Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people take Steroids..

• 16-12-2014 11:03pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭

Why do people take steroids? i can understand why top athletes might take them to give them an advantage because it could be worth money to them or whatever boxers ect.. but why do average joes that go to the gym take steroids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Because they are too lazy to do the hard work the honest way so they take steroids, plus you could add pressure to look good etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Let me tell you a story.

Some scientists did an experiment. They got three groups of guys. The first group did weights and took no drugs. The second group did weights and took HGH (or some similar muscle boosting drug, I can't remember which). The third group did no weights at all and took the same drugs as the second group.

The second group grew the most muscle (obviously), the third group grew the next most and the first group, the group of we average gym Joes, grew the least muscle.

Some guy watching TV sitting on the couch all day will grow more muscle than me and my four weights sessions a week if he takes a small dose of the right drug.

I don't care enough to use anything like that, but I can see the temptation. If I could double or triple the speed at which I see muscle improvements from my gym-time with minimal side effects...that's a pretty tempting idea.

You don't have to have veins bulging in your eyeballs to be juicing.

This was the study:
    http://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJM199607043350101

It was just testosterone apparently. It also turns out the guy sitting on the couch gained almost twice as much muscle as the natural weight-lifter.

There are a couple of guys at my gym I suspect are taking something. Massive guys, way more developed than me, who never seem to do anything beyond casually slinging around weights half of what I would in a typical session. They look great :/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

Zillah wrote: »
    This was the study:
    http://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJM199607043350101

It was just testosterone apparently. It also turns out the guy sitting on the couch gained almost twice as much muscle as the natural weight-lifter.

There are a couple of guys at my gym I suspect are taking something. Massive guys, way more developed than me, who never seem to do anything beyond casually slinging around weights half of what I would in a typical session. They look great :/

This litterally is what made me ask the question lol i see alot of people that are on roids they come in and do the most ridiculous of workouts and still end up lookin like Hercules i assumed anyone on steroids would be doing insane workouts

I dont know much about steroids but i never knew they d that dramatic of an effect..id imagine the natural lifter would be fitter than the lot tho, and the other 2 grps would be all show and no go? especially the lad sittin on the couch haha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

jonon9 wrote: »
    Because they are too lazy to do the hard work the honest way so they take steroids, plus you could add pressure to look good etc.

Do you think steroids are some magic potion that you can just take and then suddenly get muscular while sitting on the couch eating ice cream lol?

Let me tell you a story.

Some scientists did an experiment. They got three groups of guys. The first group did weights and took no drugs. The second group did weights and took HGH (or some similar muscle boosting drug, I can't remember which). The third group did no weights at all and took the same drugs as the second group.

The second group grew the most muscle (obviously), the third group grew the next most and the first group, the group of we average gym Joes, grew the least muscle.

Some guy watching TV sitting on the couch all day will grow more muscle than me and my four weights sessions a week if he takes a small dose of the right drug.

I don't care enough to use anything like that, but I can see the temptation. If I could double or triple the speed at which I see muscle improvements from my gym-time with minimal side effects...that's a pretty tempting idea.

You don't have to have veins bulging in your eyeballs to be juicing.

The side effects are why more people don't cycle as well. If there was no side effects to using something like test and tren...we would have one aesthetic society lol.

Do you think steroids are some magic potion that you can just take and then suddenly get muscular while sitting on the couch eating ice cream lol?

Yes that is literally exactly what happens. It has been verified scientifically. See my second post.

Steroids won't make you fit or healthy, of course. They won't do a damn thing for your cardiovascular system and they won't burn any calories outside of what they force your body to spend building muscle, so you could still be a fatty while on them too.

They will dramatically increase the rate at which you grow muscle though. As to how much strength is in those muscles? I have no idea, but I wouldn't be surprised if it is close to or equal to a natural muscle of the same size.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

to get heart attacks and cancer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

What are the side effects of taking them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭cabla

Yes that is literally exactly what happens. It has been verified scientifically. See my second post.

Steroids won't make you fit or healthy, of course. They won't do a damn thing for your cardiovascular system and they won't burn any calories outside of what they force your body to spend building muscle, so you could still be a fatty while on them too.

They will dramatically increase the rate at which you grow muscle though. As to how much strength is in those muscles? I have no idea, but I wouldn't be surprised if it is close to or equal to a natural muscle of the same size.

