Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which family member causes problems at Xmas?

• 25-12-2014 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭

We all have that one family member that causes problems every Christmas! Whether they get drunk and become extremely racist or are just looking to cause an argument. Mine is my racist argumentative great grand mother.Who is 96 btw.. Who is yours?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

PhilBill wrote: »
    We all have that one family member that causes problems every Christmas! Whether they get drunk and become extremely racist or are just looking to cause an argument. Mine is my racist argumentative great grand mother.Who is 96 btw.. Who is yours?

My 3 year old. Wet the bed Christmas eve, wouldn't play nice with her brother and only ate carrots and ice cream at dinner, bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

The fathers mistress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭PhilBill

My 3 year old. Wet the bed Christmas eve, wouldn't play nice with her brother and only ate carrots and ice cream at dinner, bitch.

You're gonna have some serious problems with that one when she hits the teenage years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

I don't know about all ye but there are 12 of us and none of our family are like that

Even myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭JaseBelleVie

I've already written a big thing about my cousin's wife.

The TL;DR version is that she is just a malevolent cow who ruined this Christmas. Following on from her success at ruining previous weddings, parties, reunions, birthdays. Now she's f*cked up Christmas. Great. I'm blessed with a very normal family, and in a twisted moment of sour grapes, I reflected that at least she's only in my family by marriage. I never really liked her, but after today, I actually really despise her. She reduced her mother in law (my mother's sister) and her own children to tears with her antics.

Bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Jeezo the Xmas threads are taking over AH.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

You'd swear twas Xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,554 ✭✭✭tigger123

JaseHeath wrote: »

The TL;DR version is that she is just a malevolent cow who ruined this Christmas. Following on from her success at ruining previous weddings, parties, reunions, birthdays. Now she's f*cked up Christmas. Great. I'm blessed with a very normal family, and in a twisted moment of sour grapes, I reflected that at least she's only in my family by marriage. I never really liked her, but after today, I actually really despise her. She reduced her mother in law (my mother's sister) and her own children to tears with her antics.

Bitch.

What did she do?!

tigger123 wrote: »
    What did she do?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

And to think, there's actually a Christmas forum.

Tilly wrote: »
    And to think, there's actually a Christmas forum.

Meh, it's After Hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

ME! Hahahahaha :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Ah I love the old racist relations,they have earned the right to say what they want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

My dad. Or my mother if my dad isn't acting up. During his teens, my brother too.

They've all gone to bed for the night. My parents got a kitten to take care of the mice. He just scratched me up pretty bad on my hand...so he's causing problems too. Little w@nker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I don't think there's one in my family. However I got out of bed at 10 to give my presents, came back to bed to watch Game of Thrones, went down for dinner, back to my room after 25 minutes, slept til 8:30pm and now in my room drinking wine watching TV.

The most wonderful time of the year my arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Nobody - I prob annoy them - especially when I come home in a jocker on Stephens night

I don't think there's one in my family. However I got out of bed at 10 to give my presents, came back to bed to watch Game of Thrones, went down for dinner, back to my room after 25 minutes, slept til 8:30pm and now in my room drinking wine watching TV.

Ditched them all at about 7:30 after proclaiming my religious rights(Religion is bull) and calling three of them racists... Went to my room to drink for the night and watch House M.D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭JaseBelleVie

tigger123 wrote: »
    What did she do?!

The culmination of a long list of bullsh*t that just ruined the day for everyone, made it painfully awkward from then on. Petty stuff, really, but it is just a culmination and is never ending with her.

We need specifics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭The_Chap

If you don't think there's one in your family, it's probably you lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Make with the story!! We all want to feel good about ourselves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The Playstation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

The only people to be with at Xmas are the people you actually want to be with. Assuming they want you there too! Best wishes to everyone suffering the forced and false togetherness of this day. It's nearly done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Just read the other thread. I pity your cousin, and have no doubt she got pregnant to ensure she has hold over him; have seen such women.
    We need specifics!
    Read the other f**king thread, then!

Read the f**king thread, then![/QUOTE]

Flicking through a few threads right now, sorry if I missed a few 'F**king' posts... You my friend I guess are the type of person this thread is aimed at.

the_syco wrote: »
    Just read the other thread. I pity your cousin, and have no doubt she got pregnant to ensure she has hold over him; have seen such women.

Which one?!

Oh yeah, sorry

the_syco wrote: »

Link doesn't work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Bitch.

Is the one who had her wedding in Australia or somewhere and fell out with her mother who couldent afford to go?or did someone else post that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

To much over indulgence in alcohol makes the demons come out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

So blame Arthur or jimmy Jameson:-)

darkdubh wrote: »
    Is the one who had her wedding in Australia or somewhere and fell out with her mother who couldent afford to go?or did someone else post that?

You'd be a shoo in for Sherlock, but we were not looking for past posts. We were talking about Christmas tragedies.

I wonder - if you can not think of someone in your family like that - does that mean YOU might be he/she/it? :)

But seriously. There is one that I dread meeting. "Grandfather Bernard". And from what I have gathered he is no grandfather but the uncle of a married in uncle on the side of one of the girls I am seeing. But he it one of these entrenched and quite likeable characters. That even in his (very) advanced years still has social control over all around him - including me I have to admit.

