting to my usual laziness.