Not correct. Number one, the test was used using Testoserone, something we produce naturally. Number 2 they've never tested on anabolic steroids, it's unethical and will not get any sign off from the World Health Organization to carry out such tests. So you cannot say steroids have been proven, a test booster somewhat has been. Sure you can go to your doc and get Test. I'd like to see if the doc would prescribe D-bol. Also you can loose fat by just sitting there, depends what you're taking, maybe some clen or wyn.

If you take more testosterone perhaps you'll build up more but also may just get fatter too.

Technically there are no proven cons to taking steroids, again because there has been no actual scientific research/journals done. Side effects may include, for male, more acne on the back, more hair on the body but loss of hair on the head, man boobs, shrinking of the balls, potentiall enlarged heart especially with HGH (I believe). Roid rage has not been proven either to be something, a lot of the guys that have been told have it may have had other psychological problems, on other substances too etc. They can't for sure say it was 100% steroids that made them flip.

To say people that take steroids are lazy, I'd agree and wouldn't agree to a certain extent. I don't have much issues with people taking roids if they're doing it right, it's their choice and body. I'm assuming people that are taking roids are actually going to the gym and not just sitting on the sofa as the post above said, that's ridiculous. But there are people who take them properly. Correct dosages, correct other drugs to help with the side effect and correct post cycle treatment. They take them, diet and work out hard. But yes I think so many people are taking them now who haven't even plateaued naturally and abuse them and simple don't have the knowledge to take them properly and effectively.

Having said that too much of anything is bad for you. Correct management is vital which I think a lot of people have neglected these days. People take them to look good and bigger. We are all seeming to suffer with Narcism these days with those bloody selfie sticks and Zeus like bodies. Seems like the world and media has contributed a lot to people's body dysmorphia issues.

Just also so you know, I'm not on nor have ever taken steroids. I'm just interested in it. Protein shakes are the height of it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

evo2000 wrote: »
    This litterally is what made me ask the question lol i see alot of people that are on roids they come in and do the most ridiculous of workouts and still end up lookin like Hercules i assumed anyone on steroids would be doing insane workouts

I dont know much about steroids but i never knew they d that dramatic of an effect..id imagine the natural lifter would be fitter than the lot tho, and the other 2 grps would be all show and no go? especially the lad sittin on the couch haha

This answers your question, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

almost all body builders that compete are on steroids. I dont think they are lazy :confused:

I have no issues with people taking steroids, if I wasn't so paranoid about side effects Id be pumping them left right and centre into me

Ive thought about it many a time, just never done it when push came to shove

maybe I will in 2015 :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

almost all body builders that compete are on steroids. I dont think they are lazy :confused:

I have no issues with people taking steroids, if I wasn't so paranoid about side effects Id be pumping them left right and centre into me

Ive thought about it many a time, just never done it when push came to shove

maybe I will in 2015 :cool:

well that's your new years resolution sorted.

wanting to make maximum gains with the least amount of work would be my guess as to why people take them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Dave 101

wanting to make maximum gains with the least amount of work would be my guess as to why people take them

Maximum gains is obvious but not least amount of work most people will train more and harder on steroids because they are able to recover better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

but doesn't everybody (bar the lunatics) want max gain with minimal work?
    It kinda makes sense....why batter yourself needlessly?

I train very hard each time I go into the gym. Im around 83kg and can squat 150kg, bench 130kg and deadlift 200kg

I cant seem to get past these numbers even when I change my diet/training pattern

think some steroids would give me some added help :cool:

but doesn't everybody (bar the lunatics) want max gain with minimal work?
    It kinda makes sense....why batter yourself needlessly?

we're not all looking to go full freak beast :cool:, and I'm guessing the side effects out way the benefits for most people or most people are happy with what they are doing so never even think about steroids

but if you want to and aren't worried about the side effects then juice away

if I just wanted big arms would I just put the syringe into my bicep?

I train very hard each time I go into the gym. Im around 83kg and can squat 150kg, bench 130kg and deadlift 200kg

I cant seem to get past these numbers even when I change my diet/training pattern

think some steroids would give me some added help :cool:

hey if you want to then go ahead

Just use synthol that stuff looks great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I'll say this much: I wouldn't consider myself hugely lazy with my training (though obviously there are plenty doing more at higher intensity) but when you start training with a specific athletic goal in mind you begin to understand the appeal. Being sore and beat up is no craic. Dreading the last two sets or the next rowing block. If someone told me (and I assume in the case of elite athletes they're basically told what to do) 'take Y and Z and we'll up your training X percent and it'll be grand' it would be tempting.