I love some of the things he comes out with or adds to social gatherings. Including when he pulls himself CLICKingLY to his feet at parties and sings "Blue Berry Hill" in a vocal that would make the gravel of Gerry Fish sound like a prepubescent girl.

But this guy HATES me. With a serious passion. And my Xmas trial is that for the sake of the girls and the social scenario I can never blow up at him. Just throw my best Passive Agreeive Irony at him (which in fairness has made him splutter once or twice).

The main embarrasment comes from all the people who laugh at his antics for the most part who then - when I am leaving quite happy and unperturbed (but tired perhaps) from the experience - pour apologies on me as I leave. And then I have to convince them somehow that I actually did love every minute of it. Truely.

But every year the same thing. "Same procedure as every year" as that movies the Germans love says :)

Man I have to record him singing Blueberry hill though. If I do it right its going to be a bigger hit than when Tom Waits did that "Jesus Wine - Never Failed me Yet" thing with the homeless guy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

if you cant point anyone out

its you

Beat you to it Brad :)

Oh crap it was me again wasnt it :P

realies wrote: »
    To much over indulgence in alcohol makes the demons come out.

(Turns snapback cap backwards) True dat'!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

My wifes incredibly socially awkward god father. Took him twenty minutes this morning to decide which cup to use to make coffee because he was afraid someone else wanted the mug. He'd drive you to drink
    Hic

My wifes incredibly socially awkward god father. Took him twenty minutes this morning to decide which cup to use to make coffee because he was afraid someone else wanted the mug. He'd drive you to drink
    Hic

You should meet my grandfather! The person that made me socially awkward! Although I absolutely adore him I try and have as few conversations with him as I possibly can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Ah yes there's always one.
    I'll just call her a female relation, thankfully in my extended family.

She mentioned to my mum that she was looking forward to a certain book coming out but wouldn't be able to afford it in hardback so would have to wait for paperback. My mum immediately bought the book from the bookdepository online, wrapped it up really nicely and gave it to her after they spent the day with us and we rolled out the red carpet for her and her family. She opened the book on the way home in the car and we got a call when she was an hour into the journey saying "you seem to have wrapped one of your old books and given it to me so I've stopped at a post office and posted it back to you, wouldn't want you being without your book". The phone was hung up them before my mum got one word out..
    The book depository always put a bookmark advertising their shop in books bought there, she saw it and presumed that the bookmark signified my mum was reading it before she gave it to her. It definitely put a damper on what was a nice day.
    Never a visit passes without some spiteful nastiness aimed at someone where she is concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I have one cousin who is consistently the drunkest at family events. We were all together on xmas eve and we got stuck into the prosecco but he was actually fairly well behaved. That's it really. Today was just my immediate family so fairly chill.

My grannys sister, my great aunt, is the one who causes the issues for my family. My gran can put her in her place sharply enough so she's just offensive enough to add some interest and local colour, but she's not given the opportunity to cause any major problems. Keeps things interesting, with that little frisson of tension. :P

Usually the biggest fight is over who gets to hold the remote control, that kind of power isn't gained, wielded or given up without a battle.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Ah I love the old racist relations,they have earned the right to say what they want

Ha, I find my relations trying to be PC, having grown up with some very un PC phrases, quite funny!

Candie wrote: »
    My grannys sister, my great aunt, is the one who causes the issues for my family. My gran can put her in her place sharply enough so she's just offensive enough to add some interest and local colour, but she's not given the opportunity to cause any major problems. Keeps things interesting, with that little frisson of tension. :P

Usually the biggest fight is over who gets to hold the remote control, that kind of power isn't gained, wielded or given up without a battle.

That UPC remote control can cause families to disown each other!

I'm small but tenacious and I have the battle scars.

Candie wrote: »
    I'm small but tenacious and I have the battle scars.

My terrier could say the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Sounds like a lack of effort on your part to be honest.

chrissb8 wrote: »
    Sounds like a lack of effort on your part to be honest.

I'm assuming by lack of effort you mean the fact that he hasn't finished watching Game of Thrones yet!? I finished the books when I was 15 pal you need to pick the pace up!!! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

so fúcking annoyed, Christmas was going incredibly well, literally in tears with laughter because of my mum but unfortunately she can't keep her mouth shut & involves herself in other people's business. Christmas has been ruined...again

Also, I've found my calling in life, a UN peacekeeper. I did a pretty good job tonight if I do say so myself, things could of gotten extremely messy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭John Cherry

nbar12 wrote: »
    so fúcking annoyed, Christmas was going incredibly well, literally in tears with laughter because of my mum but unfortunately she can't keep her mouth shut & involves herself in other people's business. Christmas has been ruined...again

Sorry to hear.

I can only say well done to the people who kept their argumentative families in order tonight it takes guts! Merry Christmas too everyone and I hope all had a great day yesterday! I'm off too watch Die Hard!