Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phrases we'll never use again

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

ratmouse wrote: »
    Better wind up my watch.

Soon to be replaced by better charge my watch

The more things change the more they stay the same :D

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭ttenneb

"Fares, please!!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

He's working like a black.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

'He was working like a black'

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Not being one of the PC brigade I've no difficulty with this phrase but I don't tend to use it much any more as I rarely see someone who fits the bill. :D

Apart from not using the phrase any more I'd like to think you'd never used it in the past.

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭Starboy

'can i have a packet of crun-chos' *sobs

• Registered Users Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Your 3 minutes are up.

ardmacha wrote: »
    Your 3 minutes are up.

Nice one. A lot of explaining to younger readers is needed for this. It's not a reminder from the proprietor of a house of ill repute, but refers to the time limit on a standard call on the old public telephones.

• Registered Users Posts: 463 ✭✭mister gullible

A lot done, more to do.:mad:
    Frankfurt's way or Labour's way. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

The choke is gone in the car.

The ESB are going on strike. Have ye the gas cylinder?

Jesus, that's a lovely Golly Bar.

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Art Deko

The Swastika Laundry.

Green Sheild Stamps.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Will I put these down in the book for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

'Don't throw away that call card, collectors will pay thousands for them in the future.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

Anyone got a 10 spot ?

• Registered Users Posts: 507 ✭✭✭runnerholic

Can I have a Marathon Bar please?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

Breaker on the side

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Darraghmh91.

Rewind that tape to the start again

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

"Shaping" = showing off.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

feargale wrote: »
    "Shaping" = showing off.

Shaping = walking like Liam Gallagher, trying to look tough

"Look at the shapes on yer man, sap"

Also

"Where's the bic pen, me cassette is banjaxed"

And

"GRUSHIE!!!" (Might not be known outside Dublin)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

"I will telephone you later"

• Registered Users Posts: 17,847 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

the coal man is coming tomorrow

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

silverharp wrote: »
    the coal man is coming tomorrow

Why? Still calls in many areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

Look up that number in the phone book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Rewind that tape to the start again

Used it yesterday. Daughter was watching The Lady and The Tramp VHS. Asked her to rewind the tape when it was finished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

Starboy wrote: »
    'can i have a packet of crun-chos' *sobs
    :(:(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

In our school there was a lower level than the 'next' or 'butts' you were talking about. It could be on a can of coke, a cigarette, a mars bar, anything. First person to see it shouted 'next' and got the end but the next person shouted 'skins' or 'butts' and they had to be left the very last piece of the 'next'!

• Registered Users Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

I saw your Solara outside .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

Leaded or Unleaded?