WRONG! Most people will work more and harder. People that take steroids, bar some idiots, are not lazy and in fact competitors probably have it the hardest. One of the only sports that requires 24/7 365 days work a year. You have more strength, recovery time is less so why would you be training less than someone who needs recovery days.

Because people are taking a steroid they're more conscious about using it correctly, dieting correctly with it and hitting the gym hard with it. Maybe talk to some users for their opionion of before they were on it and when they were on it. You'll find most will have worked a lot harder on them.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

It depends on why they are there, in the gym. Some people want to look like x or lift y number of heavy thing. Most people are also unhappy in themselves. Taking those things makes it way easier with less work, that simple.

I am just in the gym to be fit and healthy, big difference. So it would attract a lot of people and not some others.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Taking those things makes it way easier with less work, that simple.

Completely wrong.

Anybody who cycles (and knows what they're doing) will find that they work much harder than the unnasisted athlete...and i mean they'll work harder in the gym,pay more attention to meals and rest days and they need to be concerned about how the cyclie is going,the correct PCT,be on the lookout for side effects etc etc.

You can take all the steroids in the world but if you dont lift rigt and eat properly you're only wasting your time and money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭guile4582

some people suffer body dysmorphia
    some people like the look
    some people need it to add some muscle to make a team, there are many reasons

Most irish people tend to abuse steroids I find as well. Take far too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

chopper6 wrote: »
    Completely wrong.

Anybody who cycles (and knows what they're doing) will find that they work much harder than the unnasisted athlete...and i mean they'll work harder in the gym,pay more attention to meals and rest days and they need to be concerned about how the cyclie is going,the correct PCT,be on the lookout for side effects etc etc.

You can take all the steroids in the world but if you dont lift rigt and eat properly you're only wasting your time and money.

Im sure thats the case at the higher levels, but the majority of people i know who take steroids don't know what they are doing, awful workouts and terrible nutrition, most don't know what PCT is! awful.

The biggest person i know is on a lot of gear, he trains like an animal, doesn't drink or eat crap, he competes at a very high level, he is very well educated on what he is putting into his body, for every one of him there are 20 people who take stuff because they are lazy, they literally have no idea what they are doing, its actually crazy and i cant understand how somebody can take the decision to go on gear without doing any research what so ever.

jugger0 wrote: »
    Im sure thats the case at the higher levels, but the majority of people i know who take steroids don't know what they are doing, awful workouts and terrible nutrition, most don't know what PCT is! awful.

The biggest person i know is on a lot of gear, he trains like an animal, doesn't drink or eat crap, he competes at a very high level, he is very well educated on what he is putting into his body, for every one of him there are 20 people who take stuff because they are lazy, they literally have no idea what they are doing, its actually crazy and i cant understand how somebody can take the decision to go on gear without doing any research what so ever.

Ye I'd agree completely. Probably why it gets a bad name when you see idiots on it. I can see how people may think its the quick easy way but unless you're training like your friend above it's going to be hard to see those real results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

This video is pretty good.

Improved recovery time , Improved training response.

cabla wrote: »
    WRONG! Most people will work more and harder. People that take steroids, bar some idiots, are not lazy and in fact competitors probably have it the hardest. One of the only sports that requires 24/7 365 days work a year. You have more strength, recovery time is less so why would you be training less than someone who needs recovery days.

Because people are taking a steroid they're more conscious about using it correctly, dieting correctly with it and hitting the gym hard with it. Maybe talk to some users for their opionion of before they were on it and when they were on it. You'll find most will have worked a lot harder on them.

that would go well I'm sure
    >wall into gym
    >see big guy
    >ask is he juicing
    >him ya let me explain it camly to you

that just would not happen. I'm sure elite athlete who juice have very good reasons and obviously train hard. the op mentioned why people who aren't elite athletes would juice, that is the question I answered

Since it was brought up why do steroid users try to deny using it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

Because Claiming Fake-Natty gives unrealistic expectations on what others can achieve , its a brilliant way of selling X supplement and Y Training program.

There are some studies which suggest using steroids for any length of time and going off them can increase the training response , not by as much but still sizable compared to natural, I'll see if I can dig up the paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

Illegal and takes away from their image. These are fairly common sense answers OP.

SeaDaily wrote: »
    Illegal and takes away from their image. These are fairly common sense answers OP.

i never actually knew they were illegal here that does make sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

While almost all of the IFBB pros etc. are on gear, most of them didn't touch the stuff after the first few years of lifting. Yes steroids make it alot easier to make gains, but the top bodybuilders in the world take the stuff because it would be physically impossible to achieve their physique otherwise. There are idiots out there who use the stuff before they've reached their genetic limit, and there are others like Branch Warren who would take anything to make themselves big, whilst having sh*t form, a poor diet etc.

I know some lads from the gym who are absolute beasts and are on gear, and they discourage anyone to take the stuff. The side-effects alone are a reason not to take them; your balls shrivel up, if you're quite an emotional person or have a temper, these will become more dramatic and obvious, an if you have a family history of heart problems, there is a bigger risk of cardiac arrest or worse.

Right now I have no intention of ever touching a steroid, but I can't guarantee I won't in a couple of years time; the benefits are incredible, I've heard of guys gaining an inch on their arms in 3 weeks which is unreal, but their are big risks to taking them. Guys such as Zyzz were on a lot of gear and ended up dead because of a family history of heart problems combined with steroids which caused his heart attack, he also took cocaine and other drugs which didn't help. It really comes down to individuals on the day, how badly do you want to be huge and ripped? How badly do you want to win at a bodybuilding competition? You have to weigh up the pros and cons, like everything in life, an make that decision for yourself.

They're not illegal to take, illegal to sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭guile4582

i am happy to see what they do to bodies, but wouldn't do it to my own body

that would go well I'm sure
    >wall into gym
    >see big guy
    >ask is he juicing
    >him ya let me explain it camly to you

that just would not happen. I'm sure elite athlete who juice have very good reasons and obviously train hard. the op mentioned why people who aren't elite athletes would juice, that is the question I answered

Well if you're training regularly in a gym and getting people to spot you and you get friendly with them I'm sure you could ask. Depends on the person, some are more open to it than others. The way you've explained clearly wouldn't work I agree. If you're training hard though and showing that and training with them the conversation will come up.

Anyway you don't even need to speak to them that much, do some research on open users.

There are a couple of reasons people hide the fact they're taking it I believe.

1 - negative image it creates. People think they're a cheat, lazy etc.. actual fact a lot aren't. Stigma attached to it and kind of seen as taking a drug that will damage the body. Why draw all the negative comments and just keep your mouth shut.

2 - some people don't see it as relevant. They train harder, diet harder do everything harder, they see the steroids as just a bit of a booster to get those gains, like a supplemet. Its helps their progress. They just don't want to advertise it.

3 - they don't deny it they just don't talk about it. Just like above, people wont directly ask them, so they'll just keep their mouth shut. It's their business I guess.

They're not illegal to take, illegal to sell.

Source for that?

Source that they're illegal?

Yeah source saying they are not illegal to take. I was under the impression that they are a class C drug and are illegal even just for possession. I could be wrong though, just asking where you can found out they are legal to take.

I was asking you for a source to say they are illegal. It's common knowledge that they're illegal to sell and distribute but for personal use it's ok. I'm not saying they're illegal in competition etc I'm just talking general folk taking them. Correct me also if I'm wrong but I'm almost certain this is correct.

They're not a drug in the sense of a drug may make you trip out, get high etc.

If someone is cycling then that means they're paying a lot of money for both the steroids, at least if they're using a decent source, and the increased amount of food intake. If someone is going to pay so much money to do a cycle then I think the majority of people will make the most of it so they don't waste the potential it'll give them. Yeah, there are probably some idiots who will abuse certain steroids and do half arsed workouts and still get decent results but if these guys made the most of it and worked out consistently with the highest intensity possible and had their diets down to a tee and got enough sleep and rest they'd be way better off and have far more impressive and worthwhile results.

I agree with someone ITT who said Irish people seem to abuse steroids and use too much to the point they just look like bloated powerlifters. Lots of the polish lads seem to be big into that as well. It's all about the individuals goals at the end of the day but I think there's been an increase in users focussing on achieving a more aesthetic physique rather than just getting as big and strong as possible. If someone has reached their natural limit and decides to push themselves that bit extra and cycles to get there than it's not "cheating" because without it they never would've been able to get to that level. If someone lifts for a year and then cycles and makes more gains than you did in five then you can't really hate either because while they've overtaken you with their physiques they've also taken on a lot of potential side effects.

I have never cycled, but I think if it came to it when I reach my natural limit and I wanted to go further I'd only confirm it to my close friends who I know don't automatically consider drugs as the evil, bad things media makes them out to be. When used correctly some steroids can give amazing results. I'd also try to get regular blood tests to keep an eye on my BP etc. I'd love to know more about IFBB pros routines but we probably never will since they make their money by maintaining the deceitful and dishonest industry that the fitness and supplement world is. But at the same time, anyone who's stupid enough to believe someone like Jay Cutler or Phil Heath got to their size by having protein and creatine shakes deserves to be ripped off.

They are illegal to sell without a licence from the IMB.

They are also illegal to use without a prescription form a doctor.

Realisticly though,the police would only ever bother if it was a large quantity being smuggled and sold and a lot of money was involved...the market in ireland is too niche for it to be controlled by organised crime...unlike the US where the country's leading steroid supplier is looking at life in prison along with about a hundred others of varying degrees of national fame.

If someone is cycling then that means they're paying a lot of money for both the steroids, at least if they're using a decent source, and the increased amount of food intake. If someone is going to pay so much money to do a cycle then I think the majority of people will make the most of it so they don't waste the potential it'll give them. Yeah, there are probably some idiots who will abuse certain steroids and do half arsed workouts and still get decent results but if these guys made the most of it and worked out consistently with the highest intensity possible and had their diets down to a tee and got enough sleep and rest they'd be way better off and have far more impressive and worthwhile results.

I agree with someone ITT who said Irish people seem to abuse steroids and use too much to the point they just look like bloated powerlifters. Lots of the polish lads seem to be big into that as well. It's all about the individuals goals at the end of the day but I think there's been an increase in users focussing on achieving a more aesthetic physique rather than just getting as big and strong as possible. If someone has reached their natural limit and decides to push themselves that bit extra and cycles to get there than it's not "cheating" because without it they never would've been able to get to that level. If someone lifts for a year and then cycles and makes more gains than you did in five then you can't really hate either because while they've overtaken you with their physiques they've also taken on a lot of potential side effects.

I have never cycled, but I think if it came to it when I reach my natural limit and I wanted to go further I'd only confirm it to my close friends who I know don't automatically consider drugs as the evil, bad things media makes them out to be. When used correctly some steroids can give amazing results. I'd also try to get regular blood tests to keep an eye on my BP etc. I'd love to know more about IFBB pros routines but we probably never will since they make their money by maintaining the deceitful and dishonest industry that the fitness and supplement world is. But at the same time, anyone who's stupid enough to believe someone like Jay Cutler or Phil Heath got to their size by having protein and creatine shakes deserves to be ripped off.

Look up Rich Piana - he's a monster and will tell you a lot about the pro-bodybuilders. He's open and like you say above, he doesn't consider it cheating, he got to his size from hard work. If someone is saying it's cheating, are they taking protein shakes, are they cheating? It's an added boost. Even natural body builders may take some doses of fat burner stuff.

The best body builders and trainers are the best scientists and chemists. Boston Lloyd is a competitve bodybuilder who is open to it. When it comes to competition he says, I don't change the diet, I up the drugs!

EmptyTree wrote: »
    Could be wrong, but wouldn't have thought possession would have been legal for many of the substances :confused:

I think as chopper said you need a prescription but the doses unless massive I doubt will be anything to bother the police. Having said that, perhaps they are without prescriptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

I think as chopper said you need a prescription but the doses unless massive I doubt will be anything to bother the police. Having said that, perhaps they are without prescriptions.

Apologies, posted without updating the page. Yup, I see that now, thanks for clarfying.

No doctor is going to prescribe injectable Test E in the sort of doses and concentrations bodybuilders need.

They certainly won't prescribe Clomid to a male patient as it's used to help women ovulate.

If you want steroids you will have to buy them illegally and this is where the diffrence between Pharma,Vetinary and Underground grades becomes important.

Edit..you can also "home brew" your own steroids but this would require a substantial investment in equipment and can end up costing you your life.

Is that not a fundamental flaw with BB comps.. to even have a chance uve to be taking steroids?

chopper6 wrote: »
    Edit..you can also "home brew" your own steroids but this would require a substantial investment in equipment and can end up costing you your life.

that sounds like a bad breaking bad spin off